Wole Soyinka, an embarrassment - Patience Jonathan | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 13 July 2013

Wole Soyinka, an embarrassment - Patience Jonathan

Lol, she's one to talk, with all due respect. Hehe. Culled from Punch
Wife of the President, Mrs. Patience Jonathan, on Friday took on the Nobel Laureate, Prof. Wole Soyinka, for attributing the crisis in the Rivers House of Assembly to her.
In a statement by her spokesman, Ayo Osinlu, the President’s wife said Soyinka betrayed the moral duty that expected him, as a respected member of the society, to carefully consider all shades of issues that informed his opinions on any matter.
Mrs. Jonathan said Soyinka had become an embarrassment to his admirers with his diatribe against her.
The statement read in part, “Unfortunately, Soyinka betrayed moral duty in his recent diatribe against Mrs. Patience Jonathan.
“Of course, this would not be the first time he would reach out against the First Lady, usually from self-righteously indignant lecterns.

“In this particular instance, his verdict was that Mrs. Jonathan was ‘stoking the crisis currently rocking her home state of Rivers…’, and thereupon asked Mr. President to caution his wife.
“The good, old Prof. reminds one of the truth that indeed, most of the giants on the street are men of like passions like everyone else. Worse still, most of them are actually standing on clay feet and would fail the test of a gentle push.

“Otherwise, who would have believed that the social, civil, constitutional and sundry rights crusader Prof. would maintain a safe distance from the heart of an activity that is a potential threat to the peace, security and safety of the people of a state, then collect exaggerated stories and jaundiced perspectives from familiar propagandists and character assassins, and promptly summon the media to a “state of the nation” address.

“It’s an embarrassment to his throng of admirers and followers, that a sage of Prof. Soyinka’s status, who used to be a gauge of public morality in this nation, would lend himself to a propaganda of high drive, to save a governor who elected to launch into a river without applicable survival skills.”
Mrs. Jonathan argued that the calculation was to attack the President and pull to pieces anyone associated with him, as a strategy for attracting public sympathy to the “clear underdog.”
She said Soyinka was only contributing to the project when he claimed that she was Governor Rotimi Amaechi’s problem.

215 comments:

1 – 200 of 215   Newer›   Newest»
Xristo said...

Silly woman....what an irony

B€£ said...

Abegi,story too much na back of wole shoyinka me I dey sha

Dental news said...

Why is mama vexing like this.
Mrs president,long live!

Amy Nwa said...

De Mama, you mean to say issues have shades? according to Tumi Morake, 'What do you mean? #lolz#

I dont care how old dis man is.. I will marry him. *BBM love struck smiley*

...if I HEAR say na dis woman yarn this kain KNOWLEDGABLE yarns, den e mean sey the world go soon end! CHAI - who teach am...?

patience this old man is not ur fathers mate and pls ask ur self who is an embarrassment because the man no teach u english u dey beef.
shyneeee

U are d bigger idiot....dis illitrate woman that can't even speak simple and correct english....ur whole family go skool reach soyinka....#my fellow widows#daft and spoilt woman......SAINT.....

Thank God Mrs First Lady didnt write this herself... If she had, trust me this site would have crashed

Even patience won't understand this responds. Grammar

Someone should tell this woman to shut up!cos she`s an embarrassment to the whole nation. undiluted idiot!
monic

Hmm! Abeg whoz an embarrasment? Madam presido abi Prof:> smh dah maama z 2 dumb 4 my likin! Linds post my comment Oº°˚˚°

Lara said...

I can't believe she spoke about this. She is definitely looking for trouble. "My fellow widows".

She should just shut the fuck up or she will create a bottomless pit for herself without knowing it.

oloshi woman. Shame on you!

I'm sure someone wrote the speeh for her. Olodo! !!

jubee said...

Whatever!!!

This is not from the first lady,way too good to emanate from her.

With all the disasters that have plagued this country during the Goodluck Administration, I think patience Jonathan is easily in the top 3 of the most unfortunate ones.
This woman is evidence to all the 'Akara' & 'Pepper' sellers,that one day, u too can become first lady of Nigeria.

ELOFUNAM said...

Mama P,pls fire Ayo Osinlu. Why?. What if you meet Soyinka n he asks u to repeat what u said to him in ur memo so dat una go thrash am out?

jubee said...

Haba,anonynous or wateva u call urself,dnt u ve respect?dis is ur presidnt wife,n also smones mother, gosh!!!!

i juz dnt get it

Ehhh God! Una no go kill me for this blog.

jubee said...

Anonymous or wateva u call urslf dnt u ve respect at all? This is smones mother oo n ur presidnt wife.

jubee said...

Whatever!!!

"My fellow widows..!!"
Now that is an embarrassment.

Wat is the first lady yappin about? This woman sha

We all know that such a speech couldn't have be spoken by our one and only madam Patience Jonathan!

Bt sh is d 1st lady na,if som1 wrote it 4 her,how does dt consine u

Frankie De-Darkhorse said...

Why exactly are people abusing the First Lady? Prof Wole Soyinka made a derogatory remark about her, and she reacted with an on point come back....kini big deal?

Shepherd said...

Wole Soyinka. A Nigerian buddie of mine once gave me this guy's "And The Man Died" back in college. I still don't know what that book is talking about...terrific writer,I must say.
Ok so your first lady whom I heard is almost illiterate(no disrespect please) is on a verbal onslaught with a renowned Nobel Laureate?. Interesting!

That dumb woman is very foolish to talk about embarassment! How dare she say prof Soyinka is an embarassment to his admirers with his daitribe against her! Oops I forgot she's d first lady but we haven't forgotten she's an epitome of embarassment. Everything about her is an embarassment; her face, speech, dressing etc Wole Soyinka was right; she needs to be a lady b4 she can be a first lady

If i hear say she pronounce some of those word.....#igobend#

She must not reply Soyinka.She is so unpresidential!

All of Patience's trips have finally paid off. Rejoice Nigerians, for our first lady has found a good speech writer. Soyinka is a boss. Please check out my blog. http://ohumustephanie.blogspot.com/ thanks

Hahahahaha,dis cracked me up real gud.I actually painted d scenario in my head,u so funny man.

Hmm gorrabego. ..fear no lemmi read finish cus d English na die..patience pls stop dis its not good for ur health. .

To all of u sayin all manner of stupid talks out of ur mouth concernin d first lady may God show ya mistakes to u all. Y can't u guyz hold on office in dis country n lemmi c hw u can address issues, stupid n jobless pple

Maybe your president but def not mine. She's an idiot and we are calling a spade a spade. And if she's your mother, U have my upmost sympathy #goat

Na una cut d fish,na una still kw ɦǿώ many e D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥....na dem kw wre dem d normally meet....mayb d don get kolo fO̶̲̥̅̊Я dia & nw all Ø̶̷̩̥̊͡Æ‘ us don hear am.....nonsence politics

A case of a pot calling a kettle black

Even my gateman's wife can dress more than this last lady.

Well we all know she didn't write this.

too much public drama...

I think its the other way around our dear 1st lady!

Hey you are really interested in our country :) that's sweet but I wish you have cool stuff to comment about ,what country are you from anyway always remember us in your prayers cause we really need it, lots of it...bless you

Children children! Yes mummy, ur president was a children 2!!! Let dis woman go back 2 primary education jare

dapepe said...

Lmao! Elofunam, u av made my wknd n cracked ma ribs. U should b in the next crack ur ribs man.

Kindly call on channelstv to do a debate btw prof wole soyinka $ patience jonathan I knw w

e go laugh pass nite. Of a thousand laugh,abi patience don go back sch. Her grammar don. Improve lol

Am sure this is not what she said, she must hav said so thing diffrent 4rm wat is been published here. Abeg, mak Prof. No hear else, he finsh dis woman wit beta English wey no even dey dico

Abeg make una leave this woman,as if una mama fit speak english like her,E dey easy to be 1st lady,na yam... Oya basket mouth them make una start to course una self Go

Marry a cultist shm on you.

She is just a rude stupid fool...

Concern has become Consine. Smh. R u related 2 d 1st lady

It's nt ya president that's y U all are fightin his shadow.

GBAM!!!

soul said...

You can have money, all the money In the world ooo, but you can't buy class. Even when you can buy stylists and people to speak for you, your lack of class will always find a way to funk up everything and make it stink of your true person.

U can join forces wi2 bh n buhari bt 1 thing for sure is "GEJ is da chief commander of arm forces of the federal republic of Nigeria. So take a trip to hell! God bless our president. God bless FRN.

I am seeing this current govt and her agenda loosing their taste of civility and moral standing. I don't see any reason why the so-called First Lady should talk to an elderly statesman with such verbal brutality, irrespective of what he (Soyinka)said to her. Really think its quite unpresidential though.

Hw on earth can she insult Prof. Soyinka?! He has achieved more than ur family wuld ever do. She z and will always be a great embarassment to Nigeria.
A big shame to knw dt she's actually d first lady. Madam, my village students r way better than u in speaking English Language.

Ori e ti gbe isho,ya head haff carry nail like molue tyre 4 pen cinema flood,onyosi,onyobastard!

Ehhh pay pay, I take God beg u nor try Soyinka. He go use english finish u.

People that are insulting this woman should remember that they have Mothers,as you curse so shall your own days be

Don't mind these frustrated Nigerians here insulting her just imagine, why would Soyinka make such statement

To be endorsed by this kind olodo na big insult o!. Dat shows dat dear profs level of thinking is light years ahead of this olodo. It makes me imagin a monkey agreeing with the conversation of a human. You have to be monkey to agree with monkey.

Looool! Herself and her husband are both disgrace to politics.

Best comment, thanks tell these fools,i just pity people insulting her here

Please I hope for your health sake dat the prof does not answer you oh! Dat will mean another disappearance act to Germany for unscrambling of fried brain cells.

This Is someones mother ehhh!!! and i Hope u know That Wole Soyinka Is someones father

♚KVNG ZINNY♚ said...

Lmfao!

BACHELOR @79. OOOOOHH Because of your expected gift from Thiefnubu, you're disgracing yourself insulting another man's wife, a luxury he can’t afford. 3 wifes 3 divorce. Post My Comment. Old Age Dey Worry U Prof

Blc it was soyinka? Jst tell me d truth dat some1 can come nd abuse ur wife or ur husband nd go scout free.I'm not tryin 2 b sentimental but callin ur fellow man's wife names doesn't go well nah nd she is d 1st lady no matter her level of education. But hence God says u re goin 2 b dis or dat no matter ur bkground it must surely come 2 pass.prof I beg u INJ 2 com 2 ph nd c nd hear by urslf.c d case of Joseph nd others evn in dis our generation it is still happening. Pls u pple shldn,t blc she is d 1st lady dat doesn't knw how 2 speak or hw u may c t 2 abuse her. Pls sir,prof, attach som respect 2 our 1st lady,despite d way u c her,she is still our 1st lady 4 now.

FOunder of Pyrates COnfraternity, a cult responsible for murder of hundreds of Nigerian Students.

I love your creative writings in literature, you are a literary icon but lacking in common sense for calling women 'mere domestic appendages', what wonders if its the attitude that made you marry and divorce 3 times.

With age comes responsibility, your brain is in your head, locate it and use it. Post my Comment

Lmao!!! Me too oh

Abeg lindo,na patience speak all these grammar? I no believe,lmfao.

Sir. Please try to respect Mr. President's wife cos you may not be too sure of all your insinuations about her. And let me hope it is not cos Amechi belongs to the Pirate confraternity that you are standing blindly behind him. Hope sir, you will not end ur era talking about a woman.

*utmost*. Thank me later

Real funny. Prof will def reply. Watch out for part3

Shut up joo

tobby said...

This illiterate mumu u called ur mother is gradually becoming a nuisance day by day.'m sure this woman wasn't the one that sat 4 her ssce only if she even had any in the first instance ....olodo last lady

Madam Patience is funny!!! She is the real embarrassment to Nigeria and she has the nerve to let her speech writer write rubbish for her. Shes an olodo!!!!

Who is talking?

Shut up joo

*utmost*. Thank me later

Buhahaha

OGE said...

RStewpid illiterate!I'm sure she would even understand a word of all of dis here.ure d biggest embarassment ever!!!!first lady dat cnt make a sentence without gbagaun hahahahahahahhahahahahahah!

Biggest joke of the year.Madam patience may actually have hope being a comedian.

Too much grammar for the story. Wetin happen?

***Twizzy****

Yemmie Oscar said...

Buhahahahhaha! You sick. You've made my weekend already

Which kind respect dey won get for her,she has lost it already olofo!

Shut up alabaru,u wnt say d truth in ur life,cont to be a slave!

Lmfao , bet d speech was written for her.

Didn't know you are foolish, mumu

You are a foolish fool, olodo.

See Who is talking bout Achievement. Prof better pass President? Idiot. Obama Na Prof ? Olodo. Soyinka Show Us ur Wife make we see not insulting anoda man's own

Shame on soyinka, old fool.

Olodo... it is response no respond

Soyinka deserve what he got!!stupid old dog dats wot he is!!!!where was he when ota baboon(obasanjo) was busy destroying anambra state?? Did he ask stella to caution her baboon husband??? Soyinka should just drop dead!!!noble fool!!!he has never contributed anything to the building of this nation.soyinka cover ur face with basket and die!!! Stupid balless yoruba dog!!!

Why exactly are people abusing the First Lady? Prof Wole Soyinka made a derogatory remark about her, and she reacted with an on point come back....kini big deal? If u ask me, I think the Prof stooped too low to comment and link the FIRST LADY to the current crisis rocking RS. He is a renowned Prof but hellooooooo.... She too is still the First Lady now and she deserves some respect.

Concern...kelly jonathan cos u'r obviously her son.odeh
Don't boda thankin me

The response by Patience was well deserved by Prof. His statement was a pure character assassination of the first lady of his country. He should have gone straight to address Patience's ill-timed and inciting visit to PH rather than making cheap of her personality. Im not a pro-Jonathan anyway, but our emotions must not becloud our sense of judgment. Mrs Dem Patience remains the first lady of Nigeria till 2015. Prof Soyinka and all of you who are going undully vulgar on her have no option for now, except you GTH. Enof of this ado about thing!

Eh even if sef!!
She no know say bathroom slippers & italian shoe no be d same thing?
How can this man talk & then d foolish woman will open her dirty mouth to respond?
When Oga was winning Nobel laureate in d 1980s she was helping her mum to sell Akara under one bridge for a village.
She is obviously a very big fool with no respect and must be taught a lesson in how not to address her elders. #Fool

Is it possible dat Wole soyinka was bribed as d media was 2 talk in favour of amechi.wolw soyinka is alwasys in Rivers sate n in his memo dat caused dis controversy he said his close colleague was in d government house wen d crises played out...hw,d colleague without name;dats nt wole style.we just have coRruption taking on gud men..

the Lion and the Jewel finally coming to reenact...

Sometyms I just laugh @d way pple comment on lib's blog,c'mon most of our parents can't even speak english n u say our ist lady is a disgrace?linda berra post ma comment ooooooo

Just so y'all know, Proff Shoyinka is right, there's been an unsolved issue between Gov Amaechi and Patient Jonathan and Pressy Jonah knows bout it...
I have to stay anonymous make dem no come assasinate me..lol.
And for the person that called Prof soyinka cultist, u need to do your findings well, he was never one.

LINDA, LINDA, LINDA!!!!!!!How many times did I call you? Did you really type world respected and renowned writer, Wole Shoyinka's name and Patience illetrate Goodluck Jonathan's name in the same sentence?
Now that, is an embarrassment to bloggers all over the world!

Soyinka i respect you a lot, please leave all this little matters i beg. You are a Nobel Laureate remember?

Everyone of u speaking out abusive word to d first lady I pity u cos firstly what goes around comes around then secondly u can never get that which u admire but despise, ie if u r a woman u can never be a first lady, if u r a man u can never b a president.

Nigeria gagaga everything scatter scatter..idris said it all now if coming reality...fuck it

Her grammar has really improved though ;)

O̲̣̣̥ooº°˚˚°Âº ! Patience speak this 1 wow! Vocabulary development in progress.......... Hahahahahahahah bush woman Wey she be.

Cultist nor be human.low tinking faculty,d smh for ur silly reply

AJ said...

Dis Madam last lady is a big fool,dis was d same man dat came out on d street of abuja when turai yardua turn ur Hubby to boy boy for Villa !!!

I want to believe that 99.9% of the the comments on this post are from young potential Nigerians, thus it hurts me to read all your comments which are either for or against the wife of the president. Conflict is never resolved by pointing fingers or dishing blame soup to someone for a problem. There is a problem in Rivers state and indeed in Nigeria as a hole; the last thing we want to be doing trying blame someone or some people for these problem. Even though it is tempting and obviously what we can do, we should try as much as possible to refrain from it; because blame only fuels and accelerate conflict. Our sole concern should be what we can do to solve the problem and make sure they don't reoccur.
The noble Prof Soyinka is a very respectable man, one of the most respectable and reputable Nigerian alive today, I have only two questions for you sir; if you start insulting the other people in society as you have done the wife of the president of our dear nation, what will the young people who look up to you do, when we are faced with people who over use their position of privilege? If you start pointing fingers and playing blame game, as you have done in the case of the crisis in River state what will youth like me that have set you as a role model do when I'm faced with crisis in my society?
We must understanding that for democracy and the Nigeria state to work we have to realize that we are one unit and one entity, that the failure of one is the failure of all, that the problem of one is the problem of all. I'm of the opinion that the first lady is as much to blame for the conflict in Rivers state as the governor of the state Gov Amaechi, as I am, as you are.
It is my belief that no conflict is unsolvable, only what is needed id flexibility and a touch of the sense of oneness.
Let us live in humility and solidarity, and Nigeria will grow.
God bless NIGERIA

Young Nigerians; what is wrong with you'all, go back, read all the comments you'all have been posting, don't you find it disturbing that it is so easy for us to slight a fellow Nigerian, especially someone in such a position as the first lady?
With such attitude I fear for the future of my country, I fear for the leadership my children will have.
The same embarrassment you'all are accusing the first lady of bringing to Nigeria, that is what each of you have brought to our dear country by posting those comments. In case you didn't realize; this is the internet, these blogs are not only read by Nigerians. Insulting the wife of the president of your country is insulting your country and every one in it. And you all have done it so the whole world can see.... I applaud you all, for representing the image of Nigeria to the world, thank you very much.
You all keep highlighting how much the first lady is prone to mistakes in her spoken English, who among you did not learn to speak English and stumbled along the way, and even with that how fluent are you really?! If you have never constructed an incorrect sentence; please by all means continue you despicable disgusting behavior, but if not; never any of you dare even mention the grammatical shortcoming of the first lady!

Mehn that woman ehn! The day i gave up on her was when in a wedding she said "May God give you a good children" and then she repeatedly kept saying "In the book of efficiency" instead of ephesians..smh! Nd shes talking about embarassment!.

Hehehehehheheheh nor b lie wetin realli happen ???

lucy said...

Hehehehehheheheheh good questions oh abeg wetin reali happen??????

I seeee their are lots of ignorant and jobless peps here writing all sort of crap about a lady who was lucky to be d president's wife. Its non of your biz whether she is educated or not. Her husband who is Mr President and comander in chief is educated and datz what matters. Prof shoyinka was a fool to have made such statements about her in first place over something he knowz nothing about. Prof made d wrongest move...period. Meanwhile I know say most of una mama no sabi handle pen sef...lol.

Mtcheeeeeeeeeeew ...... Story yii ti long juuuu .....

Prof was very wrong by calling a press conference and openly insulted the first lady. U don't expect her to keep her cool, now people are saying she's being disrespectful to an old man, prof pls u are well respected, don't come down to this level all because u are trying to protect Amechi. Even if u don't like d first lady atleast respect d fact that she is d wife of your president. Insulting her openly is like insulting your president. Whether we like it or not God placed them there and He has said respect those in authority for I placed them above u, so if curse them u are disobeying God.

Hmmmmmm!!!! No b small tin we go c and hear for dis our naija

Wole Soyinka actually embarrassed me when she called women 'mere domestic appendages' Very insulting to women! Women should rise against this or else other men will see them as such. I'm married and my wife is a partner in progress and not a 'mere domestic appendage' WS sees women as necessary domestic animals(sorry, domestic properties). Embarrassing indeed!

But she and her husband have first class in suffering the nigerians.

I want to ask is English our language? Nigerians no wonder we Re still backwards

Madam shuld speak 4 haslf..let's know wah she rili intends syin..#winks#..

joli said...

So bc soyinka is a prof, he thinks he can insult evertbody? And dos of dt ar insultN d first lady bc she can speak english, plz may I ask, hw many oyibos can speak local Nija language? So she is less a human bc she cnt speak good english? My stand:it s clear dt d prof dos nt hv respect 4 any woman, dtz y he hs none besides him. Prof there ar beta issues we need ur attention on nt ds River state issue! Talk abot ASU strike,nd oda relevant issues. Thank u sir

Another persons wife Is Ur présidents wife, she Can ne critised whenever she goes wrong.

brownie said...

It was her "spokesman" and not her!! She only demonstrated the "vex" and the spokesman put it in writting. Lol!!!!!

Buhahahahahahaha guy u make me laugh I don't think mama p will want to see prof.

Its pathetic, that we even don't respect our leaders, the word of God asked us to respect and obey and mothers and fathers, so that our days on earth will be long, what if theses people are our parents, please beware how we talk to them,it will get to your turn.

Linda! Shame on u 4 nt postin ma comments...
That's the wife of Mr President bitches! Treat her wit respect. Linda Ikeji "lol she's one to talk" be kful oo. I till luv u

Mama p, pls be a lady first before becoming a first lady. You are too arrogant, selfish,trouble maker, that why presido just dey wacht you disgrace your self, fine you know fine, dress you know Sabi dress good English you know fit speak manners you know get, shape you know get you just dey like frog. Jka

Linda! Shame on u 4 nt postin ma comments...
That's the wife of Mr President bitches! Treat her wit respect. Linda Ikeji "lol she's one to talk" be kful oo. I till luv u

blunt said...

Dear Revered Prof,please don't pay heed to this widowed fisherman's wife and her hired mouthpiece..they don't deserve even a snide side glance from you.The illiterate woman and her spineless husband are the worst pair Naija has been cursed with.May they never live to your ripe old age,dear Sage.Amin

blunt said...

Laugh wan kill me die oh....d website for crash for sure

blunt said...

Paul akpabio,its dumbasses like you that make our leaders loot and steal our collective resources without accountability cos they know there will always be sycophants ready to sing their praises and call black as white! Name just one POSITIVE dividend of d Jonathan administration..Boko Haram? Uncontrolled looting? Air crashes? Dilapidated roads? Grounding Lagos traffic to a halt for 5hours anytime her Royal ugliness comes to town to lavish federal funds? Or frequent trips to German hospitals with my tax of 500k I paid to FIRS last month?? Don't get me started!

blunt said...

Hahahahaha..

Before Wole Soyinka opened his mouth, he must done some digging into this crises before he made the declaration.Furthermore if Madame Patience Jonathan thinks she is going to win in a war of words with a NOBEL LAUREATE of Literature. She and her publicist are going to have to enter a library and hide cos Kongi will not spare her in any way. If they feel like, they should go and send the SSS to harass him...Dem no born dem well!

blunt said...

Jubee..e be like say d woman na ya mama..accept my profuse sympathy..

BelLaBomba said...

Y the curse language? It goes to show how much you lack moral training. If u can't respect her for her status,bcus by God she deserves respect for that alone. You shld respect her becus she's a mother. Can your mother speak half of the "simple and correct english" she can? People like u is wht is wrong with dis country. Touts.

BelLaBomba said...

U call her an idiot? Wow? And u tink you r d future of tomorrow?

BelLaBomba said...

Exactly y wld he make such statement? Was she d one dat did wht dos touts did. Yall shld have respect for ur first lady,she deserves it,is it her fault that God placed her where she is? Atleast she's trying to b better by learning,no body is perfect,and some of u that is ranting ur mother is worse. Pls cut her some slack,frm all ur hate words d only reason u hate her is cus she's not perfect with d english language,notin more. R u people ok? R u pretty sure u are? R u future leaders? Don't b wht is wrong with nigeria,pls and pls.

Prof had no ryt insulting d first lady......and she need not av replied. Both of dem av issues

All of u dt talked ill abt Dame Jonathan, ur generation will nt see gud. The grace of God dt elevated dt family 4rm grass to grace will elude u 4ever.

Very true. He has no right or so ever to insult the first lady. Make him respect himself or else them go fall him hand with the noble laurate. Enough said.

I thought her husband said the youths don't have respect for elders; this is a pure example, because the youths feel justified when they insult elders just the way she feels now. Furthermore, she claims not to have a hand in the Rivers State crisis as suggested by Soyinka, but the end of her tirade has just shown us that 'the Governor elected to launch himself into a River with no applicable survival skills'. I see that as self-revealing. Amaechi, you are in soup.

Shut up... did pyrate kill ur father or any of ur relations? pls be guided with ur utterances.
Advice: face the matter on ground and leave pyracy out of it. I m sure ur father may also be a pyrate...

Abeg make una no kill me o.... Lmao

It will be more hounorable for Amaechi to be a pirate than ur so called GEJ meddling with Vikings... is it not shameful? i beg to revert back to the videos of the assembly disgrace whr GEJs men were shouting Aroa die it..it shameful dear...

Ђåª•Ñ’媕ђåª♒ ...‎​ no mind her.i just D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲γ̲ wait for d man to reply.I strongly bliv she didn't write it herself,her personal assistant D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲γ̲ try for her shaaa.

I just noticed, it has just been one anonymous defender of first lady...
Well try harder...
If u had the might to call sonyika a fool... that means u dnt have any moral standi to stand in defence of ur firstlady...
U are a better fool...and a blind servant.
The christmas will soon be over! Trust my words..

You just proved to ur wife and the whole world that you dnt knw English...

Patience is the mother of all disgraces. Wole Soyinka has brought more glory and honour to Nigeria than dis Olodo will ever in her life time. If she is someone's mother let her go and cook stew for them and supervise kitchen activities. Let her just do everyone a favour and STAY OUT of the limelight. It doesn't reflect well on her. It just magnifies her level of illiteracy .

I guess u know so much about d problem rocking rivers state, pls educate us. Its so unfortunate having people like u around, if i were 2 b ur mother i would ve disowned u, u re such a disgrace 2 dis generation, even a lunatic knows d presidency is behind d crisis in rivers state.

God Bless u Prof 4 speaking up! we need ur likes 2 caution mr president and his loyalist

Patience's sympathiser.

She should behave like a partner in Progress, not a partner in fuelling crisis

Hehe.. If I hear say she wrote that statement... Odiegwu!

Cultist, ar u a member of d cult he belongs to, shot ur mouth if u dnt know wt to see.

Madam p,pls 4giv prof oo,he didn't knw d value of women, if he does, he kuld av consulted her wife bl4 dis embarrassment he caused his slf nd 4 u madam p,I knew dat sir Jona is a genlty man blc he wldn,t av allowed u 2 reply prof nd 4 d fact u didn't consult him av made u 2 land in des series of abuses 4rm ur haters.pls seek 4 advises bl4 u say som certain issues. Tax

B€£ said...

Fool who told u he is a cultist.he is not ok if u don't knw it people dat turn d society into sometin else.

YKiluminating on Yahoo plu$ plu$ said...

she actually said this statement when she was addressing her fellow widows..lolz

Yetunde said...

why can't everyone stop acting childish and face the fact. whether or not the First lady is an expert at English language is too trivial an issue. the purpose of Linda's post is to seek your view on the matter, not on the quality of the First Lady's Use of English. The Prof. certainly made a derogatory remark and truth be told, he ought to eat the humble pie. that she is not as sound as him doesn't make her any less important. Lets set aside sentiments and address the actual issue.

vicluchis said...

Wasn't it the same Prof dat marched for GEJ to have the 1st seat? He should go & clear the lice on his beard & hair. they' re disturbing his brain.

Stil dnt get wat hapnd. Buh prof all d way #TeamSoyinka

You should only respect those that are meant 2 be respected. Our leaders don't deserve respect, those that deserve it are being respected and those that don't deserve it shuld be insulted away 4rm powe. So don't put God into this we all understand the word of God

Jka I dn't agrEe w dat fine n shape is abt God n nt d person I tink is God you r insulting beta repent n Tnk me later silvo

I so much respect Soyinka buh I guess he got it wrong on dis by makin such unproven n derogatory statement.... He sud b careful b4 he mortgages d reputatn he's built ol his life!!!!!!!!!!

Olusola Oso said...

The recent removal of armoured tanks and soldiers from the Rivers state governor's office confirmed the rumour that President Jonathan and his wife Patience had hands in the Rivers state crises. Wole Soyinka is absolutely correct with his utterances. Olusola Oso. http://www.olusolaoso.blogspot.com/

Soyinka is no God! he sud nt jst wake up n make such a statement witout a proof.... His attack on her gave birth to her response. Am nt her fan anyways buh lets face d truth nt d personalities!!!

Elderly staesman sud deliberate or attack issues nt personality.... He (Soyinka) attacked her person she also has d right to do same. I think Soyinka sud b blame here.

Wia did she go wrong????????

Mrs PATIENCE JOHNATHAN, I WONT INSULT U AS MANY HAVE DONE BUT WILL PLEAD WITH YOU. PLEASE PLEAD WITH YOUR HUSBAND TO CHANGE HIS WAYS AND RULE NIGERIA PROPERLY SO IT CAN CATTER TO THE POOR AND NEEDY IN SOCIETY. AS FOR YOURSELF MA, A WOMAN'S PLACE BESIDE HER HUSBAND SHOULD BE ONE OF HUMILITY , YOU SHOULD BE YOUR HUSBAND'S CROWNING GLORY, PLEASE LEAVE POLITICAL MATTERS TO YOUR HUSBAND AND LET HIM RULE. GETTING INVOLVED IN MATTERS LIKE THESE WILL ONLY BRING YOU DISRESPECT WHICH WILL BE SHOWN TO YOUR HUSBAND AS WELL....a word is enough for the wise.

Is only in Nigeria someone wud spend ol his/her life studying English witout anytin to show 4 it. I bet u put 20 to 30yrs in any field d whole world will benefit from it than wastin it in a language dat some ppl are perfect in it without being taught..... Make we grow up abeg I bliv sey una mama no sabi speak like dat woman

Nigerians are so blind dat they cnt differentiate d right 4rm wrong bcos of d personality involved........ Soyinka is totally wrong here.

I dnt get why ppl wnt to make Soyinka small god!!! I respect him no doubt buh his statement ws derogatory n direct attack on Patience

Soyinka is human. He made a mistake simple....

Well said....

This statement hasn't actually said anything of consequence and is just full of grammar for nothing. She should just keep quiet and tell her husband to stop opening his nyash for everybody to see. How can a president and governor be turning a country into the platform for a pissing contest? *hiss*

@ Blunt... Well said

TWITS said...

I don't belong to those who hop onto d bandwagon! As much as I don't approve of all done by the Presidency, may I affirm in d clearest terms, that Wole Soyinka isn't d saint he may proclaim to be, and dat, in truth, he really is an embarassment atimes. He clearly lacks d 'grace and honour' wt wch some of his contemporaries, like Chinua Achebe tackles issues. There is this 'ghetto' attribute to many of his actions and reactions. His veiled jealousy and envy is increasingly being unveiled by the day...Please, let's be objective here.

p-moni said...

Ayo Osinlu, if sonyinka call mama jona 4 reconciliation now she go fit xplain wa8tn u write? Baba Soyinka no worrry urself jare, even a blind man know dat she ve have on the rivers crisis..

Some nigerians are having problem of hearing and adhering †̥ the truth. Madam p ÈŠ̝̊̅§ causing problem in river state and somebody is trying †̥ put her in order since her husband and the so called nigeria legislators can not. So what is wrong with that?

hey people lets be constructive in our criticism,she may not be polished in speech but calling her names isnt d best,be guided cos it cud be ur turn,moreover english is a borrowed language,china's firstlady doesnt speak english nor does obamas wife speak french,god is watching

Twits, well said, that nigga is missing his glory days, so this is how he can keep in the limelight. Mr soyinka, there is still biro and paper, face ur literature and stop "capping careless"

Madam First Lady dey harsh o. abeg Madam take am easy. Click on the link to understand your financial future and the financial future of the world. Knowledge is power. http://Cashnize.com/?refcode=30071

believe it or not the main thing that we remember our former presidents for is that they immerse enormous wealth at the expense of nigerians, while the literary works of people like soyinka will speak for them for generations to come just like our own linda here a blogger, but what can we really remember patience for, even just 6 months after leaving office.... hnmmm her grammatical blunders... my people i lie??

faazeme said...

Just as madam's been pointing accusing finger to Amaechi, Prof's got every righ to do the same to Madam and people should stop complaining about Prof. We've seen where a common American citizen criticizing the President, not to talk of Donald Trump publicly attacking the president. If madam runs her mouth like okro soup with no control, every citizen's got right to shut her up. Lawless Country!

SAMUEL said...

That Wole Soyinka is a professor and Noble Laureate mean he is too intelligent than others. He got his fame through luck and maybe other undisclosed forces. Coming out to insult the First Lady and wife of another man is enough reason to say his is not intelligent enough and an embarrassment to his admirers. He should not take side on the crises rocking Rivers State because he receives peanuts from Gov. Amechi whenever he is invited to chair an education summit in the state. He should be bold enough to condemn the Governor when he is derailing in his responsibilities. Does Prof. Soyinka have the moral right to insult another man's wife when he has non? Those running their mouth here should answer this.

Dende said...

Daniel aka reno omokri,stay there selling your future 4 peanuts.I'm sure d one dat birthed u copes with more dan enuff shame on ur behalf

Just Me said...

It irritates me how many fucking self righteous Nigerians try to defend e 1st lady (that is if she is) Prof Wole has the freaking right to make any statement he want about any Nigeria who is misbehaving including the president or his wife.
What i would have expected the President's wife to do was not to attack such reputable citizen someone who holds more respect than she will ever have.

Just Me said...

But all of us knw that if this was America, they would have finished madam since her husband became the presido. She just dey go up and down, wetin she dey do? nothing... I can't see her impact in the lives of Nigeria that people will applaud her for.

Just Me said...

Based on facts, Nigeria's 1st lady has no laudable record with her position, she impact positively in the lives of Nigerians and make people on the street smile and see if she will not get the backing of most Nigerians when issues like this arise.
All we see is how she and her husband travel and how she gives us gbagauns.... #MAKEIHEARWORD

wole Soyinka never call women domestic appendage, he only refered to her position in this context. she is suppose to look for something meaningful to do instead of engaging in meaningless struggle with Rotimi Amechi. truly she should learn how to be a lady and stop this local attitude of hers, leave politics to politicians and she should take up her role as the supposed first lady. for me Jonathan is a fool the biggest alive. when people cannot make decisions for themselves and they allow others to toss them around they are fools. he doesn't even know what he wants from life. and Mrs patience the biggest coward alive, when people believe they can do something they should do it well. if she wants to be the devil in Nigeria politics she should own up to her actions instead of denying her them. the idiots that accused wole Soyinka of divorcing 3times are primitive, when a relationship is not working you let go instead of dying there, that is the reason your parents pour hot water on themselves, mending their ruined relationships and to all of you that will abuse me , I say u are MAD

Which brain she get to write all that grammar. abeg, see us see Jona wife oooo

Let all and sundry let sleeping dogs lay. Washing our dirty linens befor d world will not help dis country. I am not for or against either of the two ppl in qstn. Let's leave dem 2sort demselves out. I rest my case! Mudi.

Biko she should speak for herself. which one is an embarrassment to those who look up to him? How disrespectful can she get? Prof ride on.. He who sees the truth, let him speak. Ride on sir..

Amaechi n patience get quarrel, FACT! Linda if u like no post my comment... AGAIN..

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 215   Newer› Newest»