10 people confirmed dead as 3-storey building collapses in Lagos | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 11 July 2013

10 people confirmed dead as 3-storey building collapses in Lagos

A 3-storey building located at Oloto street in the Ebute Metta area of Lagos collapsed in the early hours of this morning as residents slept. Ten dead bodies have so far been pulled out of the rubble while 7 people, including two children have been rescued alive. Many people are said to be trapped under the rubble as rescue efforts from the Lagos State Ambulance Service (LASAMBUS), Lagos State Emergency Management Agency (LASEMA) and other agencies continue...

70 comments:

My God! Please save Nigeria. Lagos is TOO crowded! therez just no space between the buildings in pic numba 2...They rush to construct a building and this is the result. its just sad. God help us!

some of these buildings are older than my grandpa. I pray that those still trapped be rescued alive in jesus name. Amen

Ng said...

may God hav mercy,must we manage everytin in dis nija

Tank u 4 d gift of lyf...I was dere yrstdae

Buildings falling always...quack builders using insufficient materials needed.

Dis is just sad,the govt shd do smthg abt all these old house abeg

handwork of quakes in the building industry

Nelly said...

May d soul of d deceased RIP, it's quite unfortunate

bad building materials, may d lost souls Rip,,,,,oh God, pls help us.

Oh Lord have mercy....

The engineers,contrators nd d owners of dat buildin shud be arrested by d govt, see hw dey murdered innocent souls. May their soul rest in peace, Amen!

Its well!linda post my comment,abi do I nid 2 pay b4 u post

May their souls find rest in the Lord.

Olusola Oso said...

Tragic news but not surprising,whoever is familiar with Ebute Metta will be amazed and disgusted by the high number of creaking buildings and dilapidated structures there. I stayed there for 3 years,may the soul of the dead people rest in peace. Olusola Oso. http://www.olusolaoso.blogspot.com/

Lord have mercy

na wa ooooooooooo

tins are hapenin

God ve Mercy! Eko oni Baje!!!
_noraFab

it shall be well

Pity, #RIP# dis is very sad ,d buildings r actually old sha.

it shall be well

Fabian said...

A pathetic story, may their souls rest in peace.

it shall be well

soladunn said...

Oh dear God!!!

Oby Azike said...

So sad- RIP

obyazike.blogspot.co.uk

it shall be well

May d souls of d departed RIP.(Amen).God pls save ur children who trust in You.

Pls God let dem be safe.

Heyyy! So sad. God have mercy ooooo

Shepherd said...

Tragic! Putting up structures without taking precautionary measures is pretty bad...incidents like this can happen almost anywhere,actually!

i live in ebute metta........chineke merem ebere

Lord have mercy! Dear its not all about quack builders but our system doesn't have maintenance culture. Most buildings are too old, and the owners will paint it to look new intead of rehabilitating. May God help us.

lagos and building colapse sha naa wa ooo,may Allah help us .. Eko oni baje oo!

Bako said...

Not again. As expected again, history have repeated itself in a wrong way. What a sad event. Hope their will be serious legislation to avoid future occurance.
www.sandalili.com

Very sad!!!

Ayibumakolo.com

heeeeey God help us oo

The rate @ which building fall/collapse in Lagos state can't be overemphasised @all, the mortality rate is on the increasing side, n the buildings that are been constructed are not strong enough. Low quality materials n management is being used.
May the soul of the deceased rest in peace.

Opeedo said...

why is there so much brutality and carelessness in this country?

click HERE for more gist

Linda na wah oo sometin wey don. Happen since morning you just dey report am now! The story is stale mama but all d same you dey try sha.

Lord please have mercy on those trapped, let they be recued alive

Tank 4 ur lyf

My granddfather's friend built a hse also in This area in 1921 and d building Is still There till today,anytime There Is a crack its patched.

May God help us all

There should be agencies in place to check the status of buildings regularly...this thing has happened too many times

Crux! said...

@crux737••• May God protect us all, to all the lost soul RIP *sad*

May dose who lost deir life R.I.P.

Everyday comes with negative news,can some1 tell me Y?

Those old ones dont even collapse, but new ones .cos of the lease agreement s. Families gives them short periods so they invest small amount on the big houses

OMG may God have mercy nd d soul of d deceased RIP.so sad

May God save α̩̩̩̩̥п̥̥̲̣̣̣̥ÆŒ­­̲̣̣̣̥ deliever us...Amen

Your spelling is bad, it's called 'quack' and not quakes. You can thank me later

Unqualified building contractors, inferior materials, bad workmanship and failure to follow the specifications are the main causes of building collapse in this country. May God help us.
100+ women already treated with our FIBROID flusher

End time!

save us in lagos dear God...this is getting too much

My dear I'm sorry to say dis but its not so much of unqalified contractors but cheap as home owners. I presently reted a 3 bedroom, they claim to have finishe work, now ill have to redo for my own safety. They use more of sand dan cement, weak blocks dat I can crush with my baree fit. Meanwhile land lord de there de save him money. They high brick layers as engineers

Not again *can't watch* May dier souls rip.

You need to go back to school even if you have a degree. Your English is poor. Spellings as well

Regulations on building and constructiom quality in the country is poor. Thats the reason occurences lke this happen more frequently in underdeveloped countries

I actually live in the said build 6yrs ago before we relocate to apapa,is so said when I heard the news I was shocked beceause some of my childhood friends still live in that build.

Dolly said...

'Thank God' una mean

Diamond said...

House collapsing always in this Lagos. Why is people perishing horribly like this?.God have mercy on us.

May their soul rest in perfect peace

abex said...

never put blame on the builders or d constructer of d hous. Just beleave dat what God have destinied no one can stop or change it What we will be doing is to b praying 2 our same God to not let us to be among the victhim

Let government do somethin abt all dis old houses

I totally concur.

Yoruba!!!!! Typing as he/she speaks. I cringe

"Why is people perishing"???? Seriously you don't have to comment if you can't spell. Don't irritate our eyes with bad spellings. SMH @ Yoruba people

Yoruba!!!!! Typing as he/she speaks. I cringe

I totally concur.

That area is swampy nd wasn't well sand filled before construction. So painful