Governor Fashola signs cremation bill into law | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 10 June 2013

Governor Fashola signs cremation bill into law

Governor Babatunde Fashola today Monday June 10th signed the cremation bill into law. The bill gives power to state authority to burn unclaimed corpses in its mortuaries after a period of time.

The cremation bill also states that if the owners of the corpse fail to show up to collect the ashes after a 14-day notice, it will be disposed by the state government subject to the consent and approval of the Commissioner for Health.

53 comments:

Rubbish! Is dt wot will solve our prob in 9ja? Worryn about tins dt don't matter. Its a pity.

Obinna Jonathan said...

It will reduce the burden of unclaimed corpses. Good one

Na wa o...

To cremate a body ain't out of the ordinary, but then, this is Africa, people have beliefs and traditions or superstitions that wouldn't go well with stuff like this.

Hmmmmm! It ȋ̝̊ڪ well ooº°˚˚°. 9ija

Was this bill given any sort of serious consideration as to the implications and consequences of enacting this law. The whole thing looks good on the surface, but when you give it much consideration, I smell and perceive "DANGER IN A LAW LESS COUNTRY". Nigerians need to start praying more now than ever. Because in effect, you can all of a sudden become a ghost tomorrow and that is it. Great tool and weapon of mass destruction for the police, etc.

Hmmm...is cremation really the solution or its just the cheapest way to dispose it??

God help 4 naija, wetin we no dey hear and see before na we dey hear now oooo

Well spoken didn't even think of that wow!

IkwerreBoy said...

lolz can't wait to see the first family that will cremate their dead in Lagos blog heart biko keep us posted. hope they have a site to dispose the ash or better still babalawo dey I trust Naija. I hail oooo.

If u live in lagos, no matter wat u do, don't die! Yal ff @tweetest_boi

ACN----Extremist Muslim party,me I hate them dark.............+++Ogaoooo

Well said

Then claim ur body.

So PDP is better? You do not see what Fashola us doing In Lagos? The cremation bill does not say all must cremate. Gives govtt the right to cremate unclaimed corpses. You illiterate. Can't read.

Wow, what an angle! I didn't think of that. Well said.

sassy bubu said...

This is bullshit...how dare d goverment of lagos state to even think of cremating corpses? That's so ridiculous...I mean,wat has become of this great nation?

LBM said...

I hope u r not a christian else i have to re-evaluate my christian faith.

LBM said...

I hope you r not a xtian...i might have to re -evaluate my xtian faith

Midex said...

this not the best. Ao will Family members oF d deceased recognize it aFter it has turned to ashes?

True talk said...

GOD y must dey take tinz dat will not benefit d youth serious in dis country,dere mate are signing bills dat will make us laff,dis once dey sign rubbish...*smh for dem*person go die under harsh condition una com burn am put abi!!isorite..ghostmode!!

Lmao......dats very funny. U got me laffn out loud dis early morning

Trust me if u want 9ja to change, its by all these small steps. U may not see it now but its a good thing.

Blackberry said...

Lmaooooo can't biliv u r posting dis....my granny was cremated in PH according to her wish tho' n d community(name witheld) was like 'oh abomination' we burnt her on d pyre n....no fucking shit happened till today...traditions,superstitions,beliefs r all trash....

Austine, must u mention islam?? Can't u do witout mentioning religion and tribe?? BTW am a christain..

KALU KALU said...

So in ur small mind, having many unclaimed corpses don't matter? Probably it would matter if several years from now, in ur ripe old age, u die & nobody comes to claim ur corpse. At least it would solve a problem in ur family; of having to waste money burying u.

Its a good act, give space for new corpses @d mortuary!

You're ignorant of so many things...

If all state can do this,it will reduce corpse

U r so short-sighted.....

If u hear stories of wat all des undertakers do wt pples corpses esp in lag, then u will knw dt fashola's decision is a good one!..

Some comments I see here really upsets me. Haba! Give the guy credit for once. Corpses not claimed are the major reasons why mortuaries are congested. Why not take them ( the corpse ) out and make space for doz dat can be claimed.

Dats true

Crux! said...

I believe Him; ride BRF *thumbs up*

i think mr governor have to come to my hood to pratice these akward bill (*-*)

My only concern is the fact that nigeria is not a country which follows laws and procedures. Police and public officials may use this as a chance to dispose of illegally killed innocent civilians for whom they cannot explain their deaths. This law is a bad idea. It will be used by a corrupt.system.to hide their actiond. Im afraid for nigeria now

You really got me thinking. A friend posted this on fb yesterday - http://www.facebook.com/Ketimay/posts/4744438661596 I am sad this morning. I witnessed a horrific crime committed by man against his fellow man. A man driving a Toyota Avalon, obviously in a rush to get to work, and a bike rider on his way to his destination, collided. The aftermath of the accident left the biker dead. Sad as it was, it became sadder when the driver drove to a nearby police post to report the case and was sent back to the scene of the accident with one policeman. On arriving at the scene a horde of bikers ignored the policeman, pulled out the driver, and despite his pleadings and tears, they proceeded to beat him to death. I wonder at that man's last thoughts as blows from feet, sticks, stones and fists rained down on him; should he have driven on? Why had he done the right thing...it hadn't paid...his family, friends...the job he'd been running off to.... Sometimes, it seems to me that man is just an animal, with only the conventions of society keeping him from running wild. I think that and I'm sad. #We Can't Blame This On The Government.

cant wait for this man to fly from gov house joo.

jamund2k said...

Nigerians can make a big deal outta nuffin! @Anonymous 12:18, there are many issues that need to be solved! So what you're implying is that all other issues should be put on hold juts because there's unemployment???? I advise you start thinking more before dropping comments.

And please the endtime crusaders should put a cork in it! Cremation is not a big deal, its being done in many parts of the world. Saves us the need to convert valuable land into cemetaries!

Choi! Niga police ohhhhhhhhhhh! Open door for ur wikd ways now. Kill and burn, no prove! Chai! Weepn for our nation now.

Bad law for the civilian, good law for corrupt police

Yes,I consent to other opinions dt re against d act,cos even if d govt of lagos state meant no harm by signing ds into law,trust our ever unabiding citizens to turn d table against it.ds wl just be abused especially by our nig.police who mite take laws into dre hands.btw,never seen ds kind of law being synonymous wth a black nation-nigeria in particular. OLUWA WA GBA CONTROL........eh,eh,eh.

Too many olodos on LIB wahlahi. The bill clearly states "unclaimed" corpse!!!! In case you can't decipher what the bill means, it means dead bodies that are not claimed by friends or family etc, after a certain period of time the mortuary holding the body can cremate the body.

pretty T said...

as usual. misplaced priorities of our lawmakers. i assume, all other pressing issues affecting the masses in lagos state have been taken care of before this??? instead of them to donate or sell unclaimed bodies to colleges of medicine in order to promote medical research and advancement. a na emenu.i'll probably stop going to lagos, one cant tell whats in the air one will be breathing. you might just be walking around,inhaling the dusty remains of one rapist without knowing.smh

Infant, d first thing that came to my mind was, EASY AND CoNVIVIENt WAY OF DISPOSAl; not even the police, since u have to pay d Crematorium but Politicians who have plenty motives & money; bad çombination!!!!!!

Ɠ♡♡D gesture in a bad political setup.... The aim is Ɠ♡♡D but the actors (politicians n security agents) will abuse it. #Siting Ezu River Corpses was recovered cus they cnt cremate them#

All u dumb ass idiots must u think every one is as evil as ur fore farthers? The governor said a body would be cremated if and only if it has not been claimed by any family member within a stipulated period, have u ever been to the murtuary to c it's state, their are bodies everywhere and no space at all even for those who can afford it and that leaves the whole place smelling like hell.some corpse have been their for over a year without any family member laying claim to it so pls understand a motive before u talk.

I see nothing wrong with it. The body is just an empty shell once the person that inhabited it dies, so why keep unclaimed corpses in mortuaries indefinitely?

Mind you, the bodies have to go through a crematorium where records have to be kept. Would you take a body you don't want to be connected with to a crematorium?

Skay said...

The problem with nigeria govt policies is no adequate consultations with public b4 enactment especially these cremation issue foreign to most nigerians. Any adoption of foreign ideas should be carefully treated and educate the public of the benefit. I know this is 21st century, the country must move 4ward.
Skay

Aryah said...

Cremation is different from burning.
In naija it is "burning". All they have to do is pour kerosene or fuel on the corpses and burn.
At least with cremation there is respect and honour involved in the process.

well said and claim ur body it will reduce burial ground sites and waste of land for development...tink o nigerians

victoria osuagwu's said...

Lmao!! Kalu gosh ur hilarious