Dear LIB readers: Where's the best place to meet single, available men in Lagos? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 9 June 2013

Dear LIB readers: Where's the best place to meet single, available men in Lagos?

From a female LIB reader:
Can you ask your male readers the best places and ways to meet single available men?
I last went on a decent date like 4 years ago & after returning to Nigeria from my postgrad it's been a major struggle getting to meet handsome, inspiring cool guys. Men who like outdoor sports, hiking & camping, the beach swimming or building their own kitchen cabinets. I work in the middle of a financial and IT hub on the island with numerous banks and telecom offices around, I see some good looking guys occasionally when I go out to lunch but that's where it ends. With most of my friends not in the country and others married & busy with their families, having a girls night out is like pulling tooth from the very few available female friends I have got left. I have lately been getting the wrong attention from men I don't like even though I tried keeping them as platonic friends which never works out, till I realized I have not being proactive in choosing the men that approach me but yet I keep complaining and I want to change all that. Please help

261 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 261 of 261

Hey am single too lookin for a serz
Relatonship too buh d prob is am not in d country @ d moment, left d country some weeks back if u are ready to try again dis my number +97466723117

gbamm ama...I don't even have international passport sef let alone travel out but dude u de learn for where my brain de.... but I really don't wanna meet or date a guy like u cos u really sound myopic concluding already wen u haven't met real girls
HONNEY

How pretty are you MYRAYA? Email me at bullville10atgmaildotcom

Hmmn launch! Okay oh!!

T.R.E.P.I.C LLC said...

Please don't lower your standards for any reason, am sure you will find the right man one day. My advice for you, go out often to the places pple suggested, forget abt the fact that you are single, engage in something you love doing and live ur life before its gone. you might even find that man during the process.

Jeg said...

Unfortunately, the most caring guys are not usually handsome or rich! So be wise in your hunting my dear.

Jeg said...

Unfortunately, the most caring guys are not usually handsome or rich! So be wise in your hunting my dear.

@ MYRAYA; can we hook up?
Am serious, no joke or games.
Email me; paulpina7@gmail.com

@MYRAYA; let's hook up. Am serious. No joke or games. But if u aint serious don't bother.
Pls contact me via; paulpina7@gmail.com

9jagurl said...

The best places to meet men in Lagos are Wedding Receptions and Church (Large Pentecostal) services (sundays, camp,etc).
Naija men like these bcos they bliv that's where all the pretty wifey materials are at.
Besides Church is where U go meet God to get solutions to problems and anointing to make more money!

These are where most of us babes get our Husbands. The bad boys are more at d Clubs!

BeautifulMe said...

@ Anon 5:40, take heart ma heart. D sun is gonna shine on u soon. Just hold on just a lil bit longer. Its dose dat overcome dat always av stories to tell.

Dont look for them, let them look for you. just focus on your goals and dremas. the right man will surely come.

"outdoor sports, hiking & camping, the beach swimming or building their own kitchen cabinets".....i know sum1 who fits d bill perfectly. My carpenter who lives in Makoko. Swims out to land, hikes the rest of the journey to his shop, where he would build your kitchen cabinet. He fishes in his spare time. Perfecto!

DaDiva said...

The best way to meet Good men is through other Good Friends/acquaintances.
Nig men may not be into outdoor sports, but if you find a good man, he will be willing to try new things with and for you. good luck ;)
Note: try matured weddings and other social events. basically, get out there and have a life,...you will find what you're looking for.

I'm sure in Linda's mind she's like "Sweetheart, i dint publish your story for nothing. Biko, find and show me where to go and collect my own". Lol

Hard to see Nigerian men who have those qualities, ur best bet is to seek a. Man who is Nigerian but lives abroad, pple like that see life differently, have more exposure and are more likely to possess those qualities than a common lagos man would do. Ps. I am talking out of experience. Other than that, u would be extremely lucky to find such and man who is truly good. Home based Nigerian men are difficult and shady

I totally concure wit wale I rili dnt know y u came her givin history of ur wat ever life its called advice nt judgements
Besides u r nt a virgin so zip

I totally concure wit wale its called advice nt judge me u got married 2 who cares. People r gettin married @ 13 if u dnt knw pls if u sexualy depressed @ 6 -n d morning u dnt av 2 bring it up 2 blog

Wooza said...

There are many girls looking for the same kind of guys that you want..problem is these guys are few making the law of economics set in.
Too much money going after too few goods causes inflation. Guess what happen at the end of the day? You girls help the guys bring out the bad side in them with your desperation.
Most of my friends fits your description and even more but you will suffer a lifetime of heartbreak dating them..you will never be their only game.
It is in the numbers baby, the more the girls, the better for the player.
My advice to you? Slow down and purge yourself of your crazy ideas or stay single and pursue your dreams. It is all up to you.

Lol...I dont think it's harding finding such men in Nigeria..there's something wrong somewhere

Omo said...

Fake Ahdaizy, get a life.

Honey, ur thinking is all wrong. Girls nite out? Or do u mean a nite out with dead weight? Ask self, is my game tight? Men are everywhere and single. It shouldn't take going our with the girls to "find time to attract single men". I"m married and still attract them all. Have good friend provide feedback about how u look and the depth of your conversation to see if u can improve on anything. Women worldwide will tell anyone naija men don't sleep when it comes to fine women. Lol!

Try sport bars, we love sports and love women that can cope with that. i-wired

Shaunz Bar is not a bad idea too.
i-wired

Olajumoke said...

I really feel this lady..buh honestly I feel you should jxt enjoy yourself and be happy, Nobody is saying u shld not go out but bliv me even if u attend weddings every Saturday and registry every Thursday if God has not position the right man for u there forget it!!! My dear pray that God should position u in the right place cos it might be where u least expect to meet the man, u can even meet him in a public transport. Have this at the back of ur mind always keep ur options open and be prayerful also avoid wearing provocative dress so that wen men start flocking around u wont confuse them for being the right person. A friend of mine almost made a mistake of marrying a guy that is already married with twins(she did not know he's married)Most importantly be prayerful and God is ur strength..LIB readers should pls be a bit sensitive to pple's issues, if they don't need ur advice they wont go all d way to write d long story...Linda dis is the 5th time am commenting on ur blog and u don't seem to post my omments..Love u loads

The best comment so far was from paulo and a few others..thank you for your honesty and maturity.95percent of LIB readers talk rubbish,no offence buh its the truth.someone ask a simple reasonable question..the least you can do is give a reasonable answer or keep quiet if you have nothing reasonable to say biko.you really dont have to insult the person.words are powerful.

Candy Rex said...

hmmmm, eyez rolling...so now women go man-hunting?

Chop Chop said...

I lyk ur hobbies but can u marry a truck pusher?

BeBe said...

All of u saying shes on a long thing, shame on you! you have just shown how backward most Nigerian men are.

The best advice is keep being you. Do your extracurricular activities, join groups and hangout alot. Enjoy your life now as if you didn't care about having a bf. Do what you love, go on vacations.

You are most likely to find guys who are into things you like while you are doing those same things too..

Cheers...

give me a call, i promise i will link u up with that special guy u have waiting for. 07069763584; (Remember is a promise)

@mama ifu, you are a frustrated idiot for saying she is fat. From your name it sounds like u live in a face me i slap u compound and u will be those kind of women that fights her neighbors every morning. She has stated her desires so deal with it. Or are u angry u didn’t state yours before papa ifu got u pregnant while u were hawking your frustration? Leave fat people alone and focus on how u can make your life better. Must u all judge people? Fyi, mama ifu, i'm actually a slim cute guy, so let me know when papa ifu is not performing ok?(Wink)

I'm hugging u from here mama ifu my new friend......lmao.....

tell me about it. Its a struggle meeting good men but hey my friend met her hubby in traffic on her way home so babes my conclusion you meet them ANYWHERE.....

Well said James. You get three out of five stars. Reason being you chastised the lady and gave no advise. Sometimes individual should not be used only as sounding board for criticism but need encouragements

Sweet heart. I hate to burst your bubble but you need to get your priorities right first. Camping, hiking and building kitchen cabinets is a no no. You will grow to be 90 before you find a 9ja dude that fits that bill. Go and be an usher in House on the Rock Church. You will certainly get noticed if your are very pretty

WRONGEST PLACE TO ASK FOR ADVICE. VERY BAD DIS BLOG DOESN'T HELP BUT JUST JUDGE.SO MANY PEOPLE WOULD HAVE LIKED TO ASK THIS QUESTION TOO.

Khernn!e said...

You are likely to meet eligible bachelors at weddings... Dress nicely and go with a friend,even if You weren't invited,find a friend that has a wedding to attend,and tag along... Its no big deal. On weekdays,You can go sit and have drink in a bar,probably at one of these nice hotels on the island, dress corporate.. Nice men will ask to join You,but don't look too desperate... God's time is the best though. Wish You luck

1st to comment said...

Ok girl which one can you do how many different pots of soup can you cook? can you keep house without a househelp? smhhh! Instead of you to pray for a hard working God fearing man you dey list criteria. Good luck!

There many husband materials out there looking for a wife materials. All you need do is to start behaving like that kind of woman you will want for your son in future. I'm 29yrs,with a very good job & I have nice guys like me who are looking forward tO meeting the right one. Just realize that you can't have all you need. You should have few major criteria & be flexible with other criteria. I wish all persons in this state luck.

Dear Linda, I luv this topic much, I hve gone through all the advice and looking forward to utilising them. I will be coming back finally to naija and I really need a good guy I can settle down with as am already 32yrs. Am happy u raised this topic, tank u. Running off to shop for corporate wears and wedding dresses. Ify.

Dnt be unwise, you cn only find Gods perfect man FØ® you wen you r in christ Jesus (1thes 5:18). U will neva find ur 'mr perfect' wen ur busy messing around. Gød z wiser dan ur ancestors, he wnt let you corrupt decent nd God fearing men. U MUST be born again nd den hv ur mind renewed, b4 u cn dicova Gods will. Jst get busy improving ur Christian life, dnt depend on ur experience or pples advice. Let Gød lead nd you'll find him. More grace sister!

There are lots of people who are in her shoes and need a man as well.........take heart dear.

It's not too hard for God.........hiking and kitchen cabinet not withstanding. All of you who are judging her should take a back seat. She has the right to like what she likes.

And she will surely get it just because she asked.

I was once like you dear, going from pillar to post just to find me a husband to be. I didn't even have many friends to hang out with so sometimes I can't go to places because going alone is a no- no.

Pray to God, He will answer. He answered me. Be nice to people around you as we'll because those are the same people He will use to bring your husband to you.

I met my fiancé through a perfect stranger who I was nice and courteous to and that stranger hooked me up to the love of my life. Now that stranger is also a friend....lol

Helloooo???? Just teach and tell the guy what you want or like..My dear, all these ones are abroad thingz oh! No dulling..I have the same problem like , I can't even find a lady who will go dutch with me at a dinner...Am not stingy but, let the guy feel that this lady is independent like linky linky, even if the guy has the money. It disgust me when a lady always expect a guy to pay pay pay,buy .buy , buy...are you a thief in disguise? Now if I will advice you , if you want hiking e.t.c go for your hols with the guy you manage to catch , I recommend you blend with Nija lifestyle ATM...When I got back from the UK , I had to blend cos Dudes wanna make serious moniesss , romance without money for a guy like me is CRAP! and besides , money is self confidence so forget alot of dudes are hussling for Big money with their time abeg..CAMP kor , Prayer mountain ni..you better wake up...

My dear sister, go to the forest, the kind of men you are looking for are in the forest camping and hiking.

Aryah said...

In David's City Redeemed chapel. The single men have all the cars of your taste.

Aryah said...

If you are in Abuja, go to Coza. You will find a man who meets all your criteria.

@1:56, thanks for your reply. I'm not a frustrated idiot, and I don't live in Nigeria, let alone a face-me, whatever the hell u called it. I live in a mansion in Atlanta. Papa Ifu lays the pipe on the regular and I'm 6 months pregnant with my second child.
I know this girl, because I WAS this girl, looking for ridiculous things in a man till I wised up. SHE is the frustrated idiot, looking for a kitchen cabinet maker who also has the time to take her hiking, in hot Naija.....she didn't find him outside the country, it's in Naija she will find a hiker...
Don't mind all the jokes and everything...not everyone on LIB is a frustrated loser like you....but hugs to you, and good luck snookums!

Smooches!

Mama Ifu

Linda, who are u fooling? come out of ur closet and tell us u are the one that needs that answer. lib reader my foot!

Wow .... Who are all these haters, is better for the lady to have asked for guys who drive range rovers and live in their own penthouse apartments ? I live close to elegushi beach & after all d low lifes have finishied making noise at night I see average Nigerians taking their early morning exercise by d beach & enjoying the out doors so you don't have to be rich to go hiking & camping you just have to be enlighten & have evolved from the poor man mentality of working till you drop dead in trying to maintain status quo, (which sadly most nigerians are) my advice just chill and not be desperate guys can smell that...

If you are Igbo and below 27 I cam hook you up with the guy of your dreams! He's Yoruba @ a bag of charm! Hez in he,s eary 30sband want just Igbo!

Consider your work place and place of worship.
Learn to make yourself accessible.

You guys shud shots ur Dirty mouths or u getout.
When u dont have any gud word to contribute, why nt find a favourable place n sitdown instead.
Helo mine Poster, kindly visit any christian church & attend ur services. Also, when u are going to the church make sure u prayed very well & tell God to open ur ways for u. Also pray & ask God to provide a Faithful man who will take Care of u for u. I rest my case. I wish u gud luck.

You nko , your telling her to steal someone's bf / husband . Iyalaya ashewo, you will be the next person that Linda will be reporting on that you got acid poured on your face , nonsense

GLAM ME PRO said...

Ify boy. u think say u sharp bah? you use style drop ur Pin here.LOL! But linda it wont be a bad idea if u do a post for dating and meeting singles. You will never know how many ppl that will get married via your blog including yourself.... Pictures and nos

I THANK EVERYONE!

Thanks every one for ur point of views God bless

Linda, you might want to consider having a separate post for dating on your blog.One for those in Naija and maybe one for naija peeps in the Uk or US cos I am looking for a God-fearing naija chic here in yankee too and RCCG or Winners is not close to where I live.As for akata for here, na no go area.

Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I provijde credit and sources back to your
weblog? My website is in the exact same niche as
yours and my users would certainly benefit from a lot of the information you provide here.
Please leet me know iif this okay with you. Thank you!

my website ambien

dress up games said...

i learnt a lot of fantastic sort of the girls dressing and the various sort of the dressing thats why the post is very nice. once a searching the dresses i found the online dressing games and the dress up games for girls.

DatingAvatar said...

It has to be said that there are lots of men out there these days but to meet rich men in your area is not an easy task,

There's no rule to this. U can meet men anywhere just be approachable. Some girls are not approachable even with all the functions they attend their dullness chases away every man that comes around, men love interesting women. Be sociable, dress well, look good, package yourself properly, attend many events (weddings, clubs, birthday gatherings etc) , be approachable, smile and you will meet people.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 261 of 261   Newer› Newest»