UNILAG student jailed for promising love & defrauding an American lady | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 11 October 2012

UNILAG student jailed for promising love & defrauding an American lady

For allegedly defrauding an American lady, Kathy Lunsford through the internet under the pretext of marriage, a University of Lagos student, Michael Opaleye has been sent to jail by a Lagos State High Court
Opaleye was sentenced to 18 months imprisonment today by Justice Aishat Opesanwo for defrauding Miss Kathy Lunsford, of 9,200 US dollars under the pretext of getting married to her.

The convict who is studying computer science at UNILAG had pleaded guilty to the charge of obtaining by false pretence and forgery.

He had entered into a plea bargain deal with the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission(EFCC) and offered to pay back the money to his victim.

The judge in her judgment, said the sentence would commence on 15 March when he was first arraigned before the court.

She also ordered Opaleye after his release from prison,to pay N100,000 monthly to the victim through the EFCC until he refunded the total amount involved in the scam.

The convict is also to forfeit the electronic appliances and other items purchased with the proceeds of the crime, which were recovered from his house during the investigation, to the EFCC.
EFCC counsel, Mr Anselem Ozioko said Opaleye had between 2008 and 2011, swindled Lunsford by making a phoney marriage proposal to her through e-mail.

He said Lunsford had sent Opaleye the said amount as part of his travelling expenses from the United Kingdom to the United States of America to facilitate their marriage.
Ozioko said the defendant forged a Nigeria drivers Licence No. WWD24174AAJ, which he claimed was issued by the Federal Road Safety Commission (FRSC).

He said the Opaleye forged a bank draft which he claimed was issued by the Bank of Ireland, Dublin.
The offences according to him had contravened Sections 419 and 467 of the Criminal Code Laws of Lagos State 2003.

Source: PM News

88 comments:

It's idiots like these who give us a bad name outside.

No post ke???? Where are all D Bloggers?

Very good. This is what we call yahoo yahoo. Always giving us bad names... 18months is too small also..

Na today?....is there no law also that indicts women like this too wey get long throat for marriage to African men via email by 'paying'for their marriages etc?it takes two to tango..na so i see this internet scam tins.If i am not 'greedy'so to speak in some way,i wouldn't also fall for a Yahoo-Yahoo scam.

God help nigerian, am tired of dis our corrupt nation, may God deliver us.

yugee said...

and the oyibo people will never learn their lessons

Live fast die young. There are many oda legitimate ways u can use ur ingenuity in making endsmeet. Enough of dis bad names to our country.

Nigerian are so full of corruption, may God help us, frm this our country, pls the bad egg should be punish severly.*wink*

Why wud people post when she only post what she feels like posting

Hahahahhahahaha! Bad name indeed...the ones wey dey asia, europe and america ko????????

For how much? How much our Government dey loot? how many prison em go? Who dey give the Country Bad Name? This and more must be deliberated.

Donesowell said...

I live in the states and have a good rapport with my colleagues because of who I am even if they hear anything negative about Nigeria,I remain who I am and work very hard at my job.They want to live the big life with no means of income but to send spam and mess things up for the hardworking working ones like me out here.You don't have to be a millionaire by force or being pressured by family and peers and end up coming crime out here through short cuts when you can have the patience to save and plan ahead as long as you don't buy to much and owe money on your credit card.I spend cash here and never thought about the credit card enticement because I want to buy out-rightly what I own.Nowadays,you see teenagers wanting to flaunt Jeeps and hondas their father cannot afford and they never get questioned because they call it 'hammer'.

I know whats up but never get carried away by all the material gains.We Nigerians know our siblings that are in the game even if we pretend say we no know them.Been there and through the internet man take enter yankee but you will not see a tatoo or 2 gold chains being flaunted here and there.

So many money miss road and ibet we know they are deep in rituals as well make dem for pay.Linda post my comment.

Sociable said...

What he did was bad but hey there are top lawyers,bankers,politicians who do yahoo yahoo and don't think yahoo yahoo is only with the Internet chatting like what the youths do with their laptop or Internet cafe. They should also arrest all the politicians for and top business people including the judge because they have one way or the other done yahoo yahoo on the masses.

The Aluu 4 people won't get upto 1yr in jail but yahoo boy will right? Most of you talking,especially the ladies ,I bet you don't mind a yahoo boy as long as the money is available bcos most of u don't asked where it's from . Abi una think say yahoo yahoo na only Internet?

There is yahoo yahoo in politics,banks,police etc.
So many rich kids do yahoo and their parents are aware . So what's with the conviction ?

Sociable said...

Thank you! Don't mind them. There is yahoo yahoo even in the judiciary system. The court system has failed us and the Govt is killing the masses slowly with their wicked selfish ways which is think is more of yahoo yahoo .

The killings that happen in ALuu will never be addressed by the court and I see that as yahoo yahoo. So people should nt be distracted easily by this news rather we should face the government inability to take care of the citizen due to their looting and wickedness.

The leaders in this country are the cause of corruption.they did more than what the guy has done.someone said Nigeria is full of corruption,is it not the white people brought the word called corruption and are they not the one that teach Africa.If you don't know,there are a lots of countries that are corrupt more than Nigeria.I know many people are doing more than what the guy done,but everyone will like to cover his/her own up.so don't judge.Only God can change the situation of this country so called NIGERIA.

This guy just finished himself. How could he have plead guilty.
Ok. He promised to marry the mumu lady and the lady decided to pay part of his traveling fare. But he later changed his mind. Your honour my client has broken no law.
As per the money my client's former girlfriend borrowed my client, my client will pay it back in due course. My client is still a student and once he graduate from school he will pay it back.
Infact your honour, my client is a law abiding citizen. He has never been involved in any shady deals.He is an outstanding student.
As per the document that was alleged that my client forged, my know nothing about those documents.
bla, bla, bla, bla,

pls don't blame him, he dey practice him course Computer Science, guys there's something good u can do, pls do it. don't defraud another person.

YA ALL FOOLS NIJA POLITICIANS LOOTING MASSIVE AMOUNT OF DOLLARS OUT OF THE COUNTRY ..WHO PUT THEM IN JAIL ABEG LEAVE THE POOR BOY MEN. CURRUPT COUNTRY LIKE NAIJA WEY NOBODY GET LIFE AND FUTURE WETIN UNA WANT THE POOR BOY TO DO..MAKE HIM GO CARRY GUN? THE BOY USE HIM BRAIN LIKE POLITICIAN DEM THEY JAIL AM FOOLS

"I must drive Range Sport" if this guy use the sense wey he dey use scam oyinbo invent something,it will b fr d common good of our nation. Instead na yahooyahoo b dis one talent,siddon dey press computer till he find maga. Linda,u for use us him picture naw,mk we see d face of d thief!

U don get job?

#Queen

Its such a shame dat tins lik dis happan in our con3 n ll continue 2 occur unless our system changes wch I dnt c happanin any tym soon

Na y dem no like to dey give us visa, people should shun scam and go legit.

Sunday said...

Why are these guys giving internet deals/transactions/businesses a bad names? There are so many legitimate businesses online. Why must they be doing all these forms of deals all in the name of money. I do 99.9% internet based business (Bulk SMS business) which I have built successfully over 17 months ago and I am making between N120,000 and N150,000 net profit per month. Internet is a very good avenue to make cool money. No matter where I am and regardless of the time, I make cool and legitimate money from my bulk sms business almost every hour. These so called yahoo yahoo guys can make the best use of internet to make decent money too.

WTF,wat about our leaders,how many of them av been condemed to prison...abegi

dats y dey luk @ every Nigerian lyk a fraud
if u a Nigerian,den u must visit dis blog
naijamustchange.blogspot.com

meethey said...

If the source is not taking care of then their can't be solution. Blv me,we won't stop hearing stories of scam,robbery,prostituting,killing,kidnapping etc until nigeria is stable.... Poverty can be frustrating. Unfortunately d masses r d 1c paying thr lives for d wrong doing of d government.....God have mercy on us. *sad face*

yahoo yahoo still dey work.
the woman is dumb abeg....

Why can't you just tell her that yóu are black and that's the real you. Must we make money out of everything and enter wahala. She has fallen so much in love and will hardly leave after telling her (especially after investing in d fake u...lol). There are a lot of them who really want true love and a man that will respect them (Africans are the best at this). On a more serious note, I have a girl friend from the UK that I met online. I have not taken a dime from her bcos that's really not necessary and she won't stop calling and texting begging for me to come over to the uk. But I can't just leave my job bcos of oyinbo. She will even go late to work sef just to catch an hour chat with me on skype , cry over the phone when she hears a ladies voice when she calls (Not minding if I am in the office or a public place). Initially when we just started she will rain on me (over the phone) with a Million F**k you (bcos its normal for them to swear @everything and everyone) but I have put her in her places and she can't believe I will respect and change her attitude just through the phone and skype (Mind u we have still not met physically) . If not for her believe that planes coming to Nigeria have the highest tendency to crash (flight phobia)...she for don land Muritala Mohammed airport asking people how to get to my house...lol. .Be Proud of yourself, Be proud you are African and Black! #Retro52---.>The government has failed us (YES WE KNOW) but you must not fail yourself.

I tire for ds gullible oyinbo a--hOles! Na by force 2 marry via internet? Den no dey learn dr lesson? Msheeeew

you see it as scam,i see it as recovery for the stolen properties they did to us all in the name of slavery.You talk about scam why don't you talk about how politician scam the citizens,how mtn want to scam Nigeria with aeroplane.Those ones are legal scam abi.The woman wants a rich man and see where it landed her.Nonsense

i wonder why some bloggers dont think before they start typing crap... Bad name indeed... where are the jobs out there for so-called graduates??? the dude was trying to make ends meet to survive through Unilag, he was in a university, meaning he still knew what he was doing no matter what... What happened to all the top politicians and executives arraigned by EFCC? did we hear of even 6 months sentence for them? because one boy scam oyinbo of about 10,000 USD, Judge sharply sent him to jail... SMH> USELESS COUNTRY ... they had beta come and catch us all . TEAM YAHOO

Teejay said...

Vry good 4 him and I hope he would learn 4rm it

A RICH MAN WILL LOOT AND NO ONE OF YOU WILL COMMENT BECAUSE SOME OF YOU BENEFIT FROM THEM ESPECIALLY THE LADIES , FRIENDS AND FAMILY. BUT A POOR BOY THAT WANT TO SURVIVE WILL BE JAILED AND SOME IDIOT WILL BE THERE CRUCIFYING THE POOR BOY.

IF OUR GOVERNMENT IS SINCERE AND HAVE OUR INTEREST AT HAND, THIS CANT HAPPEN BESIDES HOW MANY AMERICAN INTERNATIONAL FRAUDSTERS HAVE YOU SEEN THEIR GOVERNMENT EXPOSED INTERNATIONALLY? ITS ONLY IN NIGERIA. WHAT IS THE LADY LOOKING OUT HERE WHEN THERE ARE PLENTY OF BLACK/ NIGERIAN GUYS IN USA THAT EVEN NEED THEM TO GET THEIR STAY, MAYBE SHE MUST HAVE TESTED SOME AND DUMP THEM , NOW DECIDED TO COME TO NAIJA HERSELF.

THE HIGHEST FINANCIAL CRIME WAS COMMITTED IN AMERICA BY AMERICAN (MARDOFF). PLEASE SOME PEOPLE SHOULD NOT OPEN THEIR MOUTH WHEN THEY DONT NO A THING. LETS PROTECT THE INTEREST OF OUR COUNTRY BY BEING A BROTHERS KEEPER.

BESIDES, SOME OF YOU OUT THERE MUST HAVE ENJOY THIS SAME CASH OR FROM SAME SOURCE BY ANOTHER GUYS/ LADIES.

HOWEVER, MY DEARS, CRIME NO GOOD OOOOOOOOOOOOO, BUT LETS HAVE GOOD CONSCIENCE TOWARDS MONEY MAKING. YOUNG MAN, TRY AND LOOK FOR WHAT TO DO PLEASE.

Rubbish! The idiotic oyinbo wey dey pay for marriage should be jailed as well! So becos ordinary $9200 this young man was jailed!18 months no too far!

Nah for only naija blind man dey get drivers license, nah for only poor man body efcc abi nah eficy dey call dem dey get power, yeye people, tufiapka! Abeg wetin happen to bankole and that thief wey collect money from otedola?

I know dis is nor relevant here. But please, who has folusho's Ogunjimi's contact, d sokoyokoto fame anchor.

So how many years will all the high and mighty that have defrauded dis country mercilessly get?who and what taught this little boy how to steal from pple??I don't get excited over all dis rubbish eye service rulings.how bout paying back d money,community service and placing him on probation?

Yahoo boi...Omo ale jatijati...

Angry G Guy! said...

God bless u brother,what have been done to all these our looting politicians? What has the country ever provided for these youths? Why can't these holier than thou EFCC people do what they are supposed to do? A young man who is smart enough to. Make his ends meet na him una go arrest send to prison,God will punish all una generations that loot Nigerian money,see as them talk say him goo dey pay through EFCC,ndi oshi,how we go take know if una give the Maye the money? Thunder fire all una EFCC!

Bad Name My Ass!!! Abeg, He his just trying to survive. even the justice that sentenced him to jail should check his own heart if he his not guilty.

deczylet said...

Soooo embarrasing..

Stupid e**cc dem no pipu wey dey defraud the country they won't catch dem ..now cos of 9200$ ..dem carry am for head .......*hisssssss*

kcee said...

I never knew this yahoo yahoo still dey work. I thought the whites has learnt all our tricks. The girl must be a complete mugu.Most guys after doing something else to get money, will start claiming they got it through yahoo yahoo.

Zunny said...

If u hv not sinned b4, Be the 1st to throw stones @the poor boy....This Nig 4yuh

I So agree with anon11:08, na today? As far as I'm concerned, the guy sudnt even face time in jail at all jor. c'mon he told d woman he will marry her, and then got her to day for his expenses to come see her...what was his crime? He tols a lie,abi no b so?...Nigerian men do this erday to our fellow nigeiran women and get away with it. Where is d law wen it happens and where is dis jobless judge to? As far as he ddnt force her with a gun to her head either d he even rob her abeg u pple sud let d boi go jor wetin...its d daft woman dat sud even b put in jail, cos dis level of daftness is jst criminla mehn...Efe says soooo#gbam

I say a big thumps up to EFCC and the judicial system. More of such arrests should be made and also made public. Its good to know that our system done dey work.
Jojo

Ur completely ignorant or wat? Wetin dey do u? Dis is a crime story. It was handled well n ur beefin cos it doesn't tickle ur fancy? U must hate news so much. Move jor

of only they would be this diligent with the big thieves stealing billions under their very noses.

and for those who lynched the small kid in lagos. instead of just releasing them. if diligence and due process were to prevail, there would be more arrets in port harcourt, including police officials who failed to protect the public.

child's play said...

Every nigerian is an imbecile

adukeologe(clickme) said...

Good riddance....

FOR HOME DESIGN IDEAS (CLICK NAME):
NEW POST - A GLOBETROTTING FLORIDA HOME

Its strange in this country when Ibru that looted Oceanic bank of billions of Naira got just 6 months spent in the Reddington hospital. What an irony, which country is run like this except Nigeria banana republic. Get me right, the guy should be punished for his offence, no doubt about that. Just like any other citizen appropriate punishment should be metted out to whatever crime committed by whoever, no matter how highly placed he/she is, then things will start taking shape.

abeg they should leave the guy joor,i send the girl message,

na wa o

18 months for 9200 Dolls,how bout our politicians,the once cought faruking??...they can aswell kill the poor boy na..idiats,make them go die shameful death abeg,mumu EFCC.

Warri Girl said...

Come and marry backfired on the guys head,lol. Its good the G-boys are getting caught, this is an example to all of them

how desperate can white ladies be na!!! Ah ahn...simply foolishness

Hiss...let he who is not corrupt in one way or d other speak,in a country of corrupt leaders,where u can only make it 2ru corruption and ill practices,what do u xpect?...nxt 1 plz

me i no see any wrong 4 watin d guy do oo. 4 me 2 born mumu instead i go born criminal. D gel dn c mugu wea she go use as slave! If na me self na ha country i go sale

brandigest said...

What of the Presidency that do us Yahoo Yahoo? Though I am not justifying the students act.
http://brandigest.wordpress.com/2012/10/11/2face-idibia-cant-speak-good-english-he-made-it-his-brand-identity-and-it-worked-for-him/

good for him, no short cut to success

naijaopenmouth.com

double omoba say ..........Linda help me ask EFCC how much ole Bode George chairman of NPA paid back out of 85 billions uncovered when he was chairman. they find him guilty and sentenced him to 30 months in VIP placed in prison he did not wear uniform and his food was prepared by family member. go to NPA many Pensioner could not get thier pension after many year of services.one law for big 419 another for small 419. you people think God is sleeping he deal with all of you one by one. EFCC will lose hope in you and stop fooling people that you are working.police can do better than what you people are doing you are a big scan organisation only for the poor people.

No bodi holy pass, d dude ran out of luck, sowie 4 him!!! Next....

why cant you just tell her about the real you. Must we make out money from everything. She has fallen deep in love and will hardly want if off (especially after investing in you..lol). On a more serious note, Africans have the best love culture and we are respected by many for this. Let me tell u abit of my story : I HAVE A GIRL FRIEND IN THE UK THAT I MET ONLINE (FACEBOOK).WE WERE ONLY COMMUNICATING OFTEN BEFORE WE BECAME FRIENDS AND IT GREW STRONGER. I HAVE NOT TAKEN A DIME FROM HER BECAUSE I FEEL IT IS NOT NECESSARY. THIS IS HOW BADLY SHE IS SHE ATTACHED TO ME NOW - SHE CAN GO LET TO WORK JUST TO CATCH A ONE HOUR CHAT WITH ME ON SKYPE. SHE CAN GO MAD WHEN SHE HEARS A FEMALE VOICE DURING OUR PHONE CONVERSATION (NOT MINDING IF I WAS IN A PUBLIC PLACE). INITIALLY WHEN WE STARTED, SHE WILL USE THE F**K WORD TO EVERYTHING AND ANYONE BUT AS TIME GOES ON I PUT HER IN PLACES . IF NOT FOR HER BELIEVE THAT EVERY FLIGHT TO NIGERIA HAS A HIGH TENDENCY TO CRASH, SHE FOR DON LAND MURITALA MOHAMMED AIRPORT (LOL). I ACTUALLY CANNOT LEAVE MY JOB AND RUN TO THE UK BCOS SHE IS AN OYINBO. WE MUST KNOW THAT ALOT OF PEOPLE OUT THERE WISH THEY HAD THE KIND OF LOVE CULTURE WE GOT IN AFRICA. BE PROUD TO BE BLACK, BE PROUD YOU ARE AFRICAN. (RETRO 52)

Ds mikel has bad luck. Cs of ds small change EFCC cme cari u. U beta go wash ur head 4 river nile. Mumu boi* u no sharp b dat.

n

JoeTeddy said...

What a life! A student with no prior criminal record 'defrauds' a lady of <10,000 USD, pleads guilty, EFFC arranges him, Judge sentences him to prison! A man with no prior criminal record steals recharge cards of <20,000 Naira, the police arrange him, the Judge sentences him to prison! Governors, politicians, public officers, steal billions of dollars, steal our crude oil and EFCC agrees to plea bargains, the Judge grants bail, they promise to refund some of the money, then they run for political office and we vote for them when they ask us too! Linda, do you know what is so tragic, that some dim witted people have posted comments cursing the student...'idiot','yahoo yahoo', 'good for him'...blah blah blah. These people are no different from the crowd that kept on jeering while the ALUU4 (may God avenge their death) were been slaughtered. Where is Justice when the people turn a blind eye to the real crimes...?!!!

Which one b for promising love..simple the guy use hin sense collect money 4rm am..oshiskooooo anyway sha guy enjoy ur 18months God dey...

hehehehehe owk Queen if u may Know, am working with a Fed Govt parastatal here in Abuja,I pray u can now leave me alone.

Ode!

Cone Bona so if u reply u put bonario via nokia ehh nwa. Onwero ekwe nti ozo inwere?

they should mkae sure that these kind of punishments are not just meted out on Yahoo scamers alone but also Federal government fraudsters. Only then, would we say we have Justice.

Pot Of Honey said...

abeg make them leave the guy jor, no be the american lady dey look 4 husband?

Shut u.. u corper

U are Tʰᵉ greatest fool. U are advising them and at Tʰᵉ same time you agree you used Tʰᵉ same yahoo means to enter yankee and that's what u do there but you don't flaunt it..May GOd catch up with you. U should be allued

Shut up.. U see e face for here sef with chain.. U see am tomorrow for club u go still open dat ur wide tin for am for money..hypocrite

You can do what you want, just dont get caught

U are very dumb,I bet u don't know d meaning of an imbecile...stupid fowl..

Not all Nigerians are corrupt, and want to scam white girls on these social media sights, scammers are everywhere and they are both white and black, there would have been at stage when this girl should have realised that the words were lies, but she chose to continue sending money, in many ways she is to blame as much as the perpetrator..

You All condeming Yahoo yahoo r gonna b broke 4 d rest of ur lives.. So far. Wat have u all done to dose politicials wey loot our moni. Otedola nd lawal, do you guyz hear anything from d judiciary again?? Fuck Y'll #TEAM time= £ #TEAM YAHOO

The nation is raising thieves. People are loosing their jobs everyday. The cost of living is getting higher while the salaries aren't raising. Just be thankful to your God if you happen to have a good job.

Whatever Nigerians become, the leaders made them. Faruq Lawan defrauded Otedola of $620,000. How many months or years will he get? How many months did Tafa Balogun get for defrauding the nation?

Before you talk about your country's reputation outside, sit down and think what reputation it has internally!

horluwatosyne said...

what of the top bankers and business men.......hissssssssss

I have a friend that has made close to a million dollars through the internet scam,we all know is bad but if don't risk it u can't have it.I made some thousands too lol Don't hate d aston martin cos u can't drive.Reason reasonably ! Reason like nigerians,the system is bad and people need to surivive.

@ anon 11:58 oct 11: LMFAO!!!! If I hear say 'your honour' hear that one.... But to be honest, the boy for just marry the woman after na, since he used his real details....

#Crying,this person is so foolish,can't believe a stressed my life reading this post,I insist on telling peeps to raise their kids in Nigeria,or go study and come back...white man's land ruins our brain...I'v not seen a complete outBased nigerian.I always know its their post on here,mumuish!!

#Bless u Gee

Jojo this story is made for Nigerians only,not for some Jojo plz...who EFCC don ever catch for dia life.dnt annoy me.

It is ur moma n papa that ar imbeciles,cursed child....I wonder why Linda allowed ur post,I dnt think it was screaned.mind u,u ar noted,foolish person.

Dis guy is very brilliant, after his realease he should be giving a good job. I like the guy