Aluu 4 killings: Omuokiri-Aluu Chief, 10 Others Charged To Court | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 10 October 2012

Aluu 4 killings: Omuokiri-Aluu Chief, 10 Others Charged To Court

11 people including the traditional head of Omuokiri-Aluu community, Chief Alhaji Hassan Walewa have been arraigned at the High Court in Port Harcourt over the brutal murder last Friday of four students of the University of Port Harcourt.

The state Police Commissioner, Mr Mohammed Ndabawa who made this known when the Executive Secretary of the National Human rights Commission, Prof Ben Agwe and his team visited him at the Police headquarters in Port Harcourt said a total of thirteen persons had so far been arrested in connection with the ugly incident.The state Police boss who spoke through his Deputy Police Commissioner, Mr Thomas Etomi said two persons out of the thirteen were kept behind to aid police investigation.

He assured that the Police would unearth all details relating to the murder, adding that the Commission would be kept abreast with minute developments from the Police angle on the issue. (Vanguard)

111 comments:

Tolantino said...

Please post their photos and shame them for the true murderers that they are

justice! eye for eye

We thank God!

second! :D

I HOPE JUSTICE IS ADEQUATELY SERVED, AND THIS WILL SERVE AS A WARNING TO ALL WITH SUCH DEVILISH AND EVIL DEEDS

African Sweetheart said...

Thank God!

http://africansweetheart.blogspot.co.uk/

They guys too must die.

i pray to God almighty that justice is served n they r given the capital punishment

BLOGLORD said...

Good! every culprit must be dealt with.
wicked people! 'the evil and wickedness that men do,' surprises even the devil.

A right step in d right direction. OLUWA is involved till justice is done.

Lagos-is-my-home said...

Are we sure, didn't the sister say police were at the scene watching. The police force is just pretending to be working because there is a Public outrage. Can the police show us proof that they are in custody, let us see their faces so those who watch the video can recognize the devils in human form ........ I know i am just ranting but allow me. I haven't been myself since friday. I wish i never clicked on the picture but more importantly i wished it never happened. Sad sad sad

The traditional ruler should be sentence to life in prison with hard labour. he is not fit to be call a ruler & a father. Vivian

BLOGLORD said...

Alhaji Hassan??? An alhaji is the head of ALUU community? things are beginning to fall into perspective.

Wetin Alhaji dey look for in a PH community?

Nsenile said...

Now i see why those boys got killed. A HAUSA man is the village chief...Hausa ppl like killing anyhow! No wonder the fool ordered their murder. He shud be sent back to the north where he belongs with his fellow northern murderers. Tueh

MAXIMUS™ said...

Oh my days! I just read somwhere that one of the victims (Tekena) was a Kalabari boy. He's from my home town!

*deep sigh*

As for the arrests, I sorta dont care anymore 'cos i have a bad feeling in my stomach that they'll get released and this whole drama will be swept under a rug full of deceit and lies. Just a big charade if you ask me. All i can do is hope that the after-life gives them the dignity that earth denied them.

RIP boys

clevadani said...

justice must surely be served.let dem not 4get d killing in mubi.
if u are a Nigerian,u hav to visit dis page http://naijamustchange.blogspot.com/

ARREST THE JTF OFFICIALS WHO LET THIS HAPPEN & Blocked the way of the parents. Surely they should be able to identify them

good improvement but nt enough atall.

nenyeAD said...

Amen

very goooood life in prison.......who follows dis motion

hotgirl said...

y only 13?
they were more than 13.
what of the obesse woman?
the guy shouting die!die!!in the background?
and the guy with the white check jumper top who was hammering their heads with sticks?
govt stop sleeping!!!

Oge Nsimah said...

Pls God help this our leaders to be focus , let them not take bribery and free those beast let this servers as example to other village head that thinks they can do wat so eva and and get away with it #justice4äluu.

Oge Nsimah said...

Death by hanging 2 the killers of these four .#justice4Aluu

Dtz a step in d right direction.ds issue shud be treatd wt d seriousnss it deservs.dey v acted lyk cannibalistc homo-erectus but d society l treat dem as homo-sapiens 2 brnd dem 2 shame. Justice must be served and dey must pay n full 4 dia crimes.linda, tnks a lot 4 givn ds issue d publicity it deservs. U shall surely be rewarded 4rm above.'keep it up'

An ikwerre chief cannot be called alhaji and hassan and walewa..they have caught an innocent mallam and they are taking him to high court..they should go and find the real chief because they have an impostor

Ada said...

Yes! Dats a step forward. Face d law

Judy said...

Linda I've not said anything so far but I commend u 4 keeping us abreast of Wat is happening.since I heard n read dis story I hv been so upset n enraged over Wat happened. Pls continue wit Wat u r doing n I pray God will bless u 4 standing up 4 Wat is right. I reaaaaaally hope justice will prevail n all those who committed dis gruesome act will pay dearly! God bless u. I also hope dat all of us speaking out that wen we r confronted by an act dat is so evil we won't stand aside like those in d crowd n not say anything or worse cheer evil on!

Dupe O said...

This better not be the last we hear about this case, we are all watching and waiting for justice to be served! I have been in shock since i heard about this story and all i saw was the pictures i can't even bring myself to watch the video it hurts! Reading people's comments about the video brings me to tears. And those bastards better not be granted bail because we know for naija there is no way to locate anyone before they run away... I pray that the souls of these young men rest in peace and like the blood of abel that cried out in the bible all those people that were involved in this act will never know peace!!

pple watched the lynching of those boys live and did nothing to save the situation..these pple actually stole from these young boys nd turned everythn arnd, nd took their lives...mums, children, and oda pple watched while dey tk the lives of these boys, i blv this went on for hours.this wld Robb off on the pple of Aluu's generation on unborn...they ve no value for humn lives.....the UNIPORT STUDENTS SHOULD KILL EVRYTHNG DAT BRTS IN THAT COMMUNITY..dey shld nt let these pple go, they shld fish those cannibals out.this is barbaric....i can't evn watch dat video, they shld distribute the bodies of those children round d perimeters of that community....God rest the soul of these boys.

they make sure they catch all of theme this case will not die down Justice must be serviced on Aluu

nenyeAD said...

Amen

Dr. Rukevwe said...

Nice move. More please...

Dr. Rukevwe said...

I only hope they don't mistakenly involve an innocent person...

Ziba! said...

Thank God. We pray justice will be served

This is very great and more will be arrested. #JusticeforALUU4.

Our dear amiable Prof. Ben Angwe. I so trust U. U are very good in Handling Issuez like this. Plz. Let justice be done.

Hi Linda, I think we are missing something vital here. If the story about the Aluu4 going 2 call on their debtor is true, then that debtor should be identified and made 2 face the full extent of the law. He is the one who placed a death sentence on the boys by shouting "thieves" on them in a community being terrorized by armed robberies. The system had failed in ensuring the safety of the community and they had therefore taken law into their hands and were hungry for scapegoats. The "debtor" should have come forward 2 clear the air but he kept mute and watched while innocents lives were snuffed out. He should be fished out along with others that physically executed the deed. The village chief who failed to act as a wise elder is also culpable. It is so sad, so sad, I can't imagine what does young minds must have being going through knowing death was imminent and in the most gruesome manner. #Justice4Aluu4#

story

lovelylady said...

Hope the particular guy that plunged them to death is among the arrested suspects !!!

May the souls of these beautiful boys rest in peace, my fellow Nigerians please always ask the holy spirit before you borrow anyone your money. We have just seen a case of how borrowing the wrong person or doing business deals with the wrong person can lead to one's death. i am a victim of borrowing money to the wrong person just because i was trying to be kind. im nt about to go into long stories about what it cost me. please always ask God before you get involved with people especially when its related to money. humans beings are evil, wives kill dre husbands cause of money ... these beautiful boys where killed cause the wrong person owed one of them money and this person caused their death...

I hope so. Justice must be done, so dat, at least others who went d same way will be appeased. Cos, dis exact same horror almost happened to my cousin not mor than 20mins after he left home with his friends.
Next thn we heard was report abt a mob lynchin him n to go to hks rescue coz d pplee behind d lynchim were already chantin "thief" aftr him.

God came down Himself to strengthen him torun dat day cos dey had beaten him blue black already n d mob was gettn bigger by d second with the thief chant pple were hearing.

My coz only wanted to mediate btw his younger friends n som unruly boys frm one of d army barracks in benin city wen they got violent n attacked my cousin..

Ai

deczylet said...

Dats bera. Am hopin govt dnt fuck dis up tho!

These boys, unlike my cousin, were very unlucky, to d extent dat those pple were able to find a girl to claim dat one of the boys had raped her d previous week.

Ai

faspel said...

Thank God it is leading some where so that the death of these boys cld be brought to book.

By now the town of Aluu should be leveled down, people are acting too slow for me. I thought they said everyone fled the town this is the best time to eradicate the whole town.

This is very impressive,i must commend the Rivers state police for this latest development.

? said...

Chief Alhaji ke? I thot people from PH were mostly CHRISTIANS??? Are the majority of people from Aluu christians or muslims?

MYPAGE said...

Justice on the move !

Shame on the onlookers! shame on those who videod the incident and took pictures.. uploaded it online without consideration of the families, friends and the general public who are hurt by this terrible act by animals! shame on the government for not providing security. shame on Goodluck Jonathan for acting like nothing has happened. shame on the murderers, everyone present at the incident is as guilty as the murderers, may they never find peace!

That is not enough biko! There were more than 13 people in that video. Infact, the whole village should be destroyed! After such abomination that village is cursed!! And please, have the arrested the people that accused them of being armed robbers?? The one that owed Ugonna money? If not for his lies, this would have never ever happened!!!!

Sylvia Peters said...

I was born and brought up in London and so do not read Nigerian news the way my mother does. But when my mum told me this story my heart was deeply troubled. I prayed that justice would be served to the victims of this disgraceful crime. I would come on this blog everyday to examine the progress of this case and thanked God that they have charged 10 people. Let us pray that these vile and nasty people are found guilty! If ever there was a time for the Nigerian legal system to come through for us, it should be now!!

freebike7 said...

Even boko haram condem this kills in Aluu(abomination) community

Alhaji Hassan is the traditional ruler? WTF? Wait a minute. Are you telling me that the Aluu village is populated by Northerners/Muslims? No wonder they had no issue killing four Igbos/Southerners in the way they did. It looks as if the killing had nothing to do with stealing and everything to do with tribalism.

Ldj said...

Linda you are the best thank you for the updates... this barbaric act should never be swept under the carpet...the world is watching us.
NO JUSTICE NO PEACE!

Emmanuel Ayeni said...

This is a very tragic event

Well done Nigerian Police!!!
...though those precious lives have already been wasted.
It'll sha save us a lot of trouble if our police could be more proactive in the future and stop all these their "medicine after death" arrests, cos am sure some innocent ppl will also be arrested and imprisoned! #smh
The DPO of the police station closest to the scene of that incident should also be arrested!
#Gbam!

IAmhairs said...

i just wish the real killers will be apprehended...not people the police will set free on the excuse that they are innocent....MAY GOD HELP NIGERIA.

Fuoye students said...

This news is not yet complete, i wish the same torture will be melted out the chief.

Update on Aluu crises said...

Wow, this is my favorite part, lets see the final judgement.

Dey will b caught one by one and b brought to book. Dey will know no peace for d rest of their life for cutting d lifes of these innocent short. Hearthless pple

K.K Belleti said...

They had better dig deep in2 dis issue and make sure dey bring all those involved 2 book........Justice must b served...................K.K Belleti

Gen. Stonez said...

13 people,mttccheeeew....How many pple were in d video. Let them not allow we student to take laws in2 our hands...

Justice must prevail# but, oga officer. Abeg no WuruWuru oh. Ehen

It shall not be well with all of them in that community, generation to generation will share out of God's wrath....Mad Animals

Let Justice be done simple, the Chief of Omuokiri is worst than Boko Haram.

Pls sign ds petition.... http://www.causes.com/actions/1691070?causes_ref=email&recruiter_id=41375143&template=activity_invitation_mailer%2Factivity_invitation&utm_campaign=action_invitation_email&utm_medium=email&utm_source=causes

Hmm... Chief Alhaji Hassan, head of an Igbo community? Something is fishy here o!

Where are their pictures,I don't trust this country.They should release their pictures so we will be sure there has been arrests.

abbygal said...

Heard that Police And JTF Watched Helplessly As ‘Aluu4′ Were Murdered and they did nothing to help......the DPO and others should be charged to court as well not just the 13 people earlier arrested.

Now they want to charge them to court,did they avail those boys they murdered this opportunity,to be found guilty first before brutally murdering them?I hope they get the maximum punishment As shakespear wrote,hell is empty the devils are on earth.

please i will like to know if that particular man that was hitting them with stick was caught, my concern is that such man shouldn't let be loose on the street, what is name, can we get a clearer picture of him, the world needs to know him as well...................May God help us all!

i hope dis is not a stunt to make us feel dey are doin thier jobs.... doz boys were beaten and dragged around for three hours b4 they were set ablaze.....how come d police in dat area did not respond in time to save them....i dont believe in nigerian justice system abeg.... Men playing GOD... None of dem should see daylight for the rest of their lives...

Let Justice prevail

naijaopenmouth.com

Bros dont even blame dis on d community not being protected..... if it were someone from dat community dat was caught stealin, will dey burn dem to death???.... How come d items dey were accussed of stealin were not found with dem..... If we are to go with d excuse of not being protected by government, half of nigerians would ve been burnt to death already..... Are doz ppl in dat community saints dat dey have to burn other ppl to death

This Ä®̸̸̨§ insane in our nation,well the government themselves are weak why wouldn't the force be weak (policemen) for the past three hours they were walking naked round the community,this Ä®̸̸̨§ madness the policemen are not effective,we humman and their Ä®̸̸̨§ what we call humman right,justice are not meant to be taken by ourselves this as been happening for a long time,we all need to wake up Great nigeria let stop this bad name we giving to our nation,because this Ä®̸̸̨§ a sign of reckless country.

Am bleeding inside as am writing this: Come to think of it. are there no policemen in that village or at the scene of the incident or throughout the process of the killing of these innocent boys.
because if the police are fighting now, i think there is need for us to question them whether they are aware of the beating and the killing or not.
indeed, its good that justice is being carried out on the killers but to me i feel its medicine after death. if the police had shown up at the scene and scare those wicked people with their guns, am sure they will beat them but not to the point of killing and even burning those guys. Ahhhhhhhhh, its pathetic! if i av my way, such a village should not come into existence anymore{ i mean every house, building in dat village should be burnt down and History shd av it dat once upon a time there was a village called ALUU} for this ugly act they av engaged in.

Y.Tee said...

oooohh Dear!!! They've arrested the wrong chief!!! How on earth can an Alhaji Chief Hassan Walewa be the ruler of a village situated in Rivers state????????? O God, i smell a fish. i declear this morning, and i know that i have the supports of fellow hearts that this issue has given sleepless nights, that anybody in power that wants to twist judgement concerning the Aluu 4 murder case will not have peace. They will seek and not find, they will weep over their children, they will be so wretched and miserable that they will pray, fast and cry for death but that too will be denied them. They will be struck by mysterious diseases that even google cannot explain, they will suffer more plagues than what the Egyptians suffered in the bible. Their houses and lands will become desolate and their children will regret coming to the world thru them. When death eventually comes for them, their carcass will be denied dignity, dogs will pick their bones before vultures finally descend on them.
Linda, I type this with heart so broken i gasp for breathe. Please, continue to follow this up. If there be anything, anything at all that has to be done, be it fasting and prayers, please lets know so we can all join hands and ensure that justice is served accordingly.(kindly forgive any grammatical blunder)

no wonder..Alhaji Hassan..muslim...i camn imagine an not educated and unelightened.Violent ppl..whats d differences between himself and those Boko haram goats?Killing is nothing to to dem,everytin na Jihad for dia mind.God will Judge u all that aided these boys killing.As a community leader i can imagine the mob no matter how angry they are will heed your voice if you tell them to just hand the boys over to the authorities.But you chose to take laws into your own hands.You think you have become God because you are a chief abi Alhaji...Blood is on ur hands and u will pay dearly.

Gozzy said...

Linda,thank u 4 wat u've done so far.bt y are they protecting these aluu people by nt giving us proof dat dy are in custody,no pics of d aluu chief and odas arrestd so far?????????????God is watching ooooooooo,#JUSTICE4ALUU4#

BLOGLORD said...

I just managed to watch this video. i have told my boss i can't work today.
i just want to go home.

I LAY A CURSE ON EVERY ONE WHO LAID STICKS, PLANKS, SLAPS AND BURNT THOSE BOYS. EVERYONE WHO CHEERED THE KILLERS ON, MAY YOU EATEN BY MAGGOTS, MAY ALL YOUR CHILDREN BE KILLED IN THAT SAME MANNER, MAY YOU NEVER KNOW PEACE, MAY UR LIFE BE A LIVING HELL. IT WILL NEVER BE WELL WITH YOU ALL.

God! God! i beg u, forgive me my sins and accept this prayer from me. May the souls of this boys be accepted in your bossom. please lord, accept them and make them angels in heaven, forgive them whatever they have done while on earth and let them have heavenly bliss.

May their parents...oh! daddies and mummies, brothers and sisters of TEKENA, UGONNA, LLOYD and CHIDIAKA, may God grant u healing from this psychological turmoil in ur hearts. oh God!

Nigerian Government, if u sweep this matter under the carpet, the blood of these boys will be on ur head and that of ur family.

*i weep uncontrollably!*

The tragedy of life is not that it ends so soon, but that we wait so long to begin it. RIP. And as for the killer JUSTIC JUSTIC.

ALUU, y r u ppl so wicked and heartless? Thank God for Justic and najia ppl fighting for justic. The death of dis boys wil serve as a serious warning to all jungle judges lawyer.

sweets said...

@Lagos is my home; wise talk- I wish it never happened!

Such a village should be wiped out from existing.

THEY NEED TO ARREST THE JTF & POLICE. They failed in their duty to the public and need to be severely reprimanded.

SO NEXT TIME THEY HEAR ANYONE IS BEING MOBBED THEY WILL RUN AND FETCH THE PERSON TAKE EM TO STATION INSTEAD OF LEAVING THEM TO THE PUBLIC.

at Nsenile and others, just want to let you know that northerners are not killers, or blood poolers, its high time we think and act maturely not blaming one tribe or the other. i cnt say all yorubas are rappist and igbo's are armed robbers, few dat spoil names of others does not classify all, we pray justice is done to whoever is involved in this act and stop pointing fingers.

deboluwaji@yahoo.com said...

The murder of those teenager was so reprehensible . It is a continuation of a growing culture of intolerance and impunity in the land, everyone is carrying on as if there is no law and no enforcers. Do we still have the Police. Indeed could it be true that some policemen watched as those students were being lynched? And what response can we expect from our government except the well worn "the President is sad and has instructed the appropriate suthority to fish out the perpetrators." Unfortunately, by tomorw we will wake up to another sad news of heartless killings, another round of investigations and at the end of the day, no culprit is punished.

These promising youth where killed because the Police are not proactive. This might have taken more than 40 minutes. Why is it that the so call our friends (POLICE) did not stop this evil act. This is as a result of a fail State...called Nigeria.

I kep asking mysef where ws d police all d wile nw dey ar acting lik dey ar working! Shame on our Nig police force (allu police division) if dey were effective in der duties dis ugly incedence woldnt hv occured 4 more dan 3hours dey were paraded n beaten beyound repair b4 dey were burnt our so called police wanst at d sence its so sad all i can say is God kow all! Adieu Allu 4!!! Der faces n d pain dey went tru stil regins in ma vision n am nt even related 2 dem by blood or orda wise n i fel such pain in my heart i wonder hw d immediate families of dis boys ar coping kiai pls

IamBitter said...

First, I must commend linda on her efforts so far on publicizing this gruesome act considering that so many people of whom I hold in high esteem have show cased gross insensitivity on this issue.I have known peace since Sunday even I couldn't bring myself to watching the video of this horrifying murder, I never cld imagine that a human made of flesh and blood cld stand and watch such brutality and how much more,, lift a stone, club n let it land on another fellow and as if it wasnt enof, burns him alive. Four promising young men, someone's son, brother, cousin, nephew,friend, mentor........just what can I say?hw can their sisters, brothers, cousins, friends, live wt dis kind of loss?only God can soothe their hearts and comfort them ,eternal light I pray shines on them forever. As for the wicked n demonic perpetrators of dis callous act, they will b alive and beg for death, their death will eventually come wt excruciating pains n their remains will be fed to d wild beasts of the forests and all their generations will die in worse ways. Peace, they will never know and children, their women will never bear. Cursed are they n everything dey represent. I am following every detail of dis case n I will write everything I can to see that justice is served.

Linda I'm laughing in tongues..Ikwerre Meka o..I do not want to believe that the govt deliberately wants to fool its people.Chief Alhaji Hassan isn't the head of Aluu community repeat IS NOT.if this is how they want it,I'll take off my suit n tie,roll up my sleeves and join those students on the rampage.
Sira Teeh.

Police men were present during the masacre and they did nothing then because according to them, they didn't have enough bullet. So now they'arresting people for something they could have stopped... smh

Best comment so far

mariamah said...

There is something not right here, what is an Alhaji doing as a cheif in Alu, hope the police force is not trying to pull a fast one, cos they cannot explain how this incidence happened without their knowledge. They are now pretending to be concerned, i have always said the police are not our friends rather they are a curse to our society.God help us all.

mariamah said...

People is it only me or have u all thot about the fact that our president has not deemed it fit to address us concerning the Alu killing and the killing of 40 students? Is he concerned at all? Cos this is a national disaster, there is uncertainty concerning security on the nation.

Dats wat shud be done. Any leader dat can't call his people 2 order is not worthy of his seat. U hav 2 b able 2 take a stand n let ur people follow. I hope all other community heads around dis country r learnin 4rm dis if not, if we hear kpa! Again, u r next.

Nyc prayer there @ d end of ur comment however I think it won't b swept unda. D whole world is watching. Even tho Naija is not so transparent, we no lyk 2 shame ourself "intentionally" its un4tunate

Sense dey dis ya talk

Nyc prayer there @ d end of ur comment however I think it won't b swept unda. D whole world is watching. Even tho Naija is not so transparent, we no lyk 2 shame ourself "intentionally" its un4tunate

This evil act has been an eye opener since friday. my friend has been planning for his traditional marriage with ALUU chic ending of this month and i was to go with him. as i write now the marriage has been terminated and i enjoin any other man and woman to steer clear from any form of r/ship with that village and emulate my friend else u attract ALUU curse on yourself

So much anger in me... 4 innocent boys killed that way... Even if they burn down the whole aluu community, it won't be enough!

I agree with u!

The same police that were not at the scene, the same police that were outnumbered by the mob and couldn't call for reinforcement and while waiting throw some teargas and shots in the air, the same police that were all transfered from Aluu that fateful day only to return that evening... This same police are now saddled with the responsibility to fish out these Aluu culprits, killers, murderers and cannibals. This is what I call 'energy wasted no job done' let's just pray for the family of these boys that God give them the strength to bear the loss and pray that we don't fall victim of such evil circumstance. If we wait for nigeria police we go tey for junction. Merci

They shud all b hanged publicly...let evry 1 watch just d way dey watched those youths die brutally

Celebrity World said...

Yes l believe that god we surely punished this wicked people that do this one by one with all their relationship and were talking about boko haram before now its aluu killers that showing face wicked have no place to hide for gudgement .god we punished you people of aluu one by one

http://blackberryappgenerator.com/mip/pct.jsp?p=603164128_515561&wl=9

I'm just curious...why are there no pictures of the 12 arrested?????? We have all seen the pictures of Cynthia's killers...how many days later NO pics of even the village chief? I hope the police cover up hasn't started???? We must know the identities of the 12!!!! We know the identities of the murdered...we must know them! My heart bleeds for the families...the gruesome murder of these innocent boys...may their souks rest in peace..

Warri Girl said...

Justice should be prevail.