IRS plane and truck collide at MM Airport in Lagos | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 11 October 2012

IRS plane and truck collide at MM Airport in Lagos

An IRS Plane yesterday morning collided with an abandoned truck parked beside the taxiway at Murtala Mohammed Airport, Lagos. The wing of the aircraft collided with the truck which forced the Kano-bound plane to cancel the flight. Passengers were later put in another flight.
A statement from IRS Airline below...
“This morning our flight LVB 3306 taxied out on a Lagos to Kano flight with a transit stop at Abuja. The aircraft taxied out at 7:48am with 91 passengers. While taxing on the taxi way the Captain observed a FAAN truck in a ditch. There were no marshals around it neither was there any marking to indicate that it encroached into the taxi way. There was no Notice To Air Men (NOTAM) issued to that effect as well. The captain continued on his taxi and the wing tip hit a protrusion from the truck towards the rear of the truck. This made the captain request a return to ramp from the tower and also notify the tower of the incident and the danger posed by the truck. The passengers were disembarked and accommodated in another aircraft which departed Lagos at 10:15am. The incident has been reported to Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority and we await the clearance of the NCAA to effect repairs and return the aircraft to service.
No passenger or crew sustained injuries as a result of the incident.

29 comments:

Nigeria Best Jobs said...

Thank God no lives was lost. For Job vacancies in Nigeria

visit www.nigeriabestjobs.com

African Sweetheart said...

That's really scary. wow

http://africansweetheart.blogspot.co.uk/

hmmmmmmmmmmm

Uzo said...

Wonders, they say; shall never end!! O Chi mu o!!

ONLY IN NIGERIA!!!!!! KAI..only God can save us in this country!!!!

There was no need for that illustration. It looks too fake.

ONLY IN NIGERIA!!!!!! KAI..only God can save us in this country!!!!

Dr. Rukevwe said...

Its high time the federal authorities put a stop to these sub-standard practices not only in our airports but also in other institutions. What is an "abandoned truck" doing close to a runway?

I don't wanna hear of another AVOIDABLE disaster o!

olubiyi said...

our air system in naija is just suicidal.. people that waited and took the next flight try o, cos if na me, na to go back house...
the question is whose fault... the pilot who couldnt stop before collision, the airport who didnt superise be4 take offs, or the idiot that parked truck on runway
ALL OF THE ABOVE...smh

ONLY GOD WILL HELP US OHH.ITS NOT SAFE TO FLY ANYMORE IN NIGERIA PERIOD

Check his brother inlaws tweets

What a disgrace! Nuffin works right in this country! While the rot and decay persist, the retard who superintends over the ministry is busy having fun paddlin canoe in flood waters and having a good laff while at it! What did we ever do to deserve the crop of leaders we have? And the president, always in black lookin like an undertaker, looking dazed, overwhelmed and timid all d tym, wearing that stupid smile to rub it in on us while makin no effort to fix our miriad of problems! I dey vex!

kcee said...

Carelessness in the highest order. Thats Nigeria for you. The worst part is that this act will go unpunished.

It was handled well, nyc 1 dey we're askd 2 return, passengers we're given an alternative n I hope dey ensure trucks are not abandoned lyk dat, its not a junkyard.

Olabiyi,have u flew an airplane before?How can he just stop the airplane?U think airplane is a car u can just stop like dat?Reason well before u post comments.

Thank God no casualties instead of saying crap

Do you see? Do you see how useless this country is? How many warning signs do we need? This is the kind of thing the aviation sector needs to pay attention to - this complete lack of regard for law and order. What in the name of God was a truck doing there? How did the pilot get the okay to taxi off? If the Good Lord was in another kind of mood we would have had another tragedy on our hands. God is warning Nigeria oo. God is warning Nigeria!

adukeologe(clickme) said...

i am trying to work, how anyone would think it was a sensible idea to abandon a truck at a taxiway.... and nope i still haven't worked it out. i doubt i ever will.

CLICK MY NAME TO VIEW MY RECENT POST ON DESIGNING YOUR HOME...

na wao,no bi small tin oo.'abandon truck',na who leave am there,minister of aviation no tell us say trucks don dey shuttles KANO tru air since all the aeroplane na aeromolue

FG will neva do anyfing cus its FAAN. Dey fink dey re above d laws of our country NIGERIA...same fing dey did 2 Pan Africa ,Maevis and so on

biko was the pilot sleeping or pinging? hain God save ur children oooo

O'wale said...

Only in naija will this happen.. are people renewing their rituals with airplane passengers? I can't just understand.. #smh

Biols u reason like a child and linda dis pix is so fake.

Ken_Whizzy said...

Linda,that ur illustration na wa o ... i tot the plane ran into the truck na *rolling my eyes*

Preye said...

Truly,only God will Save us

Bious pls stop annoying pple on dis blog,this is what u get wen 10 and 12 year olds own all sorts of gadgets.

I am happy to read your post.Really a great meter of your post.

Passenger Service Agent

Warri Girl said...

Thank God no life was lost, what is that truck doing there in the first place.

Jobs said...

Wonderful points most people wrote in this article... Great items… I think you have made some genuinely interesting elements. Keep the good do the job.

Jobs