DIG, three others killed in helicopter crash today in Jos | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 14 March 2012

DIG, three others killed in helicopter crash today in Jos

Crash site                                                                          John Haruna

A police surveillance helicopter crashed in Jos today Wednesday March 14th, killing all four people on board, including a Deputy Inspector-General of Police, John Haruna. Others killed were the DIG's orderly, the helicopter pilot and an engineer. The helicopter crashed into a house, injuring but not killing anyone on the ground.

The helicopter had been deployed to survey some areas in Jos following Sunday's unrest in the city.

35 comments:

He was sworn in on the 2nd of March and now this. He didn't even relish in that role. So sad. I'm sure the helicopter was under-maintained. May they RIP.

Tosin Smith said...

He was a wonderful man, and an exceptionally hardworking police officer... Rest in peace sir, we will miss you.

What a pity. May their souls RIP.

May their souls Rest in Peace! #Colossal Loss!

may his soul rest in peace. pls policemen should do their work deligently and keep their hands clean so that when death comes calling, devil will not point an accusing finger

BLOGLORD said...

Heoow! Calamity upon calamity! lord pls visit ur children in the times of trouble such as this.
this boko haram menace is just consuming uncountable lives.

So sad

Its so sad. Death knows no face. Even the nicest and the purest are sometimes taken in its sweep. May God comfort their families and give them the heart to accept new beginnings. Amen

may God grant the families the heart to bear the pain

Atobatele said...

This is definitely a sad event. People working to secure the lives of others in a volatile place ended up sacrificing their own lives. If Jos refuse to be calm then state of emergency should be declared instead of wasting innocent souls on daily basis, now another lives is being wasted.If there is any issue, it should be settle from the parties involved and not the innocent ones. This is very sad. May the departed souls rest in peace. Police need newer, more capable, and better maintained equipment.

omg!!!!! this cant be true :'(

Linda u don dey carry last.na now u dey update us

QUITE A PITY. RIP JOHN HARUNA. YOU DIED IN ACTIVE SERVICE. POLICE SHOULD NAME ONE OF THEIR FACILITIES AFTER HIM. SOME DIGs WOULD DEPLOY THEIR MEN AND STAY IN THE OFFICE WITH THEIR GIRLFRIENDS WATCHING DSTV....
NGDOTCOM

May his soul rest in peace and may God comfort his family and all their families. Its so sad to see one of the rare gems go. Clearly, death knows no face and has no boundaries. Its sad. God help us

Roli said...

Haaaa! what is happening nah? OMG, what....... hmmm, this country sef.

Laila Ikeji said...

its a big pity. read he just got promotd to DIG before his death. President Jonathan has since sent hs condolence message to their families. May their sould rest in peace.

This life ooo...
Hmmmm Lord have mercy
May their souls rest in peace

D G Herbert said...

May their souls Rest in Peace In Jesus Name... Heard the sound of the Helicopter pass by my house in Jos only to hear this sad news later on... They died on a duty post: To make sure that Jos is safe from it's enemies, that we the students of Unijos will not be disturbed by the community around Naraguta Hostel who kill Christian students for no just reason... Among all inhabitants. I duff my hat for you sir... A hero in you I see and in all of you. RIP... We JOS pray that the Federal Government will wake up before we all die in this temporal abode we call home-Nigeria

Oriyomi said...

A very fine officer. What a waste. He was just promoted to a DIG. Was a potential IGP. Shame. RIP to you all.

Jonathan, please go, your badluck is too much

Kwase said...

May their souls rest in pperfect peace,Amen.Sad

BLOGLORD said...

@ LAILA IKEJI, yes thats all ur president Jonathan knows how to do.."send condolences".
yeye man. the number of lives lost in his tenure alone is enough to form too solid states in Nigeria.
mschew

Roli said...

DG Herbert, God would protect you all in Jos. This is really sad. We cant continue like this. Heard he was such a fine officer and a gentleman.God, we need you, hear us father! Rest in Peace

So if ur hands r nt clean,u won't die?joker n dis is only meant 4 d police?na wah 4 u o!

jobsfornaija said...

May his soul rest in peace

Too sad. The DIG was a wonderful police man. Very clever, disciplined & a good christian. I pray all their souls rip. Me I suspect foul play sha. Just saying

May God grant the families the fortitude to bear this loss..amen

duchessa said...

RIP to this great man

Mane berry said...

An exceptional man! I always wondered how this gentleman managed in our police force? So so sad.

SLS was right, the good ones always die first.

I pray Aunty Yinka and his childern find the strength to get through this period.

the white enchantress said...

chai....R.I.P for all four.... may God give their families the strength to pull thru.

may there soul rest in peace

Since I was born ('72) I never heard of such everyday bad-news of this country. It just too much to bear. To me, this regime is just bad-regime to NAIJA. God come and have your way, have mercy on us. To the DIG's family - may God comfort them to bear the unrepairable lost.

ella said...

Wonderful and humble man with a wonderful family. May God COnsole his wife and Kids...J hold on God is in charge...

Pdp are bloodsuckers during objs tym twas plane crash now gej's tym boko haram nd all manner of calamity d̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ r usin the blood of innocent nigerians

Dis is sooo sad! May their Soul rest in peace. Linda how r u? Well done dear!

The heart of man is desperately wicked.... all because he got a well deserved double promotion from CP to DIG they killed him.... He was even being interviewed for the position of IG too. We never want upright people in position of power in this country... He was one of the few police officers with high levels of integrity.... People would go any length to do evil forgetting God can go any length too to avenge his own..... I know the family well and a lot of families depended on him for their children's education..... The blood of the innocent has started crying out in this country.... God help us