Power outage at MMIA for several hours yesterday | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 12 March 2012

Power outage at MMIA for several hours yesterday

The Murtala Mohammed International Airport, Lagos, was yesterday thrown into darkness for over six hours due to power failure. Passengers arriving and departing the airport were almost suffocated at the immigration areas, the check-in area and the airline counters. Power supply to the airport had been irregular for over a week, while the airport manager, the Federal Airports Authority of Nigeria (FAAN), seem helpless on the issue. Airline staff, who profiled the passengers, had to switch on their cell phones for them to be able to profile them properly while the immigration officers, security agents, National Drug Law Enforcement Agency and men of the Nigerian Customs Services devised a means to fan themselves. However, after several hours of blackout, power supply was restored around 7:10pm. - National Mirror

Power outage at an airport for 6 hours? Where else in the world does this happen?

36 comments:

Smh...may God help us!! And yet one person in the government has 200m dollars and they can't at least make sure the airport has power? Honestly boko harama should target aso rock next cause our government people are useless to us!

Luffi's Memoirs said...

Fi torchlight land plane.....joor oh

me,masef n eyes! said...

No wea else ma dear exccept in 9JA!

NKECHI said...

Six whole hours? Naija dey bam.

Momen said...

I Love Nigeria!!!

Too too bad........pls let's pray for our dear country. All iss not well

Purfie, Bexleyheath Kent said...

Linda, that one no be news na...only for Naija that one fit happen. Nothing shocking about that event. it has become the norm, and we as a people are almost powerless to do anything about it. It is totally unacceptable though and utterly embarrassing that after all this years we still suffer from erratic power supply and the government past and present, promise and then fail to deliver.

Atobatele said...

Power outage for 6hours....dat is serious.

And we dey find foreign investor.‎​=))º°˚˚˚°ºнaĦaнaº°˚˚˚°º‎​=))

mckenna said...

that was a ferfect time 4 voko haram to carry out there evil deeds...lmao

YKAY said...

Sign of a failed state →→9ja I dey hail ooooooooh !!!

Nigeria noni...yinka

You must be stupid to think is d rit time for boko haram!

Na why I dey vex for Boko bois.. Y r they kiln poor innocent citizens of Nigeria... Y can't dese brave men channel their frustrations to d right people.. Hw can there b powa failure in our international airport.. Dese bastards make the whole NIgerians look stupid.. They can import Women of easy virtue on private jet to Nigeria.. They houses worf millions of pounds abroad.. Like I always say.. All dese rich heartless politians will die shamefully, their children will all die before dem.. Calamities upon Deir households all of dem.. We need a JK Rawlings of Nigeria dat will execute all dese devilish men.. Their children dat they send abroad will come back junkies hooked on crack.. Is so sad wen u hear d obscene amount of money dese men have home and abroad.. IBori for example.. D rest we r yet to find out wen OBJ deserves to set dem up again.. Is unbelievable.. Nofin is moving In nigeria.. People r dying of hunger. Yet dese men and women have money to throw about.. I weep for Nigeria.. Nigerians r suffering all ova d world cos of dese rufless vultures.. Ghanians wey dey see us as semi-gods before now fink they r beta off.. Boko bois pls restrategize ur operations and ur targets.. U lot r smart young nigerians, Nigeria fit take all of us.. We just need to do away wiv dese men and allow young vibrant men to come in for once.. Look at wat Rochas has been able to achieve in a very short time dat now gives u an insight into d amount d previous thief looted from IMO state... Change must come to Nigeria, like people say most times there is no victory wivout bloodshed.. Boko pls shed d blood of dese vultures and Deir families.. Wipe them out.. Make Nigeria to hot for dem.. Kiln innocent nigerians don't mean anyfin to them.. When u start wiv d ministers and senators obiviously their children u guys will see d change we need.. Like in d case of souf Africa,we retaliated cos a senator was involved pls guys.. Wen u Boko guys change ur targets I tell u nigerians will give u Deir blessings even aid in raisn funds for ur operations..

shaaaaaameeee! dats all i have to say

The Minister of Aviation should be fired. Idiots.

Shadaybrity said...

Welcome to Nigeria where d almost unbelievable is a norm!

Jonathan is the most USELESS president this country has ever had. They are just looting the country to the point where it falls apart in anarchy and chaos!

Na set up. Ppl wey wan carry drugs na dem do am

Allegra said...

what happened to stand-by generators as is standard practice. Naija!!!

the white enchantress said...

seriously i think its tym we d youths stand up,take the bull by the horn,drag out some pips out n execute them.....how can we say we have government and things are falling apart and they get to travel in n out of the country like its their grandma's bathroom,laundering our hard-earned tax money,sending their kids abroad to school(even though most come back worse dan d average deranged person on d street) and we suffer in silence......sick and tired of reading all this rubbish happening here...and the yeye PDP n GEJ have the guts to openly squabble for presidency sit telling us how pdp is rallying around to prevent Jonathan's tenure extension.

Jonathan please what have you done since your ass occupied that sit? the only positive thing you have done is weigh down Nigerians(excluding ur people) with more problems.

Shaddy said...

Nigeria is Blessed

Open your eyes Nigerians ,,,To put things straight some drug cartels are behind those power cut sometimes to help them outsmart the scanning mechines and securities lol...Remember In Nigeria some politicians and powerful citizens are into drug trafficking and can do anything possible to escape ....I'm not guessing

Sharp guy said...

Shame shame shame for the great big giant of fools!!! But who really cares when this is the norm

Innoxx said...

Datz 9Ja 4 u.Da government is so fucked up mtsheeeewwwww...nonsensical ingredients.

Smh at Nigeria. Nowhere does this type of nonsense occur. This is embarrassing, unsafe, and irresponsible. Someone should loose their job because said person is obviously not doing it.

This shouldn't be news anymore. The passenger should be grateful that they weren't asked to contribute money for candles to light up the various counters like what is obtainable at police stations..

doll (retired blogger) said...

that is so serious

BLOGLORD said...

Nigeria i hail thee! e go better

Liya said...

prayer 4 naija....and the women. Prayed....(make una no say and men too o. Lolz

Modupsy said...

Lol.

one word shame

wil prayer solve d problem or tel that ur uncle in govt house to change.

Fire the Minister of Aviation. That is so disgraceful. It is inexcusable and shameful!

Na ToDaY

Are U̶̲̥̅̊ sure they didn't want to smuggle someone in? Smh nawa oo intl airport?