"Al-Qaeda to use Nigeria as headquarters" British Intelligence | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 4 July 2011

"Al-Qaeda to use Nigeria as headquarters" British Intelligence

So let me get this right, British spy chiefs strongly believe that terrorist group, Al-Qaeda, is determined to make Nigeria its command and control center for plotting attacks on the West?

What does that mean? Oh dear Lord, don't do this to Nigeria!
Read the UK Mirror report after the cut

Spy chiefs have warned David Cameron that al-Qaeda is determined to make Nigeria a base for plotting terror attacks on the West.
Radical Islamic groups in the West African nation are dramatically stepping up their campaign, security sources said.

Boko Haram – whose name means “Western education is sinful” – wants Sharia law in the mostly Muslim, oil-rich country, where half of people live in poverty.

The group boasts its jihadists are ready to make the country ungovernable and bombings by “the Nigerian Taliban” have already killed hundreds.

One British official said: “There are dozens of flights every day from Lagos to London. We either help stop the terrorists here, or we will be dealing with them on the streets of Britain.”

The UK has said it will increase aid but Catholic agency CAFOD said: “What they need is sustained commitment to peace, democracy and good government. They need foreign companies to create jobs, not take resources.”

28 comments:

why won't they? when Nigeria can't even protect itself. i mean, the police would rather beat up civilians and ask for money. I'm sure many of the extremist that are in Nigeria doing all their evil are from Chad and other neighboring countries. but how will we know, when they all have arabic names? there needs to be a SERIOUS crackdown.

whether this story is true or not, who knows! maybe a reason to invade and control Nigeria and claim al-qaedi is operating there, just as Bush used a lousy excuse to invade Iraq. abeg...

Justin said...

hmmm I doubt this is true just based on the fact that Nigerians arent really the type to kill themselves for any cause (how many suicide attacks have you heard that have been carried out by Boko Haram???), but seriously, Nigeria does not need something else like this that will further give it a bad name internationally. Maybe the terrorists want to come here cause they see that the government does not take security of its citizens seriously.

Dosumu said...

This is just a plot to infiltrate Nigeria by this Global elitist. Since the No1 economy in Africa (Libya) is almost in their control their next agenda is to go for the next economy. Believe it or not, Nigeria's future is very great given the number of technocrat the country produces yearly (be it within or outside the country).
We should refuse this allegations being placed on us by the UK. The UK is gradually becoming a dead economy and in order to sustain their economy they are going on another re-colonization (war on terrorism).
Every sane Nigerian knows Boko Haram is pet project of the Northern Elite.
History tells us that the North is forever grateful to the British for seeding POWER to them during Nigeria's independence. This people will do anything to get the power back (I mean anything!!!!).
PS: Lets be sincere Nigeria's power is never going back to the north.... Hope you all understand their desperation.

spmmoi said...

Yo Justin. They did not categorically say "Nigerians", they said Al-Qaeda. Now that group could no doubt have Nigerian members and of course nutjobs from Somalia, Sudan, Chad, Nigeria. Ever heard of Al-Qaeda In the Maghreb (AQIM)? And while the likes of Mutallab may not have been successful is no reason to make sweeping statements like you did about Nigerians not being suicidal. There's still a question whether the attack at the Nigeria Police HQ was a suicide attack or not, carried out by a Nigerian. No parent would want to believe their child is involved in heinous acts, so I may see your pov, but don't rule out the possibility.
We all need to be alert.

Another British propaganda and excuse to meddle in Nigeria's internal affairs, exactly like they are trying to destroy Libya!

@Dosumu I agree with you. Make una no mind British govt and the stupid and racist propaganda. The rotten bastards created the situation and profited massively from the chaos and confusion the created around the world. The bastards are only seeking opportunity to mentally and financially re-colonise Africa, especially, Nigeria. They desire for us to need and depend on them. They are looking for cheap oil and biz opportunities for British businesses at the expense of the black man. There are terrorist in Somalia and some other poor African countries, so why Nigeria? Cos they want to get their grubby little fingers on our natural resources just like their rotten, evil and corrupt ancestors did. I say he'll no to theses bastards. They must leave Africa alone. We don't fucking need them. They continually make it seem like we are imbeciles and incapable of running our own affairs. They should solve the numerous problems in their own country, leave us alone and stop their stupid, insulting and deliberately cooked up allegation intended to create fear, alarm and panic and mist of all to pitch Muslims against Christians in Nigeria. I see the Divide and Rule policy of their rotten ancestors at play in their stupid, childish and insulting allegations. To hell with these bastards. Smh.

Say WHAAAAAAAATTT!! I blame Boko Haram (those people are so confused)

PS. I've changed my blog url! I decided to keep the blog on Blogger after all. Check out the link: http://museorigins.blogspot.com. Sorry for the inconvenience X_x

Adiya
Muse Origins (formerly The Corner Shop)

Julius said...

Its just saddening to note that the next intelligence coming from the british is that al queda wants to use Nigeria as a base for attacks.This is a good point to categorize Nigeria to likes of pakistan,Afghanistan and similar countries dealing with home grown terrorists.The Nigerian Govt needs to investigate this very well and ascertain the truth about all this.
God bless the federal republic of Nigeria.

omg we are in trouble this is all i can say.

@ 10:37, you're right. they put Nigeria together in a way that the north and south will always be at loggerheads. SMH. but then again, you have to realize our leaders are greedy and obviously don't care, as long as they are selling out to the highest bidder. just hope the inferiority complex and the corruption of our so called leaders doesn't fail us.

Dear "Lord"dont do this to Naija..
Bia Linda take ya time o! Wetin the lord gats to do wif this?..lol

Alicia, dosumu & 10.37, I agree with u all. Uk is sinking & looking 4 whom 2 take down with it. There are more alqaeda's in britain than there are in Nigeria, hope our spineless money loving govt will not sell us out to those punters

Ok, I was running to buy cardboard and marker to write NIGERIANS ARE NOT TERRORISTS before but after reading the comments, i have resolved to write BRITISH INTELLIGENCE, BACK TO SENDER MEHN!
We need to be on the look out though as some of the people involved in all this bombing and stuff aint even Nigerians.

@Dosunmu - Libya was not the number 1 economy in Africa....why did you pull that from?
South Africa is the number 1 economy in Africa, next Egypt, then Nigeria.

the new "islamnic bank" is not exactly helpin our case. smh

funny that some people think that this is british propaganda. the uk report is true.what we should be thinking is how we would be saved from the hands of these boko haram.they bombed police headq.so they could bomb any residential house,offices,etc.god help us.

CABONGO said...

Just like I use to say that we have individual views on very issue which every one have comment on how he/ she understand. But I personal suggest that the best is to SPLIT Nigeria and very parts be on their own and let us see if all this mess will stop and even if it doesn’t, then the concern part will be facing the problem.

Bull crap. These people really want Nigeria to become a hell hole. Stupid Boko Haram :(
This is the same reason why the US has an excuse to build a military base in the gulf of Guinea, our backyard. I tire sef. Long live Nigeria, shame to bad people.

Take it or leave, there is more truth in that report than mere ploy to infiltrate Nigeria as Dosunmu said. The recruitment and training of youths from the North West and North East for Al-quada has been on since 2002. These youths were sent to places like Beirut, Pakistan and Kuwait for their trainings. Our security agencies got hint of this but played it down. So I wont be surprised if this plan is on ground. The movement has gained ground in Nigeria with even training grounds in Kaduna, Kano, Maiduguri and Damaturu.
We only have God to protect us in Nigeria as some of our supposed 'leaders' are feeding fat from this Al-Quaeda movement.
Let us pray for the security of this nation and the safety of lives of innocent Nigerians.
May God help us.

Porous borders, endemic corruption, ill-equipped/ill-organized security apparatus, poverty i.e potential recruits for suicide bombers, religious intolerance, and our penchant to reward militants and terrorists! Why wont Nigeria be top on the list for Al Queda! GEJ better sit-up!

Allegra said...

Another excuse to ostracise Nigerians. Don't get me wrong, some of these morons deserve to be however, the rest should not have to suffer for the sins of a few.

Don dada said...

if i hear? i pray o! wey we never see food chop, which energy we wan use? make them come naija na!!! by the time one LAGOS BOI SCAM THEM, dem sef go know say na bad market! abi u never see FBI format? as e dey hot!!!

Queen Erics said...

I wonder why some of us would think this is a plot to invade Nigeria, what with all these bombings! The pepetrators of the act might not be Nigerians but the base is Nigeria.
Truth be told, this gives me the chill.

Ch5335ng said...

Anon July 5, 2011 5:41 AM; i quote you..... UK is sinking & looking 4 whom 2 take down with it. How? This is where the illuminati that Alicia talks about all the time comes in. They will never allow the UK to sink. Remember the UK is not in the Euro-zone currency club, now see what is happening to Greece, Ireland, Portugal etc re-bankruptcy, bail outs and so on. The UK is smiling away. The way it’s going, the Euro may be scrapped. Talk about foresight!

Back to this. The UK and i add the USA don’t want to invade Nigeria. Once they have our leaders on their side, we are okay. From Wiki leaks, it’s obvious we are towing the line very much. This shouldn’t be taken lightly because like what Anon July 5, 2011 10:34 AM said, the country is a fertile ground for this kind of thing.

Yes to Anon July 5, 2011 10:10 AM.

Vigilance and trying to be a step ahead should be out watchword.

Cabongo, how will splitting the country solve the issues at hand?

Adebola said...

@ Dosumu, I couldn't agree with you more. Its an Internal Problem, a desperation of a group of people to hold on to power. The over hype of the British will give Al-Qaeda insight to invest in Nigeria . Nigeria government should do their Job instead of looting our resources, cus I see a possible invasion of the west, much more than Al-Qaeda. Hmmm

I find it odd that the British could come up with this not so intelligent report. Unless Al Qaeda leaders are sooo lacking in direction, anyone can see that this would be very diffult in Nigeria. This is for serveral reasons cjief being the fact that the country is evenly divided along religious lines. This makes it unique unlike the other countries that they have operated in.This report is not new and they also said this in 2009. They are just trying to cash in on the Boko Haram crisis in Nigeria. We have seen these sorts of groups in Nigeria before, remember Maita Sina? Fear not my people, the good Lord is watching over this great nation!

@ Anonymous @8.53AM- Technically, Dosunmu is right- South Africa may be the number 1 economy in Africa but Libya is the richest country in Africa, judging by its huge sovereign wealth which the Americans and Europeans have seized. Libya also had the highest standard of living in Africa, until the civil war began.