Phone-Hacking Scandal: It's Over For UK's News of The World | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 7 July 2011

Phone-Hacking Scandal: It's Over For UK's News of The World

Britain's biggest-selling Sunday newspaper, The News Of The World, which is 168 years old, will close after a final edition this Sunday, 10th July, after years worth of phone hacking scandals finally reached melting point at the start of the week. Over 200 people will loose their jobs.

The dramatic announcement came from Chief Exec James Murdoch this afternoon after two days of damaging revelations for the newspaper and a growing advertiser boycott after claims that the paper hacked the phones of murder victims, dead soldiers and 7/7 families.

Read more

8 comments:

myHairmyBeauty said...

does anyone still read it? There stories are so exaggerated.

myHairmBeauty.wordpress.com

I am glad it is shutting down. I am sure there might be innocent employee but the paper had to be stopped and must pay for all the pain it has caused

everyday for the thief they say......

Wait... hold up... I know this story is about NOTW, but that cover story about the £5,000 hooker... DAMN!!! Her mouth na vacum cleaner? Which kin dick she wan suck, abi her Toto get AC inside am? 5K???? bleedin heck

It's insane isn't it? All this because they don't want to fire Rebekah Brooks who was editor at the peak of the phone hacking. People have been CALLING FOR HER TO BE FIRED AND RUPERT MURDOCH CLOSED THE PAPER INSTEAD.
Talk about powerful juju. Me, I want some of the emotional magun she's using to hold the guy. 200 people fired over 1 person's job. God save us.

Wow!!!How unethical and immoral!

All na screen saver. The company assets and staff (most of them) will become staff of a new company managed and owned by the same people and reporting the same kind of news but in a safer way legally.

All na re-branding... wanna bet? Its just extreme re-branding cuz they'll actually close down first.

2million plus in circulation every Sunday and they'll leave the biz? Nah, they go inside, change clothes and come out wearing a hoodie and most people outside the industry wont know.
They'll probably still get to buy BskyB and it'll be a close shave, but a good year.

RSA

Ch5335ng said...

RSA; spot on.

It's all a gimmick! Rupert Murdoch is as hard as nails and damn smart. He will rebrand and/or the Sun will now publish on Sunday. He has his eyes on B Sky B.

Rebekah Brooks must go. They will pile pressure on her to step down. That’s if she won’t be arrested. Andrew Coulson (their ex-Editor) is at the police station now.

I love the paper. It’s the only hard copy paper i buy. All the others, i read them online. Most of their stories are real. When they publish a story that later turns out to be false, they always apologise. I've been reading it for more than 20 years and i'm sure they've not apologised more than a dozen times. They were very unethical and that's why they got their facts from moles.

However, they crossed the line (especially with the Milly Dowler case) and those responsible should step down. I hope the people at the lower cadre and in fact, those employees that are not involved do not lose their jobs. It's such a hard knock and came as a shock. They have some of the best hands.

Not a fan of Piers Morgan, but he cut his teeth in the British media and was their former Editor. They have probably the best sports writer in the country (after Jeff Winter) in Andy Dunn, the best political writer in Fraser Nelson and the best Entertainment writer in Dan Wootton.

NOTW is my Sunday-Sunday chill out drug. I'll buy more than one copy on Sunday and store them away.
Over to the Mail on Sundays now in hard copy.....