Nollywood movie posters and titles | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 17 May 2011

Nollywood movie posters and titles

This is one of the reasons I gave up on Nollywood movies many years ago. Apart from going to a few movie premieres in recent times, I haven't sat down to watch a full Nigerian movie in at least 6/7 years or even more. Because you see some movie posters and titles and you're like...there's no way in the world an enlightened person is meant to watch that! WTF?

Four in Love? Lol. Seriously, I find some of these movies beyond ridiculous! Don't mean to offend anyone, just speaking my mind. Now, let the insults (on me) begin...:-)

52 comments:

s.a boy said...

Linda, am not gonna insult u cuz u hv spoken exactly my mind

LINDA said...

Yup, I totally concur with you. Besided the ridiculous titles and numerous parts to 1 friggin movie, Pt. 1, 2, 3 and so on, they're still making money....tsk tsk!

LadyNgo said...

LOL, hey now. Bad marketing doesn't necessarily mean bad movie. My reason for not watching most Nigerian movies that i come across is actually because of the poor acting, bad scripts, and poor production quality. Thankfully in recent years things have been getting better. And i think alot of the ppl that actually watch these movies are those of us in the diaspora that are just looking for a little taste of home :)

except genevive film, abi?

OutOfGasClothing said...

I'm over 25 yrs of age and I've never watched a Nollywood movie to the end.

What is wrong with me?

No ! I rephrase that :)

What is wrong with Nollywood movies ?

Maybe the script ?

Maybe the acting ?

Maybe the phonetics ?

Or maybe I'm just too impatient :)

Kemi said...

You're absolutely correct Linda! The titles are completely atrocious and the story lines aren't any better. I gave up on them many years ago.

Teniola said...

Linda I feel you jare. Those movies suck. The titles and the posters always look so crude.

Only actually watch yoruba ones once in a while, mainly to aid my quest to master the yoruba market.

Also, i think that when people are speaking their mother tongue, they concentrate less on forcing themselves to speak stupid 'phone' thus making the acting more realistic. that Jym Iyke sef, that guy should produce his passport because i firmly believe he has never made it to that 'Promised Land' that we call Yankee!

All that being said, I cant even knock the hustle cos the masses are addicted to those movies! in fact, I think people need deliverance from the spirit of addiction to Nollywood!

Ademola said...

Linda God Bless U for coming to this ooo,It's getting too much infact 3 much...Me too I'm tired...fine it's true last time i insulted U for Not have watch any of Yvonne Nelson and Nadia's Movie...But Na No Insult.Thanks Once again and God Bless...we have to deal with this in Nollywood i swear!!!

I have the feeling most of the producers/directors behind these movies are retired area boys/arm robbers.'cause there is no way a producer/director who konw the craft of producing/directing will come up with such movies and titles. For the actors, well, i have no words for them.....smh

jobsfornaija said...

haba, my mum is educated naaaaa, and she watches naija movies!! Besides they have been releasing some good ones of recent

Ayo said...

Linda, I share your sentiments. It's like they are insulting our intelligence with their movies. That said, I just watch them when I need a good laugh.

Lmao... They're like a car crash, it's terrible but you can't stop looking at it.

Now that Chocolate city want to do movies I hope they can bring some class and more intelligent stories/characters without alienating the masses.

-Xavier

Igwe Osita One said...

Linda, seriously you are laughing at Four in love??? What about BlackBerry Babes?? what a joke....and some so-called A list artiste are not even ashamed to star in this nonsenses...Nollywood my behind...

You're spot on Linda. They are nothing short of ridiculous in their names, plots and the acting. I have always thought so and it'd getting worse!

kay said...

No need to insult you on this, because na true you don talk! But em....(scratching chin), I would like to see you ....cough....acting in a Nollywood movie one of these days.

Sasha said...

Linda, you are actually echoing the thots of any sane nigerian. The posters are ridiculous and the titles are a complete joke.

awww.... i do not like commenting but linda i jst want to say i love u cz ur funny( lol at let the insults begin).. inbtw im a gal, no homo..:)

Ary said...

F. T

owiwi said...

I suppose, with your visibility on the internet, and perhaps celebrity touch yourselves, you should not be slamming these people, this easy this way.

Why ?

I specualate; You know some of the men and women of the industry. I suspect, some one on one.

You have a voice.

You should be making that count, at the level where its contructive.

But then, I have no idea if you had done that in the past.

In the end, the fate of the industry will rest of the ability of educated high-fliers like yourself, to sustain and nurture it.

Make it construtive...They are not the government or PDP; They'd probably listen...

#juts saying#

'Cry for husband' does not make sense at all. They were trying to translate their native languages and ended in deep sh*t with series of funny titles.

Some English Language graduates claim that they are jobless. They can start subtitle businesses for films, get it right and smile to the bank. They are badly needed in the Yoruba film industry.

How dare you Linda, how very dare you...what do you mean like seriously i mean honestly you really need to put the breaks on it.......=D stop speaking my mind. I used to be Nollywood advocate myself till i found myself sleeping just 5mins at the start of any home video, so i stopped.
So i say with you its REDUNKULOUS!!!

Miss T-i-l-i-i (African Movie Reviewer) said...

Linda please dont judge too quick - there are many rubbish ones saturated in the market - but lately some have been trying sha - so give them a chance - read blogs like mine or nollywoodforever before you buy movies to be alert of what the rubbish ones are

Gave up on nollywood??????????? i never even started linda. And quite frankly watching them makes me sleep so when i have a case of partial insomnia at night....i wake up switch to Africa Magic and guaranteed i doze off in 7-10mins.

linda i just emailed u now oo,its chuks slam

Icey said...

it depends on why u are watching the Nigerian movies oo, me I watch to see fine girls in Good clothes, any rubbish they like they act. i dont care, as far as I see good dressing :D

hottie said...

linda, i agree 1 million %. I don over tire for them sef. I dont know where to quench my anger from. is it the repeated movie scripts? the lack of ingenuity? the parts where the actors and actresses arent really doing anything of valuable importance or necessity in the scene and a whole 10mins passes by with the yeye background song playing? or the part that a movie has 4parts and its full of arrant rubbish and repetition in some case they even manage to throw me into abject confusion.
i am a Nigerian. I love my country but mehn! we need to grow in nollywood.

B4 Nko? said...

I think I quit after I saw the movie titled "SPANNER" on the shelf at a store, I was DONE after that one! WTF? Next one go be wetin, Bournita and Bread...oh, wait they had Coffee and Tea as a title so what I'm talkin' about LOL.

what of american movies like ANIMAL FARM, THE HANGOVER, THE WAY WE WERE, A LONG HOT SUMMER, A STREETCAR NAMED DESIRE, GENTLEMEN PREFER BLONDES, AMERICAN PIE, FAST/FURIOUS, EASY A, THE EYE, NOT ANOTHER TEEN MOVIE,THE RING,...american movies have the most stupid and creative titles in the world.don't only insult nigerian movies.

Dimlka said...

@ Linda. I will start watching Nigerian movies d day you start acting, you are my favorite gal

@outofGasclothing, you are absolutely right. The one and only problem I have with Nollywood is that 90% of the actors can't speak English or are very lazy to pronouce word(s) to the last letter. Of course some of them are great actors.

@LadyNgo true talk mostly Diasporas just to feel home abi nawa and linda you are right mostly crap

camouflage said...
LINDA said...

Ok, American movies might have somewhat ridiculous names but the plots & story lines are definitely well put together unlike ours. We definitely need to step it up. I have tons of Nigerian movies cuz @ the end of the day, I still want a slice of home, considering I'm away from home. I can't count how many times I've seen the mic while the movie's going on. What happened to editing? I mean not to insult the industry cuz they've come a long way but they definitely have a looooooooooong way to go. Shikenah!

kay said...

that's y i always watch yoruba movies...it's 80% sure you will learn something...

Twitter.com/R4BIZ said...

I don't understand Nollywood movies and I don't watch Nollywood movies. I don't understand my native Ibo language, especially when Nollywood people t
speak Ibo / Nigerian in English. Ha :)

camouflage said...

lol i love watching nigerian movies because they are really entertaining they make me laugh! the title of movies are also funny e.g tears from the eyes? like before nko where does tears come from? lol

LIMELIGHT M said...

ROFLMFAO

Linda, if you or every other 'I concur' person here can't tell the difference between an obviously 'Asaba made' and professionally done Nollywood movie then that's a disaster. With this post here, you have insulted the works of people like Amaka Igwe, Ego Boyo, Charles Novia, Emem Isong and a host of many other Nollywood professionals who work hard to make sure they produce intelligentlly thought out movies because you have just bunched them together with the 'production assistants turned producers' in Asaba! Hollywood has it's B-movies, some of which make me want to gag but no way in hell will I generalise Hollywood just because of some badly made movies I happened to stumble across.

And you know what? These badly made Nigerian movies have their market, they make money by the millions and trust me, they don't send you or any other 'enlightened person' here from their index finger to their thumb neither do they give a rat's ass about what you guys think too. With or without you. Trust me, it's not your money that made them millions and they will continue to sell their films. Anybody who has a problem with their films can go and continue watching 'Sex & The City' Part 2.

I live in the us and i am into the nigerian movies might be due to the feelings of nostalgia they evoke in me. I dont get to see many Nigerians here in Los Angeles and with 3 young children, i often unwind by watching them...they are generally badly made however some of them are quite entertaining in almost a ridiculous kind of way...
i did notice however, that when i visited nija 2 years ago, i could not even get myself to watch them be it on African magic or otherwise...
so Linda it is quite understandable that u don't watch them, bcos being at home there are so many things competing for one's attention..

Noble E. said...

It's the horridness I love so much lol.

IamXcessP said...

I totally relate to this post. There is a new one called 'OBAMA BABES.' Really dumb titles that do not even make you want to watch the movies.

Please quit giving movie characters absurd English names like Apollonia (Blackberry Babes), Mirabel (Ladies’ Men), Pastor Weaver (Endtime), Domitilla (Domitilla). Please these ridiculous nomenclature have to stop. What happen to monikers like Zebrudaya, Dagbolu, Madam Kofo etc.
Why do some producers cast mixed-race people in Caucasian roles? And no, Lilian Bach would never pass for a white ‘Italian’ latina. Not even with that ridiculous, singy accent she tried to put on.
How come everyone in a Nigerian movie has a big house – with marbled floors, leather sofas and a 42 inch screen plasma TV. And NEPA never cuts the power in the movie? This alternate Nigeria being depicted in movies looks better than the real thing. In these films, you see a huge mansion with a massive gate-house and a sprawling staircase leading to a large sitting room. However, when you see the character’s bedroom which is supposed to be the master bedroom, it is the size of a match box and only has a tiny window and a wee closet. It is not even en suite. Haba!
Why are the characters always sweating profusely even when they are supposedly very rich in the film? Charles Okafor, take note. I saw a film where the supposedly ‘billionaire’ oil baron character was sweating buckets in his lace agbada displaying wet patches everywhere.
The lighting has to improve. I once saw an old Genevieve movie, where the cameraman’s image appeared in a bedroom scene. The mirror on the dresser caught out the cameraman, and the producer never thought to edit it.
We also have a culture of pigeon-holing actors into stereotypical roles. Fair enough, in Yankee Christopher Walken was your go-to actor for the villains in the movies. In Nollywood, we have ours. Back in the day Alex Osifo (Talab Abass in ‘Ripples’) was the usual crime-boss. Torino or Gentle Jack were the thugs (like Debo in ‘Friday). Tonto Dike is the new sassy, scheming temptress who brings sex appeal – in every movie. Patience Ozokwo is a the wicked step-mum or scheming mother in law. I am sure the public would want to one day see Jim Iyke play a broke nerd, or see Pete Edochie sing and dance in a musical.
Why do the characters, no matter their wealth or status always shop in one of those razz boutiques, where the shop owners bring down items on display with a long stick?
The sex scenes need more subtlety and romance. I once saw an Oge Okoye sex scene – it was so cringe-worthy that I fast-forwarded past it till almost the end of the movie. It was like a WWF wrestling bout. The lighting and the ambience was wrong on many levels. Please utilize the scene ‘fade-out’ trick. Nobody wants to see Rukky Sanda and Kenneth Okoronkwo exchange body fluids. Really.
The use of moralistic undertones or fairy tale endings. In Jenifa, Funke Akindele’s character eventually caught HIV, while her fellow promiscuous bodies met their ends one way or the other. Life is not always as straightforward as that – the bad guys do not always end up dead, broke or in jail. Watch some corrupt politicians.
10. Those love scenes at the beach have got to go

www.woahnigeria.wordpress.com

I LOVE YORUBA MOVIES OOO, NO LONG THING

Dlapikin said...

The titles are not really creative so what?
In everything you have to pick. You think that all american movies are great? Do you remember Gigli? or dude where is my car? snake in a plane? Black Snake Moan?

What is important to me is the content.
I will watch any movie by emem Isong or shirley frimpong in complete confidence but if by anyone else I'll be picky because they have proven to be inconsistent.

theyinx said...

You've not seen Obama Babes??? LWKMD! it never ceases to amaze me when i see how Nigerians in the diaspora and nationals of other african countries rush to buy Nollywood films.. what the heck is so interesting in these poorly scripted and filmed movies? the story lines are absolute crap, the filming is even worse and for God's sake havent they heard of the word 'editing' before? thats how u will see a scene with saint obi standing outside a house in a yellow suit and by the time he enters the building the suit has changed to red... ahn ahn... kilode? and let me not even start with the rubbish soundtracks and the fact that the film MUST have a part 2, or 3 or even 4.
Granted there are some really good films that are coming out these days, the likes of ije, the figurine and my personal favourite keeping faith (that is one naija movie i will gladly watch over and over again) but on the whole, majority of these films are crap and will only serve in reducing your IQ levels or increasing your bp... or even both. these films should come with a health warning from the federal ministry of health.

Udegbunam Chukwudi said...

@Anonymous May 18, 2011 4:20 AM: Te quiero! Muah! LWKMD. You really take your time analyze this one. Loves it ;-)

I love Appolonia sha 'cause she was the highlight of that Blackberry Babes movie. In fact i dey go play am on my PC again.

lol at Pete Edochie dancing! haha and you are right, when they sweat so much its rather disgusting! them no get AC? haba!
and i thought i was the only one that noticed the bedrooms. always flat, boring, dead, small, not furnished. i seriously laugh! you really analyze them well.

anyway, Nollywood, although didn't focus on quality in its earlier days, had better acting a and stories. Since 2004 it seems the movies have taken a turn for the worst, getting dumber by the day. yes you have Jet Amata, Emem, and their likes, but its almost 20 years!!! why haven't they stepped their game up? but then again, I do understand that Nigeria is a country that doesn't care about its citizens, and the industry is totally homegrown, so i give them their props. the government needs to get their shit together so maybe we can have actual studios instead of having to borrow houses and film on location. really annoying.
to this day, i still mainly prefer my village movies.
ALSO, THERE SHOULD BE A BOYCOTT ON JOHN OKAFOR AKA MR. IBU. ugghhh, annoying fellow, playing the same old role. i wonder if he's really that stupid in real life, or...

As for me, I love Yoruba movies; that's all I see these days. I gave up on the so called 'nollywood movies' years back including Emem Isongs'. Gone were the days of my love, emotional crack etc. Infact, I would rather watch a Ghanian movie starring Johnn Dumelo( just to c my fine boy) than to watch anollywood movie!

what leaves me in stitches is when they cast a lebanese or Indian man with their friggin thick and horrible accents as white ppl..oyibo..how ignorant and stupid is that??

gunchy said...

"I WANT TO BUY A BLACKBURRY"....... Anytime am sad and need to have a good laff i just play that blackberry babes.The movie is just too stupid abeg and as much as you hate nigerian movies ,you cant help but laff @ d stupidity of some of em'.

gunchy said...

The part of the wife threatning to move out of her family home in the middle of d night because of blackberry was just too funny abeg. HAHAHAHHAHAH!!!!!. That movie cracked me up.

eloho said...

We are all frustrated already! and seeing these titles always dampens my spirit! shows how uneducated 90% of our producers are. One correction though, ATM MASTERS and FOUR IN LOVE are Ghanaian movies. they just featured one or two nollywood actors. that shows u that it's not just nollywood now, west africa is following the stupid trend. the viewers of these movies are not illiterates; wen will our producers realise that!