Court awards Ndi Okereke-Onyiuke N500m as damages | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 21 May 2011

Court awards Ndi Okereke-Onyiuke N500m as damages

On August 5, 2010 Mrs Ndi Okereke-Onyiuke was removed on as the DG of the Nigerian Stock Exchange (NSE) by Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) over allegations of financial impropriety. She went to court to challenge her removal and demanded N3billion as damages. Well, she won. As yesterday, a Federal High Court in Lagos nullified her removal and awarded her the sum of N500 million as damages.

19 comments:

When there are people suffering in Nigeria! she's awarded 500m naira, God dey

I like this. I like people who fight for their right. She was right to sue them. Hope she gets all her money and her job back or pay her 25 billion naira. She was bullied, cheated out of her job, stitched up and hounded out of her job due to tribal politics and cos she's a woman in a male dominated industry.

keke said...

what were the damages done to her that qualifies her for $500 million someone needs to explain...even though she might have been dismissed out of nepotism..

SOLA said...

haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!
Damages bawo?! Chineke!

N500m..... it's not fair o!

:s :(

alleny said...

Dear Lord Jesus, plz send your Holy Ghost fire to begin to burn every man/woman born of woman that have resolved to be living of Nigerians money. May they know no peace till their death, May they not live long enough to enjoy the money and may their children squander the money and become common men, to have a taste of the hard times like we common men go through. Amen!!!

500million for damages when parents were paid only 50million for thier kids, what a pity

Dugo said...

She was not bullied and cheated out of her job, she was removed because there were way too many oversights under her management. Thats what they do in the real business world. We need to stop mixing sentiments with business in Nigeria.
@Anon 2:22pm, what you wrote shows that you really didnt understand what went on, or even know the key players involved. All you are doing is making assumptions on what you think it is, but sorry thats not it.

The business world is and should be a cut throat place. The judge had no business awarded her any N500m in damages.

As DG of the NSE, she was under performing, and crossing the line by being on every board of every company imaginable, thereby mixing up interests. When she was removed, she was removed with benefits and that was all she needed.

Funny country. I would have fired her too.

Uche said...

@Anonymous 2.22pm, I really don't understand why a young supposedly upwardly mobile person I believe you think you are should bring in ethnicity or tribal related stuff in this situation. It just shows that some of you guys are no different from 'backward' white racists you have in the states and europe which is how I choose to see them. BTW Oscar Onyeaema is the new DG, and is Igbo, what is ethnical or tribal about it?The last time I checked onyiuke was igbo and not from zambia. work harder so that you would not have to resort to cheap sentimental cowcrap. i wonder when Nigeria would be rid of tribal affiliations ... supposedly never

Greedy goat. See her FAT neck and head. Mschewww.

I heard it was a tribal thing as she was very good and tolerated no bribery & corruption and they had nothing on her! I read in papers how she was humilated and receiving deadly threats during that period. I also heard there was an attack in her home.

If she asks for 500M, thats her business, lets not mix things up with the ongoing events in the country, she is not the government !

@ Uche, believe it or not there is still tribalism in Nigeria ! It might not be amongst individuals, friends, neighbors, in laws etc. But in politics & work place, tribalism is still the other of the day, even in a central state like Lagos !

omo jeje said...

Uche, it's good that u explained the Ndi/NSE issue but shey you know you that you are just wasting your saliva on some people? They don't have the ability to reason things out dispassionately when someone from their tribe is adversely affected in these matters..... and there are people like this in every tribe o, before I'm accused o!

Anonymous at 2:21. Nobody said tribalism doesn't exist in Nigeria but Ndi Okereke's sacking was not motivated by tribalism. You people defending her have not told us how it is tribalism if she was replaced by someone from her tribe.

This tribalism matter and allegations of tribalism are holding us back as a country big time cos as things stand in our national life now, we usually don't have the best guy or gal in any job. Every position has to be strategically allocated (otherwise known as national character). Anyone who is sacked in any top/management position MUST be replaced by someone from the same state otherwise we perceive there is injustice being done. And even then, we still perceive injustice has been done!

Na long thing o! We have a long way to go. I taya.

passing by said...

#whistles#

Her triffling butt should be in jail for economic crimes

guys, relax. that was just a Federal High Court decision. The NSE would appeal, all d way to the supreme court.

franco said...

we tend to forget things so quickly in naija.....Is this not the same woman that was raising millions for OBAMA's election campaign- money that was later rejected....she was just another C IBRU

Chilling said...

Franco, thank you. This woman was a "mofo" fraud. She was one of Obj's fronts and God knows what else. The NSE will appeal and she will lose. Like she needs the money anyway.....

God Bless you jare Uche and Dugo! Some people lack knowledge about the business world and the events that led to her removal and just open their mouth to talk rubbish!

The DG of the SEC that removed her is also a woman so where does 'cos she's a woman in a male dominated industry' come in. People should get their facts before they open their big mouths.

The SEC is going to appeal to the highest court (Supreme court).

The woman is a thief and she should not get a dime. Rather all the money she has stolen in the past should be snuffed from that her FAT neck! ;-)

I can't believe this fat bitch won. How much did she pay off the judge? There are starving people in Naija and they would rather give money to this over-sized bovine. Give me a break.