Lagos State Govt to give N52million each to outgoing lawmakers! | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 20 May 2011

Lagos State Govt to give N52million each to outgoing lawmakers!

Speaker of the Lagos State House of Assembly Adeyemi Ikuforiji
Outgoing members of the Lagos State House of Assembly have been given a total sum of N52million as severance package each, P.M.NEWS has learnt.

The amount includes a furniture allowance of N7 million while the remaining N45million covers gratuity and other welfare issues. P.M.NEWS also learnt that returning lawmakers got N40 million each as severance package. 

The amount the lawmakers got is a big difference from the severance package that was approved for the state lawmakers in 2007 which was put at N5 million. A source within the Assembly who confirmed this to P.M.NEWS, also added that each of the lawmaker’s personal assistants got N750,000 and that weeks before now, they had been given money as dressing allowance.

According to the source, the various amounts were approved by the state government following discussions between the executive arm and the lawmakers led by its Speaker, Adeyemi Ikuforiji. The source who pleaded anonymity said the leadership of the House decided to convince the executive arm that the severance package needed to be made worthwhile to prevent the Lawmakers from later becoming “beggars” like their predecessors. He said: “If you go round, you would realise that most of those who served this State in the House of Assembly before now are now living like paupers and it does not tell well of the state.

15 comments:

Kay said...

Totally ridiculous!!!!! '..goin around like beggers...'???? Is that the new excuse they are giving us?? A call to leadership is a call to serve not a call to be served!!! Did they not have business/jobs/careers before becoming politicians?? Total nonsense as far as I'm concerned..mtschewwww

Kudos! It's for a job well done!

I'm telling you the two fastest way to make money in Nigeria is the two P's ( Pastor(fake one of course) or Politician)

@annonymous 9:47,ur a big fool!!!!!!!

why dem dey spend lagosian money this way?dem vow to serve not to embezu awa money.
Holy fire! burn all awa bad leaders beyond recognition.
Somebody pls say AMEEEEEEN!

Severance package ke? Do they even know what severance means?

who else thinks the man in the picture looks like Mr Latin? :)

It pays to be a legislator.

This is shocking and fashola what are you doing about this or are you party to this as well. A lot of us can not even have 3 square meals a day and 1 person is getting 50plus milla for what if i may ask. Women given birth on the floor in government hospitals where these legislators are suppose to make a diiference what a shame ehh what a shame. GEJ act and do it fast!!!

R4BIZ / OutOfGasClothing / SheLikes.co.uk said...

This na 100% craziness and FRAUD.

Lagosians must consider themselves officially defrauded by Lagos State Government. It's wrong, shameless and official theft of public funds.

Whoever thought of the stupid idea must be stoned from excess consumption of marijuana.

Seriously, marijuana must be banned cos the power that be in Lagos State Nigeria have taken leave of their sense. Dear Fashola, I have so much respect and admiration for you and your administration, but on this issue, you got it 100% wrong.

and they say lagos is the best state, humph, cleaned up the road and planted flowers etc while majority of lagosians still lack basic amenities. but no one will say anything but praise this smart thieves. they stole from under your nose and shut u up. funny thing is people wont see this o, they'll be yabbing other states,nonsense

galore said...

"Eko oni baje,,o ba je ti"......with this wooping money gvn to ds politicians that hv been stealing before and never made impact to the citizens or their constituency,,i just realise that "Eko don baje tete,,na una never see am.......Mtchewww......

How can u make any meaningful progress in a country like this?

hater said...

NIGERIA! smh

UnhappyNigerian said...

This is a waste of taxpayer's money. There shouldn't be a severance package at all but knowing the state of governance in Nigeria is still developing, it isn't too shocking that some strange laws come into existence for the benefit of public officials. I would normally understand such: but 52 million Naira each is just pushing it!