Soldiers revolt against their superiors in Borno state | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 16 December 2016

Soldiers revolt against their superiors in Borno state

Aggrieved soldiers at the 21 Brigade of the Nigerian Army are currently on rampage over allegations of mistreatment and insincerity on the part of some of their senior officers.

According to Premium Times, the soldiers this morning began to shoot indiscriminately into the air and even threatened to kill any senior officer who comes out to stop them. A military source in Borno who spoke on condition of anonymity said;

“The brigade is based in Bama but is currently deployed at Bula Bello in Sambisa for Operation Rescue Final. But suddenly soldiers started mutinying at 6AM today, firing in all directions and threatening to pull out of the operation. As some of them fire gunshots, some started preparing vehicles to move out of location. They also warned officers to steer clear or they would be shot dead. They are saying their commanders have been treating them badly and telling them lies. As I speak to you, the firing is still going on, and there is confusion everywhere.”
This is not the first time soldiers are revolting against their superiors. In May 2014, angry soldiers at the newly formed 7th Division of the Nigerian Army in Maiduguri revolted against their boss, Major General Abubakar Mohammed, shooting sporadically.

36 comments:

K

I pray it doesn't turn bloody...#CantDeal

Seriously am jus speechless about dis but I think people shuld learn hw to do d right thin

Hmmmmmmm,biko they should sort their issue amicably,we don't want more problems in naija

Lib addict#jut passing#

The next thing now is court marshalling and sentencing them to death instead of lookin into the cause of their grievance.

Long Live LIB

GOOD...

Thry blamed pdp in 2014 now it's happening again

Chop Chop said...

Not again o o. stress and fatigue.

Nsogbu dikwa big time. Linda take note!

Na waa oh!

Na Jonathan still cause this one.

Naija don spoil..

.. said...

Those soldiers are in trouble

obioma said...

Y wont dey revolt wen dey r always bin treated lyk a sh*t.instead of dia greedy boss(es) 2appease dem nd listen 2dia grieviances dey wud rada sentence dem 2death 4mutiny.#nonsensegovt!

chai

So unfair n what dey'r saying is so true about the senior officers.... Fg shld try n look into it.

Who do you call when soldiers are on rampage... Hmmmmm

This has happened before and it is happening again because the root cause of the problem which most likely is cheating, corruption and injustice was never sincerely addressed and resolved. The earlier soldiers were just rounded up and sentenced to death, that will never solve the problem. lf soldiers cannot stand up for themselves who will stand up for them.

Naija is sick and the doctor in-charge is on vacation.....

*********************u go cee d kain kain punishment dem go chop now after dix revolution *******biko mey confusing no set in yet***********Boko Haram still dey dia oooo*****

Gbenga Popoola said...

This is so so bad on the disciplinary committee....but the country itself lacks discipline

Emy said...

Truth is gradually creeping out. I have said it bf and still maintain that there is nothing like BH. what we have is military sabotage for more allocation of money. The game is up. The racketeers are in Borno & they are highly placed.

Hmmmm, Baba must hear this!

BUHARI IS THE WORST LEADER ON EARTH

PLEASE KINDLY FOLLOW ME ON LIS @OKECHUKWU NNODUECHI

Augustine Yorkpara said...

I thought PMB said the soldiers are well motivated and morale is high. When you build your govt on lies, the end result will be disastrous.

Wow!!! If government is not paying Falcons imagine what they are doing to soldiers that have no voice

Osas the Son of Idahosa said...

God oooooooooo... You see... They are tired of the Buhari Government full of lies.... Nothing like Sambisa forest or Chibok girls... They have been wasting their time... Nigerian Army wake up and March to Aso Rock.... Go and give Buhari the gun and Osibanjo th grenade.... Scam Government

The prophesy by Prophet TB Joshua don come to pass that the soldiers will revolt against their officers in North East. God, save this great nation!

Godson samuel said...

God will deliver this county

AGB said...

The rule in the military is "obey before complaints". You should never revolt against your superior no matter what (even if you're right)..revolt and die. It's simple as that.

some statements might be made with joke in mind, but wen looked at properly could equally be to dangerous for d speaker/writer. D last portion of ur statement exemplifies just dat. Easy Mr.

Eyes of the gods said...

Risking one's life to save another is a great thing of honour cos many people cant and wont do it. These soldiers ought to be pampered, respected and valued cos what they do is not easy but Nigeria wil always be Nigeria. A place where u mean nothing if ur not rich. They already see these soldiers as dead people otherwise they will treat them with respect. God pls kindly reward these brave men and women who. Sacrifice daily for this country and protect them from harm....Amen

Exactly! Well said bro

Court marshal ma foot they shud be treating this guy's like kings....thunder fire those superiors

Okafor June said...

Hmmmn,what a way to encourage others coming up.it use to be a thing of glory to serve your father land. Why are we frustrating those doing what we can't do? Why?