Photo: Pakistani man smuggled into Nigeria through Cross River State arrested | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 3 April 2016

Photo: Pakistani man smuggled into Nigeria through Cross River State arrested

A Pakistani man identified as Sahid Mahmood has been arrested after he was smuggled into Nigeria through a bush path in Etung, a border community with Cameroon, Vanguard reports.
Mahmood is to be thoroughly screened by the Nigerian Immigration Service and other security agencies to ensure he is not on the wanted list of any country before repatriation.
Speaking to Vanguard in her office in Calabar on Friday, the Cross River State Comptroller of the Nigeria Immigration Service, Mrs Funke Adeuyi said that Sahid was smuggled on a motor cycle through bush path into Etung from where he went to Ikom and was on his way to Lagos when he was intercepted by border Immigration officials at the village of Yahe, in Yala Local Government Area of the state.
"We are collaborating with other security agencies to thoroughly screen the man to make sure he is not on the wanted list of any country before he is sent back to his country because we have to be vigilant during this critical time in the country why should somebody from Pakistan want to come into the country through bush path"
Mrs Adeuyi added that the Pakistani man was arrested along with a Cameroonian accomplice, Nji Hagis Chi who said he met Sahid at the bus station in Ikom and decided to function as his guide to Lagos where he was going for an undisclosed reason.
"He was not found with anything incriminating but had enough hard currency on him to do anything he wanted to do so we are wary of his movement in Nigeria because he has no reason to be in this country"
She said the man only had documents that took him to the Duala Airport in Cameroon but was smuggled into Nigeria suspiciously therefore thorough security checks would be carried out on him and his accomplice before they are repatriated to their countries.
Mrs Adeuyi disclosed that there are several illegal routes through which people access the country and warned motorist to desist from adding and abetting those who come into the country through illegal routes owing to obvious security risk.

Source: Vanguard

18 comments:

Hian

Make una screen the man well to avoid stories

The bigger question is what really the immigration is doing! Aren't they supposed to secure the borders? Nonsense n ingredients!

He had enough hard currency and yet decide to enter the country through window.. When he can pay his way through door.... Hmmmmmmm I smell rat... Pakistian of all countries.... Muslim country.... Abeg oooooo.... Nt my lagos...

..... Liber maniac......

fashioncrip said...

Good job guys

Okay good job

brightashanu said...

They screen him well oooh, he might be a terrorist! We can never be too sure

Thumbs up guys, una do well. Linda take note!

If the Pakistani guy has no secret or skeleton in his cupboard he shouldn't have resorted to taken illegal route to enter the country. I don talk my own o

PrettyChi said...

They should free him! If he is innocent

Good

Nawoo when pple dey try comot for naija foreigners they smuggle themslvs in Irony of Life uhmmm.

All Iz Well

Damolia.DEW

JOHN MILES said...

Send him packing, he could be ISIl,

ifediba Tobenna said...

very good for him

Charles White said...

Maga,you should have come through Idi iroko border.immigration and custom are too busy seizing foreign rice and tokunbo car to ask you where you are going

He came through Cameroon which means he passed through bakassi nd akpabuyo LGAs nd those mumu immigration "boys" cannot catch them because they are busy looking for who to intimidate. Can you imagine showing them your national ID card nd they will be like.. "You think say na by ID card, if u wan do d proper work now u no go go anywhere". Linda abeg just help me them them (esp d ones at Akpabuyo entrance) dt when ever they re doing dt that shameless free for all fight with drivers, they should at least keep their guns down. Ike stray bullet adiro mmadu mbok

Yetty k said...

He s scared of death in his country.or mayb he thinks if he enters naija he l get contract jobs like construction of roads en all cos he s white in color

I smell rat.

#Linda'spal