Jenny Kim, (above) 60, was sad to learn that her client of 12 years, Kaaren Parker Gray, 72, died of a heart attack on Aug. 24 in her fancy Sutton Place digs on E. 57th St. But sadness turned to shock a week later when a handwritten letter arrived at Echo Spa and Nail, the shop where Kim works.
Because of her “love and devotion,” Gray had left the married Korean immigrant $50,000, the letter said. "I feel good that she remembered me like that — not about the money," Kim said through a Korean translator She said Gray visited Echo Spa and Nail on First Ave. and E. 56th St. two times a week for 12 years — except for the stretches she spent at her other houses in Arizona and Connecticut. Gray also asked for Kim and enjoyed hearing about the nail tech’s two children and three grandchildren. "She enjoyed having a massage on her hands and legs.
She liked it nice and quiet so she could relax," said Kim. "She was a nice lady, very kind." Gray’s last visit was Aug. 7 — coincidentally, the date she wrote out by hand what would be her final will and testament. TGray was the daughter of businessman Jack Parker, a vice president of General Electric and later director of Pan Am and the Smithsonian Institution.
The 10-page document, which was unwitnessed and handwritten in a loopy scrawl, grants amounts of $200,000 to $300,000 to various family members and close friends — including one who inherited her house, “if he wants it.” Gray wrote in a casual shorthand, often listing her benefactors by first name only — and giving gentle admonishments to various couples to “take a vacation to Scotland.” Someone called Shaun got her Lexus “for all those midnight runs with the alarm going off.” To Billy and George, “$50,000 each for beautiful hair and color,” Gray said.
Her generosity extended to stylist Elie Camaro at Frederic Fekkai on Fifth Avenue. "Forever grateful for his friendship, and perfect hair. $50,000 toward a fabulous car!" the generous Gray said. She gave another $50,000 to “my favorite coat check woman at Fekkai.” The salon manager confirmed that Camaro had been Gray’s stylist for more than four years. An unnamed doorman was remembered with $50,000 and Gray’s housekeeper gifted with $10,000.
Source: Daily News
36 comments:
This is how it should be...
Nice woman
Awwww, nice woman. May her soul RIP
#IT will ONLY get BETTER
#it MUST end IN praise
I tell you this woman will hardly miss her way to heaven .This kind of goodness is rare,in a world ripe with evil
Moral of the story- be nice to everyone you meet, you never know who your helper of destiny is! Never look down on anyone, treat everyone with respect and love! Bless the woman...she has touched lives in ways she would never know
Now this is a wonderful woman, pray u made heaven cuz u sure deserve to work on streets of Gold. U have such a wonderful heart
I'm so touched. How kind of her. She has a heart of gold.
1000 likes for your comment.
Gbam!
BEQUEATH
Bless her soul
Awwww they really must have been nice to her and loyal. Its good to know nice people still exist.Good for them.
naijaflo.com
Nice! Looking and feeling good is hard work. She's thanking the people who helped her achieve this in her life.
There is always a reward for being nice i swear.... #NowPlaying crazy: niyola...
That is very gracious of her! Some people never even notice the little people in their lives, who often are the people who never hide their true feelings from you.
Our billionaires 'ld tke a cue 4rm pple lyk dis. Instead of piling I'll gotten wealth 4 dia children yet unborn.
Good woman..may her soul RIP.
Awwwww, so sweet of her. May her soul rest in peace. Linda take note!
this lady did not value moni that was why she left her money to every one she had contact with may she rest in the bossom of the lord.ALL NIGERIAN billionaires and millionaires una house boy and house girls cook drivers and steward make una remember them.
SO ON POINT ANON. YOU READ MY MIND CLEARLY. ...@BIA BIA
Thank you jack Parker gray for your good heart toward the down Trudy the rich should learn from her act
She is in paradise.
Rest in Peace Ma!
Nice gesture. But won't uphold in court
D hand writing sha
That's soo nice of her
May her Gentle and kind soul RIP. She made a difference to the lives of these people. If u can't affect people's lives positively when ure alive, in death try to make them happy .
Hmmmmm...
Dis can only happen in Asia and never in Africa where some people if they hav their way they wil prefer to b buried wit their wealths.
Hmmmmm...
Dis can only happen in Asia and never in Africa where some people if they hav their way they wil prefer to b buried wit their wealths.
Very good
Aww. Nice woman. It pays to be dedicated.
@Anita Gold babe, so what 're u doubt 2night? I'd love be ur supper 2nighr
The housekeeper got 10k? She must hv been new