Native Doctor sells 1 week old baby for N300,000 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday, 24 September 2015

Native Doctor sells 1 week old baby for N300,000

Onalaja, Oluwakemi and Dele
Lagos state police have arrested Mr. Olawale Onalaja, a traditional-medicine doctor for allegedly selling a one week-old baby to a couple Dele and Oluwakemi Ayangbile, for N300,000 in Iyana Ipaja, Lagos.

It was learnt that the 29 year old mother of the baby, Idiat Babatunde, had her baby on September 5th.

Then on Sept 13th, she had a misunderstanding with her Husband, Akinola Babatunde, and because she had to travel to school for her convocation, she took the 8 days old baby to Onalaja, who was supposed  to be a family friend and asked him to watch the infant until she returned from school, a Polytechnic in Osun State.

However, as soon as she left, he contacted the Ayangbiles and sold the baby to them for N300,000.

So when Idiat returned from school, she went straight to Onalaja to pick up her baby, however, he lied to her that the baby was in the custody of a government-owned orphanage where he would be properly taken care of.

In regards to the Ayangbiles, they took the infant home but tafter 3 days, their suspicious landlord who knew Kemi Ayangbile hadn't been pregnant but now had a new born baby was said to have reported the matter at the Ketu Police Division.

ADVERTISEMENT
According to Punch Metro, the police visited the Ayangbiles, arrested them and also picked up Onalaja.

Kemi, said she had been trying to get pregnant since she got married in 2009 to no avail. She said Onalaja was a family friend who had advised her to adopt a child.
She said:
“I have known the traditional doctor since 2013. I got married in 2009 and I used to have miscarriages. It was while looking for treatment that I met him. In 2014, he advised that I should adopt a baby, but I did not agree.
“Two Mondays ago, he called me on the telephone and said I should meet him. He told me that he had a baby at hand to give us, adding that he would obtain all the necessary papers. I then discussed it with my husband and he said we should go for the baby since Onalaja was going to get the papers. He did not tell us that the baby’s mother was not aware of the transaction.
“I paid him N300,000, and brought the baby home. But after three days, the police came to arrest my husband and I. We have been barren for six years, and we need a child. We mean no harm to the baby.”
Onalaja on the other hand denied selling the baby to the couple, he said he only took N156,000 from them which was needed to process adoption papers from the government ministry in Alausa.

He said, “The agreement between the mother of the baby and I was that I would take the baby to an orphanage. The mother agreed to collect the baby back after three months in government’s custody.
“It is true that I collected N156,000 from Kemi and gave the baby to her. I wanted to take the baby to Alausa to register in an orphanage. But I was called on the telephone that the couple was arrested by the police. That was how I was also arrested. I do not sell babies. The mother is known to me.”
The mother of the baby, Idiat, said:
“I had a quarrel with my husband, and so he was not at home when the baby was born.
“I gave the baby to Onalaja a week after while I went to school. It was when I returned that I realised that my baby had been sold. But I am happy to be reunited with him.”
A police source, however, said the mother of the baby knew about the sale of the baby.
The Commissioner of Police, Fatai Owoseni, said the baby had been reunited with the parents, while the suspects would be charged to court.
He said:
“Although the baby has been returned to the mother, he is still under the watch of the Family Support Unit of the command.
“Investigation is almost concluded, and the suspects will appear in court soon.”

40 comments:

Damilola said...

Can they be hanged for this heinous crime? Cos the mother of the baby could have committed suicide easily

Kill him ASAP cos he might do more

Shege dan Iskan. Yoruba people.

Gabby said...

May God judge the wicked, chai!! evil that man do..

THE VERSATILE BLOGGER AWARDS

So just 1 week after birth you give your pikin to another man to keep!!! Lies..... the woman just wan scam the Native doctor.. collect money still get her pikin back

Onyx boyfriend

NA UNA KNW HW MUCH..BT Y NT PUT D MODA IN DE KNW?.TOMJERRYDWIY

I nor understand this story 1bit,anyway yorobber na una way

Truthurts said...

Omo yorubas.....dem no dey tire for Naitive Doctor tins

Www.newsfilz.blogspot.com said...

God help us

Imagine rubbish, oshi's. The end of a cockroach will be far better than ur own end

Gosh!!!

That baby's mother cannot tell me that she is not aware of that deal. How can she leave her baby with someone, only for her to come back and be told that her tot has been taken to an orphanage and she did nothing! The story is still twisted. Not yet complete.

Imagine? Things dey happen o. Dirty looking face

#IT will ONLY get BETTER
#it MUST end IN praise

Onyx's Girlfriend (he isn't gay pls) said...

The world is coming to an end

Choiiiiii

Why did the nosy landlord contact the police, this is more like an adoption only it wasnt done in the right and legal manner, but definitely the mother of the baby knows about the transaction, the couple would hv been better parents to the child than the biological mother

Dat woman must be very stupid. Linda take note!

The mother of that baby is so so sick, how wld she leave such and infact like dat not even to a fellow woman bt a man for a week, she neva talk weytin she go do. Iran

ogeee said...

Selling babies everyday y not go thru d normal process if truly u wnt to adopt

mira cookie said...

Stupid people,stupid mother! How can you drop a week old baby with someone?? Nt even you family..damn

Mr Native Doctor, this is against the rule oh.
We don't do things like this nah.

Houseoffatoms_collections said...

From the whole story is obvious the birth mother was very much aware of d sale of her child. Dis world is turning into sometin else

andre kelvin said...

9ja

oje said...

am pple sha ,hw can u giv ur 1week old baby 2 a man 2 take care f it 4 u.nt even a woman .nawa o.u shud b prepared 4 motherhood once it comes.

Look at their dark faces, funny how u nigerians mock us ghanaians for being dark when the truth is that u guys r darker thsn us. The only difference isthat u guys bleach ur skin. Plus at least we ghanians are cute while most nigerians are ugly. Gerrara here mehn shit

Devil himself...God punish him!

The mother of the baby is lying, how can you give an old man a week old baby to take care of? Is d baby not movable? Can't she take d baby to school? Liar Liar, she sold her baby jor

I THINK THE BABY MOTHER KNOWS ABOUT THE DEAL TO SELL THE BABY.

Lukman said...

The mother knows about the deal! The babe is too young to be under the care of an old Juju man

Na wa o,she should open up dat she needs d money

The mother of that child should be arrested too.if the nosey landlord didnt report,she for don collect moni enter street back.useless mother

prisca said...

This is a complicated story. What will 1week old baby doing outside the mothers care?????? My dear dig inside, we Wil know d true story!!!

The mother of the child should be arrested. who leaves a 1 week old baby and not with another woman, but witn a native doctor? They did 419 on the barren couple. it was all a plan. the mother has the extra 150,000

the honest truth is that, the mother of the child knows about the sale of the baby. i believe agreement as to money was not fully meet btwn her and the native doc.

now she decides to repudiate the whole contract for breach
nothing stops her from taking the tot to school and keep on breast feeding him.(police please drill that woman well)

she wanted sell the child and cut all link to the so called husband and start a new life.
this is a clue for the police

Ma Fla said...

Beasts like they can create a life. They should be thrown into prison.

Taa the mother planned it with d native doctor...how can u take baby to a native doctor???

Yoruba tribe