"I had no idea who I was. I couldn't remember," Kyle told ABC News in 2012. "I had no idea how I got there."
Diagnosed with amnesia, Kyle spent years searching for his family. The search paid off when he announced this month he had finally found biological family members.
A team of people helped sequence Kyle's DNA over the years and then look for potential matches.
“Many people had shared their DNA profiles so that they could be compared with mine,” Kyle wrote on his Facebook page.
“Through a process of elimination they determined my ancestral bloodline and who my relatives were. A DNA test taken by a close relative has confirmed that we are related.”
Kyle said he plans on visiting his family next week and is applying to get official identification cards with his actual name on them.
“I wish to thank all of my friends who have supported me over the years with a big thank you to the people who have helped me with this mess,” he said on Facebook.
Joshua Schrutt, a restaurant owner in Jacksonville who hired Kyle after hearing his story on the news, confirmed to ABC News that Kyle had found his family.
In his announcement that he found his family, Kyle did not confirm if any of his earlier memories of him being a craftsman and his name being Benjamin were correct.
25 comments:
WOOOW SUCH A LNG TYM?? BT THNK GOD HES FOUND DEM..TOMJERRYSWIT
And they reunite nd live happily ever after!
Happy for him
He lost 11years of his life! Horrific...
Niceee
Wow! I can imagine the naked,hungry happiness shining on his face right now.Big doings when he reunites with his family! Sweet
To God be the glory.
Happy for him
Seyilicious
That's good news
SHOCKING FACT REVEALED! Read why you should be Squatting to Poop instead of Sitting
Whoa! A big congrats to him. Linda take note!
Abi d man come naija marry for here after juju clear he remember house
I can really relate
Thank God for him
#it will only get better
#it must end in praise
Kyle XY.....
God is great
Nice....
How did he lose his memory is what I am curious about! How did he end up with fire ants all over his body?!
Thank God 4his life..#singinavemaria
Wow a whole 11yrs, tank he found them in d end
Wow! Thank God he found his family and d Lord wil surely restore those years dat was lost his life.
If he hasa family why weren't they looking for him
Thank GOD for him....