And to his horror, when he did awake, he was unable to communicate his return.
The South African man was diagnosed with a debilitating form of meningitis in the late 1980s and was left unable to move, speak or even make eye contact.
His parents, Rodney and Joan Pistorius, were left to do everything for him, from bathing and feeding, helping him pee and poop to turning him in bed and were advised he would soon die.
It was such a tough life that Joan told NPR.org that she remembers looking at Martin one day and saying: "I hope you die."
And yet from the age of 14 or 15 to now 39 years old, Martin was awake.
He told NPR: "I was there, not from the very beginning, but about two years into my vegetative state I began to wake up. I was aware of everything, just like any normal person.
"Everyone was so used to me not being there that they didn't notice when I began to be present again.
"The stark reality hit me that I was going to spend the rest of my life like that – totally alone."Martin said all he could do was "think" and his thoughts became increasingly darker as time went on.
So he decided to block it out and stop thinking.
He said: "You simply exist. It's a very dark place to find yourself because, in a sense, you are allowing yourself to vanish."Martin's brain began functioning fully at the age of 24 and his body followed at the age of 24.
Martin now functions with very little disability and has also published a book, Ghost Boy: My Escape From a Life Locked Inside My Own Body.
34 comments:
Thank God for U bro
Ubanagum
Eyahhhhhh
12years in coma and the family didn't give up?
That's awesome.
Chai, this one is pure suffering...u will never know d value of ur full -abled body until u come across situations like this... Use every reason to say thank u Lord!
#IT will ONLY get BETTER
#it MUST end IN praise
Allahu Akbar!
Hmmmmm this horrible so horrible can't imagine at all.
That vuvuzela P guy
Hmm somethings exist sha
Miracles truly happens!
To Go be the Glory..
Eayah
Eiya *tears*
Thank God he has conquered his demon!!!this life is a gift live it while you still can.
So touching! Thank God ge came around.
That is rough
This is a miracle, Jehovah reigns
This is a Miracle, Jehovah Reigns
Heyya..sowi..wow wat a comeback,make God help u..hope to find dat book.
Hmmmm miracle but where wil he start from nw .....
i still believe in miracle. www.virtualhub.com.ng
Hmmmm miracle but where wil he start from nw .....
a living miracle.
WooOoW
Hope you are a born again Christian? http://www.bummyla.com
HMMMMMMM..THNK GOD FOR HIS LYF..GUD IS WIT LIL DSABILITY...TOMJERRYSWIT
Hmmmmmmm
Jesus! I don't believe this news. So Tears can't come out of his eyes
I've read this story somewhere before. D guy was molested, treated like a dog by peoplle who were assigned to care for him. Even his mom told him she wished he dies but they didn't know he could hear them. Linda, u for post d complete story na.
Awww. Poor him. Is he Oscar pistorius' nrother/ cousin?
#TeamDinde #ibinunation........ let's keep on voting. For the abroad fans. Please click the link Www.mtnprojectfame.com. 7 to 306 nigeria. 7 to 1745 ghana. God bless
D guy get God-given destiny wey him household wickedness no want him to fulfill BUT God pass them... PraiseTheLord!
First things first, he needs to join Instagram and get his social life rolling again lol... So happy for him :)
Hmmmmm, to God be the glory