'Clock' boy withdraws from school that suspended him over clock, Engineer says boy didnt invent the clock | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 22 September 2015

'Clock' boy withdraws from school that suspended him over clock, Engineer says boy didnt invent the clock

The family of the 14-year-old Muslim student who got in trouble over a homemade clock mistaken for a possible bomb withdrew the boy Monday from his suburban Dallas high school.
Ahmed Mohamed's father, Mohamed El-Hassan Mohamed, said he has pulled all of his children from their schools. Mohamed said the family is still deciding where to send the children to school.
Ahmed has said he brought the clock he made to MacArthur High School in Irving last week to show a teacher. Officials say he was arrested after another teacher saw it and became concerned. Ahmed wasn't charged, but he was suspended from school for three days.
"Ahmed said, 'I don't want to go to MacArthur,'" Ahmed's father told The Dallas Morning News "These kids aren't going to be happy there."
News of the arrest sparked an outpouring of support for Ahmed, including from President Barack Obama.

Numerous schools have offered to enroll Ahmed, his father said. But Mohamed said he wants to give his son a breather before making a decision. He said his entire family plans to fly to New York on Wednesday, where United Nations dignitaries want to meet his son. Then, if the appropriate visas can be obtained, Mohamed wants to take his son on a pilgrimage to the holy city of Mecca in Saudi Arabia.
"I ask Allah to bless this time. After that, we'll see," Mohamed said.
When they return, a visit to the White House and a meeting with Obama is in the works, he said.

Meanwhile according to an engineer’s blog post on Artvoice, Ahmed didn’t actually make a digital clock. He took apart an existing clock from the 1970s and simply transplanted its guts into the pencil case he picked up off Amazon.

He said:
I found the highest resolution photograph of the clock I could. Instantly, I was disappointed. Somewhere in all of this – there has indeed been a hoax. Ahmed Mohamed didn’t invent his own alarm clock. He didn’t even build a clock. Now, before I go on and get accused of attacking a 14 year old kid who’s already been through enough, let me explain my purpose. I don’t want to just dissect the clock. I want to dissect our reaction as a society to the situation. Part of that is the knee-jerk responses we’re all so quick to make without facts. So, before you scroll down and leave me angry comments, please continue to the end (or not – prove my point, and miss the point, entirely!)
For starters, one glance at the printed circuit board in the photo, and I knew we were looking at mid-to-late 1970s vintage electronics.
So I turned to eBay, searching for vintage alarm clocks. It only took a minute to locate Ahmed’s clock. See this eBay listing, up at the time of this writing. Amhed’s clock was invented, and built, by Micronta, a Radio Shack subsidary. Catalog number 63 756. 

Wonder if President Obama, Mark Zuckerberg, Microsoft and others will rescind their invites and take back their gifts if this is true.

55 comments:

Ehya its well boy

Why will they rescind their invites if this is true?
I don't think so.

Shut up, Engineer!

Bad belle oshi.

andre kelvin said...

All I see is blessing

he should go future isis is just a matter of time he will pull out of his shell an show who he is.his.his farher is one of terrorist chief in sudan.
america are building up what will swallow them im time comming in the name of human right over terrorist worshipper.
mohammed is a terrorist so any body answering it is a suspect.

Awon aye o! leave dis boy alone!

That's enough reason

#it will only get better
#it must end in praise

This dude wan just spil this dude show shah...

This is d most stupid assumption of all times, how can the engineer simply by looking at d boys clock from a picture, determine how it was made. He hasn't handled it ,hasn't given d boy any audience to explain how he probably came about it, then he's saying such rubbish . Even if d boy didn't invent his own clock, it takes a genius mind to want to dissect something and rebuild it. Invention has to start from somewhere. Please!!

Bad belle pipu!!

Bia Bia said...

Well too late. Na the boy luck.......@@@Bia Bia🙊🙊🙊🙊🙊🙊🙊

Ladun Liadi said...

Knee jerk responses

My friend keep quiet

Mmmmmm hmmmmm, I knew one group would spring up from somewhere to claim dat the boy didn't create the clock as he is not White. Linda take note!

Some people are enemy of progress and fault finder.

Make the engineer park well joor

He has become an over night celebrity, who says there is such a thing as bad publicity.

Shut up Linda.

That's ok.

I C POINTS WIT DE ENGINEER..IS JST GOD DT WANTS TO CHGE HS LYF WIT DAT..
TOMJERRYSWIT

Ahmed has been blest...he should go do his own..#siping my pure water#..

Wahala dey ooo

Abeg allow the boy enjoy his moment....who cares if he made it or not

Obama and others won't take back their gifts.

It's a gradual step,he is just 14 and has dat idea,lets give him his space.how many 14 yrs old has dat time rada Dan partying and having boyfriends/girlfriends.

TripleC SDK BlogBoo said...

Una wan Put Sand for the Boy Garri Bah? This Little Boy Has Pass Through Alot, they should just Let Him B

shakur said...

Bad belle pple....

Hi Linda, it is actually true. He didn't invent the clock. Also, read his interview. He knew the clock was going to be suspicious. It was a hoax and the media did not do enough justice. Not their fault though. I fell into the same trap. Now, teachers will be too careful even when there is an actual bomb.God save us all.

i see no problem with Ahmed's invention. why the quick attack on the little kid? They are many out there like Ahmed but due to the existence of people like you, they could not produce something. Pls save your breath and stop hating...

Whatever....

NOTHING NEW UNDER THE HEAVEN...

Etsako Pearl said...

Lol.oyinbo sha!! wel,Even if dey take bck der gifts.The boy don become over nyt celeb...e no easy to shake obama na!

nnamdi onyukwu said...

I just don't know why some human beings can be this "satanic". Wetin concern the engineer for the matter na. He has time oo,went all the way to research the clock and to show you that the devil uses him to clean bom-bom,he said "....take back the gifts if this is true" #ekpenta' gbagi'oku

Huumm. This mata thick o

The point is... Invented or transplanted...why would you call the cops on a 14 year old child over a clock? Because he's muslim??? I remember during my secondary school years, when a student brings an item that is inappropriate to school...that item is confiscated by the teacher, and his/her parents are contacted... Even if the teacher thought it contained explosive devices, why not take it away and have it examined...before taking necessary actions??? He is a child!! Silly Goats!

aproko manager said...

Na wa abeg make dem leave d boy,na e luck jor

hrm paul ojeih said...

This guy is a prick he should just shut d hell up and let d kid b and have his moment of fame

Thank you sir, I really don't like the part of the arrest and shame esp stigmatisation Arabs faced. But I support you on this, cos the Father is already selling the boy to media houses and taking advantage of the system. He should stop peddling lies and riding on that glory. The truth is out, Dad, what are you going to do?

If this Child decides to turn terrorist in the future...does he not have justification (right now) to do so? The high school and his class teacher (whom he trusted and felt that that trust was reciprocated) has given him a reason to take that action if he chooses to... A society that has stereotyped a 14 year old boy (a child) because he is 'muslim', and has indirectly told him 'you are up to no good' as long as you belong to that religious sect...in my opinion, has lost the essence of guardianship and mentorship.. I don't think Obama, Zuckerberg, Apple and all others will withdraw their support if they find out that the clock was not an original invention.. I believe that their main intent is to assure an already fragile society that its children can be whom they choose to be and be accepted...

BE WISE said...

This guy is sick. So 'jealousy' no be only for Naija the bitch dey?

SMURF said...

Why burst a little boys bubble ehen, everyone deserves their chance to 15minutes of fame and also, he can use this medium to become a real inventor.

Hezs till a genius.

seyi crown said...

Which one be he own sef....his he his fault u r not popular? Stupid engineer

Seyilicious

Some inventions come through the rearrangement of already existing parts. Besides that, I believe the focus is on encouraging a child with so much potential who has been mistaken for a terrorist...think on that Mr engineer

Man Of God said...

they will not! they are rewarding the zeal & determination of a young scientist not just for the clock; so keep your hate write-up to yourself it is too late!

No they won't take back their gifts. It wnt make sense. But the boy's family though, they couldn't even say the boy didn't really invent the clock. This lie will cost the boy future opportunities

Please this engineer should shut up. The boy tried. Atleast He was able to make a clock by "taking apart an existing clock from the 1970s and simply transplanted its guts into the pencil case he picked up off Amazon" and it works. Was has the engineer done or created to gain obama's attention. Was the engineer able to do the same when he was 14. This engineer is just seeking attention. Please the boy needs encouragement that's why people and different organizations are reaching out to him. All these bad belle people "Go and Die"

Uhmmm...... What a wicked world.... Mr Engineer! Remember, what goes around, comes around!!!

That hater should leave d boy alone biko

Mmmm.in as much as the Engineer sounds annoying and untrue.
He is actually right. It was an existing clock mechanism.
In all let the boy enjoy his moment and thank his God.

Mmmm.in as much as the Engineer sounds annoying and untrue.
He is actually right. It was an existing clock mechanism.
In all let the boy enjoy his moment and thank his God.

Haters have come out from the pit of hell where their father satan has sent them to Come and spoil,, awon oloshi!!