12 year old girl commits suicide in Mushin | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 20 September 2015

12 year old girl commits suicide in Mushin

A 12-year-old girl identified as Mulikat Hassan shocked residents in Mushin, Lagos after she allegedly committed suicide.
The little girl was found dead by her parents after she was seen dangling from the ceiling of her parents’ one-room apartment in Mushin.
According to Sunday Sun, a neigbour said:
“I have never seen anything like it before. Yes, I have heard of adults committing suicide but never have I seen or heard of a 12-year old girl taking her own life. I think it is as a result of some sort of spiritual manipulation.”
Expressing pain over the death of Mulikat, another neighbour de­scribed the deceased as a very decent and responsible girl.
 “She was a very good, responsible and respectful girl. It remains a big surprise to me why she would choose to commit suicide. That morning, before her mother went to work, they both passed by my shop and I admired the fine hijab that she (Mulikat) wore, and I told her mother I liked it and she smiled.”
“When her mother came back from work, she met her other children playing outside the compound and asked after Mulikat. They told her that she was in the house. On getting to the room, she met the door locked from inside and began to knock, thinking that she was asleep. 
After banging on the door for some time and calling her name, Mama Mulikat became so worried that she had to scream for help. When we got there, we knocked for a while, still there was no response from inside. So, we broke down the door. The sight was gory. 
Mulikat had tied a rope to the ceiling fan of the room and hung herself. Her body was dan­gling. I feel she had been hanging there for hours since the saliva from her mouth was almost dried up,”he narrated.
According to reports, around 4pm, Mulikat had asked her young­er siblings to leave the room, claiming that she wanted to clean it. One of her siblings reportedly said she literally dragged him out of the room when he was reluctant to leave, and locked the door on herself. He said he tried going back inside after some time, knocked but his  sister refused to open the door.

No one could tell for sure what lead to her suicide but some speculated that the deceased may have been frustrated following sexual advances made towards her by an unidentified neighbour. Suspicion has it that the man might have raped the girl who had always rejected his advances.
“There is a man in our compound who has been making advances to the young girl. She had complained several times and the issue had caused arguments between Mulikat’s parents and the man many times. I suspect that the man might have raped her and maybe due to the frustration, she committed suicide,” a source disclosed.
The police have since arrested 8 suspects in connection with the little girl's death.

58 comments:

Nawa o
Click on my name for juicy stuffs

Bawcee said...

Young life cut short out of depression. What a sad tale.

My goodness, she's too young for such na.

dudette said...

So sad..

Dave Mide said...

i think its beyond spiritual, maybe it had to do with something personal going on in her life which she couldnt tell no one.

Jesus is Lord! 12 what? Chai this isn't fair at all.If the speculations are anything to go by then that man literally murdered her.When you read stories like this,it kinda makes you wonder if it's a curse to be born female.This isn't right.#sadmuch

seyi crown said...

God....may soul rest in peace

Seyilicious

Sad

Anty linda, who is dat dada uncle always lurking around u in all ur pictures, is dat d boo? Hehehhe. He shuld do fast and propose ooo. We are. Watching! Hehe

too much oyinbo movie

#iT will only get better
#iT must end in praise

May her soul rest in peace

Trendyify said...

rip to her

it is well

Lies, she was killed. A 12yr old can't hang herself in the ceiling

Hmmmmm
The psychological effects of rape do not bring suicide to the mind of an non-suicidal person at first hand.
It brings violence first, after which paranoia and trust issues arise.
So they should please scrape the rape accusations.

As for spiritual manipulation, it is not impossible, but black magic accusations can't be proved nah.
Could it be that the child has watched too many nollywood movies that she tried to experiment?That can't possibly be the case because she is 12; and since Great Movies and P Collins ain't making much movies again, we hardly see someone committing suicide in movies these days.
Little child, its a pity.

Sincerely speaking the mind of Amadio

Eyahhhhhh, what a painful death ! People should know that suicide is never an option.

Order for your beautiful bedspreads @ 5671CDBE. Delivery available nationwide.

Really we are living in wicked world.........

Test her for forced vaginal entry or Recent sexual activity. body fluid from external sources. Maybe the man raped her.

Tragedy rip

oh i pity for the lost unfulfill soul.yoruba please train up your children in the ways of the gods please.

12yrs wae never start life Dae end life... GOD help dis generation of ours.

Onyx's Girlfriend (he isn't gay pls) said...

The tin wey nollywood go cause ehn, cos if dis gal no dey watch yoruba film hw she go take knw say pple dey hang rope 4 fan. Rest in peace to the dead

Hmm

andre kelvin said...

Damn! RIP

Rip.....

nawa oo at 12 God help us

Where don't even start?...RIP young lady...and to those who will start the typical..."Aah! Suicide...ah hell fiyah straight!!"...gerrarahere mehn in advance! Our society tends to put its head in the sand regarding so many issues...see the idiot that said it is due to spiritual manipulation...We do not pay attention to mental health issues and thus things like this happen because we are all like C'mon sharrap what is depression? Or God forbid, you are not depressed IJN!! We neglect to pay attention to these things cos na oyinbo dey talk depression. I'm sure this girl was crying out for help. Secondly, this rape issue needs to be taken more seriously and stricter sentences need to be handed down. Also parents who decide to "forgive" the perp on behalf of the child should be prosecuted by the state. Children should be taught in school about any form of inappropriateness. Way too many cases popping up and I'm sure several that go unreported. God help us!

Still remains a mystery

hmmmm this is to bad, R.I.P

MEN DES DAYS R BCOMIN DEMONS...TOMJERRYSWIT

Aftermath of watching films,wrong idea of the teachings of films

aproko manager said...

Na wa Ooo

wahala dey 4 dz world o......sexual advances on 12 yes old girl by a grown man?

Hian! Dis is so very weird. Na wa o! Linda take note!

This is sad! May God rest her soul and comfort her family....

Sad

12 yrz kaii lord hv mercy

Hmm ife ne mme!

Personally I don't think rape would have made a 12yr old commit suicide. Many years as an early teen, I almost killed myself trying to do what i saw people do on tv, u may just be the case...but I guess the police will have to find out. Check for signs of rape and all that. May her soul rest in peace.

Did she really coming suicide? From my own intelligence research someone killed dat young girl and hung her der to make it look suicidal first how can a twelve year old girl not even a boy tie dat rope so hard to enable the suicide for her to even tie a rope that can carry her weight someone must assist her if we had good forensic department in this country you will see dat someone tied dat rope not the young girl if she tried stabbing herself I will understand but tieing a rope and hanging herself that's massive for a twelve year old lady my brothers and sisters reason with me! Linda wey my Cake..

Haba 12 ke that's too young abeg. Wetin u don see for this life by 12. So sad, and as for that horny bagger, an ancient old perv who was toasting a 12 yrs old girl may the end of Jazebeel be be million times better than his end

Not a gud news..12yrs? God help watch over our kids #singinavemaria

Eh'yaaa... poor gal

Oh!

My brothers and sisters pls desist frm dis act of suicide bcos d pathway is hell and not of God.

Rape! Rape!! Rape!!! Everywhere, can't they go pay to have sex.

Now let's forget spiritual attack she has seen it in movies and felt like practicing what she saw.... Not knowing it would really result to death

You are pathetic, so u found a way to show how stupid and shallow minded you are even in the middle of a suicide case. What has suicide got to do with "yoruba." "gods indeed" Ode buruku.

R I P.

bummyla said...

LORD have mercy on us and save our children in Jesus Christ Name! Amen! http://www.bummyla.com

If you dig carefully into her past, you will find out that she has most likely been sexually abused. Children do not come up with suicidal thoughts just like that. Someone she trusted with her life must have abused her. With no one to turn to, she decides to take matters into her own hands. RIP

Killed and d door locked from within?
The killer had to disappear into thin air to leave d room; u know?

I av always been suicidal from childhood. Even begged my mom once to give me petrol to drink. Too bad our Nigerian parents always ignore suicidal signs. I'm in my early thirties now and still having d same feelings .

Weather is am happy or not does not count. Being suicidal is a real thng.

I was wen in Naija here in the UK , still d same.

Judge not. Suicide is battle for some people. Only takes God's grace for dem not to follow through

Maybe she was raped or pregnant... Pls they should do autopsy to know the details.
May she rest in peace!

So sad