Parents sue hospital for failed abortion and cost of bringing up daughter, now 14 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 14 August 2015

Parents sue hospital for failed abortion and cost of bringing up daughter, now 14

Elisa Bellandi is a 'smart and beautiful' teenager according to her doting father. She dreams of one day being a lawyer or psychologist. And it is not hard to understand why. Because in many ways she is very different from many teenagers.

She has had to come to terms with the knowledge that not only was she a 'mistake' baby, conceived when her mother had already passed 40, but that she survived both a miscarriage & a failed abortion.

And if that were not bad enough to deal with, her parents are suing the hospital claiming that a botched operation caused 'psychological trauma' to Elisa's mother and father, in a case that has shocked Italy.

Giuseppe and Aurora Bellandi, who live in the Italian beach town of Rimini with Elisa, are demanding £700,000 in compensation for not just the psychological trauma of having a 2nd child, but also the material deprivation it caused to their lifestyle.
Elisa, who is mature beyond her years, incredibly supports their decision to sue and insists she has always felt 'loved'.
The failed abortion took place in 2000 after the couple, who already had a grown-up son, unexpectedly discovered that they were expecting a baby.
The Bellandis were told it was medically necessary to save the life of Aurora, already 43. They also felt that they could simply not afford another child.
With grim acceptance, they agreed to the termination. But, by the time they discovered it had failed, it was too late to repeat the procedure under Italian law, which forbids abortion after 21 weeks.
The pregnancy and birth were problematic and the couple successfully sued the doctors responsible for 'physical harm to the mother' and received £85,000 (€120,000) in damages in 2008.
7 years later, the couple, who claim they are still struggling financially as a result of Elisa's birth, are taking a hospital in Alessandria, to Italy's highest court.
The Bellandis argue the hospital is responsible for Elisa's birth and should pay for her upbringing.
'The doctors brought her into the world. They should provide for her study and indispensable needs until she is 18. It's her right', her father Giuseppe told MailOnline.
Pointing out the damp on the walls of their tidy but basic semi, in the outskirts of the rundown seaside resort, he claimed:
'I don't want money for myself. I want money for her. You can't have a child and not want to give them everything. You have to.'
Giuseppe dismisses those who would criticize the family saying that millions of couples have had an unwanted or unexpected child and have striven to provide for them without resorting to legal action.
He said:
'We were told that we had had to have an abortion. Other couples who get pregnant get to decide if they will keep it or not. We didn't get to decide anything. They told us - first "You’re pregnant and you must have an abortion". Then, "You can’t have an abortion". They decided everything. As they decided everything they should bear the responsibility.'  
‘I am not trying to become a millionaire. I just want enough for my daughter to be able to study. In Italy the children have to take on their parents' debts when they die. I don’t want that for her.’
With her older brother-Marco
While many parents would be loathe for their child to know she was unwanted, especially in a country like Italy where children are especially indulged, the Bellandis have always told Elisa the truth about her birth and insist the lawsuit is in their daughter's best interests.

'The mistake wasn't mine - so it's not fair that I pay, even though, as you can see, my daughter is wonderful,' added Giuseppe.
It is indisputable that since Elisa's birth their lives have been hit by hardship and troubles.
Giuseppe has been looking for work for 5 years and, tragically, Aurora has developed Parkinson's disease, which is now in an advanced stage.
They live hand-to-mouth, barely surviving on disability and housing handouts as well as help from their son Marco, now 34, who is a manager in a local factory.
The Bellandis say the money is to give Elisa a decent standard of living, allow her to study and fulfil her dream to go on to university.

Giuseppe explained:
'At the moment we can't make plans for the future. We can't think beyond getting through tomorrow.
'We will always try to do the impossible for her as she's our daughter. To me, her mother and Marco, she's our little queen. We try and make sure she wants for nothing. But we don't have enough.' 'They say I don't love her because I wanted an abortion. How can they say I don't love my own daughter?
'The doctors try and make us feel guilty for making a case. They made a mistake. They brought her into the world. If they did do an examination after the abortion, as they say they did, how was she born? What did they examine? A rabbit?' 
'She is a smart, beautiful girl. She is a leader among her friends. She is not the problem. They are the problem.'
The Bellandis place a lot of weight on Elisa's maturity, insisting she can cope, although many parents would argue that teenagers can be much more sensitive than they appear.
Giuseppe said:
'She knows everything about the story. She is not upset by it. If she hides it so well, she should be a professional actress.'
Certainly on the surface she seems well balanced and insists she is not upset by the case.
As she helped her father clear dishes from the table, she said: 'They make it sound terrible as if I didn't know I was going to be aborted. But I've always known. I've always felt loved by my family. We just can't afford everything.'

Source: Mail Online

67 comments:

Hmmm...oyibo with their drama
**vianson**

Lol, what kinda story is dis?
These peeps need to come dwn to 9ja, whether anybdy will even listen to them.

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

Mind Treasures said...

In essence they want to ripoff the hospital? Haba?

What rubbish? I tot they hould be happy.....

Silly decision frm the parent and they are asking for too much..... Thiefs.... #NowPlaying>> you suppose knw: bez....

Ayodele Jay said...

i laugh in chinese.... Weird Parent.

#Blessed child

Lolzzzz. Dis got me laughing bcos she should b thanking d Lord dat d abortion failed if not d Lord would hav penalised her for killing innocent child.

D judge should throw away her case via d window. Good riddicks to bad rubbish. Nonsense!

Can u imagine! So dumb

Awwwww

Smh... can only happen in the white man's land.

FOLARIN said...

U don't say!
So they are blaming the hospital for a failed abortion.
Nope! I can't believe what I just read
Lemme go back and read it.
BRB!!!

Hehehehe! Dis is very funny. Oyinbo can sue for almost anything. Linda take note!

Rubbish, since they're obviously relishing the supposed joy she's brought to their lives. I ain't no lawyer but these should count of grounds for striking out this silly suit. Magicblackxxl@gmail.com

Lol white peoples Problem!

Hmmm its a difficult 1, but yet its done with her interest at heart so i dont blame them.hope u win d case.

Precious said...

These people are crazy!

This people are crazy!
Why can't they just embrace the gift of life God bestowed on them.
Are they saying the Almighty is foolish for allowing tht to happen?; who knows what would have happened if the abortion was successful..no wonder they are struggling financially; the God tht brings children always provide what will be used to take care of them, especially in cases like this.
The girl must be traumatised with all the drama surrounding her.

Mihearty said...

Lol...oyibo and their wahala too plenty

teamchryz said...

season two

Hmmm,nawa o
Well,if d girl is fine with it then by all means go ahead with d case
I CNT cry more than the bereaved

MYS fabric bags lagos 08134794565, D60E8C4D said...

These people are crazy

Sweet Ama said...

I na ako shit...you're just a Gold digger..

Pro said...

Lol should I call this act Joblessness?

That vuvuzela P guy

this guys are board

They desperately need money and will get it by any "legal" means possible.

Dey r sick o, useless pple

They have every right to sue the hospital. The abortion was paid for and the woman suffered the pain and trauma of the said failed abortion.

It's a porous system when u pay for something and it is not done as supposed to.

The child deserves a good life, good education and a great future. The hospital should pay. Also, considering the age of the parents and the fact that they won't be as strong as to look after her and give her the future she needs.

It's a good move if u ask me.

These people are such irresponsible and ungrateful! If they have 1/10th of the problems we have here in Africa they would not be like this. You have looked after this girl up till now you are complaining. If you did not want her why didn't you give her up for adoption to some parents who would take care of her.... claiming the doctors brought her into the world and so should pay for her studies... shameless lazy people. Come how we are surviving in Africa where we take one day at a time and support large families. ole (thief), oleh (sloth)!

That man is a useless man. In stead the man to thank God, he's saying rubbish thief.

Abeg bring the child to me. I am looking for a child if u dont want

Lolzzzz. Dis got me laughing bcos she should b thanking d Lord dat d abortion failed if not d Lord would hav penalised her for killing innocent child.

D judge should throw away her case via d window. Good riddance to bad rubbish. Nonsense!

It's not a rip off, they should sur them. Doctors fuck up every day and get away with it.

This world is funny. A lot of people are looking for children while others are rejecting theirs. Is it the hospital that told you not to do family planning? When you were doing the thing, it was sweet. Now that there is pregnancy, you want to blame the doctors that advised you not to kill an innocent child. Pls go and face your responsibility jare. Stmchew

DEM GET TYM..TOMJERRYSWIT

God has a purpose for that child to live that's why God allowed the abortion to fail. Again, the doctors advised them correctly because for her age, abortion is risky. Why cant they tell their big son to train his little sister. If they are financially bankrupt. Their son can assist na. That is how we do it in Africa.

KWEEN said...

These people are stupid. When they were fucking without precautions, they didn't know? The girl may be taking it well on the surface but she could be crumbling inside.

Ds oyibo ehhh dier brain wrks upside down

KING Nwa AMAKA said...

White people get problem sha.

Chymma said...

Nawao.....oyibo wahala

Linda I go soon sue u for all Dix ur after review your comment will be visible

Wouldn't the hospital have protected itself by having them sign a release in case the procedures were unsuccessful? Many kids weren't planned. Imagine the precedent this sets if people start suing for carrying an unplanned pregnancy to term?

#issorait

Lols

What sorta story is this? This is pure poo talk. Why would you sue someone to train your child.

Lol...crazy couple.

Goaldyn Boy said...

Hhmmmh?! If the hospital pay them that money, then they will have to lose the right to be her parents! They have to hand over the girl to the hospital, because you cannot eat your cake and still have it!!!

mccoy said...

Oponu father. And the sick part now is that the mumu judge mihht grant them the moni

This is laughable! The hospital already paid compensation and now the vultures are back for more! Who is to say that if the hospital pay what is asked now, they would not come back years later to claim that the whole scenario drove the girl to harm herself or something else.

D long story sef tire me!!!! Mek oyibo go rest dier wahala and story no dey get head.

Bulk shoes, bags, accessories gor ladies for sale.
Email shoewarehousenigeria@gmail.com for inquiries.

If that child dies. They will be the ones wailing. Please Lord protect that child and give her LONG LIFE.
Greed is a disease

AMARACHI (LindaIkeji's Daughter) said...

This seems like a pretty silly case to me. No child is a mistake

ASAMPOKOTO said...

Bullshit. And this mentality is exactly why we have a lot of children begging in Nigeria.

This is a solid case!!!!
If u decide to be very objective,u will understand!
If u wanna bet,i am game - they will get a major settlement out of it...itz fucking legal....if d statutes of limitation hasnt crept in.

ASAMPOKOTO said...

It's a pretty straight forward situation . Why do you need to read it more than once?
Can you people ever reason for once?
She's in a country where abortions are legal. They made her have one and then failed at it. No one was financially ready for that kid and as you have read also, 'physically' ready. The hospital had a job to do, and they made a mistake. It's only right they pay

ASAMPOKOTO said...

And Tthis is why they probably will never be comjng down to Nigeria.

Chinenye Arinze said...

this is madness

I tire for this people

If you read this story not sure there would hav been a reason for " awwww".....

Humm oyibo sef!

Ndi ocha bu ezigbo ndi ala!!!

the parents should as well return her to the hospital upon getting their monetary claims. Laziness at its peak!

if you had train your child properly would she be having sex @ 14. Her blood is in your hands

That one na talk?

ASAMPOKOTO said...

They asked her to have the abortion. Can't you read?

14 years having sex