Nigerian gets 22 years in U.S. prison for helping al Qaeda affiliate | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday, 13 August 2015

Nigerian gets 22 years in U.S. prison for helping al Qaeda affiliate

A 35 year old Nigerian man, Lawal Babafemi was sentenced to 22 years in prison by a US court in Brooklyn yesterday August 12th for receiving weapons training from al Qaeda's Yemeni affiliate and writing rap lyrics, among other contributions, for the group's English-language media operations.

Lawal ,who was extradited to the US from Nigeria after he was accused of the crime, pleaded guilty to the allegations in April 2014 but was sentenced yesterday

According to prosecutors, Lawal had traveled from Nigeria to Yemen twice between January 2010 and August 2011 to meet with leaders of al Qaeda in the Arabian Peninsula, known as AQAP and while in Yemen, Lawal who went by a pseudo name "Ayatollah Mustapha", worked on the terror groups media operations, including its magazine "Inspire,".

He and two others, a Vietnamese man named Minh Quang Pham and US citizen, Samir Khan who served as contributing writers and editors for the terror group magazine, produced the magazine.

Prosecutors say there are pictures of Lawal and his accomplices in the magazine wearing camouflage and holding rifles. It was also stated by the Prosecutors that the group's leadership, including Anwar al-Awlaki, paid Lawal almost $9,000 to recruit English speakers from Nigeria.

60 comments:

Serves him right. He should have gotten more time. Linda take note!

Nigerians here and there... May God help us ooo

Serves him right.

Good for him..
Nke Onye metere, o buru!

Congrats to him

Right From the moment i saw the headline?i know that he must be an hausa or yoruba man.
They should kill him before he form another terrorism group us,because is in there blood one's you are a nigeria.

Right From the moment i saw the headline?i know that he must be an hausa or yoruba man.
They should kill him before he form another terrorism group us,because is in there blood one's you are a nigeria.

Serves her right!

KING Nwa AMAKA said...

Serves him right

I don't know how these people are being brainwashed !

Order for your beautiful bedspreads @ 5671CDBE. Delivery available nationwide.

Good

Good luck in jail.

Pele ooooo

Odi egwu Nigerians with bad identities

Smh nawah oh

Na wa...wat does it profit a man t hold onto so mch hate as to supporting evil with ur korokoro eyes. Let him rot there jor!

While his mates were busy at the Research labs working hard to make this world more convenient and a better place to live in, this first born of Satan was working hard to destroy humanity. The US embassy and general public should always view these people with black spot on their foreheads with suspicion because it is a sign of fanaticism. You hardly see a moderate moslems with that satanic black mark. I believe they normally develop the spot while repeatedly hitting their heads on the ground with ANGER and DESPERATION.

22yrs is even small.This guy may come out worst when he meets with co-criminals in jail.These are the kinda people these terrorists do demand to be released

See his yoruba face... Omo ale
He will rot in jail

Lynnajade said...

See his ugly face! Bastard

22 PLUS HIS AGE NOW..TOMJERRYSWIT

Evil man.

Na wa ooo

Na waaa .
Yoruba people.

Hmmmm.nothing you'll not hear these days.

Bastards

Serve him right and punishment well deserved. I hope dis wil serve as deterrent to others.

INDIGENOUS LIB said...

As if I know.... Its all this people with round black spot on their forehead... Hiaaaaa... Omo ale jatijati

Thank God you were caught, wicked man. The bible said there is no peace for the wicked. 22 years should be increased to 60 years. Stay in prison and kill or rape yourself. Evil man.

Lobatan! When some of us here are looking for good life....yo went to look for dead life....waka

BLUNT said...

That famous dark mark on the forhead! Fear anyone that carries it.

Bastard!

Carina Kikelomo Jacob said...

Must Nigerians be associated with bad things? very annoying

ckjacob.blogspot.com

Good for him...what was he thinking..

he will die there useless man
complete bad idiot
he must not come back to Nigeria

ayaba said...

A yoruba for dat matter yoruba too fear death

Islam and terrorism choii na wa ooo. Yall should channel effort into other things na...business , education and all that

Adojutini omo! Serves him right....

U cnt evn speak good english yet u r bin tribalistic..mtcheeeew

Imagine useless ugly fool, they shld given u life sef. 22yrs is too small, number 1 oloriburuku, replica of a lizard

22 years for helping al qeada? He should have gotten life imprisonment.

INDIGENOUS LIB said...

Retard!!!! I know you are a orphan OK? So am not surprised cos you don't think like you are OK before dropping comments.... Get a life

Hang Him.
The Christian folks in Nigeria don't need him here, bt 'Z' can't speak for Lawal's Muslim Brothers though.

paul aina said...

Omo ale Yoruba, you are a disgrace only to yourself and not Yoruba bcos you are on your own now. Mumu Lawal first born of asetani. Abeg make them increase am to 75 years. May be you will have your 7 Virgin in that place now. Ode

This alleged picture of Yusuf is actually a picture of Mustapha Abdullahi Berende arrested and paraded by DSS. Pls correct & authenticate your stories and sources before publishing

U.S better adopt yoruba language in their approach in fighting crime ASAP

But have u nticed dt arabs dont have dt mark on their head. Even d ones near us in morrocco and egypt. I think its d frustration of using mat instead of lush rugs dt cause d mark. Dangote doesnt have it. Everyone has a right to practise their religion. But all this extremism needs to stop. No one is persecuting muslims in dis country so boko haram needs to carry their kangara to palestine and fight for their brothers there.

This is d problem when u use violence for a just cause, evil pple will hijack it. All d violent seed sown by alqaeda against israel and by extension america have come home to roost. Now isis/bokoharam fighting for nothing but bloodthirst and landgrab in syria, iraq and west africa. If everyone of those arabs had protested their cause wtout violence, like gandhi or mandela, palestinians would have had a prosperous country to call their own at d end of it all. Israel wld have bn way more criticized by d world community in d 50's and 60's.

U just said my mindmind, yet to see an Igbo name associated with terrorism

Justice well served. Enjoy your years behind bars mr man.

Guy go suck eggplant, no dey come comment here

Anyway may I use this medium to inform you that those ones you see with heavy black marks on for head is not because they pray or hit their heads more than others, they inflict that mark using cashew-nut raw water or "laali* that liquid their female ones use to paint themselves so as to look more fanatical, it is an eye witness account. I live in the north.

Good for him.

This chairman is not 35 years old. He is 52.

All in d name of money, u destroy ur life.