Nigerian dad sends his US-born teen sons to Nigeria for a year...to learn gratitude | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday, 13 August 2015

Nigerian dad sends his US-born teen sons to Nigeria for a year...to learn gratitude

Their dad is Nigerian, who relocated to the US and married a white American. When his sons turned 14, he decided to send them to Nigeria (where they've never been) to experience the culture and learn gratitude. Quite interesting. Read below..meanwhile, can more parents in the US do this?
A dad wanting his twin teen sons, accustomed to the comforts of the country club, to learn some gratitude took an unusual step. He sent the 14-year-olds to spend the seventh grade in Nigeria.
The boys, Noble and Evan Nwankwo, spent seventh grade at Mea Mater Elizabeth High School in Enugu, southern Nigeria. There, the day starts with 5 a.m. exercise and prayer, and continues with a 12-subject course load. There’s no help from mom on homework or washing clothes, either.
“Adversity is important in somebody’s development in life, as far as I’m concerned, because there comes a time when the storm is going to hit you, and if you never had that to fall back on you’re just going to fall apart,” Evans Nwankwo, the father, said. “I strongly believe that because it’s been important in my own development.”

Nwankwo was born and raised in Nigeria. He was one of 13 children. The family was well off. Then, the Nigerian Civil War broke out and they were running for safety and scrambling for food, and his father was killed.

He eventually made it to the U.S. and built a business. People around Cincinnati probably know Nwankwo’s work – his construction company is the go-to contractor that has worked on sites including Fountain Square, the Freedom Center and Washington Park.

As the boys were getting ready to go, things in Africa were looking bad. The Ebola outbreak was making headlines, as were attacks by the terrorist group Boko Haram on schools in northern Nigeria.
The elder Nwankwo said he had “a lot of apprehension as they were getting ready to go, a lot of anxiety.”

The boys had other concerns.

“I hope I’m not as lazy as I am now,” Noble said before leaving for Nigeria.
It looks like Noble got his wish. Besides being responsible for their studies, basic necessities like water required work to obtain.

“It was kind of eye-opening to see how much you actually have to work to get a simple bucket of water, and how you actually have to use your own strength to carry it back and forth,” Noble said. “And it’s actually pretty tough to hand-wash your clothes with that amount of water. You have to really manage it.”

“You have to be trekking all over the school just to get water to bathe with… Here you can just turn on the tap and there’ll be water flowing like it’s nothing,” Evan said. “There, you’ll, be struggling for it. Sometimes we would go without water for a couple days.”

Since returning, their dad said he’s already seen a change in his boys.

“I feel that the experience is one that will live with them forever, and they will be forever changed – maybe not on the immediate, but long term.”
Evan and Noble agreed.

“I appreciate the washing machine. I appreciate the running water. I appreciate the shower, so I don’t have to use a bucket of water in a bowl,” Noble said. “I appreciate my electronics. I appreciate my parents a lot more because I realize how much – especially my dad – I really realize how much he had to do to get here.”

Besides the actual experience, they said their dad taught them a lot as well.

“He’s taught me a lot, and he’s made me go through a lot to make me a better person, to make me a person that can just endure,” Evan said.

The trip may turn into a family tradition. Evans said he was going to put aside some money so any future grandchildren can also spend a year in Nigeria.

Source: WCPO

116 comments:

Very cool...αи∂ they are loads of handsomeness...cute boys

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

Very cool...αи∂ they are loads of handsomeness...cute boys

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

Good to know

Lol. I suppose it's necessary

TEEDEE said...

Fantastic Stuff

Lol. I suppose it's necessary

A very good Family tradition. That was a sweet thing to do.

STREET WISE MEHN

HAHAHA, I LUV DS...HE DID DEM WEL....TOMJERRYSWIT

Oo wow, dats a gud way to train a child , let dem c d oda side of life

Good one,that is why i have stand today.if am with my mum living in her place in mauritius i we not no that hausa people are evil,include yorubas.
I love ibo people,i know the man must be ibo because they are wise and creative.
Dear,because as you come because nigerian's behave as animal's.

Dats gud so dat e wil knw es culture

Good one,that is why i have stand today.if am with my mum living in her place in mauritius i we not no that hausa people are evil,include yorubas.
I love ibo people,i know the man must be ibo because they are wise and creative.

mel20 said...

So touching and very responsible of the father, ibo man no go ever carry last your kids just have to be discipline not thinking bout owning a gun and becoming a gangstar.

7F098C19 said...

This is super story. Engr Emy

Imagine style ..it's all gud sha...there's surely Danger in comfort..#Tslicky

Dnt mind this Oyibo ppl with their training. U do well oo.

I know of another family that did the same

I bet their dad is Yoruba! Mehn, those pple, are the most respectful tribe we hav in Naija! No matter how large they are, they never forget their background!

So good and rare...grounded father taught by the very harsh realities of life now passing the real life training to another generation for good at least... Pls, sir keep it up all the way

Awww! So sweet

that is good

MamaOj said...

Wow epic! Nigerian parents based in US & other European countries should follow suit.

Wow....this man just became a role model for other abroad based Nigerian parents. Its quite funny, but a very good way to inculcate moral values into kids. I like this man a lot.

Hmmmmmm. Biko dis is not abt learning respect but simply coming to know their father land. Thumbs up and more power to their elbows. I wish them all d best.

INK_HER said...

Quite interesting!

I really love this.

Ettadarl said...

Good one...

Linda, other parents do that too. My Uncle sent his own three children (a boy and 2 girls) to Nigeria for 4yrs to study and also learn the Nigerian Culture. Then his Children learnt how to speak Yoruba and travelled to lots of places in Nigerian. This was in the 90s and early 2YK. Kudos to Mr. Nwankwo.

Woooooooow! Dis is really great. Thumbs up to their Dad. He is a real role model for other people. Linda take note!

That's a very good idea... Keep it up

Cool one...that's very thoughtful og their dad..

Just like my dad too,he wld say he doesn't want us to go abroad and turn somtin else,that we should learn that life is not a bed a rosses,he promised to take us abroad after high school here,but the opportunity never came.
He was a wealthy man,he traveled almost evry week cos he has company in Spain and US,but we d children never entered a plane.things got bad and our dream of studying abroad was truncated.man proposes but God disposes

Pure Igbo man. Proud of my tribe

Good one by their DAD who knows the importance of African values

GOOD DADDY AND GOOD NIGERIAN MAN
IS VERY NICE WHAT YOU DID,
LET THEM KNOW HOW TO EAT APU WITH OKASI SOUP
IGBO MAN BRAIN TOO MUCH

Amazing, every family in Diaspora should definitely key in to this. It is an experience that is both beneficial and life changing. i am so sending my Kids back every year for sure.

I know they'd also want their kids to do same

More and more abroad-based parents are doing it cos they realize that their kids take for granted what they (the parents) have worked so hard to have. I have seen such children in my time.

Well

ASAMPOKOTO said...

What is sooo 'new' about this? Parents have been doing his for decades now

Cloud9 said...

Inspiring.I love this story and the fathers idea of sending the children back to Naija.

Dt is soooo sweet jare every parent shld try ds o.

Fathers are it!!!

That's nothing new...parents have been sending their kids back home for a long time. I was sent to Nigeria to learn our culture at the age of 8 and lived there for three years. It was tough at first but I learnt a lot. I recommend every parent giving it a go.

What a great father .unlike all this politicians stealing money to fund extravagant lifestyle of their overly spoilt brats . Good on him.

Agape said...

Wow! i love what the man did to his children i wish other parents can do this too, nice one

KING Nwa AMAKA said...

That is good. Come home all ye lost sheeps

This is a very good one....

NO SENTIMENTS but before I even open this post I have already knew that this man is an igbo man most of our igbo men are very homely they are like this!what an incredible experience for the kids beautiful one if you ask me.

We had a lot of these guys in school back in the day, it was a good learning experience for them and I think they appreciated it.

Most parents do this,so what is the big deal?its not so much for gratitude but for the boys not to be initiated into gang culture which is popular with black boys in western world

Good morals is important in our lives, will teach my children that too

My kind of man, God bless u real good; that's difference between "raising a child" and 'managing one'. This way those kids will never (ever) forget where they come from nor misuse their great opportunity.

That's cool

wow! this is inspiring! luv d dad. guess we av same thinking

Amarachi said...

Very good .

The school no try self. Imagine days without water. And na this kind school dey demand heaven and earth in the name of school fee. Not of my business though!

Connie said...

wow!! this is really interesting. one of my friend's elder sister in US also did this same thing her first child in 2010. the boy to stay in a busy a onitsha just with his grandfather and walk from home to school for one year. it helped the boy o learn a lot of things.

That was very awesome..aleast they have known that one could wash clothes with hands

THE MORE REASON WHY NYSC SHOULD NOT BE SCRAPPED OMOTOLA BUT RATHER NYSC SHOULD BE POLISHED, REASONABLE ALLOWANCE AND MORE MEANINGFUL WITH TARGETED SKILLS SET...IT BENEFITS THE UNDERPRIVILEDGE WHO DO NOT HAVE SUCH PERSONAL MEANS UNLIKE THE NWAKWOS

frank said...

Fool Nwakwo is yoruba ba??

Okpo they are igbo

Ochaimo+ said...

A man from my town late Dr Joe Umeh from Nenwe, all his kids speaks Igbo dialect ranging from the Chidi,Chinedu etc Joe lived in Saudi Arabia, Canada, Us and Enugu,his kids schooled at FGC Enugu

NICE ONE DAD, HE SHOULD LEARN ABEG

This is far from learning culture.your response to this godly move shows u learnt only culture of a place,you did not learn life.Princes n princesses learn life,what this man just did has confirmed his children princes...when we that passed through tough times in good family status like this,going through tough schools and going two days without bathing cos u couldn't hustle out water,living with villagers like u had no choice,(not like oyinbo)seeing how aggressive some people can be for no reasons n all that,appreciating God with the understanding of why he had to set us through this path.when we stand kings bow.

jasmeen said...

Pls go to school,stop terrorising us with your english.Better still write in your flawless language.mtchheew

wiSe move......

Udomerez said...

Gideon Uwayzor and Emmanuel Wamah comes to mind, these are American citizens that can rap pidgin better than me sef

Mihearty said...

Nice one.......Hmmmmmm all the libers don dey form abroad. Ok nah

Baddest Puta said...

Dumbass! Yoruba ko, Calabar ni. Illiterate

This is far from learning culture.your response to this godly move shows u learnt only culture of a place,you did not learn life.(your parents dint see vision,8 years,what could u possibly learn about life,u need to have started thinking for ur self before being sent through this training,it's not for culture,one can study culture,knowing real life by name,12-15yrs is most appropriate)Princes n princesses learn life,what this man just did has confirmed his children princes...when we that passed through tough times in good family status like this,going through tough schools and going two days without bathing cos u couldn't hustle out water,living with villagers like u had no choice,(not like oyinbo girl)seeing how aggressive some people can be for no reasons,how some appreciate the little they had with gratitude n all that,And appreciating God with the understanding of why he had to set us through this path.When we stand kings bow.

Baddest Puta said...

Madam/oga it is not a competition. If you read through they made it clear how Large the Nwakwo brand is in the US, and their Mother is white but still he sent the kids here which is very rare if you feel like it's a competition you might as well send your uncle's story smh

Pls linda enugu is East not south and I ve noticed u make a lot if mistakes these days. Eg in dat gov fayose post it's some n not soup ingredients. I tire for u sef.

Please,the you read the article.it says an Igbo man and his name is Evans Nwankwo.

CHINYERE said...

LINDA POST MY COMTUPCOMING BUSINESS WOMAN I DONT HAVE MONEY FOR ADVERTS SO I KNOW I CAN USE THIS MEDIUM. oRDER FOR YOUR WAIST TRIMMERS AND BUTTLIFTER
MY PRICE IS REASONABLE FOR JUST N9000 BUTTLIFTER N4000.

Interesting.

Deir surname is Nwankwo nd so dey re obviously igbos...Sorry to disappoint u!

mccoy said...

Read the post again and see how dumb you are.
Now slap yourself! Oponu

Thank God it turned out well, was scared they might kidnap d kids

Their dad is IGBO. FOOL

So Nwankwo is now a yoruba name abi?

I guess u ddnt read the story, even if u did, I'm sure u ddnt pay attention to details or u find it a lil bit difficult to understand English. Does Enugu n d name Nwankwo sound yoruba to you?

Nwankwo is definitely Igbo!

Look at this abandoned kid with twisted mind tryna form some cool ish.
U are jst stupid n too Dumb 2 realise that. Maybe all the abuses u suffered from as a kid have demented ur imagination to think that some of us don't know u.
I deliberately choosed to maintain a parallel line between us on this blog which explains why i kept the Torpedo Pods sealed on ur loose anus.
Go get some cure b4 i spill more.

Some cool therapy 4 privilege lads.

Wow. Your comment is proof that some BVs actually don't read the story at all! Your parents should send you back to school!

God bless Evans Nwankwo. Good to know that amidst'my children will not go through what I went through' we still have to teach them reality.

Some of you jst read headlines out of dumbness and laziness for knowledge and comment rubbish!!! If u had taken the time to read the post you would have known better instead of guessing blindly

Pls read the article well. Their dad is Igbo.

Edem,can you read English?what kind of nitwits are we breeding in this country

WOW!!!!! SO MUCH CUTENESS FROM THIS GUYS, I LOVE WHAT THEIR DAD DID, ATLEAST HE REMEMBERED HOME....NO PLACE LIKE HOME

Respect and gratitude are good to learn but as a white mother of teenagers living abroad with their Nigerian father I would never let my children spend time in Nigeria nor would my husband. I would be to concerned for their health and wellbeing. Not only that the awful attitudes of Nigerian women and ridiculous overly religious beliefs are too much for any smart western teenagers to deal with. Yes we need to be grateful for running water electricity ect but Nigerians should learn to be grateful and possibly do during the week what they pray to their god for on sunday.
-my view-

Why does anyone need to know how to wash clothes by hand, unnecessary

Very good. Nwankwo is a man of wisdom.

Pls go back n read it again yoruba man can never do it

How stupid can u be.....as old as u are u hate reading, u shld be ashamed of ursef.......professional idiot.....those nwakwo sound Yoruba to u

And ur point is

You dint have to post a comment. You could have just read and moved on. Your comment is as confused as ur profile pic. Staying with your mum is better off, so she would teach you the essence of reading and understanding. Very random comment.

U obviously ddnt bother to read d story!

Chocomilo said...

Umm. No ma.

i live here in the states and i am not married yet.......but i have said it clearly to myself that my kids must live in nigeria for sometime.........nigeria may not have security and electricity....nigeria may be corupt but thats the best place to train children......i just can;t imagine my kids trained in the united states........children here are nothing but brats.....

One year is okay for good kids. Rascals need at least 3 yrs. Mothers are generally resistant until the kid ends up in jail - I have personal experience with mine. Ike Ememkpali would have benefited from such a trip.

Great indeed! they will understand their culture and learn a lot with friends and relatives. Also to test the other side of life as it will not be rosy all the time. I love this and wish the happy stay in their father land.

Lwkmd..

NOELLA said...

PARENTS HAVE BEEN DOING IT FOR YEARS...JUST SO THAT THEIR KIDS CAN LEARN THE WAYS OF NIGERIA AND MAKE NIGERIAN FRIENDS..I DON'T KNOW ABOUT THE GANG ASPECT THAT IS IF YOU LIVE IN A TOUGH DRUG INFESTED NEIGHBORHOOD....I AM DOING THE SAME WITH MY DAUGHTER...I KNOW A DOCTOR IN THE EAST COAST THAT DID IT...AND EVEN WHEN HER SONS CAME BACK TO THE US THEY DID NOT STOP WEARING RUBBER SLIPPERS...THE FRIENDS THE BOYS MADE IN NIGERIA YEARS AGO HELPED THEM WHEN IT CAME TIME TO BURY THEIR DAD....

THE AMERICAN WAY HAS ABSOLUTELY NOTHING TO BE EMULATED ALL THE AMERICAN WANNABES IN NIGERIA NEED TO TAKE NOTE ...THE SOCIETY IS DECADENT PEOPLE ARE MISERABLE EVEN WITH RUNNING WATER, PERMANENT ELECTRICITY, CLOTHES EVERYWHERE THAT YOU ACTUALLY BECOME JADED, GOOD ROADS AND WHAT NOT...TAKE IT FROM ME GUYS!!

That her father once had money. Oya clap for itself Kiki.

preciousdilly@gmail.com said...

...Oh, my fault, thought people have been doing that! By the way, there is no law in the USA that prohibits parents from training their children properly, or is there? Hear this: Nobody can train your child(ren) better than yourself if you understand your responsibilities. But the problem is that some children are neglected - while some parents are busy gossiping about other people, many parents are busy keeping up appearances, that is, living a fake life and most parents are working like there is no tomorrow...No wonder some children are left with no choice than to live and behave the way they deem fit ... whatever goes round comes round, they say!

It beggars beliefs how some people fail to understand that it's a failure on the parents' side if their children need to go to Nigeria to be thought life lessons by another individual. Yes, some people did it...Good for them! And yes, some people are doing it...
That explains why in spite of "running water, permanent electricity, and clothes everywhere", as Noella puts it, "people are miserable".

The best experience nigerian parents in the US and UK but especially the US can give their kids..it's not uncommon and all d kids I know that their parents sent to naija for secondary school all look, back and trully appreciate it. They hv a diff mindset from the rest American and nigerian kids

Dids said...

I fail to understand why you all feel compelled to be so insulting. It's enough to just politely correct the poster about the tribe instead of referring to them as 'dumbass', 'fool' etc. So very unnecessary & immature...

what a good father

More parents in US should practice this act.