Ife chiefs finally confirm Ooni's death, appeals to residents to obey palace orders as burial rites begin | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 10 August 2015

Ife chiefs finally confirm Ooni's death, appeals to residents to obey palace orders as burial rites begin

The Ife traditional council in Osun State today finally confirmed the death of the Ooni of Ife, Okunade Sijuwade Olubuse II. Speaking through the the Awara of Iwara-Ife, Chief Layi Adereti, the council of chiefs said the official proclamation of the death of the Ooni who died July 28th, would be made on Wednesday August 12th.
"This is an official statement from the palace of Awara of Iwara-Ife who is the head of Oro deity that on Wednesday 12th August 2015, there would be official proclamation of the demise of Ooni of Ife. The proclamation will be made public during the Oro festival, being the final rites on the demise of Ooni of Ife.
The residents of the ancient town are therefore urged to keep away from the streets between the hours of 9am and 4pm during which the Oro diety will be out. With the announcement, people are advised to stay in-doors for the period when the Oro will be out.”he said He appealed to residents in the state to remain indoors during the Oro rites, adding that both male and female are barred from movement.

56 comments:

Na wa o! And we are in year 2015. Se they will behead anyone found outside ni?

ST. KIZITO BOUTIQUE IG: @stkizitoboutique said...

So dey hv finally admitted d fact dat d oba is dead now. RIP.

Hmmm... So they still observe those weird rites?
O ga oo!

Hmmm! RIP

May his soul RIP.....

" are advised to stay in-doors for the period when the Oro will be out.”

To be forewarned is to be forearmed, time to keep yourself and your family safe. Since some people still hold on tenaciously to some bizarre traditional practices.

emeka moreno osian said...

Y dem dey lie before?

emeka moreno osian said...

Y dem dey lie before?

Entertainment gist said...

may his soul rest in peace

Finally! Issokay seen, thanks for sharing! Linda take note!

Sleep on

U can't hardcover pregnancy sha! Rest in peace Sir.

Special_☝ said...

So what some people were saying about the sacrifice were right. Some things should be done away with.

9am and 4pm? not clear enough

Juju things. Okay now, RIP to the dead monarch.

Copers serving in ife should be careful o!

Nawa o, I hope d palace n d chiefs wl provide fud on d table of d citizens 4rm 9am-4pm yl d oro last

SO WHAT HAPPENS IF THE ORO CATCH YOU OUTSIDE.....THEY WILL BURY THE PERSON WITH THE KING ABI????

Human rights in Nigeria is 0%, so everyone has to stay @ home Blc of tradition God will save us

BOLLOCKS!!! @9am-4pm curfew.
How do u expect some poor folks who lives on day-2-day earnings to survive.
Any retarded culture that Infringes/Threatens (on) the Fundamental Human Rights of the Citizenry should be BANNED.

Hmm

R.I.P

May be they have collected enough human heads for burial before coming public. Government should please investigate the various deaths in lagos, ogun and environs within the past 1 month.

So they mean 9PM to 4AM? I saw 9AM to 4PM..Linda is that right?

Na wa oooo

They will be looking for heads to bury the old man

Mihearty said...

These Yoruba people don't know God. Imagine! After they will be looking for human head to bury the man.

Hmmm God of mercy can u imagine. That how my clant told me that one of the Rev Father, wanted to sleep with her before she finally stop the school, and I was shock! That Madonna University need to be closed down first seriously speaking. Na wa oh!!!!

May his soul RIP

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

Guess the necessary human sacrifices have been made. RIP to the dead

Rest in peace

You dey craze..... Is this the Madonna university news thread? Idiot......

Millions of hours will be lost with no revenue or income. What a society!

Smart Martin said...

Na wa oooo for we country

Give it a try. Even a military officer, if caught shall be beheaded.

WHAT 'S THE FATE OF STUDENTS, BANKERS PPLE TRAVELLING THRU IFE?

With all these ancient traditional rites and rituals...hmmm I really doubt if this Oba will make heaven...😭😭😭

valushi said...

Does this question make sense? Okay try them and find out.

Oya go ban am oga grammar

9am to 4pm? Hope the state government will declare public holiday

Go stay outside first and see nah...

Go stay outside first na

Its not bizzare. Thats culture and some pples religion. Just shut the fuxk up!

Go and ban it now. Crazy people whose culture has bn erased by their white slavemasters.

This is the 21st century. Barbaric murders in the name of burial rites in Nigeria must stop! Let the kings rest in peace. #MurderNotOro

J said...

Heard that the Oni's Bobaku is on the run. Lol who won die!!!!!

Mama said...

He cannot make heaven except he gave his life to Christ... You cannot be involved in occultic bullshit and make heaven

You shut the fuck up, stupid tradition that kills?

Smartmartinblog said...

Lol...

The rumour that the Oni will be buried with heads of human beings is a lie. People should not beleive such lies. It is not true. The Yorubas are not murderers. We do not bury the living with the dead. That is not our tradition. The Oro rites does not mean murdering people for the Oni. Please disregard all these rumours. Please. They are not true!!

Eyah, may his soul RIP. But abaobaku has run away.