The 11-day-old tot is fighting for his life after the shocking attack that left the blade stuck 11cm into his brain as he slept in a hospital ward with his mother close-by.
Frantic doctors in Vietnam performed a life-saving operation to remove the massive knife from his head.
The horrific attack on the child, who has not yet been named, just missed his eye.
Mum, Vo Thi Hong Duyen, 32, described the moment she allegedly saw 51-year-old Nguyen Thi Van, who was sharing a room with the pair, attack her baby.
She claims she was woken at 3.40am by a noise in the room and saw a shadowy figure approach her bed, where she lay with her son.
She said: "She jumped at me and we struggled and I heard a scream.
"I saw my baby crying and looked to see the knife in his face full of blood.
"When I started to cry, she ran away."
Mum Duyen said she saw Thi Van stab her baby with a 30cm knife in the head before she was grabbed by hospital staff.
The baby was moved from the Vinh Long hospital to Ho Chi Minh City Children's Hospital No1 where doctors performed a three-hour operation to save his life.
Dr Dao Trung Hieu, deputy director of the hospital, said: "Because of the dangerous location of the blade in the brain of the child, the new-born baby might have become paralysed, suffered respiratory failure, and even died when the knife was removed.
"The baby was stabbed in the left eye socket, through the right brain but the baby's eyeball has been left unscathed.
"However, the most worrying problem post-operative period is the risk of bleeding and an infection recurrence in the brain.
"The baby boy was born on July 28 and was attacked 11 days later."
Thi Van is now being questioned by police.
UK Mirror
69 comments:
D way people. Kkill dis days! Na wa! No vallue for life anymore
Can you imagine such evil.
Thank God the baby survived the attack. Hope the man will be severely punished.
Damn. What's this?
Dz is so sad...he is gonna survive by his grace.
Mrng Linda, Mrng Lib readers.
#Blessed child
Wtf did I jst read???????
For real?????
Dumb founded as hell
Wat rubbish. Wish him quick recovery
Nawah
*lib's namesake*
Jesus, what kind of story is this???
Already having goose pimple reading this, tnks but am nt reading till d end
What kind of inhuman attitude is this???is either this woman is a retard or on her way to been one
#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise
Terrible.
Do we have NeuroSurgeons in Nig, or all their brains have been drained to other countries?
If it was Nig, its bye bye to the baby, see Vietnam. SMH
OMG dats terrible..who on earth will have suc heart to du to a baby..people are bad
Demons everywhere!
Can't help it! *feeling like I was de baby*
Da Fuck.
What on Earth can be the motive for stabbing a 10 day old infant on the head?
I hail ooo...killing the woman instantly ain't mother
For wat na?
Choi! This pikin never even come life finish n suffer don already start?
Sorry, child...
For window blinds, wallpaper and curtains please call 08160856785.
God...1das sha neva end....jesuuuu
Horrific the bastard that did this will never go unpunished
Lord Jesus, Wicked world we live in..may God protect n heal the little lad...www.duketundesblog.com
Why did the witch attack the kid?
I pray he recovers fully IJN..AMEN!
Violence against children is becoming too much nowadays; as vulnerable as they are..such wickedness is not only devilish, but also cowardice of those that engage in it. Smh!
I hope they give her a lifetime sentence..and her like deals with her in prison.
Have a blessed day y'all..
Rest rest for me tho; man no be firewood abeg.
Choi! This pikin never even come life finish n suffer don already start?
Sorry, child...
People sick ooooo wondering d pain d boy is passing tro, some people are jst devil
Omg!! An innocent child!!
So sad
Wish her quick recovery.
Mentally ill people everywhere. Not everyone around you is normal, better be wary.
Oh no! Why such wickedness?
Common mistakes made by women in marriages and relationships
I swear some people don mad finish......
What a cold world, an innocent soul. Even if d stabber was delusional, life has to be blamed for this, like they say, life is unfair and someone said that "so many babies cry and scream at birth cos they've seen d destruction in d world before they see a human being. I pray for d poor child's quick recovery. Amen
Sadist, wonder what ve come over people lately
Ubanagum
Awww... may he survive it ijn
OMG! Speedy recovery to d baby. Biko d adult responsible for dis act should b punished accordingly.
Na wa ooo
HMMMM. JST SPEECHLESS...TOMJERRYSWIT
This is evil. No matter what the issue is an infant? That woman should be jailed for life.
What kind of news is this, can someone actually do this? Come nofin person no go hear o, ohw shit this is annoying. Infact I don't know wat to say dis is a crazy act, I mean for any reason dat lady is extremely crazy. Little one RIP sweets
That vuvuzela P guy
She needs to dealt with, after now she will claim whe was sleep walking. Devilish soul
That vuvuzela P guy
My God, dis is sooo cruel.dat evil woman shld b locked up 4 life
Psychos everywer. May God heal d lil one.
What is this world coming to?
Why keep a MAD woman with a baby and a sane person? Obviously the attacker is MAD!! No hope for her illness!! I pray the baby survives! Mo-1
What is this world turning to...people really need Jesus...
Jesus..... Wat wickedness. Holy spirit visit that baby in Jesus name
HOL
She wants to save the kid from the ugliness ahead
The heart of man is desperately wicked. Thank God the baby survived
What a wicked world!
GOD HAVE MERCY!!, BAD NEWS EVERY WHERE!
oh my God! this is evil, what is this world turning into attacking an innocent baby? God have mercy.
But why ???
What kind of life is this?
God the great healer will visit the child in JESUS NAME
Hian! Wetin person no go hear for dis world bikonu??? I pray the baby survives. Linda take note!
This story is very chilling. May God protect us from evil and deranged people. I pray that poor baby survives this brutality.
What Is going on?????? God please give this baby divine healing.
Insane human.....
Haaaa! What a wicked world....God please lay your mighty healing hands on him
God,u are d healer of all....pls heal ds bby!
such wickedness
Was stabbed by a woman you dumb moron. Can't you bloody read.
The wickedness in this world is something else. People should turn to God and give their lives to Christ.
How heartless can one be, just imagine. So sad.
Whoever you are cursing bonario for a simple error....you sound so bitter, and full of hatred. Please I beg you to change..before we read your story here. Let Jesus come into your soul. Let love flow in you.
WTF
I couldn't stand to read this news.. I kept scrolling up and down till I finally had the mind to comment.. The evil than men do fear devil himself.
Haba... Adajoe... Are u okay?,what did bonario say dt is wrong in cursing the crime perpetuator? Is bonario to bless the person for stabbing a baby? Do u need to read the story again or we fellow bvs should now worry about ur mental state in support I g such crime. For it seems you support the crime. I beg o.
OMG!