Aljazeera to launch a 6 part documentary that features Basketmouth on Aug 24th | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 14 August 2015

Aljazeera to launch a 6 part documentary that features Basketmouth on Aug 24th

Premiering on Al Jazeera English on 24 August, My Nigeria is a series of 6 half-hour documentaries that pulse with the energy of Africa’s leading economy telling the human story.

From stand up-comedian Basketmouth to Nollywood star turned politician Kate Henshaw, from ICT expert Gbenga Sesan to fashion designer Deola Sagoe, from football coach Femi Bamigboye to female mechanic Sandra Aguebor, each film focuses on one central character, who invites us into their world, sharing their story in their own words.

“The series was commissioned specifically to support Al Jazeera English’s brand ‘Hear the human story,’ to bring people’s stories directly to our screens, told in in a first-person style without mediation, offering a range of authentic views,” says Ingrid Falck, head of documentaries at Al Jazeera English.

Award-winning South Africans directors Brian Tilley and Clifford Bestall shot the series across Nigeria, which is home to one in five Africans. “To get beyond the clichés of Africa, there isn’t a better place than Nigeria,” says Ingrid. “For every stereotype of corruption or extremism, there are millions of ordinary Nigerians making this African powerhouse tick. Our series focuses on these individuals to see firsthand how Nigerians are busy making a difference.”

BASKETMOUTH: TRASH TALKING, premiering on the 24th August 2015 Basketmouth (real name Bright Okpocha) is arguably Nigeria’s most successful stand-up comic. Born and bred in the notorious Lagos slum Ajegunle/Kirikiri Town, he discovered his gift for comedy by chance and has never looked back. His take on the Lagos elite is upbeat, irreverent and challenging.

41 comments:

Basket the legend

Nice one. Congratulobia to basketmouth.

Thats nice..... #NowPlaying>> ijo ibile: tmp.....

Woo. Great one... all the best BM.

Mind Treasures said...

Great! Gbenga sesan has contributed enormously to the Nigerian ICT sector

Bravo

Good for them

Pro said...

That vuvuzela P guy

worldwide shit.big up!

#noted

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

Nice one,but this aljazeera thing hmmm.

fullani broadcasters.

Nice one,but this aljazeera thing hmmm.

fullani broadcasters.

Wow! Balling

GOD really blesses the hand of the diligent

Al Jazeera makes very good documentaries. I would definitely watch this

Issokay seen, thanks for the info. Linda take note!

Zikman said...

Good One! I hope he (BasketMouth) et al tell the Nigerian story with real human face... Waiting for the Show to tell! #Kudos

South africans directors.....

Nice one, from my favorite news channel.

Wow....nice one.

Indeed basket mouth is actually the comedian in Naija I can't stop watching his videos in youtube

Where are all the haters now?
When God oil de person head......this is the kind of news that you'll be hearing. Next you'll hear is CNN, BBC, Fox News and more.

Great news. Making Nigeria proud.

Lovely!!!

Stop lying fools did he pay you? His career is dead

This is better than being in the news for having an ugly family

Dry comedian horrible jokes. Tasteless and childish

Dry comedian

Why not a better comedian like AY that is not a national disgrace that kisses APC asses

Basket is Nigeria's dryest clown. A great bore

What a horrible choice Aljazeera can do better now!

What's the show about? Attempting to prove the that we evolved from Apes?

What's this about? Making basket mout the but of Aljazeera jokes. That's unfair. His career death is enough pain already

To discuss what? Couldn't they have used a comedian that at least has brain

Ehen.....I know the haters must come and say rubbish, the idiots talking crap have you been interviewed by hints magazine or a local newspaper. Are you known by up to 50 people on your street. Waste of skin.

You go basketmouth!!!!! Na God do am for you. You that's talking about someone with brain....where did you keep yours? I'm sure if you had one you won't be saying this rubbish. That's why you are still where you are....I don't know where you are. But I swear you cant be anywhere in life. I'm sure hate is making you go bald already.

His career is dead and he's being covered by Aljazeera? Why do I have a feeling this comments are either from Freeze or Ay?

Come to think of it......the good comments came in earlier by humana......then some hater. Clearly the same person that's hating someone that God had blessed. Hahaha hahaha hahaha.......bitch nigga go get a life I'm sure basketmouth doesnt know you exist. I doubt God even knowa. Hahahahah

Mr anonymous get a life......Basketmouth don go. There's nothing you can do about it. It's too late to hate.