February elecions: Foreign journalists still denied visa into Nigeria? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 4 February 2015

February elecions: Foreign journalists still denied visa into Nigeria?

The Globe and Mail correspondent Geoffrey York who is currently in Nigeria, is claiming that over 80 Journalists are being denied entry/Visas into Nigeria to cover the upcoming elections.

108 comments:

Editor said...

Make them no come leak the secret, abi?

lol, na wa oh, y dem no wan allow them na?

I see this election postponed...

I'm sure they are working on this and visas would be granted soon. This shouldn't become the talk of the town.. please(@ government). Col 3:13-17 @Bishop_Dammy

Linda i hate to say it but this western news men are at times our problem, see his last twit about a rice seller. haba he should watch himself and not come here and create more problem for us. we have just too much at hand to handle or say any thing that might lead to more problem.

It just feels good that some people are trying to get visa to enter naija lol... dunno why but it feels good.

AQO said...

Hmmm. What is Nigeria up 2 this time?

Riketoke said...

ths election shuld come and go alrdy so we all can have our lives back. Election this Election that, yet bokoharam stil bombing.God please save us.

Hehehehehe it's gonna be serious, God should jst help us

Na by force abeg?

Linda dat your election dey miss 't', correct please. Linda take note!

Hmmmm!nawa ooo!where are we going to now?y re they not granted visa in the 1place?Failed government

For real?

Massive riging

CHERRY said...

Okay!

Our dear Nation want to do their mago mago 4 election dats why dey don't want d outside world to come in & watch. It is well sha. Linda take note!

Juliebabe said...

It is well with the righteous.

Our dear Nation want to do their mago mago 4 election dats why dey don't want d outside world to come in & watch. It is well sha. Linda take note!

linda's fan said...

Abati n okupe,over to you...wetin happen? Abi na buhari cause am again?

Foreign countries routinely deny nigerian journalists visas on flimsy excuses. Don't we have the right to do the same? Anyway #Sai Buhari.

Jonathan at work obviously

Y'all know that and y'all wanna still come here?! That's just crazy.

Oga Jonah PDP govt denying visas to foreign journalist because they are about to rig this election. Ewu gambia!

Of course PDP don't want international journalist covering their stealing of votes. The revolution will not be televised!

kesy said...

Linda please find out if secondary schools/universities would be having election break.

The will come and add to our problems, they should remain @their father's land biko

Omakoji Agahiu said...

That's not a good sign. The world needs to know whatever happens before, during and after the elections in Nigeria

7F098C19 said...

Naija visa turning into hot cake. Thumbs up to my dear country despite all the Buhari harams boys bombing themselves. Engr Emy

Next month's election is going to be crazy. They know why they don't want international media to cover it. Wicked people.

ANYA IKENGA said...

we will post them to North East if they ever come

IS GUD FOR DEM, INCASE PERSON GO RUN..tomjerryswit

We can conduct our election our self

Na by force to give everybody visa?

Shuuuu

SMURF said...

Abeg they should stay in their country jare, they want to come and show Nigeria in bad light!! If they don't cover it would they die? Stay in ur country and cover ur own news!! And it would shock you all that this elections would be peaceful

Princess G said...

I have not seen so much drama in election before.

because PDP want to rig the election

Fuck the Foreign journalists. We can ensure that the Election is free n fair by stayin behind after voting 2 safe guard our priceless votes n LYNCHING any Rigger, i mean any RIGGER that happens to stray by like a mad Dog. No FEAR Folks. NO FEAR.

they should hire nigerians to cover it on their behalf, afteral they deny us visas too

Imagine, we don't v govt o

This is what I'm saying... Why is it that foreign journalists are being denied entry? It confuses me. #NigeriaIsNotWorking

Hmmm can u imagine what PDP party re doing. Vote for #change# don't let people deceive people party, deceive u.They are coming again! Shine ur eyes well, OJB, called them hawks that surround GEJ, Its has been proven that we are not moving forward. For past 6 years now, all what they do is to recycle themselves, and continuity embezzlement of Nigerian money, people deceive people party, that is their mentality, my people the rain may fall, the sun may shine, but doesn't disturb the snail to get to its destination. No matter what people deceive people say, about GMB, u nd I'll overcome them! Nigerians! Wake-up! the time has come my people lives matter. PDP party and corruption insecurity darkness no electricity bad government must go. Dear Nigerian's pls forget tribalism especially we the youths, we need change in our country Nigeria, pls lets vote right nd make Nigeria a better place for u nd I,ur children/unborn children nd the next generation. We re tired of CORRUPTION, GREED, ND INSECURITY, etc. That has eaten so deep into our past nd present leaders, the unfair treatment to the masses especially,the rich getting richer while the poor are getting poorer. Its so sad. May God continue to be with us Amen. Vote for #change# vote Buhari and Osinbajo. For president on the 14th.

Why would they allow them when they are planning to rig the election and wouldnt want the international community seeing it

That's to show how bad PDP party government are mtcheeeew!!!! Vote for #change# don't let people deceive people party, deceive u.They are coming again! Shine ur eyes well, OJB, called them hawks that surround GEJ, Its has been proven that we are not moving forward. For past 6 years now, all what they do is to recycle themselves, and continuity embezzlement of Nigerian money, people deceive people party, that is their mentality, my people the rain may fall, the sun may shine, but doesn't disturb the snail to get to its destination. No matter what people deceive people say, about GMB, u nd I'll overcome them! Nigerians! Wake-up! the time has come my people lives matter. PDP party and corruption insecurity darkness no electricity bad government must go. Dear Nigerian's pls forget tribalism especially we the youths, we need change in our country Nigeria, pls lets vote right nd make Nigeria a better place for u nd I,ur children/unborn children nd the next generation. We re tired of CORRUPTION, GREED, ND INSECURITY, etc. That has eaten so deep into our past nd present leaders, the unfair treatment to the masses especially,the rich getting richer while the poor are getting poorer. Its so sad. May God continue to be with us Amen. Vote for #change# vote Buhari and Osinbajo. For president on the 14th.

All this PDP plan no go work bcos APC must win hands down.....

These are the signs of Jonathan's true intentions for this elections. I promise Nigerians that Jonathan is about to perform magic from IBB's book of maradona secrets.

Impulse400

jayjay said...

REFUSE THEM.... their crime infested and violence emancipated country rejected me VISA 10times

I think someone should bring this to GEJ's attention, the election should be covered, there are a lot of advantages to allowing foreign journalist cover it one of which is that it shows transparency but a part of me hate the bad press these lot give us in the international community, Yes our country's state is bad but we have a few good things going and they never talk about it, they never show any decent part of the country, they make it look like we all live on canoes in some swampy area.

Dave Mide said...

which one is "elecions" Linda ? your typo no get part 2

Dave Mide said...

and they would say its Buhari not letting intl journalists in to cover the election.

Its obvious they don't want foreign observers....maybe they had plans to boycott this election and having the foreign observers will castigate them......Am suspecting the present administration.....

•••••••••QUEENMAYA•••••••••••

Linda! Linda!!. Elections not elecions.

Rice doesn't need to tell u. Tinz r going to happen.

Wat r dey looking for?

Sharrrrappp there......... Me wey don de apply 4 US visa since 4yrs nw nko????? Make US govt put mouth 4 ma case ni....... Nonsense

*oparoescalade*

Sharrrrappp there......... Me wey don de apply 4 US visa since 4yrs nw nko????? Make US govt put mouth 4 ma case ni....... Nonsense

*oparoescalade*

Where have dey been???" and y do dey want to come during dis election????.... I smell a rat

Oga Jona, Na Wao, jst want to do everything possible to rig dis election. There's God o, God is watching u in 3d, Nigerian are also watching u.

May God help us in dis country

Mr. monitor said...

Shut up and stay in your countries, why do you guys always think you can deny us visas and you want to get our own anytime you want it? York or whatever you call yourself go to your country and take a rest....I say so.

And we all know why! Because some people don't want to be exposed playing their dirty rigging tricks as they've been doing for so many years now!

Hope they are not planning evil that is why they are not letting them into the country. They should free them o.

who knows what they are cooking up.

Wisdom! Wisdom!! Wisdom!!!

In Nigeria we read meanings to tins not really reading otherwise to...

It is not every "Tom and Dick" u allow to enter d country mostly dis period of elections.

Any tin can happen during d elections period. D more reason to curtail d numbers dat troop into d country if not d country might b faced wit different challenges.

We already hav enough@hand.

It is not every "Tom and Dick" u allow to enter d country mostly dis period of elections.

Any tin can happen during d elections period. D more reason to curtail d numbers dat troop into d country if not d country might b faced wit different challenges.

Ndia ga zuru ike... Na by force? Tell d oyibo journalists to watch the coverage on NTA.

Is it by force?
We don't want now
Let nigeria visa stress una
As american visa take dey stress us

Lol...it won't still won't stop General from winning.

Okay now

God bless you. The nosy bastards should stay the Fuck out.

Taste of their medicine.

Jonathan till2019

The truth has become our problems abi

It is not by force or right for them to b in Nigeria...

So let them rest their case.

they need to be here and take part in coming election.

Chaii,see AbokiDaWarriBoy typo..lol

Stay in your country and journalize there... And this should serve as a lesson to all you RED Necks that claim to be working in Nigeria Embassy that hate issuing Nigerians Visa to Europe or America.

Further more, i feel FGN should look into this RED Necks issue what is so special for them to enter Nigeria... I see you guys want to cause problem by declaring wrong information / result that will raise dust... Oga go find bomb smoke first leave Nigeria ALONE!!!

Stay in ur country n leave us alone....naso we de come una own????? Amebo pple

The more the eyes, the harder it is to rig the election. Think outside the box Mr Priesthood

8 different locations? Imagine a Nigerian going to 8 different American embassies for visa? Won't the person look suspicious? Abeg, stay where you are and leave out biased reporting.

You this Royal hood guy. You are fond of making uneducated statements on the blog...just try every once in a while to think before you type.

That was a very uneducated statement. Ask yourself, na by force make externals come observe WAEC? It's a norm oga...if u claim ure carrying a truely independent exercise then external journalists should be involved!

AbokiDaWarriBoy... Shebi na ur name be Taiye?

TIANA said...

So, u want to come cover the riots then, one of you would b wounded. Then, u would label Nigeria as......... Pls, there's no need to start screaming over social media. There's a lot of projected violence and the atmosphere is tense. Stay in ur country. We already have some foreign journalists here and it's enough.

Petite Diva said...

If they like they should not allow them to enter. Every Nigerian with a camera phone would become a reporter. Go to the polls with your phones and snap and record everything. Upload to Facebook and twitter and tag international news agency. Then the politicians would know the power of social media. Smh at the pettiness and foolishness of the government. If they only knew....

Http://journalofapetitediva.blogspot.com

Royal Priesthood - u sound foolish. I would think you are a child

make dem tast wat it means to be denied a visa,if na naija person wan travel to dia country na so so deny deny like say na gudmrnin na him u go dey get

Mercy E said...

Good for them....they shuld suffer what we suffer too wen we apply for visa to their country #Tasteoftheirmedicine#

Mercy E said...

Good for them....they shuld suffer what we suffer too wen we apply for visa to their country #Tasteoftheirmedicine#

all you block heads talking about pdp here. it is the duty of a country's immigration to determine who goes into any country, mind you, your visa is not a guarantee to enter a nation. again if you guys care to no, Nigeria visa is very difficult to secure. go double check wit those who no this before saying its pdp

Uncle Jonah should issue them visa, if he really meant business of free and fair elections. He's afraid of losing and he's losing already.

International community pls take note.

what the fuck how often do they allow us into theri own country?abeg make them go sit for dirty .

The foreign media is a problem, they never say anything good or see anything.good about Nigeria...Am so happy they can't get visas to come in, since Nigeria and Boko Haram is not a priority to them they should take several seats jare ...mchewwwwee

Foreign wetin...? Free me joor. Their present can't change anything. They should stay back...

twenty4yu@yaho.com

Am so amazed with all the comments am seeing
Of course jornalist from other countries are welcome to witness the election
Is another way of check mating our democratic rights
Na wa for una o
Too many taah taah talk

A young Lady with a dream of a blissful marriage said...

True Royalpriesthood always sounds dumb in his comments

Seeing this comment above makes me weep for the future of Nigeria. I guess you are just some random person from a remote village with a 1 in a 100 chance of access to the www and a phone. *sigh*

Eze911 said...

Who is scared of an INTERNATIONALLY MONITORED FREE and FAIR election?
I mean, who doesn't want the people to make an INTERNATIONALLY MONITORED FREE and FAIR choice?
Who does not want the people to chose?

I hate to sound like an illiterate but here it goes they should have a taste of what their govt dish out to Nigerians. Beside, why come now when we needed them for Boko Haram where were they. Sit back in your countries and tune to Channels tv. You no go post Linda Jona pikin.

linda's fan said...

I no be taiye o.

Ppl wey dey enter war zone go report, na naija election go shake them?

charles ems said...

If they like they shld allow them to come...we wont allow them rig this election!