UK students are seeking out 'sugar daddies' who can fund their degrees | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 5 February 2015

UK students are seeking out 'sugar daddies' who can fund their degrees

Hundreds of students have reportedly signed up to a "dating" website that enables students to meet people willing to fund their degrees and lifestyles whilst at university.

Nearly 2,000 women students in the UK are said to be registered on SeekingArrangement.com, which promises to match "sugar babies" with "sugar daddies". Seeking Arrangement boasts 3.6 million active members, with 2.6 million "sugar babies" to 1 million "sugar daddies and mommas".

According to the website, over a third of their total users are students.

A statement from Brandon Wade, founder of the service, reads: "Every successful relationship is an arrangement between two parties.
"In business, partners sign business agreements that outline their objectives and expectations. Likewise, romantic relationships can only work if two people agree on what they expect and receive from each other."

The entrepreneur told student website The Tab: "Love is a concept made up by poor people.
"At a time when graduates are guaranteed debt rather than a well-paying job, or even employment for that matter, Sugar Daddies are sought out for opportunity and not just financial stability."

He went on to claim that "sugaring" would improve the prospects of men and women using the service, perhaps even enabling them to find employment upon graduation.
Recent statistics showed that the cost to the UK of paying for student debt will rise to billions of pounds per year over the next three decades.

University fees are likely to feature strongly during the general election campaign. In January, Labour leader Ed Miliband hinted that his party would bring forward a package to reduce fees.
New figures have also revealed that a third of graduates are failing to find graduate-level employment five years after leaving university. The number in lower-level jobs has increased by 4 per cent since 2010 and, at 34 per cent, is at its highest in more than a decade.

Reported amount of student 'sugar babies' sign ups in 2014:
1) University of Westminster: 180
2) University of Kent: 134
3) University of Cambridge: 127
4) University of Nottingham: 116
5) University of Exeter: 106
6) University of Leeds: 96
7) University of Manchester: 94
8) University of St. Andrews: 88
9) London School of Economics: 85
10) Queens University of Belfast: 84
11) Goldsmith University of London: 79
12) Glasgow Caledonian University: 76
13) University of Central Lancashire: 71
14) King's College London: 70
15) Middlesex University: 68
16) University of Bristol: 67
17) University of Arts London: 57
18) University of Portsmouth: 54
19) University of Essex: 52
20) University of South Wales: 51

Culled from Independent.co.uk 

95 comments:

Hehehehehe

Ha! Jaw drops

This is crazy.

I know of that naija upcoming actress in the uk. A sugar daddy is funding hers. She drives a bmw.Linda observe

CELEB said...

hahaahah na wah oh, may God help

Sugaring?lol,una see say no be only 9ja things hard,Gej till 2019

they have not fund here not talk of UK

Lol, they should seek very well o.

PIMPING of olosho..indirectly 101

The fear of sugar mummies and sugar daddies is the beginning of a decent reasonable lifestyle.....#wordsfromawisegirl#

••••••••QUEENMAYA••••••

Hmmm Dts nt d best way to mke mony

Jeni_zee said...

Lol the hussle is real

akudo stella said...

see me see trouble oh

They gat no option...dey must go to school

I dnt knw why is hard 2 get den here nigeria. Me 2 l need one sugar mummy.07030460455

Steady said...

It happens

In Nigeria here we call it Aristo. It is an international phenomenon.

lol
this hustle tight die

The struggle is real

So its not only naija babes that do sugar daddy stuff
Na wa o
Shey all this guys that like insulting naija babes that they like money, that they're this and that!
Shey una done see

Hehehehe I cannot laff o

Nothing wey person no go use ear hear bikonu. It is well o! Linda take note!

Linda dis is serious i though it is only in naija such happen

Rotfl

9jahub.com said...

scammers will soon full the site soon

Linda this has nothing to do with this post but that Baba Fryo comment Bonario made about Annie Idibia still gets me in stitches till today. Lmfaooo

Hintealand said...

i de come i no go tay.

............''''' PRAY4NIGERIA '''''.............

Ok lets wait and watch the outcome

Onyx's Girlfriend (he isn't gay pls) said...

Soon university of lagos will join d list, mojeri awon goons mi, dem no dey carry last. #happythurs

wetin I never hear oooo.

Ike Ani said...

This is Serious! www.ikeani.blogspot.com

Mr_SouL Get Naija Twitter/IG followers/7AB109CB said...

As a Sugar daddy how do I apply?

PRETTY GIRL said...

Hian! This wan pass me o *Sighs

I am also looking for someone to help pay my school fees for this section.. Kobo,i dont have. Where can i register please. Some of the decision we make is not our fault. Condition can bend a rod. 08108285856

Ish has been goin on 4 a long time. This ain't nothin strange.

@sugarcassie said...

Hmmmmnnn! Survival palava. Its just so sad that things are getting to this level. Me don't blame them. Life goes on and man must wack. You have her in nigeria where graduates are being underpaid, and u just wonder, how devalued our morale is.

They sshould better come back to Nigeria

Oguike Emmanuel said...

To hell with them

Never been happier not to see my school in a list #UniversityofBirmingham

Kaai.....the hustle is real

And they keep spreading HIV

Na by force to school?
Na by force to school abroad?

Would you blame them• UK education is ridiculously expensive but that doesn't justify wrong actions. www.joytammy.blogspot.com

Lol.

@Sophia Stephen

So it happens not only in nigeria

Gawd, so this people sponsor ashawo then..... Is ok....

Serious palava.

NEWSCRIB.NET said...

Wow...!

jay zee said...

Hmmmmm! What is this world turning into???

Odugbesan Sunday Adetayo said...

Is to study in UK university by force. Why can't they stay in Nigeria. Abi den pursue them for Tasued or UNILAG. Yeye

Ash 101 Introduction to Ashawo Business

Andrew Wambutda said...

Hmm..I totally understand!..if me sef see sugar mummy now!!!why not!!..when my mates dey pay fees and I'm here stranded!nobody wan be dropout! God help us

Eminimusic1@gmail.com

All I can say is that any Student seeking a sugar Daddy or Mommy to fund their education and lifestyle in the UK should be praying luck. There are much easier ways to get sex in the UK than this approach. I'm not sure that 'Escort Agencies' would even charge as much. To each their own

Cynic*Igbo*Guy

win said...

God of mercy. What is this world turning into? Any building that does not have Jesus Christ as its foundation will surely collapse.

HMMMMMM....SOOON SUGAR GRANDPAs N GRNDMAs GO FOLLOW..YEYE DE WORI UNA.tomjerryswit

I pity where the world is headed. There are people with psychological problems that don't even know they have any. How can 1 say the emotion love was made up by poor people. Was anger made up by poor people 2? Was depression, sadness, hate, joy, excitement or spite made up by poor people ? The world has unending excuses 4 sin. Encouraging attitudes that should not be condoned like sugar daddies and sugar mummies of which I'm supposing most would be rich married people having problems in their marriages and instead of working on it they look 4 escape routes or even paedophiles of some sort. How does this even help those so called sugar babies or sugar boys who 'yes' might get education but at what cost? their integrity? selfworth? conscience?. Why not create a site that gives loans to fund education or why not set up a charity organisation that aids poor students in some way.. anyway there are people that have lost all manner of decency and human compassion that they lie 2 make money 4 themselves while leading souls into wicked acts. Love does exist and if u don't believe in it then I'm sorry to say you're truly sad because u've passed through this world never truly knowing a thing . That word 'sugaring' is undoubtfully disgusting. Lord have mercy ----C21

I DONT WISH ANYBODY DEATH. BUT IF THESE PEOPLE INCLUDING THE ABSENTEE OBJ. STAYS AWAY FROM NIGERIA POLITICS. NIGERIA WILL BE A BETTER PLACE...

lolzz all na biznessss

Institutionalised runs.

Hehehehe

Come back home all Nigerians ova dia, here r sugar bobo's hungry badly

Mehn! the guys are hawt. Both sugar daddies and the sugar babies(male)......Linda abeg is their no naija version of this site? Am interested o. Kindly tell. #shutlips#batingeyelids#.

Gobe!

Hmn. They now have a specific site for it? Okay.

Serious business

Francis said...

Lol Love is a concept made up by poor people wow really interesting

wow! thought it was joke. but does'nt seem so. the number of student sign ups is alarming. And the shameless sugar daddies are waiting to sleep with there own daughters?! seriously?

Dafe via old itel mobile

NENEAFRICA a.k.a BoldBlack$Beautiful said...

Odikwaegwu!!!!...apparently ''sugaring'' is like mtn - everywhere u go!!! so pls make una leave nija ladies n guys dat r "Sugaring" for a living alone ooo

African foodstuff and Raw Materials said...

God will help us all

Do you blame them? It's time I joined. This student loans is crazy!!!

Hmmmm....nawa o

Wow... My school is not there. Looks like we've got modest students or maybe they just don't know ;)

Hmmm can u imagine

elo tasha said...

See levels

Post a comment

Hehehe girls are not smiling lol pepper must rest choi!!!

BECKYS WORLD EVENTS /NAIJA BAKERS BLOG said...

Prostitution in a glorified way, nd a posh name.

So this sugar daddy thingy is also common overseas despite their "perfect" economy. Odiegwu o

Ijeluvlybabe said...

Hahahaha Hustling s real even in the west

HAWTTALKWITHTOSAN said...

If you are going to fornicate anyway why not do it with a man who can provide financial support. All na prostitution sha.

Nigerian girls are already ahead

Do you know how many Nigerian students in the UK are 'sponsored'?

As long as they are available when their benefactor is in town it's all good

For real

I bet you na Niger students go plenty pass naija we no dey carry last

Dear Linda, I have called the phone number you provided on Jan 19 daily since then to no avail. I am at a crossroads. I hope you can put up my comment on your blog. And I will continue to call the phone number. My name is Asaba , I am 25 years old, a nurse in the US but originally from Cameroon in Central Africa. I moved to the U.S in December 2006 to study at Wichita State University in Kansas. I graduated from nursing school and worked as an ER nurse in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma.
In August 2013, I started Doctoral school at Wichita State University in Kansas. Unfortunately, in April 2014 the program switched to a mostly online program and could not "accomodate" me since I am an international student.
On the bright side, I was accepted that same period to attend Johns Hopkins School of Nursing in Baltimore for graduate school. Schooling at Johns Hopkins is a dream come true for me as a nurse. The opportunities, exposure and resources available are endless. On the other hand, it is an expensive privilege. Family funds were my sole means of funding.
At this point I need $23000 for this semester tuition to be paid by Friday February 6, 2015 at 4pm or I will be kicked out of all my classes. This will not only take away the opportunity of a great education but also put me out of legal immigrant status.
I am starting this funding source to help me stay in school and achieve my dreams. My goal is to complete school, move back to Cameroon and work in Community Based Research program focused on nursing research, inequity and health disparities among women.
Make my dreams come true.

Sincerely,
Asaba

I'm pretty sure this site is gonna be jammed when it comes to Nigeria.

#smh Buhari is our next president. Our universities should be revamped!

Exactly!!!

My school is not there.i think we have decent and well brought up peeps in my school....long live #Birmingham City University#

This is serious hmmmmmm

Lol! What won't we hear?!!

Na wa oo

Baddie said...

I no dey blame them jare. Times are hard lol babes are not smiling chale

I'm #CryingandLaughingAtTheSameTime
My uni is no 1 on d list ... choi!

DO YOU NEED A SUGAR MUMMY/DADDY ANY WHERE IN NIGERIA? CALL ME ON 08166021820 FOR INSTANT HOOK UP

I got your mail and was well understood. I want to
know if you still
need the loan your requested for and i need to tell
you the formality.
You have to pay for loan transfer fee in order for you
to get your
loan. So if you still need and agree to proceed. Get
back to us with
the below form filled.
FULL NAME:
HOME ADDRESS: