Did you know beer is more sanitary and purer than local water supplies? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 22 January 2015

Did you know beer is more sanitary and purer than local water supplies?

Sponsored post.
You may be tempted to doubt or debunk the efficacy of the fact that beer is purer and more sanitary than any water available for human consumption. Experts at the First Nigerian Beer and Health Symposium which held in Lagos recently have shown that the water used in brewing beer is the purest and most sanitary of waters available to human anywhere in the world.

The experts who made illuminating presentations to an enthusiastic crowd of media practitioners, beer connoisseurs, medical practitioners, critics, celebrities through breath-taking presentations laden with empirical research facts and evidences, proved beyond any reasonable that beer is actually purer and more sanitary than any water available. 

Brewing experts who made presentations on beer brewing process explained that the water used in brewing beer is deliberately treated and filtered to eliminate any form of organism, no matter how micro as the process of using yeast to turn natural sugar (starch gotten from malted grains) will not tolerate any form of organismal interruption during fermentation.

According to the brew masters, the water used to make beer is boiled early on in the brewing process which killed any pathogens. The alcohol produced during fermentation and the addition of hops helped to preserve it.

The purity and sanitary state of brewing process, the brew masters explained further, was responsible for why people at certain eras of human civilisation, have turned to beer when waters around them were unsafe for human consumption.

With evidence from empirical researches, the brew masters show how back in the Middle Ages, when there was little to no water purification technology, everybody (men, women, and children) would drink beer instead of water because it was safer. The combination of boiling the water to make the beer and the alcohol content in the beer killed most bacteria that were often present in their water supply.

The brewing experts, explained further that the brewing process makes beer cleaner than its original water source and since the purity of water could seldom be guaranteed in the Middle Ages, alcoholic drinks, especially beer, were a popular choice, having been boiled as part of the brewing process. The same tradition has survived in modern breweries.

Beer was one of the most common drinks during the Middle Ages. It was consumed daily by all social classes in the northern and eastern parts of Europe where grape cultivation was difficult or impossible. Though wine of varying qualities was the most common drink in the south, beer was still popular among the lower classes. In England and the Low Countries, the per capita consumption was 275-300 liters (60-66 gallons) a year by the Late Middle Ages, and beer was drunk with every meal.

Indeed, the case was reported of a young man in a tenth century Saxon colloquy who is asked what he drinks and answers: “Beer if I have it or water if I have no beer.” This is a clear expression of people being comfortable with water and preferring beer back then.

More than any other kinds beverages and water, Prof. Tola Atinmo who led the symposium presentation stated that beer, through its components, has preventive effects on lifestyle-related diseases. According to the professor of Human Nutrition at the College of Medicine, University of Ibadan, Oyo State, lifestyle-related disease, are caused by unsuitable dietary habits, lack of exercise and stress, e. g. type-2 diabetes, hyperlipidemia, hypertension, osteoporosis.

Sponsored by Nigerian Breweries on the bill of its flagship lager beer brand, Star Lager
the unique symposium held inside the cosy bowels of the sprawling Iris & Jazmine Halls of Eko Hotel & Suites in Victoria Island, Lagos and featured an array of top celebrities in attendance, including talk show host and CEO of Ebony TV, Ms. Mo Abudu, Editor of THISDAYStyle, Ms. Ruth Osime, Founder/President of Brilla FM, Larry Izamoje among other top celebr
ities drawn from across profession, industries and endeavours.

Other experts who spoke at the symposium also include: Dr. Kathryn O’Sullivan, a Manchester, United-Kingdom-based Public Health Nutritionist and Consultant and Dr. Olu Malomo, Acting Head of Department of Food Technology and Associate Professor of Food Technology, Bells University, Ota, Ogun State were unanimous in describing beer as a healthy natural drink. According to Dr. Malomo, “Beer is obtained majorly from four basic ingredients, grains (barley, wheat, corn/maize, sorghum etc.), yeast, hops and water – all natural ingredients.”

Beer is Made of Natural Ingredients
Water
    Water accounts more than 90% of beer
    It comes from different sources
    Can infuse beer with unique flavor, particularly when it comes from a source such as a well
    Water is purified in the brewery to make it brew perfect
    Some breweries purify water for surrounding villages

Barley

Barley belongs to the grass family
    It is an important food crop
    Only 15-20% of cultivated barley is for brewing
    Barley is malted during the brewing process. The darker the malt the darker the beer
    Barley is a ‘wonder’ ingredient in brewing: Starch, Enzymes, Proteins, Husk.
    Malted barley influences colour, flavour, foam, mouth feel, and alcohol content of beer

HOPS

We use two types of hops – Bitterness & Aroma
    Hops also influence foam formation, foam stabilisation and cling
    A natural preservative
    Hops grow on vines
    Only the female hop flowers are used in brewing

YEAST

A single celled organism that activates fermentation
    An enabler as opposed to an ingredient in beer
    Yeast turns fermentable sugars
(from barley) into alcohol, CO2
and esters (flavours)
    2 main types – Top Fermenting, Bottom Fermenting
    Top fermentation done at room temperature, high in esters (e.g. Ales)
    Bottom fermentation done at low temperature creates crisp taste
(e.g. Lagers)

110 comments:

Bokunor said...

Naxo

Interesting post..bt its sponsored so its business!

U're trying to convince me to take it huh? Ok thanks

OGA O....AKA....FLIP

Too long mbok

Sing it loud.

Well Done Nigeria Breweries...una try.

formula for beer making..

Dave Mide said...

I told em but they wouldnt believe me.Drink more beer ...simple!

Felix said...

Eh yah

www.glowyshoe.com said...

Hmmm..really..so deir own way of encouraging pple to drink beer

Visit my blog

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

amoo curly said...

That's true...thank God for food technologists

CHERRY said...

Okay o!

Kk

oh really

Celebrity Blogger Linda Ikeji Lives Like A Queen ( See photos)

alright
now i know

So are they saying we should drink beer when thirsty? What of the intoxicating factor called alcohol? Shld people be walking around inebriated?
Water is water, beer is beer! No matter how pure the beer is, it can't be substituted for water.

Say no to harmful chemical absorption resulting in long term liver and kidney failure. Go for House of Oz line of skin care products which includes a rich blend of 100% organic skin lightening cream, dark knuckles cleanser, stretch marks fade butter and extra virgin coconut oil all made from safe lightening agents like turmeric, rice powder, orange rind powder, honey, milk etc

Add BBM: 2B089135
Whatsapp: 08064551770
Email: hauzofoz@gmail.com

Dis is interesting...

Unwana Johnson said...

Before?

Sponsored Post.

Good To know and I'll Agree to that cause they spend so much money in Water treatment..
.Disclaimer:: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

This one will now encourage drunkenness.

Check out dis...

"You may be tempted to doubt or debunk the efficacy of the fact that beer is purer and more sanitary than any water available for human consumption."

I hav never doubted this@all.
Well refined and far better.

I CONCUR..

Are u serious? This is good news

Anointed said...

Dis whole processes is making me to remember my days in skool waoh,am proud to be a food science student....

Anointed said...

Dis whole processes is making me to remember my days in skool waoh,am proud to be a food science student....

Some words of encouragement of promotion of beer products....but still insist that water is the best.
¤
¤¤¤GUTS OVER FEAR¤¤¤
¤

Linda so in other words make we leave water settle 4 beer, ehkwa? No b person wey chop bellyful go find water not to talk of beer. Abeg leave me with my pure water. Linda take note!

If this is true what's the cause of pot belly in guys who drink beer. Either one pint or two pints... alcohol make guys turn aggressive and plus it's smell oozes from their skin

Linda so in other words make we leave water settle 4 beer, ehkwa? No b person wey chop bellyful go find water not to talk of beer. Abeg leave me with my pure water. Linda take note!

7F098C19 said...

No I don't. But I luv my hero... Engr Emy

Ladies better be wise a hop on tha train loool for healthy living hehehehehe.... including you linda

More beer then

DADDYSWIFE said...

We don hear.so alcoholics make u carry go non stop
#nothankyoui'llratherbeselfmade#

That 90% water in beer is necessary to quench the 10% fire in it.

Na wah....

#Abbytohxoft

Well... when you finish eating you should drink beer to step it down.. nice one

The 90% water in beer is necessary to quench the 10% fire in it.

Some am expected to read this long shit, bcos of beer, definitely not happening... Those who consume beer should summarize for me........
UNIQUE
BEER
CONSUMERS
WATCH
YOUR
KIDNEYS

Lily wat ar u trying 2 tell us now dat we shud start takin beer as water.

Some am expected to read this long shit, bcos of beer, definitely not happening... Those who consume beer should summarize for me........
UNIQUE
BEER
CONSUMERS
WATCH
YOUR
KIDNEYS

UNIQUE
BEER
CONSUMERS
WATCH
YOUR
KIDNEYS

yet we have not legalize maurijuana?! legalize our natural God given plant...even this whole theory above is made-made. legalize maurijuana not gay!!

So we should start using beer as water? Or should we increase in drinking it?

MR EDDY said this harmattan is sponsored by MTN. It is everywhere u go.

Av always known my drinking habit was for a good reason. Hehehehe.
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~wishes u happy new year.

Yes I knew, still dnt get the plenty xplaination..

elovi said...

So iff I wanna sip. Garri I shud use beer as water smh

Oh rily? Pls also help me make research on water iya Danjuma using to produce her kunnu nd zobo

Good to know

Bunny said...

We have heard a summary in gulder ultimate search adverts! Thanks

oyekunle bunmi said...

Consumption of beer is not godly.

sodablog said...

Good awareness campaign. Kudos 2 d guys at NBPLC

Linda u are encouraging us to take more beer now abi?.......linda listen

Lolx.... Am just laughing o.....

It's a lie jor!

Yeah. Triple filtered good ol beer anytime any day. Still got fetish for Scotch though.

kezie said...

Well as a microbiologist am not suprised atall cos I have always maintained a pure person and a pure status so chicks date a microbiologist its good for your health

chocolate said...

Ok.noted I cnt fit still drunk am shaaa

REXOVIC said...

STORY FOR THE gods...

Onyx's Girlfriend (he isn't gay pls) said...

K, I will av a bottle of beer with my breakfast dis mornin. Hehehe. #lindagiveawayonmymind

Well tru talk bcus I can see the purity in beer.

Uche said...

I already knew that.

Barman biko yem one bottle of cold gulder there!!

Meaning we should drink or what

So Linda you don hear become a drunker

mojay said...

quite educative

Liiiinnnnda, dnt encourage people to drink beer. Ok o its on your head o.

www.glowyshoe.com said...

All this just to encourage pple to drink alcohol

Visit my blog

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

Liflblog.wordpress.com said...

Interesting. This is news!

Liflblog.WordPress.com

Riketoke said...

Goodnews to d omuties btw Linda post my comment b4 I vex change location oo

I beg to differ

Hence the reason for the massive beer culture in the anglo european region... water was so pad in the 18th & 19th century that people would rather drink beer than water in order not to catch typhoid

good read

Microbiology students dat major in brewing should know dat

Diz write up reminds me of my chemistry teacher....... Back den @ E.H.S

*oparoescalade*

Diz write up reminds me of my chemistry teacher....... Back den @ E.H.S

*oparoescalade*

OMOOBA said...

OYO

Oya oo drink out your life.

Sponsored post and u included the comment box..
--------------LIB prince--------------
--------------LIB prince-------------
--------------LIB prince--------------

Purer than water are you kidding me..... Sanitary..uhmmm!!! Maybe, depending on d source..still I won't indulge in drinking it.*simple

Heineken is the best brand of beer with more water than alcohol but water is water o. No amount of beer can quench the taste of water.

Lol, hope it's not just business strategy

Really??!!

I can't imagine drinking beer all through the day instead of water.

Order for your beautiful bedspread bedspread @ 79AEFD3B. Delivery available nationwide.

The article is scientifically true and I know this because I am a Food Technologist. The water used in brewing beer is the most sanitary of all.

Dettol is also purer than water but eee no mean say make people start to dey drink dettol. Some of these organisms in the not so pure water is also good for the health. This is a misleading article, this what the Ministry of health should be monitoring. Rubbish!
Who sponsored this post? Star? you people don't have Ethics abi!

Obiora jamal said...

Si nyem one mortuary standard cold beer.

Yea...toooo tooo long

They said LOCAL WATER SUPPLIES. Not bottled water.
@Mr Endowed via Lumia phone

Dats y u are studying arabic engineering!!
Lazy brain!!

Oh yeah....i read food science and tech. So I can relate....

Busines strategy.

ok ooooo u guys just got me now......after i stoped drinkin una carry dis one come abi???...breweries una try ooo

C advert

godson onyekuru said...

Well its good to know,but LIB readers dont you think is just bis?

Hypocritical business! Why don't they include that beer takers would soon come down with irreparable liver damage and liver cancer without they even noticing it? And why don't they go ahead and throw away every drop of water in their houses and feed their kids and family with beer? Bunkum!

I've totally lost respect for you. This is an irresponsible post. Encouraging people to drink just to make some money. You should be ashamed of yourself!

fresh emmy said...

Uh-huh, so?

Meaning??!!! They're not serious

Oh beer here we go.

ds is not a topic for discussion. D process of making bear is enough to make it more sanitary than "local water|

iamsegun

You come here to rubbish someone else's product and you are promoting your own? Nemesis fire you!

Do ur research bro

Advertising....marketing strategy.