12 more Nigerians on death row in Indonesia | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 20 January 2015

12 more Nigerians on death row in Indonesia

Two days after two Nigerian convicted drug traffickers were executed, it's revealed that 12 more are currently on death row in Indonesia for drug trafficking offenses.

Revealing this to news men in Abuja yesterday January 19th, the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Foreign affairs, Amb. Danjuma Sheni, said the Federal government has appealed to the government of Indonesia to show clemency to the 12 Nigerians who are on death roll so they will not be executed like the two Nigerians Daniel Emenuo and Okafor Solomon, who were executed last Sunday January 18th in the country for drug trafficking.

The Permanent secretary spoke to newsmen after a meeting with the Indonesian Ambassador to Nigeria, Eko Indiarto, yesterday in Abuja to protest the execution of the Nigerians even after much plea made by President Jonathan and the National assembly

“Every country determines for itself the kind of action it takes. In the case of Nigerians and as you have just seen, we have protested very vehemently the execution and we are still looking at other options. That (recalling Ambassador) may be along the line, but we are looking at other options. I have just appealed to the government and people of Indonesia to show some clemency as we move forward with regards to the 12 other Nigerians still on death row in that country. We hope at the end of the day, there will be some form of clemency for our people and we do not hope, as of now, that it will have any significant impact on our relationship.” he said

Amb. Sheni said the Federal government is in talks with the Indonesian government to agree on a Prisoner Transfer Agreement so that those on Death row would be sent back to Nigeria to serve their prison time.

122 comments:

Y now ways really happening

Omg not again

www.glowyshoe.com said...

but whats wrong with these our nigerians ...pls the govt should do something

visit my blog

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

Na wa o

Ike Ani said...

Why are this nigerians@Indonesia Painting us black? But I think there is more to this. www.ikeani.blogspot.com

Megoli said...

Odiegwu.....!!!!stop drug trafficking...........dey wil not hear

Nigerians no de hear word @all....sometime I dnt evn pity dem.

CHERRY said...

Nigerians n drug trafficking na wa!

Eagle Eyes Media said...

Indonesian Government have pity naa.

Pls o
They should not kill them o

It's a shame that our govt had to wait for two people to be executed before realizing that they needed to send out an appeal to Indonesia.

There's no compromise to crime.. They should face their warrant

Must the punishment be death? It's tooo extreme

Damn it.

Government Better Act Now, Its Not Too Late!!
.Disclaimer:: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

Hmmmmm. It is well.

OUR GUYS MAKE UNA DE AVOID DES COUNTRIES WER NO WANT DRUGS OR MEK UNA DO ANODA BUSINESS AND LIV DS FAST MONEY THNG DAT KILLS. tomjerrySwit

i know 8 or 9 of them are my igbo brothers.this is very shameful!

9jahub.com said...

na wa sha

Na now our government suppose step into d matter & not to dey campaign wen dey execute d guys. Linda take note!

Buqore said...

I pray ooooo,may God help them.this is serious@linda is my role model!

9ja Parrot said...

I pray the prisoner transfer arrangement work o.

Why feel for some1 who doesn't feel sorry for himself...

No compromises abeg. They should face their warrant according to the laws guiding the state the said crime was committed

chikaezez.blogspot.com said...

i must make money is d cause. good move by the FG.

But some nigerians can be so stewpid... u know d consequences of doing drugs in a country like dis nd u go ahead ? Abeg let dem dance to d music.

*virgin of steel*

The prisoner transfer would be great, even if they have to life in prison in Nigeria.

They should stop trafficking pls. Enough already.

@Sophia Stephen

That is rubbish, A sinner must not go unpunish, any one that wants to tarnish the name of this country must not go unpunish, allow dem to accomplish their wish

#########Da rhyme master########

But some pple get mind sha... this is what fifty meant by get rich or die trying.

Drug traffickers take note. Only in labour u hv dignity. Plssssss.

dami said...

I pray God have mercy on them and spare their lives.

Oh no! Not again!!

PRINCE WILLIAMS said...

I really do hope that they succeed. In as much as I agree that what they have done is culturally abominable over there, I also feel any offence that did not involve killing should not attract the ultimate punishment. A jail term is enough punishment. please and please let us all stay away from heinous behaviour.

Well, I don't knw if dis is nice arrangement...

It encouraging Nigerians to do drugs over there after all if they r caught they wil b sent home to prison.

Dis wil not discourage Nigerians frm doing drugs.

God have mercy pls this so so sad

Good morin anty Lindy way... Pls am frm d north zaria. Pls she don't use to pick nd d number is always busy or nt reacheable. Pls I want her to pick so dat I can knw hw to start my move thru train b4 weekend. I want to b less thru u bikko. Marywine.

MR EDDY said this harmattan is sponsored by MTN. It is everywhere u go.

Silly Nigerians causing havoc here and there. They never listen.
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~wishes u happy new year.

If this Youths or two where to be your children will you sit your ass there just plea for clemency?

#$$$$VDB*#$$$$$$#332A15D3#

so unfair.............................#KingOfKings #6God

They should please shoot them in the dick, these guys won't stop disgracing Nigeria, we already have enough bad things to worry about, hoping to see there dead bodies soon

They should please shoot them in the dick, these guys won't stop disgracing Nigeria, we already have enough bad things to worry about, hoping to see there dead bodies soon.....LINDA PLEASE MARRY ME

Lets just hope it works of not those guys don go be dat.

these people are playing with lives why not imprison them for several years,hmmm I wonder oooh.

#Linda's give away

Indonesia their laws is very strong against fraudsters or drug trafficking...Nigerians that have the aim of such crime should flee from such country to avoid being executed like birds
¤
¤¤¤GUTS OVER FEAR¤¤¤
¤

Horrible!

Bimablinks said...

Menh xup wit this people, na so them de kill their own people? Ahh, @ linda u the boss.

OMOOBA said...

AS MUCH AS I DON'T LIKE BLOOD SHED, I HAVE LITTLE OR NO COMPASSION FOR PEOPLE WHO CAN NOT THINK OF A GOOD WAY TO MAKE MONEY RATHER THAN UNLAWFUL WAYS.

NO BE PERSON BE LINDA?

CELEB said...

Abeg they should try harder please!

It's heartbreaking
I pray they will listen

Ochuko Arhiakpore said...

FG need to do something ASAP

GEJ till 2019

!! BIG BROTHER SAYS SO !!

Ochuko Arhiakpore said...

FG need to do something ASAP

GEJ till 2019

!! BIG BROTHER SAYS SO !!

Their law though

They should send them back home Abeg killing them is not good

IN LIFE,YOU GET WHAT YOU BARGAINED FOR.MAY GOD HELP THEM ANYWAYS....AKA....STRAIGHT TALK

Nigerians n issue everywhere, I pray dey respond +vely o n agree 2 d plea

Dis is what quick money leads to

Indonesia government don't take this issue lightly at all.

Emeruem Chijoke Stanley (stan4real_25@yahoo.com) said...

Dats a way forward, i just believe that something good will come out out of it and dis shud b a warning to all dos "i want to make it fast guys" ka chineke mezie okwu, Amen.

Too bad.
@Mr Endowed via Lumia phone

Dey shldnt try it oooo. What is wrong wit dis country sef. #oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Nawa o. I hope they give clemency.

Okoro Upgraded**

It is unfortunate,if Nigeria had been a better place for them where there are employment uportunities they won't go to Indonesia to carry drugs.The government are yo blam.

ivy baby said...

n ryt dis moment, der r some peo hustling for visa, to go n join dem on death row

Do u knw where u can read fantastic stories?
hilarious stories about life
if u wnt to knw, check this blog out.
Life Encounters

Mr. True talk said...

Linda, True be said. they said Nigeria is hard yet they go to foreign land and still not be able to do ligitimate job.
i hope Indonesia listen to our government but those set of Nigerian can not change. i assure you they are also into illegal business in Nigeria b4 going to another man country.they should learn to eat from their sweat and blood doing ligit things. Linda post my comment oooo

Lessons for desperate ones who would do anything for money.

I think dat wil be beta, sendin dem back to Nigeria to serve their prison time instead executin them.

elovi said...

Hmmn Oga ooo dis is becoming too much

OMG!!!
Something shld be done asap!

.....A better Nigeria I pray....

OMG!!!

ELOFUNAM said...

Ndiigbo

SHAMEE

OMG!!!

Why do we do this? You know how strict these countries are about illicit drugs and yet you traffic drug there, putting the country in a tight position!

Its better to stay in nigerian dungeon cum prison that be on a death row in another country sha. I pray and hope they agree.

Beautiful wifey said...

No comment for now

Na who ask them to go and get arrested for drug trafficking in Indonesia? Didn't they know the consequences? When they are executed people would say that GEJ is weak, ok.

better to be alive than dead. I pray the Indonesian government agree to the terms.

I hope they show clemency at d end of d day..

Icess said...

Nigerians dey wil never lean,even after seeing dis some re stil very much ready 2 carry on wit deir aleady planed act, may God ve mercy on dem & hear deir prayers, Linda watz up nau dt number u dsply is not going through hope dat stuff is 4real?

This is just wickedness abeg, who does this type of a thing.....

Our weak President,despite getting in touch wit d indonesian government 2 show clemency,yet it wasnt granted...na whao!! 4 bro jona

I know some of them wiould rather die than come to Nigerian prisons. I hope they are granted clemency so they can come and face their jail term in Naija where they will learn a whole lot

princess said...

If u tell them they won't hear,

let justice be tampered with mercy..#doing drugs is bad..beware!!!

People should desist from greed; it KILLS.

Hustle

Why do drug pedlars go to such countries knowing their law?

U guys should come home and stop embarrassing us

Lord am tired of nigerians been killed around the world like chickens.

The Lumdy Blog Review|Selena

Gomez Upset For Meeting Up with Justin Bieber

Hope soooooo.....linda listen

Government should please take this seriously. Atleast the death of the other two should serve as a lesson to people who nurse such crime in mind.

I said it!.. dey wnt listen!...

God pls change d Indonesia decision not to kill any of them. Pls My God

Are u looking for a sugar mummy or daddy please call dis line 08060801564 please be mature..

haba! if they must do their drug runs, why do they keep going to Indonesia now? when Idiagbon was harsh with judgments for drug traffickers, people stopped bringing it to Nigeria.

Government do something oooooooo mbok!#kezie

Again???
--------------LIB prince--------------
--------------LIB prince-------------
--------------LIB prince--------------

pls o death penalty isnt an option

Let them be killed
Any Igbo man who is bringing shame on us ndi Igbo should be killed
Rubbish!! ➡LindaIkejiBlogClassRep_♥♥

Biko Chineke napu ekwensu ike. Odiegwu o! Ihe nkea sef?

Our govt was sleeping when the sentence was passed on the first set of people that were executed. What is the job of our ambassador who is being paid from the hard earned money of the populace? Is this possible in Nigeria? Will the country not intervene on behalf of their citizen? Nigeria govt need to intervene under the law of the diplomatic law and come to the rescue of these fellows if possible.
Again why did the individuals choose to violate the law of other nations when they know the consequences? Why deal in hard drug when they know the penalty in those countries? Toks

But our government doesn't even need to intervene in that sort of thing; someone knows the punishment for drug trafficking in Indonesia and goes ahead to traffick drug in the country. What was he thinking? A typical Nigeria father would disown that kind of child, and Nigeria should denounce them. If it was a case of maltreatment or something, it would make sense for our government to intervene. let them pay so others can learn

Which way Nigeria? What are you guys saying? Our government is now to blame for one of us going out there to commit a crime that attracts death penalty? A crime he committed with his eyes wide open, knowing the consequence. Thats why we are where we are, we think mercy all the time, we think everything is forgivable.

eyyaaaaa

Nigerian with their funny comments, the culprits knew that any drug related crimes in that country is by death. Why the involvements? Abeg Indonesia carry out the execution without delay. Indonesia its not Nigeria where you go free in all crimes, even those who stole billions of Naira and proved guilty in our so court of law!!!

Prison that everybody is breaking out of? Prison that doesn't have space?? I'm sorry, but these people knew what they were getting into. Why are human beings unwilling to face their punishment?? If you lie, steal, cheat, overeat, borrow other people's husbands...there are consequences!! Face it!

Chai God help us 4 diz country oo..........

*oparoescalade*

They doing this because of the ladies,fast cash and flashy cars,houses everywhere just to impress the ladies...
King of BoyZ

Why always linda take note,stop pls

You are a big fool. Do u have any job for them. What have they done that our so called leader have not even 1000 times over

This is terrible oo

egowein said...

Nna see wetin big eyes for fast cash don lead una into......
After them go say na GEJ fault....that's y they traffic drugs.....

They could have stayed in Nigeria and taken advantage of the booming agricultural sector. Oops, I forgot farming is not glamorous work and you have to wake up early everyday. They made their bed and now they can rest in peace in it. Make a different choice for your lives gentlemen in the next life.

a few seconds
Truth be told, drug trafficking is no mistake. Nigerians are known around the word for neferous activities. This will serve as deterrent to Nigerians who will learn. If those prisoners are transferred to Nigeria, U and me know our crappy justice system, they will pay their way out.
0 Reply