And this 'ode' oyibo man says Lagos is the worst place to visit on earth | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 31 October 2014

And this 'ode' oyibo man says Lagos is the worst place to visit on earth

In an article titled 'Worst Places I've Ever Visited, From A Man Who Has Visited Everywhere', Yahoo Travel expert/writer Lee Abbamonte, ranked Lagos, Nigeria as the No. 1 worst city to visit on earth.

Above (right) is the picture he shared of Lagos and below is what he wrote about Lagos
As far as I am concerned, Lagos, Nigeria, is the worst place on planet Earth. I’ve never experienced so much corruption in my life. It was just a horrific experience getting into the country. Crossing in from Benin, we got shaken down by the border guards. In addition to the multiple police shakedowns, the multiple ATM issues were enough for me; three times in two days, the machines dispensed the wrong amount of money. It was oppressive and hot. I couldn’t tell you one good thing about that place."
Here's the article. Anyone who reads this garbage and has never been to Lagos would really think this city is that horrible. Not nice! Continue..

Here's his twitter handle @LeeAbbamonte

311 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 311 of 311

I AGREE WITH THIS GUY. LAGOS IS A VERY HORRIBLE PLACE TO LIVE. THERE IS CORRUPTION EVERY WHERE, IN THE CHURCH, MOSQUE, BANKS, PUBLIC TRANSPORT, LANDLORDS, OFFICES ETC ETC. THIS IS DEFINITELY NOT HOW TO MAKE PROGRESS AS A NATION.

He who knows not and knows not that he knows not is a....

He is not a good journalist...b4 making such conclusion he should have checked d various dynamics n circumstances surrounding his journey...did he even visit all parts of Lagos?...Lagos?!!!!haa, gba gbe o.

1. its his opinion
2. Its an informed opinion as linda stated, he has travelled everywhere
3. He unlike many of us, is used to.sanity and he saw a complete deviation from what he is used to which we.think is normal
4. Like linda,like our leaders and politicians and like most of the people that comment on blogs, we abuse the people that point our failings to us...
If only he had visited beere in ibadan, maybe he would have died... lmao

Elixir said...

The man is 100% correct! i am a nigerian, i have visited several places and lagos is one place i can never get use to despite the fact that i was born and brought up there. Mr Lee is right... the dirt in Lagos stinks even up to the air you breathe and the corruption is second to none in the country. Linda Ikeji i guess you dropped his twitter handel so we could hate on him for telling the truth. sorry to disappoint you, the man talk the truth as e be.

That is his opinion and he is entitled to it. He says it's the worst place "HE'S" ever been. Let everyone else visit and make their own conclusion. You put his twitter handle there so people can go and harass the man abi? Would you like it if someone put your phone number or address on a blog like this for everyone to come harrass you just because they don't like something you said? Use sense abeg.

Stop deceiving yourselves, he is not a fool. He is not an 'ode'. He is entitled to his own opinion. Only that he exaggerated in the area of environmental sanitation. Just like you all, I am also a patriotic Nigerian but we should stop deceiving ourselves. You According to him: "... we got shaken down by the border guards." You see, corruption has now spread from the highest to the lowest ranks. The man who is supposed to be correcting those launderers under him is the one that is encouraging corruption. May God deliver us from bad rulers.

People can call this guy ode or fool either way,but we all know that there is a high level of truth in his article,as anybody on this blog ever ask him/her self why all black nations are backward,why we chew poverty like pieces of biscuit bone.why?? Becos of Greed, being self-centered,one man want to acquire the whole wealth without thinking of others,Nigeria got her independent the same year Singapore got her's,2014 Singapore is one of the most advanced country in the world.Are we going to say there are no shanties in the United state or in Europe,but they will never show them on TV,but when this white pigs comes to Africa,the first thing on their mind is to capture the shanties so that they can project it on social media,and our useless leaders and ministries won't do anything about it.The fact is, until when we Africans wake up from our slumbers,when we stop picturing whites as god,when we stop believing that if we don't travel abroad we can't make it,when we stop been sentimental about tribes or religion,and most importantly when we start seeing ourselves as success.That is when these pale pigs will stop scolding and looking down on us......

You are the biggest mumu. Create awareness wit all celebs living in lagos'' like they care. The guy is correct. I live in lagos all my life and I tell you is terrible. Accept changes.

Nigeria had its independence the same year with Singapore now go to Singapore and see what is happening big infrastructure and has grown so well. All our politicians do to blow sirens here and dere. Nigeria is getting worst. Gari no get advertising but e sell pass indomie. And d gari self don become expensive like gold yes its dat serious. Somepeople have to wait for nepa before boiling beans with boiling ring so many tins happening. Let's face the truth dis white guy is even helping us insult our top government officials and u guys are insulting him let's reason ooo. I am kola for those fools dat dose not want to admit the truth.

You be correct guy.

Spend the next year on Twitter going in on Fashola, GEJ, Abati and such to tear down down the slums and replace them with decent housing, fix the roads, create opportunities for women so they don't resort to runs to get by, eliminate corruption, etc. Invite the guy back to see the changes. That's the only way to shut him up legitimately. Muzzling him is short sighted and unproductive.

First I have a problem with our madam calls people "ODE" publicly...I'm begin in to judge ur personality by those rude stuff.

Second u never travelled anywhere and ur here cryin and yappin...this white guy has travelled almost d world..u don't knw whot he saw different than other countries..

For choosing to use this picture alone sef........he deserves to be cussed out........lagos "might" be all that bhet same way he is deliberately using his media power to falsefully tarnish the image of my hometown, linda is allowed to use hers and call him ode....i will add ...x5 to the name calling and head straight to twitter to finish work.... its a good thing I have about 5 minutes to spare to this waste of a guy. punk!!!!

MlleP said...

I see nothing wrong with what this man said. I might not agree that it is the worst but it is comparable to the worst. Let the man be. Instead we should be thinking of improving it. Linda you've traveled outside Nigeria before. What was it like coming in from MM1? And he even came in through Benin border o. Nuff said!

He is wrong in many ways... so what if he has visited every country, i read about him, he does not visit every major city in all the countries he visited, even though he is right about corruption, I don't know about ATM dispensing wrong amount, if ATM no work ATM no work, which one is dispensing wrong amount and whats wrong with guards patting you down, so what if you are oyinbo, you could be working for boko harram, why should the border control give you preferential treatment. I'm pretty
sure I can name at least 5 cities worse than Lagos and I am not even well traveled .... I'm not proud of the way Nigerian is governed but labeling Lagos the WORST is just harsh... so therefore, yes he is an ODE!!

MlleP said...

@Samira Hall, you just spoke my mind

Lagos is a corrupted city....but no the worse place to be

Y'all cool ur toots. De man is just doing his job and trust me he ought to know. Most of y'all never gone beyond your street or your friends'. De man is not talking just about the filth (and i mean environmentally) but the rot that we are as a pple. Our attitude, services etc stink to high heavens. There are poorer, dirtier, more crime-ridden countries but the nationals have some level of cordiality and dignity. Here we no send, we behave like rascals on the loose. Blame not this man, because his opinion is HIS and also based on experience in other countries he has been to whose names you only have heard or maybe have not. Channel your wrath not to this man who in all honesty is voicing out what we all know is the (bitter) truth but to the so-called leadership of this country that have brought us down on our knees and turned us to the laughing stock of the entire world.

In the 70s and early 80s noone would have dared say such about Nigeria, but this is who/what we have become. Who is to blame? Certainly not this oyinbo man, be he an ode or not! I have said my bit. Y'all think long and hard about it.

I dey ur back jare @ samira hall.call me abby

yao said...

Applauds*

My handsome don't mind they jare.this
Part of d world they love living in deceipt. So tell them the truth and be crusified. Hook up with me and I will show u other places as well. Mitchew.

We relocated frm Lasgidi to Abj two yrs ago n to say d truth, we miss d hustle n bustle and d craziness of Lagos compared to d serenity here. Lagos is for d tough n resilient . Evry country hs its flaws,even d great America n Britain r dwnryt corrupt bt their government sure do knw hw to cover up pretty well. So oga oyinbo take ur garlic breath out of our business n quit yapping wt u knw little or nthn abt. God bless Nigeria.
ALESSANDRA

yao said...

Oh my! I'm in love...

yao said...

U clearly havent left the shores of Nigeria. #cavemansyndromenoni

Patriots only with mouth. Such insincerity about our situation and commitments to change contribute greatly to our status as ONE OF the worst places on earth.

Would cursing him out change things?

lol.....lindy don't mind the dude, he's jes blabbing and wanna use Lagos-Nigeria to get famous....the statement he made was suppose to have ended with #justkidding

Linda ur heading is ridiculous! You should edit it and remove the 'ode' ... This man is entitled to his opinion. I don't blame him Lagos/nigeria is a difficult place for many foreigners and for even some if it's indigenes. I know many pple who live in other states that would never live in Lagos for any reason

Yes you fool, we have a lot of dysfunctional ATMs arnd. There's been an incidence where an atm didn't dispense someone 10k.

na publicity the mumu dey find. He's getting it already, chai e pain me say na Lagos e come use. lol

ukbliss said...

I don't know what is wrong with Linda, someone like me can never stay in Lag period

Nigerians hate criticism yet they criticise others,instead of working to turn the table and aspire for the best most people resort to insult including our very own linda please where is our education? I thought LINDA través often,is lagos any way near Dubai you visited recently? If we must leave the other places out of it.
Please your readers deserve apology from you.(LINDA).

typical naija pple refusing to accept the truth instead they r calling him names, it's is opinion. come to some of d so call big areas in Abuja sef u go vex.

"Hail"...seriously?

Capital Ode .... by dobis112@gmail.com

Well, I live in lagos and I have travelled a bit but I have to admit Lagos is the worst city I have been to. You absolutely cant do anything decent in Lagos without a lot of money and its such a scattered place.

ATM dispensed wrong amount? thats a first, i better start counting after withdrawals. He is a total fool though. America has got worse places than lagos.

Travel expert my ass.

Fuck your stupid cum filled mouth

His opinion.

Linda,sometimes I just don't get you! You are supposed to be this enlightened,well traveled lady,and yet the stuff that you write sometimes leaves some of us shocked! How is the man an 'Ode'? Is a wrong about the corrupt practices that has rendered our beloved country useless in the comity of nations? Or is he wrong about the rate of crimes and lack of basic amenities? Come on,I may not agree with him about Lagos being the worst city though,but all these other things are there for all to see. Don't castigate the man for his opinion/experience.

He's cute..........

Ahn ahn Mr Lee,Don't say that nah...I think it's because of the by-road travelling he did...Lagos sweet o...E dey hungry me self...December is almost here tho :)

madam this guy no lie..

You can say that again. it is called cyber bulling and miss goodie two shoes is indeed 'proud much'

Am so disappointed with some nigerians, a stranger will come and insult u and u say he spoke well, do u tink d western world is like heaven, do u tink d whites are not corrupt, let dem nt deceive u people. I know of a very bad and dirty slump in berlin, capital of Germany. No body is talking about that. Go to SA and see crime in full regalia, Jamaica,colombia,chile, and see high level of crime and corruption. U guys want a better naija and u keep saying bad about the country. What u say is who u are. Since u've been saying and complaining naija is bad and evil,has it change any thing rather its getting worst, why not change ur language and be positive and see how things will change. Remember this world was created by the WORD, it can also be destroy by word. #onelove

Oga shatap there joor...

Am so disappointed with some nigerians, a stranger will come and insult u and u say he spoke well, do u tink d western world is like heaven, do u tink d whites are not corrupt, let dem nt deceive u people. I know of a very bad and dirty slump in berlin, capital of Germany. No body is talking about that. Go to SA and see crime in full regalia, Jamaica,colombia,chile, and see high level of crime and corruption. U guys want a better naija and u keep saying bad about the country. What u say is who u are. Since u've been saying and complaining naija is bad and evil,has it change any thing rather its getting worst, why not change ur language and be positive and see how things will change. Remember this world was created by the WORD, it can also be destroy by word. #onelove

What truth is he saying, the man is really ode in full regalia. the white always rubbish the blacks and instead of us resisting dem, u are joining him to rubbish ur land, wen dey say Nigeria is corrupt it means the whole citizen, we all make up naija , so be wise . If a stranger comes to ur house and say ur child is a fool or thief, wht will do, will u join d stranger to call ur child fool and thief or u will defend ur child and resist the stranger, then later u come home and ask ur child what happened. u tink the west don't have slump, u tin dey don't experience traffic, u tink they don't jam pack a bus or train, u tink they are not corrupt, u tink dey don't do crime. U tink all is well wit oyinbo, at this age people still dey worship oyinbo,seeing all their opinion as the best, its a pity Haba u guys are really the problem of this nation not d government. Ur bad words have kept the nation like this. Keep saying nigerian is bad and be expecting a better country. What u say is who u are. This earth was created by the WORD, words are powerful so use it wisely. #onelove

Ene Tawo said...

#Truthisbitter but your gbagaun is sweeter. Lol

D guy is really an ode mtcheeew

His state? Waoh!

Vee said...

The man is right. I am from Lagos and yes, he is right! Y'all be honest

These guys don finish Linda ooo.. lmao..

Richybells blogspot said...

WHO BE DIS TALENTED MUMU...
TELL HIM TO GO BACK TO HIS HEAVEN HOLE..
WE LIVE HERE, WE KNOW WHAT-UP AND ABOVE ALL WE LOVE IT...
LASGIDI 4EVA!

1 BILLION LIKES FOR THE MAN.
I DONT KNOW WHY NIGERIANS WORRY ABOUT HELL FIRE...THEY ARE ALREADY LIVING IN HELL HERE.

Dudes aren't used to paying people for doing their jobs.. policing shouldn't be used as a means of corruption..

pyper said...

All u lasgidi haters should just #falldownanddie...yall should get a hobbie and shattap and stop telling us of how the city is...you want make we go commit suicide.

I AGREE WITH HIM ON THE CORRUPTION LEVEL BUT IT WOULD HAVE MADE BETTER SENSE IF HE HAD USED A PICTURE OF IKOYI.

Lmao...to hail with him noni. Ode!

Lagos is wack jo. ppl dat havent been anywhere sef dey comment. scheww

Peggy.ejiga.blogspot.com.ng said...

For all those who think he spoke out of experience, all i can say is , he cant be more experienced then the citizen. we get that the country as a whole has issues but men that was just too much. he got shoked down when coming in. tell me if you can just bounce into usa or uk without proper check. and they sure do gat their own slums too. maybe we should start uploading those.

Anyone who calls this guy a fool or an ode is the proper IDIOT...i hate the way we Nigerians think,the guy is just voicing his opinion and to a huge extent he is so damn right....What is wrong with what he has said?More reasons why Nigeria will never progress because we love living in denial..Grow up people and see the truth....

If you hear na your WAHALA be dat! What a nasty bitch you are. Who ask for your opinion Ms Know It All? Go and take a back sit

You have spoken well@anon 10.32.nice one

See what Tiwa Savage did to a popular Comedian

Pretty wife caught cheating on her husband with the houseboy

Nadia Buari caught in a Hotel with a prophet

true!!!!

the truth the say really hurts

Chike

Let us stop being in denial or deluded. The guy saw Nigeria and gave his opinion. He didn't lie and as a Nigerian i agree with him. It's so hard to get the basics done...constant electricity, access to potable water, good roads, efficient public institutions and what more.
There is no need for pride or hubris,we are a third world nation ruled by idiots and comfy with mediocrity.

You're the kind of idiot that deserves the kind of leaders you get.

I don't blame you sha. It's all these Chinese companies making cheap android phones I blame. You can't even speak English. Get out of here!

frank said...

You are a big fool Mr or Mrs anonymous

Why? Has he lied? I'm a well travelled Nigerian and can say that Lagos is the worst city I have ever been to.

Border control in the US will not shake anyone down. Nigeria is corrupt and Lagos is proudly showing that off.

Yes n abt d corruption part. Darn right cos evn the citizens r corrupt. Mayb one Yeye ofe ose person tried to dupe him. Nigerians aren't evn nice. Wicked devilish mannerless souls evrywher. I no blame am jare

Exactly anonymous 10:33. He's entitled to his opinion and to say the truth. Linda shouldn't call him an ode for that.

Really? Even at night?

And you call him and Ode for sating the truth that even you as a bona fide citizen can not accept or are ignorant enough not to know. It's because of Odes like you that nigeria is in the mess we are in.

Afghanistan & Iraq are war zones Einstein. And FYI they still have constant electricity.

That’s is opinion.
But we all know that opinions are based on the side of the divide you see.
Same ATM issues he is complaining of; I know stand heads above shoulders over most developed societies I have been.

We may be corrupt, things may not work efficiently here, but we have our good side.

We effectively tackled EBOLA that everyone is worried about and they even plan to take a lesson or two from us how we did this.

I know he will not show V/I, LEKKI, IKOYI, VGC, Maitama, Aso Drive even the controversial Ekiti Govt. house that has N50m Naira Bed in his report to justify his travels. If he mentions these areas, he will write from the negative perspective

I sure know that there are places in Countries in Asia, Africa, Latin America and even parts of Eastern Europe that have worst scenes from what he depicted in this photo. At least we see these things on Cable TV

I am proudly GREEN.

Nija for Live.

dont forget the dude came in through Seme border... that part of Lagos isnt the best.. Imagine all the way to ORILE, OJO, AGBARA... definitely not the best sight to beyond

AND TO ALL YOU IDIOTS HERE AGREEING WITH HIM, IF ONLY YOU FOOLS KNOW WHAT THE WESTERN WORLD IS SAYING ABOUT AFRICA, YOU WONT SPEW SUCH NONESENSE. NUT THEN AGAIN MAY BE YOU DONT CARE WITH YOU BEGGING-BEGGING SPIRITS AND ALL. SOME OF YOU STAY BEGGING. IF LIFE IN NAIJA IS SO TERRIBLE, WHY DONT YOU KILL YOURSELF INSTEAD OF LIVING ONLY TO COMPLAIN ABOUT EVERYTHING! SOME TRAVEL TO NIGERIA AND CLAIMS HE COULDNT FIND ANYTHING POSITIVE TO WRITE ABT YOU ALL ARE HERE SIDING HIM. USELESS PEOPLE.

Linda, calling him Ode does not do much. I dont think he said anything that can be disputed as not being fact. Unless he lied, .... Now before we call him a liar, let us make sure that he did not decide to live the life of a regular Nigerian (not the ones that can commute to London and hide in VGC), because that life is hell on earth.

It takes someone with a bank account 2 know if they are really some dysfunctional ATM's...so Oga SDFK...We Nigerians hate criticism, u r d real Racist & liar

How u take know? U get account?

Hahaha. I get his point. And I've been to a lot of countries too. Lagos for a non-Nigeria is very scary

Whoever u are pls God bless you for your comment. God really bless u.

You are a fool... Is corruption not killing this country? Did he lie? Stupid nigerians, always living in denial....

VeenSaint said...

I'm sure this guy is just a hype. He hasn't been to everywhere. Otherwise he won't have tagged Lagos the worst place. A city like Lagos cannot win the worst place as far as Aba is still existence and T A Orji is still on seat as governor. The man na learner. Make he come Aba. Him go free Lagos fast fast.

chris said...

E Neva bath

When idiots like this present us to the world in the negative place, the best thing for you to do is write something heavy rebutting and refuting him. Not just a slight comment and 'ode' tag. Wise up. Use the blog to make meaning, not make foolishness.

Ene Tawo said...

I just pressed a dozen LIKE buttons for you, damn! #inchperfect

I am a Nigerian and I partly live in nigeria. I totally agree with this dude. Lagos is shit!! And I can say this in frontof Fashola.tell me is there anything in this city that is worth celebrating? Well only if you have not been to other major cities in the world. Ordinary driving is like one is on a war front.more that 60% of the population provide water for themselves. 60% of the road are in a bad state.so many suffering in the state.
By the way Linda that is not how to give credit to the guy's picture. You only mentioned it.credit the picture

Ur father !! thunder go fire your mama…….#if ur people no park our
forefather as slave go use build una
country u tink say una for for dey like dat? Travel expert my foot.. Wia 4 Nigeria Atm dey pay 5k instead of 2k? Abeg next time visit Mubi

Ok shame on all Nigerians who just used this opportunity to run your own country down. For ur info, Lagos is corrupt and dirty we agree but where isn't, have u guys visited slums in new York to see how dirty the place is? Everyone in this country knows fashola tried in Lagos, sweeping, beautifying and keeping the place clean to the best of his ability, let's give the man some credit. I just got back from Yankee and frankly I stepped into some part of Lagos and was shocked at d change and development around,island. Some estates in this country are well organised and clean. Lagos is moving up,take it or leave it. It is certainly not the worst place to visit on earth. Nigerians value opinions from white men anyday anytime over black's,by this we call ourselves second class citizens. U will never hear an American run his country down no matter what they do wrong or do u think they are perfect? Linda may have used the wrong word but she is also entitled to her opinion just like the man. Guys, be proud of where u come from cos I know I am. I was listening to d local news while in new York and pple were advising America to take a cue from Nigeria on how to stop Ebola. Imagine that and we here can't even appreciate one thing Nigeria has done right as a nation. When u get to new York airport, no single Ebola screening but was surprised at how I was screened when I landed in Nigeria. Although most facilties are yet to start working in Lagos but one day we will get there. There's corruption here no doubt but where isn't there corruption. Guys take a chill pill already. God!!!!!

ODOGWU said...

na ogun na go punish this man

SWS said...

The average Nigerian is TOTALLY allergic to two things - reality and the truth!!!Hence the reason why this country will forever remain the same!! In Nigeria, lies,rubbish,self deceit and bullshit are the new good!
Now you Linda and your mindless voltrons have insulted, attacked, screamed, blasted, shouted and cursed(yourselves), what has been achieved or changed????? SMDH!!!!

Lol ppl who havent left nigeria dont knw how bad it is in nigeria... im an african and i hated nigeria when i came to lagos.... yal live in a mental fairyland.... how many times will u get asked for money by ppl .. with all the money in your country..... attrack the right person jor.... your government. Linda this was tacky and very unprofessional of u... so disappointed mtscheeew

globaldeji said...

Linda, Nigeria is a horrid place! Period!

Every1 is entitled to his own opinion #onelovefromSnow#

Citizen of the World said...

You people don't want to accept that Nigeria is a useless country so you can grow. You want to remain like that. Good Luck! Thank God for America. *Shmurda Dance* lol

Jesus Reigns said...

My thots spoken...... Thnx anon

yao said...

Well put Jim!

yao said...

Yup! U can't buy class!

yao said...

What's fake visa? He's been around the world dumb ass!

Tobi Samson said...

Ode must be ur middle name too

I expected Nigerians to flood this idiot's twitter feeed by now ....where does he get off making silly stupid uninformed statements when there are truly more morbid places like NORTH KOREA, ALLEPPO in Syria, Palestine, etc. Waka there!!

This wrong use of "would" is getting me peeved. It is not the past tense of 'will'. Also using would for what you are about to do or it is definite is absolutely wrong. Would is used in speculative or futuristic context.

Mebbe he shud have said nigeria and not Lagos. If u go onitsha,aba,benin and even some places iin d so called Abuja u will know Lagos is wonderful.

Christina typearls said...

Am telling you, the man is right, if you have ever face dimmigration in the Nigerian-seme border, you wont want to be Nigerian anymore. i prefer to take flights most times, lagos citizens and officials make the city bad enough not to be enjoyed.

So Lagos is to be blamed for his mistakes when using the ATM machines? Who is this compound fool? He obviously has no friends either. Unhappy and unfulfilled sadist!

Biodun Samuel Adepetu said...

Re: Lee Abammonte (LAGOS IS THE WORST PLACE TO VISIT ON EARTH)

RACISM has no other words!
It stinks!
It is not justifiable.
It questions the wisdom of the Almighty God who made the people of the world in the different colours as we have them today.
Stop it.
RACISM stinks!
Now, just imagine…..
It is justifiable to STEAL items of African arts;
It is justifiable to TRADE in African OIL and GAS;
It is justifiable to TRADE in African GOLD;
It is justifiable to TRADE in African DIAMOND;
It is justifiable to TRADE in African URANIUM & PLUTONIUM; to mention a few!
It is justifiable to SLEEP with the more curvy African women;
It is justifiable to LISTEN to African music and WATCH African movies;
It is justifiable to SIGN ON African athletes/sportsmen to ENTERTAIN and for MONETARY GAIN;
Yet these same people are looked down on as the dregs of the earth when it pleases some people with a warped mind about the indisputable and divinely-ordained equality of the human race!
# Stop RACISM #.
It stinks!

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 311 of 311   Newer› Newest»