Late Prof. Dora Akunyili's husband's warm posthumous birthday message to her | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 15 July 2014

Late Prof. Dora Akunyili's husband's warm posthumous birthday message to her

Late Prof Dora Akunyili who died on June 7th in India would have turned 60 yesterday July 14th. To celebrate her, her husband Dr Chike Akunyili shared a warm birthday message through her Facebook page on behalf of himself and their children. See the full message below...

WE MISS YOU, MUMMY
-By Chike Akunyili & Children

Our darling Dora would have been 60 yesterday (July 14) if she were to be alive
But she is no more – felled 37 days ago by the mortal enemy, death, on Saturday, June 7, 2014.

Beloved Dora,
You had eagerly looked forward to this day
But, alas! you never lived to see it.

We deeply love you, Mummy
It was our wish never to let you go
But when death comes, what can we do than to submit to the will of the Almighty?

Beloved Dora,
We very sincerely admire the decent character in you and those dreams of a golden future for Nigeria
For which you were ever ready to sacrifice your life during your days as NAFDAC DG
Without good people in politics, good leadership will remain elusive
Thus your hunger to make Nigeria a great brand via “Good People, Great Nation”.

Your life was an enduring legacy of truth, courage, integrity, love of your country, pursuit of excellence, love of your family and friends, and total devotion to God.

Your commitment to any undertaking attained force and vigor that will surely travel through the centuries.

You never held back whatever you could do for the common good.

Your numerous good deeds, infectious smiles, peaceful but firm nature, steely personality and motherly love are all unforgettable.

No amount of darkness can overpower the candle you lit and raised high for all to see.

In pain the children and I accept your exit.
He who is love hath called thee home
And bade thee thy labour cease.
Thou art safe in His eternal love and never ending peace.
Dora, lay down thy head on thy Saviour’s breast (as you usually did on mine whenever you were extremely tired).

Nigerians all eulogise you and appreciate the numerous trees you planted for future generations to enjoy.

WE LOVE YOU DEARLY BUT GOD LOVES YOU MORE
SLEEP PEACEFULLY IN HIS BOSSOM.

PEACE, PERFECT PEACE, DORA THE AMAZON.

From Your darling Husband Chike Akunyili
And our gems:
Ijeoma
Edozie
Somto
Njideka
Chidiogo
Obumneme

68 comments:

www.glowyshoes.com said...

May her soul rest in peace

Pls visit my shoe blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

May Her soul continue to rest in peace

#080Etisalat

Awww! Quite heart rending.
May her soul continue to rest in peace.

CROWN said...

Rest on mummy dora, a rare gem, your legacy will continue to lives on... As a nation, we will forever miss you... And your children shall be greater than you.#glo for life#

mrs S said...

My God! I want to cry. With 6kids and a husband to cater to, she was still so passionate about naija and determined to fight for it to be great again. May she RIP. It's very painful to see her leave but God needs one of his angels back. I admire what she stood for when she was still here

SouthEastern said...

Happy birthday and continue to rest in peace, Nwanyi oma!

#God answers all prayers#
Happy moments - Praise God, Difficult moments-Seek God,
Quiet moments -Worship God, Painful moments-Trust God,
Every moment - Thank God.

May her gentle soul Rest In Peace.......Amen

So touching,continue to rest in peace prof Dora.
Cooldavoe@yahoo.com

Very touching. May her gentle soul rest in peace. I'm out. ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

virtouswoman said...

This breaks my heart. Must be very hard for the family because she was such an active and involved woman. I knew of her after her death cos I don't live in Nigeria but I watched multiple videos of her and to say I am impressed and awed by her and what she stood for is an understatement. She was a lioness! Fought for the good of her people and always gave honor to whom it was due. O ye olorun sha

Happy posthumous birthday darling Prof. Dora. May God receive your soul. I loath the fact that you are no more.

May her soul R.I.P.....

Rip

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Continue to rest in peace Ma...

Hmmmmm felt lyk cry,hpy bdai nd RIP 2 a tru amazon...nigeria wil miss u gr8ly....

We are nothing , no one can boast of tomorrow,the life we live is a borrowed life and the owner can take it back any moment.RIP madam Dora, you have paid your own depth

eya, may her beautiful soul rest in peace oo.

chai !!! Rip...nkemdirimeverista111@gmail.com

Solary said...

So touching, dear Dora, u live on in our hearts, may you find peace in the bossom of the Lord
Peace perfect peace, Dora Nigeria Akunyili

so so touching......... Rest in peace Dora..... Ur family and friend are missing you

Engr. C J said so

Best of African said...

#icon of no comparison she is. When next are we gonna have this kind of erudite #personality?

NaNcY DreW said...

Nigerians all eulogise u and appreciates all d numerous trees u planted for future generatons to enjoy. Rest well ma'am

Cont to Rip

Zoe Ami said...

Continue to rest in peace

ebony said...

Oh my eyes are teary already.Such a heart felt message. we really miss u a great deal.u inspired me. RIP Dora

Indeed, "no amount of darkness can overpower the candle you lit and raised high for all to see".

Her sonorous voice, I'm sure, reverberates in the heavenly choir!

I can't begin to imagine the kinda unparalleled celebration going on in heaven on her behalf.

To the entire household of Akunyili, I give beauty for ashes.

Happy birthday, selfless one! Rest on in the harmless bosom of the Almighty.

May her gentle soul continue to rest in the bossom of the Lord.

Rip to her again

RIP Prof.Dora. Nigerians love you but God loves u most. Rest on. By Dobis 112

Honsylglobal.com : UK Global Online Financial Advisers said...

Nigeria Loves and Miss her More.

Awwww

Happy birthday to u Mummy

Happy birthday to u Mummy 🏬5⃣💍

Cutest Babe said...

How sweet of him & sad @ d same time, I felt d same way when my mum died @ d age of 49 wen her birthday was a few month away. ....

aikejiuba@yahoo.co.uk

Quite touching. RIP Dora
#PICCANTO#
lausmithuj@gmail.com

David (dave_gino) said...

Rest ON Prof. Dora

But pastor Rap said ur wife isn't ur mu.my now:(

She was really a rare gem n her legacy will always live!! she stood 4 nothing but d truth, she saved so many lives through her countless efforts..keep resting!!

Am so heart broken ,mmmhh

Oh what a loss...continue to rest in peace ma.

CONTINUE TO REST IN PEACE DORA

Mannastores.com said...

we will all surely miss her

Prof continue to rest in bossom of the Lord amen onyekababyface@gmail.com

Hmmmmm what an emotional message!!!continue2RIP mama NAFDAC

#######################GOD bless##############################NaijA

may her soul rest in peace and i hope she made heaven...
sometimes i did feel if she had just stayed at nafdac,she would have made more impact and most likely alive and healthy...
Adieu Obirin Be Okurin.
Adieu A Woman Like a man.

The Lumdy blog Review

I missed her too. Pretex4luv@yahoo.com

I miss her too. Pretex4luv@yahoo.com

May her gentle soul rest in perfect peace..

*d cheerful 1*

She indeed lite a candle dat we all can see.
continue 2rest in peace Mummy Dora.

Continue to rest in peace Dora. May God grant her family the fortitude to bear the loss. God knows best.

May the soul of our Dora Nigeria,rest and find perfect rest in the Lord's bossom always.

So touching. .. we miss u ma. RIP

We give God the praise at all times, that is the massage

Bigman tins said...

Painful,Anambra are losing great sons n daughters late Ojukwu,late Achebe(most influntual man in Africa) n now late akunyili,all made a mark on earth may dere soul rest in peace frm a proud Anambra man

Continue to RIP

CONTINUE TO REST PROF DORA... GOD LOVES U MORE.......
Moye B

May she continue to rest in the Lord! We miss you.

No be only 'massage' na 'face lift'..lol. Jee nke oma nwanyi oma.

....Her Excellency...

awwww.patoswife@gmail.com

LINDA'S BLOG ADDICT said...

Sleep on Mrs. Akunyili, May God continue to rest your soul with Eternal Peace - Amen

Thank God you had a good marriage. You rested on your husbands breast when you were tired. Every highly placed woman should learn from this.

Am Sure She's Smiling Down From Heaven. (Linda's Man)

Lami said...

Rest with God Ma'am....ur beautiful legacy lives on..

Lami said...

Rest with God Ma'am...ur beautiful legacy will live on.

RIP Prof Dora Akunyili, couldn't stop by without saying a word to the great Nigerian.

Your works and memory will live on

May her soul rest in perfect peace.
posthumously: Happy Birthday to a mother of the Nation.

rest in peace my role model. one day I will be like u

chai so touching. AMAZON OF INTEGRITY. I dreamt of being ur kind of person. My u continue 2 rest in d bossom of d Almighty. I LUV U