Photos: Police raid shanties in Lekki, sets place on fire | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 27 February 2014

Photos: Police raid shanties in Lekki, sets place on fire

Shanties around the Lekki 2nd Roundabout are currently been razed down by police in a bid to chase the residents out of the area. The fire is reportedly going out of control. See more photos after the cut

85 comments:

Things are happening

Oh dear!

1st to comment

Instead of them to go and chase boko haram????

dis is much o

Get paid daily here

Na wah o!

Na wah o!

Dis Ȋ̝̊̅§ madness, who sent dem?? Nah wah Oo°˚˚˚°! Burning in broad day light $ causing nuisance

Peejay said...

I hope they were given adequate notice. It will be sad if someone loses their life as a result of this.

fly guy said...

no health and safety in dis naija, could't there have been a better evacuation strategy

Na wa ooooo,that's serious.

when will this rubbish stop in this country boko haram is doing their own on one part, now it police chasing people out of the market place again. yet jonathan is busy partying and disguising it as centenary rubbish. really which the military should just take over

REE said...

If people con die nko?.....na wa o

Fashola is working...maroko second

IFY NWAJESUS said...

Must it be by fire?niger!see wetin normal ppl are doing,we stil dey see bh own oo

Na dis dem snd dem to d? Crime everywhere and they r burning shanties

Eewo!!! Aunty Linda, u dey try o..na everywhere u dey!

Harnikky said...

This is serious º°˚˚°ºoo is there other way to chase them out?

Omg. This is so unfair. Hope no one was hurt?

That's wickedness

OJAI baby said...

Ojai says" this is hell fire. Bt for crying out loud, this is lekki and not a shantie, so those shanties r meant to be demolished bt nt this way. Sorry...

MARKET MONITOR said...

This is not owk... And so abnormal!

badt: see crazy singer miley cyprus exposes her full boo*bs on bed in a photo snap!

That's wickedness

Idiot boko haram is a federal problem not state

We've grown so use to it here in Abuja that we nolonger consider it news

Shanding2k2... said...

na waoo.. poor man don sufffer o, where would they b heading to now?

Y blame jonathan for evrytin?

NA wa o.
I pity the residents.

This is animal behivor sorry 4 my english this is malicous

Don't constitute a nuisance in lagos. I wonder how people reason. Why would I allow someone bring the value of my property down because he left his village to set up shanties in a high end area.

Eyah so untrue. Our govt sha. Linda should accomodate them in her building in lekki. Foolish people

sahnzylyn said...

Linda deae..no be small thing o..it's actually close to my office and we are seriously inhaling the smoke right now. .but it's been put out though

I see some people blaming Jonathan for Lekki demolition. Where is the state governor? Where is the Local government chairman? This is a state issue and not a federal issue

zibaintl said...

persn de call jona again for lagos police fire burning issue...lagos no gt fashola for dere?...abi d pres stil de responsible to settle market evacuatn issues?....abeg...i hope say fashola don give dem alternative place.

Weldone police..... Na una salary dey go use repair everything.....

The goverment should start sacking some police as quick as possible....

Na so.com said...

Misplaced priorities!!! Una no go go pursue una mates wey dey kill up and down!! Can't you use sense to do these things? If una burn person nko??

God abeg O!

Kilode???

hmmmmm yeye people, dem for throw bomb naah.

Opeedo said...

Na wa for Nigerian police o... is this the most reasonable they can do?

Do not click HERE

@regina we understand. How market?

Mr. Fantastic said...

You are VERY INSENSITIVE. So, lives of women and children put on the line to 'beautify Lagos' is cute.

Whatever happened to resettlement? How can concept of humaneness not be understood by a legal-practitioner governor?

Well in Nigeria only idiots rule - regardless of how clever their CVs appear.

Pls oo my church is there oo no stores

Diane said...

oh no. i know those people, poor ones living in that slump. those people will now be homeless.I used to pass along that area and buy fresh tomatoes and pepper from them along the road side. eya

I know this is a welcomed development, but when you chase them away without another option, they are just gonna go settle on another land. Plus why raze it down, they could cause serious damage or kill a person.

When u build a house u can accomodate all the homeless people

This does not concern Fashola. Leave Fashola out of this...ignoramus!

When will my people get sense

This is indeed the generation of fools

Hayjaybawa said...

You go fear evacuation..... Stupid people chasing only those they can easily harm

Y fire lyk wats wrng wth dese pple?

Topebrass said...

Ehya

Anony 2:39 why are u always dis stupid? Na wa Oooooo

Jungle way of enforcing d law

Jay said...

Shameful irresponsible comments of ingrates. You folks should for once appreciate the crime preventive efforts of the Police. I wonder how responsible you are at your respective work places. Police, I salute your courage. Please, you need to do more because theses shanties are home to criminals and potential BH operatives. God Help Naija. Jay

Linda, please correct this error. It should be "...........are currently 'being' razed down......" Thanks.

Fine big time life go on

Wale of Life said...

Same way farmers in the village chase bush rats out!

Kudos man...but if u waiting for our government...u on a long thing...xoxo flynnrules

it's not fair. Those people are poor and may have no where to go. The only reason why those people are being chased away is because the govt want to renovate that place and sell it to rich people. It will be a miracle if the government renovate it and call back the original owners of the land....smh

Are you sure they are not illegal squatters that the owners have been trying to evict? Cos I know how stubborn these people can be. You will have to negotiate money with them before they will agree to go. Sometimes, they will refuse.

Thankz professor annonymous. We have so many children reading this. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

And is that not a powerline there... But when will nigerian police have sense to handle things easily without being silly? Smh

Sportdiva said...

.....this is inhumane, why set peoples house on fire...

It can only happen in Nigeria

**Sportdiva**

what are we going to said for things that are happening.

Foolish boy did u read d heading well b/4 commenting?

Thank you police for your proactive efforts. Linda, I do not know where you belong, whether with the senseless commentators who never see any good in good things or with the reasonable few who realizes the imperatives of the demolition. Anyway, for once again, Police una well done oooooooo.

Lol See punch lines. Na wa o

Pele o. Oga teacher.

NPF is a joke,and probably the most irresponsible Police force in the World

Kamto Haf Tok

Wetin concern Jonathan again? Who is that punk calling his name? Dis na local matte. Up Fashola. Eko ni baje o!! Lol.

Lex said...

na so they will flex there muscle for this kind job yet when boko boys dey cuz havoc dem dey run

Some people are blaming the police. Who sent them? No one wants to face the truth and call Fashola's name.Hypocrites.

Dem don start again

@Anonymous 2:39 do we have state police?? @quenncy brown how come you know this particular anonymous?? Una dey try for here sha

One Oga @ d top don buy dat land n wants 2 use it....We dey watch wetin they go turn dat place to....

Dee Girl u can move them to your house. Since you are very kind

If life in the city is to hard go back to your village. These slumps are hideouts for criminals and all sorts of hoodlums. Senten

By fire, by force

FRM COMMENTS ABOVE, ITS MAINLY SHANTY SQUATERS DT FREQUENT HERE; WE CAN'T SIT AND FOLD OUR HANDS AND LET THESE PASTORIAL SQUATERS BECOME A THORN IN OUR FLESH LIKE THEY DO IN D NORTH!! LIKE THEY SAY: SIDON LOOK, THINGS DEY SPOIL!!

this is wrong!!! they're destroying the homes of their gatemen, cooks and housekeepers. people who get off work as late as 11pm.... 12am **sv**

Forced evictions violate international law.

Prof. Anon 3.56pm, in addition to your observation, it is also not possible for fire to "raze up" a building. "Raze down" is therefore incorrect. Fire razes. Full stop.

Fela said: "Na the Burn Burn, na im dey sweet dem pass, Oya O, bring matches burn!! burn!!.

Jay said...

Kamtochukwu, I agree that NPF is a "joke and irresponsible" as you put it but it is all because Nigerians like you are irresponsible, crazy and do not deserve to wear the human skin. By the way, what are you and your family contributing to the enforcement of law and order in this country, bloody criminal.

It is because of a hidden gay club there.