Nigerian student sentenced to death in Malaysia for drug trafficking | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 27 February 2014

Nigerian student sentenced to death in Malaysia for drug trafficking

A 28 year old Nigerian student, Prince Bartholowmew Obitube, has been sentenced to death by a high court in Malaysia for trafficking drugs. The Shah Alam High Court yesterday Feb 26th gave the death penalty to Obitube after he was found guilty of trafficking cannabis, also known as marijuana.

The accused, a student with a private college in Kuala Lumpur, was arrested with 9,189kg of cannabis at Desa Satu Apartment, Gombak on Aug 20, 2011. According to the facts of the case, Obitube was caught by police from the Gombak Narcotic Crime Investigation Department, following a tip off, within the apartment area after he tried to run away with a backpack containing the drugs.

The offense, under the Dangerous Drugs Act in the country, provides a mandatory death sentence upon conviction.

148 comments:

Lucy said...

Rubbish is only tolerated in Nigeria. God have mercy on ur soul

Na waa o........

Heya

That's good
I have no love for those that are destroying the image of Nigeria
Be him Igbo, Hausa, or Yoruba!
God is great ~onahboy

May his soulrest in perfect peace.Nah poverty for naija lead him to dat

FDJ

fly guy said...

death penalty 4 weed, wow,i'm suprised there r many yahoo boys there, their laws r not a joke

Temper mercy with Johnson.

Na the book bdat wey them ask them make them go read........ They just killed their dreamz.....

Hello girls one of malaysia boys is gone start calling if it ur own...

How can a sane Nigerian who values his dear life peddle drug in a country that has a death penalty for it? BH are killing people,while others are intentionally killing themselves.I don't think any excuse can save his ass.RIP to him in advance

If u knw the law,why breakin them. *««*CROWD PULLER PLEASER*»»*•

Nigerians o. Baba God helps us. C as dis boy destroy his future.

Wow that's harsh for only Marijuana. Hmmm. So sad

Wow...very hash on jst canabis

I just wish this people will temper justice with mercy and atlist sentence him to prison........ well may his soul R.I.P....

Patto Evra said...

How I wish I can turn some laws most especially this death sentence case, I think death penalty shld only appliy to offence that deals with death or attempt of it.
Follow us via Instagram @eventdiarymagazine

Patto Evra said...

How I wish I can turn some laws most especially this death sentence case, I think death penalty shld only appliy to offence that deals with death or attempt of it.
Follow us via Instagram @eventdiarymagazine

♠ V•!•©•T•O•R•!•O•U•$ ♣ said...

Oh dear, marijuana should be the least of some countries problems. i mean, marijuana is harmless way harmless than alcohol,coke,heroin n all other narcotics.. i feel amnesty int'l will not allow the sentence to be observed... Just think bout it, Marijuana is not enough reason for someone to be put to death even if its 10000kg he was caught with.

RIP in advance...

Malay don cast!

Too bad, but at least that's how and why the country works. They don't play with laws there. Even public office holders are sentenced to death whenever convicted on corruption. Naija should learn from them

May said...

Over trafficking cannabis?! What sort of judgement is this! God help all the Nigerians abroad. These peeps re jst *fcuking racist!

Blitz Crush said...

Must Nigeria b involve in any bad tin Đ‎​‎‎​​ąτ̲̅ happen,may God help dis country O°˚˚˚ it shows how undiscipline n arrogant we Nigerians are, too desperate 4 money.gush

When will our people ever learn??? RIP already

U̶̲̥̅̊ Ơ̴̴̴͡.̮Ơ̴̴̴͡ ur life! Tafickin drugs @ dat age, wat wld u̶̲̥̅̊ do wen u̶̲̥̅̊ grow older, become a baron nd maybe a thief? Na wah

good for him

Shyla said...

Nigerian found dead in stowaway,Nigerian sentenced to death for drug trafficking,Nigerians killing nigerians,Nigerian... and so on and so forth. Nigerians!

This is wickedness oooo,,,,,,,,,why sentence him to death.........

OneKay said...

OMG!!! Not again...

Na waoo,d guy no kill person na why he go die na?

hmmmm its a pity.
what a way to go.

Awww..thats so harsh...we can't loose a soul cos of weed...am sure if he was american such judgement won't be passed to him..our consulate in malaysia needs to take this up...we can't loose a soul cos of weed...not even cocaine....mehn...this is so harsh

That's really good for omo alaigboran. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Prince Bartho! Na how d tin do u na! U didn't even fink of how dis will affect our naija reputation. Well now u've gotten dat. Which u asked 4.

as dem say dem no go hear.wetin dem see make dem take.i rest my case

Hehe! Only God will save us ooo!

Jennifer Hudson in very Sexy & Rev*aling Photoshoot for V magazine

Chai... Ekwensu aruola ala oh!

Malaysia ain't playing.

Hmmm ndi igbo na ego dats good for him

hismahillz said...

So sad.

aojinji said...

Get rich quick syndrome. How can he take such risk over there knowing the penalty. This will serve as a deterrent to others. Secondly the government should organise our educational system. We are better than malaysia some years back

Chukwuemeka said...

Too harsh for just Marijuana, if its cocaine they will jail Nigerian Ambassador join

Wow ...dats quite hash jst on canabis

BONARIOS BABY said...

Lord,see what he has caused himself,his whole life and everythg he ever lived for is now a waste.RIP in advance

Not suprised cos most nigerians go to malaysia to traffic drugs...

DoubleV said...

The law ȋ̝̊̅§ bad,becos ☺f̶̲̥̅̊ drug, how many foreigners have we given death penalty or did he kill any body.9ja mk una open una eyes well oo

Are we surprised? It serve's him or her right.

paul roger ekhator said...

its well o

BONARIOS BABY said...

I really missed my Bonario.lol

Eiyaaa! Sory bro! Get rich quick or .........God hep us Amen

This one just ended his life for the love of money. *smh* May God comfort his family.

Y na

Too bad for him #bright bravo#

Linda I hope u knw thunder will fire u 4 neva posting ma comments #SHUGA LEE

Get rich or die trying sydrome, RIp bro

Instead of concentrating on your studies. Kai! May God accept your soul!

But WHY?....when you know the penalty in a country like Malaysia?

I pray HIS government can find a way to fight for leniency and may God have mercy on him and save his life!

And DAT is how he has ended his young life....Malaysia and oda Asian countries don't play around with dis drug shit,yet pple keep tryna do d wrong tin....

facethefact said...

life of the fast lane...ends your life fast enough to get u outta life

These people never learn! They never learn at all.

Brezzy said...

Lord,never let temptation over come me and lead me to bad act

Aymii said...

Wow!!!! Sad tho! .... A life in exchange for 9kg of Maryjane!!!! ..........Crime pays, ....that is as long as you don't get caught!

I always maintain my stand that drug trafficking and other such Nefarious means of making money are for people of INFERIOR INTELLECT!!!!!

The risks far outweigh the benefits!!!! There's Legit money to be made for any young man as long as you are hard working, smart plus ask God for favour!Any normal thinking persons should know that!.. In fact Am vexing right now for the foolish boy!.....Na so him life take go????????????????

ON 2 The Next!

When wil Nigerian stop disgracing our country. He deserve it, because I believe his parents sent him to school.

God!!!and its so legalised in dis country..even some police men patronise weed vendors!!God help dis country

Hmmm seee wahala

Death penalty for cannabis is too hard buh i dnt knw y we nigerians de always show ourselves anywhere we go

jessica said...

just take a look.asup is killn us here wt strike and u are where to enjoy education fuckn up.nija for us o.madam linda post my comment o abeg

Yvonne said...

Nawa o . Nigerians have truly suffered. As if their own peoole will be killed for the same offence

Joe said...

Sad

Chai

Chai see what poor ecnomy has lead ou youth, RIP bro

chic-fab said...

Poor him, this is a big lesson to all those who are also trying to disgrace our beloved country.

Eeya...so he decided to end his life this way.
May God forgive him and accept his soul,Amen.

wetin na, dem dey crase ni. he shld be killed for trafficking drugs? madness.

LUFI said...

What a waste...stay in your country and do whatever you like,they won't hear. This can't happen in naija na,cannabis will soon be legal in this country becos a greater percentage of youths and adults are into smoking it on a daily bases and moreover,if u get caught by d authority a meagre bribe of 1k will set you free instantly. I feel for the guy mehn...it's well with his soul.

-LuFi Frm TRINIDAD-

Christ! his poor parents o.. The good image of Nigeria!!..or is it the struggling good image..

OMG.

I know that's the law in malaysia, but what baffles me is how my 9ja brothers know all these and yet embark on such.
May God have mercy on him and accept his soul

Ndi yoruba, jisinu ike oo

Y na, must 9jas in abroad defame n soil our image everiwher de go. Dts hw i wuz searched @ Heathrow airport wit dogs coz of my Nigerian Passport.wetin sef una 2 do... Ders no short-cut 2 sucez pls. Abi na

A lesson for others

dhobiz said...

My heart felt condolence to his family

Get rich quick syndrome!! I don't blame him, weed is really expensice in malaysia. Selling weed here is like selling spare parts in nigeria, very lucrative.

U pple never learn! said...

Oton oun to je lo yo! To be forewarned is to be forearmed!

Oje bi iku !

Tee said...

How unfortunate!

WTF?...bcuz of drug traffickin?? c'mon diz iz too much... 40yrz will du..?? wat of dose hu kill nd re been sentenced to jux 50yrz or so?? naah..diz 1 iz too much

Hewu! Death sentence for igbo??? That's just too harsh. Where is the Nigerian government? They need to intervene biko. I prison sentence is in accordance but not a death sentence for igbo. Igbo kwa!! Hewu. So sad :(

GMA said...

True talk

Naija Movies Nollywood said...

money things...lol
news from nigeria nollywood

The sentence is too harsh haba death for what na?

Kray said...

The malaysian dream has been killed. Let this be a lesson to all those willing to join the "malay boys" click so that they can pop all the expensive champagne in all the expensive clubs and bars in Lagos

Exactly, looking for quick money, if it was here it wont hv bn so poor him.

I wonda oo! Dd he kill anybody? Mtcheeww

Malaysia government is very tough o! Especially when Africans are concerned!! I won't blame it on our economy o.. Its just the fast lane we all wants to ride on that's leading our youths into Mess.. No one wants to work, save bit by bit, and organise themselves. Everyone wants a million dollar pay

4 Watin na! only Igbo, una dey mad? come to Ipodo Ikeja Lagos, una go kill tire lo!

Arrested in 2011,sentenced in 2014... He must hv died within those 3yrs he ws awaiting trial.. #cheezyjayne

Can u imagine?? All in the name of greener pastures.. May God have mercy.

Bestman said...

It is a lesson for others like him.Had it been Nigeria,He could be out after 6 months but in places like Malaysia,Singapore-the penalty us death-final.May his soul rest in peace in advance.

Bestman said...

So sorry for suffering for d embarrassment...suffering for damage caused by others.

U r a fool chasis, Oloriburuku omo ibo....am sure u can't read to understand that the name is not a yoruba name.....smellos

Igor said...

Please do not blame poor economy, blame our get rich quick syndrome.

This is wrong , they should not kill over what doesnt kill...weed doesn't kill. May the Lord deliver him

Drug trafficking has the death penalty in most Asian countries, i wonder why our nigerian brothers will not learn not to do their shit in those countries. Smh.

Its reli a pity,am sure he must av been exposed by a jelous friend,God forgive an grant him enternal rest! Dats wat poverty can make som pipu do.

I undastnd dat wat they did was enforcin d law, but dat measure is too extream if u ask me

They Should Revoke That Judgement, Why Sentence Him To Death, Aint there other Purnishment?? Must it be by Death?? #Rubish!!

.GENTLE DISPLAY
>Comment Moderation Disabled<

Akeem Rotimi said...

They re always in d news... Bcos of money they put their hands in hot tins, ladies see una they cause? Cos na una they wan make money impress, cos na dat 1 they dey see una, una nor care if d money na frm d guy mama he used 4 ritual he dey come, na go they flex am, they make shakara 4 una fellow lady... Hmmmm.. Rip guys

Hope others will learn from this. www.trueinfo24.blogspot.com

Dee Brown said...

death sentence for drug trafficking is too harsh. he didn't kill nobody. 50 years in jail wud prolly do. where r d so called human rights groups?

hmmm

I knw for sure you are not a man, that's why you are sounding this way. Probably they fetch and give you. In αѕ much αѕ am not supporting his act, you don't hav to be ridiculous wit your choice of words. Our leaders are busy sharing money among themselves + the insecurity etc SMH. Lord pls make haste to save us. Amen!

Lord hav mercy on Nigerians. Let this blessings circulate and not get buried in the same hands(politicians) Amen!

I knw for sure you are not a man, that's why you are sounding this way. Probably they fetch and give you. In αѕ much αѕ am not supporting his act, you don't hav to be ridiculous wit your choice of words. Our leaders are busy sharing money among themselves + the insecurity etc SMH. Lord pls make haste to save us. Amen!

You are a bastard with retarded life....

because of watin no get head you kill yourself throway anyway sha RIP na you do yourself

Mario vs Lugi said...

Lindy, pls can you bring this guy facebook id to us .i guess he will be one of top Malaysia money making big boys all those lazy Nigerians look up too.

U kip sayin Rubbish dt has no meanin and Senseless wt ur trashy English!!! Hediot wt Terrible English

WTF!!! U definitely dint go 2 Skl or u prolly a drop out. What is "atlist" ??? B*tch it is written dis way "At Least". Ur case is Pathetic!!!

Akanimo Sunday said...

Bonita Bislam...you said it all...you virtually nailed. I am falling in love with u because ur comment hit the bull's eye...Our Igbo brothers have this annointing for drugs and criminality in Asia. May God deliver them.

Poor boy,na poverty for naija cause am ooooo.

U are cute but for your k legs

What is anyone looking for in Malaysia?especially to school? Is their education system better there and recognized better than Nigeria? I don't think so!!

With johnson...u must b a cow

Nigerians abroad are killed daily for offenses committed in other countries..but when these fucking foreigners commit all manners of crime in our country including killing our citizens..we quickly ship them out to the safety of their countries. We aren't finished yet...but we are almost there.

No biggie. A Nigerian life isn't worth much anyways right? Fuck this cursed nation.

That's not an igbo name,my poor illiterate boy.

Chai! Death sentence for drug trafficking, too much joor.

Some commenators here are bringing tribe into the matter,as usual.The bottomline is...people have lost their sense of value.if he had hit it big,we would all be singing a different song.testimony time in church.noone cares how d money comes.well.too bad.let's live in the hell we made for ourselves!!

That's not an igbo name,my poor illiterate boy.

Idiot..who said anything about igbo? "Omo alaigboran" means "pikin wey no dey hear..but u take the 'igbo' out of it and assume he's talking about igbos. Who is the illiterate now? Bloody son of a houseboy. Oloshi tribalist

This is very sad indeed. I'm smoking weed as we speak *draaaaaaaag* *exhale* and no one is sentencing me to die. *draaaaaaaaag* Nigerians come back home *exhale* to your motherland mehn.

skilful_ said...

Igbos. Forever tarnishing the image of Nigeria. Chai. Ndi ala

Marijuana Is not a drug, it's a natural plant/herb. Fuck Malaysia for abusing its powers and for not appreciating human life. This is WRONG

OSGOOD ETAL CONCEPT said...

Igbelu Ni selu. Our system might not be working but theirs are. Learn,learn and learn.

Thank you very much dear......they are even beginning to legalize it in Western counties. How on earth can they sentence him to death for just marijuana. Nigerian or not. Unbelievable!

You r talking nonsense mr

Death! Just bcos of common cannabis! Ki lo de?

Nusitech said...

Good hustle, wrong place. RIP bro!

Anon 4:05... dude!!! U re the shit! Lmao

U ar very silly 4 such.if je were to b ur bro u Will nt say so

may his soul rest in highest peace

Please my fellow Nigerians in diaspora lets be clean , we can be rich while doing clean things, drugs and fraud are not the way to be rich.

*long draaaaaaaaaaaaaaag* *holding it in* *still holding it in*......................................................................................*still holding*..........................*slooooow releaaaase* #GodblessNigeria

he will be sentenced because he is a Nigerian, but a Malaysian citizen was caught in Thailand with many kg of cocaine and he was released after his govt plead and no death sentence, a Chinese man was also caught by Malaysian police with machine use in making cocain yet.. not even his name was shown on the ntv3 no death sentence ... just because of racism and hatred now it is Nigerian may his soul rest in perfect peace.

the guy gather mind to push drugs for malaysia. RIP tho

AnnMarie said...

stay away from drugs they wont listen