Governor Fashola renames hall to honour slain Yobe students | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 28 February 2014

Governor Fashola renames hall to honour slain Yobe students

Lagos State Governor Babatunde Fashola yesterday Thursday February 27th renamed a hall initially named after him, to “Peace Hall’’, in memory of slain Yobe school children.

Vanguard reports that the hall was constructed by the Lagos Zonal Council of the Nigeria Union of Petroleum and Natural Gas Workers (NUPENG), located at Fadeyi in Lagos.

Fashola said at the inauguration of the hall earlier named after him by NUPENG that he changed the name to honour the slain secondary school students.
"I appreciate NUPENG’s gesture but I will rename this edifice `Peace Hall`, in memory of the lives of the children that were brutally slain in Yobe by insurgents. The Children will soon be forgotten but as a reminder to us and the need to stand up for what is right, I ask that the hall be re-named as NUPENG’s Peace Hall, as we all search for peace across Nigeria. While we pray for the repose of the souls of these young ones, it is also a moment we must stand up as a nation. Whatever language you speak, whatever faith you practise, whatever ethnic/tribe you claim, this is the time it will not show. No matter how diverse we are, we are still one people, this is a time when colours and flag do not matter and political ideologies mean nothing. This is the time we must show and respect the values of the lives of fellow Nigerians’’ The governor said.

86 comments:

chilly said...

May dier souls Rip...wise move by fashola...I'm sure jonathan remembers them at all sef!God bless nigeria.Amen

Good thinking Mr Governor. Fred here please

Topebrass said...

May d souls of all d students rest I̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ perfect peace .... Amen. Good gesture frm U̶̲̥̅̊ sir n thy Lord will bring an end τ̲̅ȍ all dis chaos IJN

Good Move by BRF.

Hmm! It is well.

Best Governor ever liveth

Yes BRF, renaming d edific to mortalize these innocent souls is very commendable. Let every Nigerian weep. Soweto was not this bad before it brought down apartheid. Let us all sorrow, not only d affected families, for no words or rhetorics could comfort us except to put a stop to d insurgency, even if d perpetrators were brought to book and executed, their worthless miserable lives amount to nothing compared to the unbearable anguish they have caused. God help us.

Blazing said...

wish he listens to his own advice. One people u say, and all u've done is scatter ibo traders all in the name of beautiful lagos

"They will soon be forgotten" presidency things...

May their souls rest in peace

Thank u sir

Commendable

Igor said...

That is kind of you Fashola.My own prayers is that the blood of these innocent children should haunt Boko Haram members and their sponsors to their miserable deaths.

One of the best governors so far in nigeria #bright bravo#

Jaja said...

These are the words that mumu, ignoramus, dunce Jonathan is supposed to be saying at this time. Chai! may God give us more leaders like Fashola who have not only compassion but intelligence.

Rubbish!!!

mz vee said...

º°˚˚˚°º my sugar daddy dats so swit of u #kixex#

Nice.
But this won't solve d problem.
Why did those children have to die ?
Goodluck Jonathan shld reveal and arrest those Hausa men whm he knows are Boko haram sponsors.
Nigeria can't continue like this.
This is sad and it's reocurring. BOKO HARAM MUST STOP WASTING INNOCENT LIVES!!

And we all need to pray against these evil Boko Haram pple.
They are being used for devilish purpose.

Very brilliant words i have read in decades. i am segun.

They deserve more than that, but make una do something on the security in this country

Opelicious Morgann said...

Okay.

Well spoken, we all need 2 rise up.... God knows if am allowed 2 handle any bh member he will regret y he joined vat group of animals..... They should attack our military buildings not schools, markets, churches, banks nd co.... I dare em 2 confront d army nd c d outcome..... Anty lin ah ope uve eaten.... Swagaholic

Fashola for presidency 2015,some people were 'created' to rule while others were 'made' to rule...... Gej need to read the" blurred lines",u have failed the masses...Take a bow!! #cheezyjayne

Fashola operates in a different Realm... Jonathan needs to learn a thing or two from this man.

He is the greatest politician of his generation.. kudos!!~@CaptainNikee

Please can somebody make this guy president already!!

I salute Fashola for this noble act.This is part of what Our so called northern governors should do instead they are busy looting funds and decamping to APC for presidential election that they won't even win.Shame on all of them especially Murtala Nyako.

That was good and thoughtful of him.

Ay said...

Bless your heart ... do not despair, I have given to you Nigeria in 2023. let not the unjust riches lead you astray. I the Lord have given to a nation which ye shall rule and liberate its people.thus saith the Lord.

I hv contributed earlier in other topic related to the Terrorist activities been perpetuated by B.haram. I know d commander in chief gej should bear d bulk of d blame but d army should bear more. The commander gives d comnand, it is left for d army to carry out the command efficiently. B.haram people are not ghost, they don't vanish, they don't come from d sky or fly. When they invade, they don't hide and strike, they do it blatantly and many times for hours. Real Army should be there to Protect its PEOPLE 24 hours everyday. All d area that are targets of B.haram should be encompass by d army 247 and there is no way they could strike n kill n maim when they know d army is 247 alert. The reason they do strike is because at night when they mostly carry out their satanic agenda, the nigeria army are always asleep. Real soldiers don't SLEEP, they FIGHT to d DEATH

All this na word of mouth. Abeg ogas @d top, what is on ground 2 combat n contend with this menace in d North abeg?

This guy is a leader I am proud to call my countryman any day! May God comfort the families of those poor defenceless boys and may He help us rout Boko haram completely. Amen!

Fashola baba, thank you for this.

I always respect dis man ,he knew dos children'll soon be 4gotten dat's d norm in dis country which is bad ,God bless u sir

Cool story....so na hall fit do am ni oshi oda cos lasgidi dey safe ba? Instead of u to assemble ur fellow governors,put head together and fight dis

May God Bless this Man

vanilla25th said...

I just love this Fashola... this is what we get when an intelligent Man is given the opportunity to lead... lets say no to touts parading as politicians n yes to like minds of Fashola.
And Let there b peace in our Land... good must surely prevail over evil.

Lex said...

only coward fight a kid with guns and rocket granade that their leader will rot and had a slow and painful death

Heart of diamond...thanks sir
*vanchuks*

GEJ's Connection With Boko Haram

Few years ago, when a military officer pointed accusing fingers at General Azazi for master minding the escalation of Boko Haram attacks, everybody said the north was trying to cover up their filth. Hasn't the military officer been vindicated?

Azazi was also accused of gun running in Kaduna and years later, he was killed in air crash along side the Kaduna State Governor -coincidence? Let us not forget that Azazi was from Okoroba in Bayelsa State.

Ask yourself why a Boko Haram "fighting" for Northern Muslims have majority Northern Muslims as casualties? Don't give me the Taliban excuse because Talibans do not bomb the Taliban controlled areas. Have you heard of Hamas blowing up Palestinians?

What do we make of GEJ training some pilots in south Africa, all from SS, Tompolo buying vessels for Nigerian Navy & Asari Dokubo attending military exhibition in Holland?

Take the Oct 1st bombing in Abuja for instance, even before MEND claimed responsibility, GEJ exonerated them & claimed he knew the people behind the bombing, and every sensible & right thinking person will know from that statement that he was trying to put the blame on the Northern Elites. Henry Okah later confessed that he was contacted to plant the bomb, and he (Okah) was jailed b'cos he refused to play ball.

Now, our hatred for the Northerners have beclouded our sense of reasoning and blindfolded us from seeing things as they unfold.

Pls let us examine the following facts below with open minds & decide for ourselves.

(1.) The reported arrest of the suspects that sprayed bullets on the Gombe Deeper Life Church worshippers of which the suspects arrested were alleged to be Igbos. Keen observers would remember that “Boko Haram” claimed responsibility for that attack. Noteworthy also is the fact that the arrested suspects were moved from Gombe to Abuja and since then nothing has been heard about them.

(2.) Shortly after the Gombe Deeper Life Church massacre, following quickly also after the Gombe township bombing fiesta two men, named Hassan Ojudu and Samaila Yakubu, all of them Christians, were arrested in the same Gombe town with a vehicle loaded with explosive devices and ammunitions.

(3.) If the eight COCIN church members arrested with explosive devices at the Miya-Barkatai branch of the church in Bauchi State had succeeded in detonating what they were arrested with, be assured “Boko Haram” would have claimed responsibility.

(4.) If Miss Lydia Joseph had succeeded in burning down the St. John Catholic church in Bauchi city, be assured it would have been attributed to Boko Haram or to Muslims.

(5.) If Emmanuel King, the guy who disguised as a Muslim wearing a turban and kaftan, had succeeded in bombing down the Redeemed Christian Church of God in Yenagoa, the Bayelsa capital “Boko Haram” would have claimed responsibility, and the intended desire for reprisal would have further brought the real desire, which is polarization.

(6.) If Madam Ruth had succeeded in bombing down the ECWA church in the Kalarin area of Kaltungo in Gombe State verily, verily I say unto thee “Boko Haram” would have claimed responsibility notwithstanding whether she was hypnotized or not as some may want to claim.

A word is enough to the wise!

Yours Truly,

zoharariel@aol.com

Just as you replicate the appearance of a musquito, your brain is no different from your looks.

oluwatosin said...

@olubukola @least he did something in there remembrance when people @ the top do something good appreciate them not all of them are bad,bt the bad ones will not let you c the work of the good ones.peace

GEJ's Connection With Boko Haram

Few years ago, when a military officer pointed accusing fingers at General Azazi for master minding the escalation of Boko Haram attacks, everybody said the north was trying to cover up their filth. Hasn't the military officer been vindicated?

Azazi was also accused of gun running in Kaduna and years later, he was killed in air crash along side the Kaduna State Governor -coincidence? Let us not forget that Azazi was from Okoroba in Bayelsa State.

Ask yourself why a Boko Haram "fighting" for Northern Muslims have majority Northern Muslims as casualties? Don't give me the Taliban excuse because Talibans do not bomb the Taliban controlled areas. Have you heard of Hamas blowing up Palestinians?

What do we make of GEJ training some pilots in south Africa, all from SS, Tompolo buying vessels for Nigerian Navy & Asari Dokubo attending military exhibition in Holland?

Take the Oct 1st bombing in Abuja for instance, even before MEND claimed responsibility, GEJ exonerated them & claimed he knew the people behind the bombing, and every sensible & right thinking person will know from that statement that he was trying to put the blame on the Northern Elites. Henry Okah later confessed that he was contacted to plant the bomb, and he (Okah) was jailed b'cos he refused to play ball.

Now, our hatred for the Northerners have beclouded our sense of reasoning and blindfolded us from seeing things as they unfold.

Pls let us examine the following facts below with open minds & decide for ourselves.

(1.) The reported arrest of the suspects that sprayed bullets on the Gombe Deeper Life Church worshippers of which the suspects arrested were alleged to be Igbos. Keen observers would remember that “Boko Haram” claimed responsibility for that attack. Noteworthy also is the fact that the arrested suspects were moved from Gombe to Abuja and since then nothing has been heard about them.

(2.) Shortly after the Gombe Deeper Life Church massacre, following quickly also after the Gombe township bombing fiesta two men, named Hassan Ojudu and Samaila Yakubu, all of them Christians, were arrested in the same Gombe town with a vehicle loaded with explosive devices and ammunitions.

(3.) If the eight COCIN church members arrested with explosive devices at the Miya-Barkatai branch of the church in Bauchi State had succeeded in detonating what they were arrested with, be assured “Boko Haram” would have claimed responsibility.

(4.) If Miss Lydia Joseph had succeeded in burning down the St. John Catholic church in Bauchi city, be assured it would have been attributed to Boko Haram or to Muslims.

(5.) If Emmanuel King, the guy who disguised as a Muslim wearing a turban and kaftan, had succeeded in bombing down the Redeemed Christian Church of God in Yenagoa, the Bayelsa capital “Boko Haram” would have claimed responsibility, and the intended desire for reprisal would have further brought the real desire, which is polarization.

(6.) If Madam Ruth had succeeded in bombing down the ECWA church in the Kalarin area of Kaltungo in Gombe State verily, verily I say unto thee “Boko Haram” would have claimed responsibility notwithstanding whether she was hypnotized or not as some may want to claim.

A word is enough to the wise!

Yours Truly,

zoharariel@aol.com

oluwatosin said...

@luro let appreciate the person that remember them even if it hall is still sometin nt all our leaders that re bad,is jst dat the bad ones re much than the the good ones

God!which tym I remember those kids,I can imagine the pains their parents are going thro.May their souls rest in peace.

oluwatosin said...

May there gentle soul rest in perfect peace

God bless his excellency for this... Amen

SUPERVISOR said...

RAJI FASHOLA FOR PRESIDENT. ANY DISSENTING VOICES? DON'T SEE ANY!!!

Subject to verification of the numbers, Yobe 59- Peace Hall would sound appropriate.

Linda dear! You know, I was crying last night and slept off, didn't know when I slept off, I woke up this morning feeling so tired and pained just thinking about all this killings in the north, and couldn't get out of bed, and when i was thinking about all this killings by boko haram in the north, especially those innocent children that were brutally slain in Yobe, because I love children a lot, I thought to myself, those innocent people that died could have been my friends, my relation, family members, loved ones, siblings, neighbours and worst still, it could have been me! And I must say I thank God, but I wished I was never born into this wicked world

But I kept asking myself when will this ever stop? when will all this killings stop? When will this hate ever stop? My dad once told me that the absence of danger does not guarantee safety (yanga dey sleep trouble go wake am) and its true, only God and not man can give us true security, so we must all run to God to keep us safe from harm, even when you are peaceful, or you try to advocates for peace, people still hate you for no reason, as if they know you, as if you've offended them before or as if you owe them your life, they abuse you, insult you, they bully you with their tongue and many a time this people seem to be shallow minded people

Boko haram are killing our brothers and sisters in the north, may the wrath of God visit them... Amen!
But some of us are no better than them, my catechism taught me that you don't only kill with weapons, you also kill with mouth, that's why some people commits suicide because of the abuse and insult from their fellow humans, that's why some persons will delete their twitter account cos of cyber bullying, that's why some people commits suicide because of cyber bullying, what ever happens to any human being because of the bullying from your mouth, then you are a party to it, you are a party to his depression and possible suicidal death you are the boko haram that killed him indirectly

Please Linda let all media, blogs, news agencies begin to talk about this boko haram issues, blogs just report the incident and number of casualties and become mute about it, till another attack happens before we here another report about it, let them talk about the insecurity of the nation, let's hype it, lets give this government sleepless night till they find a permanent solution to insecurity in this country, let things like "the government should take an offensive action against boko haram, GEJ the blood of slain innocent children are in your hands, the government has failed us, the average citizens wants answers to insecurity, the masses wants the government to carry out their primary obligation of protecting its citizens etc" become trendy, let's move the government to action, just like this blog and other media moved the government to action in the case of "Aluu 4, Ejigbo women torture etc"

Linda we have to start protesting especially the media
God heal Nigeria

#GEJexerciseyourprimaryduty #GEJprotectyourcitizens
#FGseekforeignhelpthisisterrorism

Nyc1 May dere souls rest in perfect peace

FDJ

He is indeed a leader by example, a man with so much within him I respect u sir. May d souls of d departed youths rest in peace.

oh Lord! d blood of these young ones will fight these useless animals called bokoharam,Father,fight for us..pls,fight for us

I wish this Governor could be our next President sha...

Kudos to Fashola and may we get more leaders like him. Hi Linda I like your blog but please be more objective when it comes to giving Reno Omokri a platform to spew hateful, slanderous and political propanganda. 2 days ago this individual was unmasked as the anonymous "Wendell Simlin" who wrote an article linking Sanusi to the tragic slaughter of these young children in Yobe! Who does that?!. Your blog is unnaturally silent about this sick behaviour on his part yet when he writes his govt propaganda, your blog is the first place I read it.....

Such a noble gesture.

Beloved, following the slaughter of about 40kids in their dormitory by boko haram in yobe state, Nigeria, a mandate has been raised by Christians united against this terror. Let God ARISE! God has not changed, He is the same God who ambushed the enemies of Israel. #letGodarise is a divine instruction to call on God to wipe out Boko Haram! 10 minutes of prayer from 12 midnight to 12:10 am on Saturday 1st March. Wherever you are on friday night set your alarm and join at least a million voices and pray LET GOD ARISE! Tell everyone till a million voices arise.Pls share dis let every serious minded christian in ur contact list knw about disLet's go into chain prayers.....surely God will hear our cry,he can't shed blood like dem but we have God of Vengeance who can put an end to dem. Let's join hands together and call down fire upon dem, they are showing us their evil god's anger.....Lets Call Down our Mighty God's anger on dem!!!! God will surely answer us cos He said call me in time of trouble I will Answer thee!!! Share it pls..Time Is Now..."enough is enough!!!!

Let's join this people!

From all your rantings,your Hausa....Tell you people to stop committing atrocities please...Stop killing people

Applauded,but doesn't solve anything

Igor said...

Please where did you get your thought provoking information from.I am deeply disturbed by these revelations.Even if they are in anyway the truth,Northern leaders like Ciroma,Junaid Mohammed and Lawal Kaita threatened to make Nigeria ungovernable for GEJ should he win the 2011 elections.Their threats are now being fulfilled.Long before GEJ became president,the CIA gave analytical evidence about strong arm build ups by religious fundamentalists with links to al-queda in the Sahara regions of Mali,Niger,Chad and Northern Nigeria.Furthermore,these acts were exacerbted by a section of the Northern political dynasty,whom were using poor and disgruntled youths,whom they armed for their selfish political gains.And when they achieved their aims,these youths were abandoned,and the only option left to them would be to resort to violence,using the arms that were given to them.They will now claim to be fighting a religious war.I did my youth service in Jigawa,and I saw a lot of hypocrisy on the part of the ruling Northern elite,and it's resultant poverty,drug abuse and resort to violence at the least provocation by these neglected masses.

What a sad story how heartless can dese demons b little children,awesome job Fashola
*****A-BELLE*****

Igor said...

We all know of the sectarian divisions between shittes and Sunnis in islam.We also know of Talibans attacking Sufists muslims who they claim are not real muslims.

Igor said...

We also know about the power struggle between Hamas and The Fatah movement in Palestine and the death toll whenever they both clash.

Igor said...

We all know of the sectarian divisions between shittes and Sunnis in islam.We also know of Talibans attacking Sufists muslims who they claim are not real muslims.

Igor said...

Please where did you get your thought provoking information from.I am deeply disturbed by these revelations.Even if they are in anyway the truth,Northern leaders like Ciroma,Junaid Mohammed and Lawal Kaita threatened to make Nigeria ungovernable for GEJ should he win the 2011 elections.Their threats are now being fulfilled.Long before GEJ became president,the CIA gave analytical evidence about strong arm build ups by religious fundamentalists with links to al-queda in the Sahara regions of Mali,Niger,Chad and Northern Nigeria.Furthermore,these acts were exacerbted by a section of the Northern political dynasty,whom were using poor and disgruntled youths,whom they armed for their selfish political gains.And when they achieved their aims,these youths were abandoned,and the only option left to them would be to resort to violence,using the arms that were given to them.They will now claim to be fighting a religious war.I did my youth service in Jigawa,and I saw a lot of hypocrisy on the part of the ruling Northern elite,and it's resultant poverty,drug abuse and resort to violence at the least provocation by these neglected masses.

Please make sure they get justice too.

nd how does that help?

OMG!WOMAN said...

"No matter how diverse we are, we are still one people, this is a time when colours and flag do not matter and political ideologies mean nothing we much learn to show respect and value for the lives of fellow Nigerians" well spoken sir.. God grant Nigeria peace, Amen!!!!!!

Hmm, it is well...

Evil campainer,u will fail as always. U think Nigerians don't have sense

NONSENSE!!!!!! wILL THE HALL PROTECT OTHERS IN THE NORTH FROM LOSING THEIR LIVES???!!!! STOP USING OUR LIVES AS PONS AND DO SOMETHING TO STOP IT!! I KNOW HE IS ONLY THE GOVERNOR OF LAGOS STATE AND CANT DO MUCH, BUT HE IS A BIG TIME POLITICIAN AND HAS THE POWER TO SPEAK UP AND CODENM THE WEAKNESS OF THE PRESIDENT AND HIS VOICE WILL BE HEARD!! IM TIRED OF NOTHING BEING DONE!!!

Miracle Onuoha said...

Too long

Looool Oh my days anon 10.02 you are mean sha. Can't stop laffing. But honestly Luro you missed yearn oh

The same Reno that his rise in Abuja was by being the official pimp to the powerful Abuja men and women.forget the bowtie and clean suits,that's how he got into the corridors of power.
I dare you to dispute this Reno then I will finish you amongst the ordinary people even if the Abuja people already know who and what you are.after all,they "patronized" you.dirty,wicked thing.

Tears flow through my eyes! Fashola for president. In memory of the slain children. Sometimes I wonder why can't nigerians unite to fight BH. Instead of tribal wars and unnecessary corruption

Well said!Very deep piece Chikezie....

A.A.O said...

Blazing you are such a useless tribalistic folish goat. Fashola has done something more sensible than what ur entire generation can think of, and here u are talking about ibo traders! Who is talking about tribe here mumu? May God purnish ur stupid tribalistic mind stupid idiot. Ewu.

R.I.P for the dead. We all are busy applauding gov Fashola for naming a hall after those children that were killed by BH. That's nice move, but why did he refused when GEJ want to immortalise MKO Abiola by renaming the Lag Uni to MKO name? what happened to ppl that died in bomb blast in kano, mandela, jos? Why did all these governors refused to speak out or find solution to this problems? Are they waiting for another bloodshed then they will come out and rename another building in the memory of lost ones. these is to politicized the situation. What I believed on this earth is, we all are going to die one day and face our maker to give acct on how we spend our life on earth. God bless nig. Kay.

Fashola is a cut well above most politicians in Nigeria! Deep intellect, suave, urbane, decent public speaker, a man ahead of his time (a study of his several projects in Lagos when some other Governors are busy commissioning ordinary N200k boreholes I can afford, speaks volume about the man's uncommon vision). Just look at the chooce of words spoken extempore (without reading a prepared speech- saw it on TV).

SUGAR DOC said...

Linda and LIBers you read it here first, this man is gonna be president when he runs and is gonna help Nigeria. Nough said

LAM said...

Beloved, following the slaughter of about 40kids in their dormitory by boko haram in yobe state, Nigeria, a mandate has been raised by Christians united against this terror. Let God ARISE! God has not changed, He is the same God who ambushed the enemies of Israel. #letGodarise is a divine instruction to call on God to wipe out Boko Haram! 10 minutes of prayer from 12 midnight to 12:10 am on Saturday 1st March. Wherever you are on friday night set your alarm and join at least a million voices and pray LET GOD ARISE! Tell everyone till a million voices arise.

This is a true leader

AnnMarie said...

At least he has shown affection to their families unlike Mr president

T-bag said...

This man Fashola will do well as President

One of my great world leaders n I love him, God bless ur kind heart my Gov

SIMPLYCOCK said...

Playing to the gallery