Dear LIB readers: I'm not physically attracted to my man | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 26 February 2014

Dear LIB readers: I'm not physically attracted to my man

From a female LIB reader
I have been in a relationship with my man for about 18 months. When I first met him, I never thought anything would come off it. I typically brushed him aside and never gave him too much thought as he is very physically different than what I am usually attracted to in a man. With time, I slowly realized that his character and personality is everything I have ever hoped, dreamed and fantasized about. No kidding. I decided to give us a chance. It has been 18 months now and he has started talking about long term plans i.e getting married. The problem is, whenever I meet or come across anyone with the physical attributes I am attracted to, I start to second guess the whole relationship as I sometimes lust after people who possess these physical attributes. I really can’t help it. I do not want to cheat on this man if we eventually get married but I fear this may happen. I really love this man but this is too confusing. Has anyone ever experienced this dilemma? How did you handle it? How much does physical appearance play in the long run (i.e after you are married)? Reasonable responses please.

251 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 251 of 251
dbesas said...

I just got an answer to be own problem.
Thanks peeps.

FightThePower said...

I recommend you take time out and listen very attentively to the lyrics of D'Banj's "Oliver Twist". What you have is really not a problem. It's called eating your cake and wanting to have it. Be prayerful and extra careful or this craving may really leave you an absolute mess.

sweet bee said...

Yetty, you are the foolish one and you are delusional.you can be in love with some1 and not necessarily be attracted to them.for loving som1 is a decision.got it??#douche

Adeniyi Joy said...

Anon 7:40, madam, I think you seriously need to get help. You can't stay quiet and watch your home Home crashing down. The bible says a good woman builds her home while a bad one pulls hers down. Its your choice what you want so do it wisely. We humans end up making mistakes when we don't let God lead us. And if I may ask you, what kind of example are you laying down for your two children?
No insult.... Absolute respect.

I love only married men

Mayocis said...

Bwahaha all these ugly ugly shortput chics saying eeeya poster I can identify with u cos m xperiencing d same situation. ..I raf bwahaha. Ur man is busy crying n asking God to make ur cup pass over him n he'll neva in his life drink again, talk more of toast a chic wen drunk. Anyways just kidding. Appearance matters alot to me though, cos I want to wake every morning looking at beauty n while sayin my morning prayers tnk God for giving her to me. There's a lot of stress that comes with marriage, n there's nothing as good as lookin at ur partners face n smiling cos he/she is worth d stress. Forget d now n think 60yrs frm now. Will he still love n appreciate me or will he go looking for fresh blood. Ma dear, in d real sense ur supposed to worry bout ursef not ur man.

Anon 7:40pm we are in the same boat, am married too and my husband irritates the creep out of me, u wont believe that I haven't kissed him since we got married and sex is once in 6months, am seriously considering leaving cos am not happy @ all, but my problem is that I don't wanna hurt him... so confused

Oh pls forget this sermon, its not easy changing an adult, that was the mistake I made...getting married to my husband with all the flaws hoping I'd be able to change the guy, today am filled with regrets cos some human beings rarely take corrections

Physical attraction is very important and must be considered by any Single going into marriage.But for pple already married,adjust ur psychological lense to accept the reality before you.U can learn how to begin to appreciate de physical attributes of your spouse.Read "Marriage Without Tears" by Mike Isiguzo.Dat book is full of wisdom.

Cuckoon that is the key right there. Ur respect for him and the institution of marriage. From her story, I suspect she just has a propensity to cheat irrespective of what type of man she's with. Leave that good man alone to find a girl more deserving of him.

Azuka, if u r in love with ur husband, why the daily tears?

Agreed. Perfection does not exist so she needs to figure out the most important 5 or 6 out of the 10 things that r most important to her. If this guy has those, she should marry him. But if physical attraction is No. 1 on that list, let him go

22yrOld said...

idunno why people think she wants a very attractive young man. cant she just have a moderate guy. someone shes proud to be with. i also have the same problem. we have bee dating for a while now. i dont see him as a friend. hes a nice guy but damn he does not try at all. i have so many thoughts going on in my head. i dont even know where to start from. and another issue is he has so many other little things he does that annoy me. to be sincere i think i look down on him. not in a rude way or bad way cause im a very polite well brought up girl.its just i believe i can do better. but i have only met two other guys that liked me as much as he does. the first was only trying to get into my pants and the other it just didnt work out with him. with my present "boo" i can say theres a little bit of security(he isnt doing too bad not that im into him cause of his money. i have enough for myself). but i also hear that men change when real money comes in and that men are really nice when they are trying to get someone they supposedly like and that they go back to their real selves when they get it. other times i think he likes me cause of what i can give him. my family has more money doe he has a good job. and then i also think of how he can be so arrogant at times to those below him. to be sincere i think i know in my heart that hes not the one for me, but i hear a bird in hand is worth two in the bush. and sincerely its like someone has placed a curse on me. i still look the same way i did in 2012 and 2013, if not better. but i have received less than half of the advances i did in 2012/2013. it does worry me cause i know i am hot and i have a good head on my shoulder! but what if people dont see that. what if i cant do better than him. another issue with me is i cant stand men who think they are the center of ones universe. so that already makes 80% of nigerian men not my type so what if this is d best of the 20% for me. i really dont understand why i cant jus stay unmarried. honetly im doing pretty well on my own

In my own case. .. I was too into his other great qualities for me to notice he wasn't particularly the good looking guy... it never bothered me much...

Then we got married about 2 years after we met.. A few times, I got a bit hesitant for him to meet some of my "high profile friends"..but mostly this are the truly unimportant people in the scheme of things..

I am eager for him to meet the people who are Important to me cos I am too eager to show off how awesome he is.. we have been married 1.5 years now.. and honestly I dont know anyone else I would rather be married to...(well... except his exact clone who bears d last name Dangote..lol)..

Sometimes I feel the sex may have been better if he was a "hottie"..but doesnt hold much water cos its good enough..

I guess all I am trying to say is... If you think he is awesome enough to be your husband..and his physical attribute is all u worry about... please DONT let him go (your heart/mind should have told you this by now) as long as he is not physically repelling to you. .

Marriage is way more than the looks (although I still think it has a bearing on sexlife... ).. Marry a GOOD man with good values, integrity, a responsible one who cares for you and everyone else around him and you most likely won't care abt his looks in d long run.

GOODLUCK..

#Okbye #enoughranting

22yrOld said...

ps when i say he does not try i dont mean hes not tall dark and handsome i mean he is ugly. lol. that sounds harsh but its the truth and the worst is he doesnt really care. what pisses me off the most is how he expects that i look good for him but he doesnt make any efforts to improve himself for me. also i really dont mind if a guy isnt tall. so far hes my height and im not a tall girl so thats not even bad.

anonymous 6:41 speaks my mind. that is my greatest fear... imagine i marry an ugly man because hes good to me while we are courting only for him to show me his real behaviour after marriage. plus hes now ugly. so i have married an ugly man in and out who would now cause my children to be ugly outside(i cannot rear children that would be ugly inside regardless of my husbands behaviour). have i not failed as a mother. afterall my mother married a man who was and is beautiful inside and also beautiful outside/my dad isnt a stud but he sef he try plenty)

Azuka ooooo.....hahahahahaha, you are just a crazy one!

Even less handsome men want to cheat on their wife's, just because they think is their right to have fun from time to time but the women no...

You love this man but you aren't in love with him. If not u will have accepted his imperfections and shortcoming long ago .Just let him go don't waste ur tym. my own two cent

You have mad issues! Stop wasting his time please. Hiss!

public live+social media=gbagaun.......go back to school dear d section for comments aint for every1 *peace*

True!

looks fade, personaliy is forever

Very true and wise comment

Ahan are you for real? Ok u fell in love before u met him which I still don't get after u met him nko why did u still go ahead am sure it was greed he had money wasn't living in the country they paid ur dowry and now u are hooked. Smh

Gbam!!!!!!!!

Well said Jade+ prayer is very key knowing change is constant...change can be to 1's favor or disfavor, so pray to get it right

yisha said...

pUPS should stop talking bout list nd greed cuz did has nth to do wit day. Every reasonable lady has her dream man wot she wants her husband to be Lyk and act Lyk.babe if u date marry day man u wild cheat on him. Nth he does wild old u den. Let him find some day wild luv b cherish him even his Lyk. But know dat no man is perfect xo dnt set ur standards too high. God be wit u.

my dear i av bin in this dilemma before. the guy i was with was fat and he had a lot of yucky moments if u kno wat i mean buh he had a beautiful soul and was caring romantic and everytin any girl wld dream of. d problem is weneva we speak ova d fone i get buterflies but on seeing him i av a sicking feeling cos of his stature. all i did was call it off and i told him cldnt give him d love he desires cos i wasnt physically attracted to him and i knew i wld def cheat. so ts better to break his hrt nw than to do it later on.

The truth about marriage is that everybody want to be loved. With the qualities you mentioned that this dude poses and i quote "I slowly realized that his character and personality is everything I have ever hoped, dreamed and fantasized about.", i doubt if you will find these qualities in any man your physically attracted to, as such a man will definitely have an EGO problem.

I think you shld leave him now. I was in a dimilar situation for over a yr. We met thru a friend and we started tslking on phone before meeting him. I was excited and really liked d person I was talking wt on phone but was very disappointed wn I saw him on one. I wanted to quit immediately but my family said im too choosy and that im not getting younger. So I decided to give him a try. But dear, he is a complete opposite of my kind of man. He is short and not attractive at all and extremely stingy and selfish. In my 2 yrs wt him, this guy didnt think of giving a gift. I relocated to another state to get a new job (i was jobless wn i met him)and I rented an apartment and set it up. All he did was calling to ask how far I av gone wt raising fund. It was my brother that helped me. He never offered to raise me wt s few naira wn I was jobless. Wn I visit snd cook for him, he wl give me 1or2k wn im leaving. Birthday, valentine, xmas, new yr, easter o NO GIFT at all. My sis, this guy came to my house on the 26th of dec. last yr anf didnt bring a pin as a gift for me or anybody in my house and there I made up my mind that, it is better for me to run now. Imagine u claim to love and want to marry a lady and u are not ready to spend a dime on her. He went to UK and bought nothing for me. He claimed his niece took d bottle of perfume he got for me. The only thing I owe him is a shirt he bought for me from twice as nice after I asked him what he got for me from his SA trip last yr . imagine s relationship of two yrs. I don go o and now hee wants me back. Is that possibpossible?

NOKIA FMC said...

Hei, woman run run go away far oooo
I am in soup now. I tot I could manage, i married a lady I dont feel for, I dont have head long attraction for, now i am planing to end a marriage of just one year... dont trade anything u cant bear....
Its hellish ooooo.
Physical Attraction matters ooo, learn from my error. had i known.

Richard Okpanachi said...

First i think you are a very selfish girl, it might surprise you to know that you have got something that irritates him as well but because he loves you he believes you both can work it out and you are there thinking its all about what you want no! its about what both of you want...if i'm not mistaken you have started seeing someone already...i don't know what it feels like driving a 2016 model of a range-rover until i drive in one....you are lusting after what you don't need. your need is in your hands put yourself in the place of change. Otherwise come out straight and say you never loved him and let him be

you will surely end up in church after forty still looking for the right man.

Dear poster you are so vain, and you are not in love with the said guy because if you are you know fit see the wowo.

*READ*
listen, if u r still lusting after other men then u dnt love him, u just think u do, think again. if u LOVE someone, u cant nt be attracted to him, i guess u just feel lonely, bt take my advice, make a list, think, do u actually love him, does ur heart leap or burn when u see him or think abt him, contrary to other ppl's advice, dnt try to change him, it means u dnt love him, if u do u'll love almost everything abt him including his imperfections. THINK babe, and dnt make a decision u'll regret forever, marriage shuld be a lifetime thing and dnt let ur loneliness think for u. My opinion, dnt go on with the relationship cos physical attraction is important, i knw a good man is hard to find bt wait patiently for him. Well it's still ur choice

I felt like that with my hubby too. You just have to be determined to make it work. All those physical guys have absolutely nothing to offer.
ADVICE!!!
Hold on to that wonderful guy you've got and keep your eyes out of the world. Be dedicated darling. Soon he would be the perfect figure even if he has pot belly.

I think you need to make up your mind......Marriage is for a Life time

Sounds like Teju baby face and Tobi

this will be a common problem for women who married their husbands either cos of desperation or money or fame or connection. It's is hard to be physically attracted to a husband you dont really love. Especially wives of many big boys (cos they married for money). Such women will make the guy feel they love him, they will fuck him like there is no tomorrow but in their heart, each sex is repulsive to them. Such women always pretend to cum. And thei men will be there feeling cool. For a woman who marries for money, when you finally get the money, you will begin to crave the real love which you dont have for your hubby. This is one of the reasons why there is a rise in divorces and adultery

For women who marry men that are 17years and above older than them. It is possible that the man looked okay when you were dating him o. Fast forward to 10 years and above later. The man will look like your father and he will be using viagra to sleep with you. Most of such men lose the desire to have sex from their 50s. It will be hard for u to feel comfortable with him in public at that time cos he will look like your father while u will still be sisi-like

I feel irritated, when I read some comments here. Especially, when one is seeking advise that should come from responsible matured minds. Must people type, when they know they have nothing good to offer. Too bad. Marriage is for matured minds and it takes a lot to be matured to the mind.

Hmmm. Really sounds Tejubabyface and TobiAttentionSeeking

My honest advise,stick with him u can't have it all

Thanks anonymous 2:56,I'm in such a relationship now. I'm older and more educated than he is but he has good characters and morals although he's shorter. Also, he's more than fantastic in bed. Thanks for the advise.

mehn...babe marriage is not a physical stuff its spiritual. so i will advice u to go spiritual on this

THE GREAT DR ehi WHO BROUGHT MY HUSBAND BACK TO ME IN JUST ONE DAY. My name is Nancy John from uk, I got married 1 year ago. My husband and I have been living a very happy and lovely life. So as time went on, I began to notice this strange attitude that he was possessing. He was now going out with other girls, to the extent that he was no longer picking up my calls, and he was not even sleeping in the house anymore. I became confused and didn't know what to do anymore. So i became worried and stranded, that brought so many thoughts into my mind, because I have never experienced a thing like this in my life. So I decided to visit a spell caster, to see if he can help me out. So immediately I went to the internet, where I saw an amazing testimony of a spell caster who brought someone's ex lover back, "DR ehi" so I contacted him immediately and I explained to him all my problems and he told me that it will be very easy for him to solve, compare to the ones that he has done before. And he also gave me some proof to be really sure of his work, and he assured me that my husband will come back to me as soon as he is through with the spell casting. And also he told me to put all my trust in him, and I really obeyed him. So it was 8:00 am on the next morning, when I was about going to work, when i received my husband call, and he told me that he was coming back home, and he was apologizing to me telling me that he is very sorry for the pain that he has cost me. And after some hours later, he really came back home, and that was how we continued our marriage with lot of love and happiness, and our love was now stronger than how it were before. DR ehi also told me that once my heart desire has been granted unto me that i should go and testify of his work right here on the internet. Right now I am the happiest woman on earth today as I am writing this testimony, and I want to really thank "DR ehi" for bringing back my husband, and for bringing joy and love to my family. So my greatest advice for you out there who your husband or your wife is acting strange, or you have any problem with your relationship or anything that has to do with spell casting,He is capable of solving any problems.All you need do is for you to contact this man anytime, and i assure you that he will be of help to you,I am 100% sure that he will solve it out.drakugbespellhome@gmail.com

If you are going for most excellent contents like I do, only pay a visit this web page everyday because it
gives quality contents, thanks

Here is my web site - iron knights free Gems

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 251 of 251   Newer› Newest»