Gabrielle Union kinda blames herself for break with Dwayne + Gives relastionship advice | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 10 January 2014

Gabrielle Union kinda blames herself for break with Dwayne + Gives relastionship advice

Gabby's boyfriend of many years Dwyane Wade got his side chick pregnant while on a 'break' with the actress...and she kinda blames herself.

The newly engaged 41 year old beauty tells Glamour magazine
When Dwyane and I broke up briefly in 2013, it was because of distance and scheduling. I finished filming Being Mary Jane, then I flew to Vegas right away to start shooting Think Like a Man Too. I couldn't take time off, and I missed some quality togetherness we desperately needed. Over the summer, I reassessed priorities. I'd always wanted an awesome career with back-to-back projects, but I realized I wasn't willing to sacrifice my relationship for it. Moving forward, I decided my work schedule has to make sense for our family. Bottom line: If an issue's a deal breaker, it's a deal breaker. If your relationship isn't something you're willing to give up and you can compromise, do so.
She also gives relationship advice. See that after the cut...

DO forget your "type." It worked for me. When I met Dwyane, his "résumé" looked like crap: athlete, going through a divorce, nine years younger than me. None of that screamed, "Let's have a lasting relationship." Then, after I had a heart-crushing breakup with yet another immature jerk, I thought, it can't be any worse if I date a fetus. Let's just see what happens. Turned out he'd been on his own since he was 15. He had wisdom that comes with facing an insane amount of adversity. He's sweet, funny, honest about his shortcomings. When I put my preconceived notions to the side, I found someone cool.

DON'T put up with a friend-versus-boyfriend tug-of-war. Some friends act possessive and say, "You're not spending enough time with me." Huh? Remember when we made our vision boards and the dude was in the middle? You're supposed to be happy for me. Thankfully, my girls are like, "High-five!" And D likes to be around them too. If there's weirdness, either something's wrong with the friends—or the boy. Investigate. And sift accordingly.

DO show him your feelings. Daily. Dwyane generally gets up before I do to go to the gym, and he's never left without kissing me and telling me he loves me. As for me, I am complimentary to the point where I am almost a little Chester the Molester-y. I think he's so delicious. Watching him get out of the shower never gets old. Never. It's not like he ever wonders what I'm thinking, but usually he's thinking, She needs a cold shower!

DON'T write off an ex (or get back together) without really thinking it through. When you're debating whether to go backward or forward, you have to look at the original issue. [When Dwyane and I broke up briefly in 2013], it was because of distance and scheduling. I finished filming the show, then I flew to Vegas right away to start shooting Think Like a Man Too. I couldn't take time off, and I missed some quality togetherness we desperately needed. Over the summer, I reassessed priorities. I'd always wanted an awesome career with back-to-back projects, but I realized I wasn't willing to sacrifice my relationship for it. Moving forward, I decided my work schedule has to make sense for our family. Bottom line: If an issue's a deal breaker, it's a deal breaker. If your relationship isn't something you're willing to give up and you can compromise, do so.

126 comments:

FIRST!

i can't even deal. would he have accepted her if she'd gotten pregnant for someone else while they were on that "break"? mschew

Fuck your opinion said...

Beautiful black woman. She should save d advice for her self.

BUBU said...

Hmmn... Nice words from a pretty woman.U go gurl.I pray ya'both work out.

Woomie said...

Abegi! I understand her, she's only saying this so that peace would reign but how long was dis so called break? It wasn't up to 6 months for God's sake. Does it mean Dwayne can't even hold himself for a short period of time? Gawd! D guy is irresponsible!
Once a cheater, always a cheater. He will cheat again and who will u blame then?

awwwww! God bless her heart.
I pray Eves listen and take heed.

Campaign after election

Relationship needs attention, especially when u in a distance one. Try spend quality time 2geda once in a while. Men can't hold for too long as we women. Their p***s stands every morning, some control it while some can't . It takes self discipline.

Is she tryin to convince hersef or us??? Wateva rocks ur boat gal!!! Gudluck

Heard

She is the last person that should give relationship advice. Marriage and relationships hit rough spots. He can free *** every time and make how many more children each time...disgusting and true. She will be step mom to many more

Discover the hidden weight loss secret of top Celebrity

Nice one miss Wade... Don't try leave D for long again o..

Matured mind. Its good to date a matured lady not all these chewing gum girls that don't know anything. That's why I like older women. Their understanding is something else.

FUnny hw ppl can tuirn preachers afta a hrtbrk.

REXOVIC said...

AS LONG AS THEY BOTH ARE HAPPY.......WISH THEM LUCKY!!

Deep!!

#That happy sister!

I DON"T ADVOCATE SINGLE LIFE. BUT IF WE LEARN TO ENJOY OUR OWN COMPANY, WE CAN GET OTHERS TO DO SO. SPEND MORE TIME WITH YOUR SELF TO FIND YOURSELF.

Shes 41 already, she shud jst move on... life z too short to b sad bout one randy dude

Just shut up already jare...

taye-maria said...

awwww so cute but she shouldnt blame herself for Dwayne having a baby mama. He should know what a condom is kmt

Mrs E said...

So typical #abusedwomansymdrom

JustPorsh said...

Cute couple.
Wish them well!

Gabby,dis engagmt tin is getting boring n long just get married if u truly love him

Ijjoy said...

Is she trying to justify his cheating ass? Hw can she working nw turn in2 break up or being apart for a while? This is unacceptable. Gaby stop making excuses for him, u a beta than this Abeg. Once a cheater always a cheater

Aunty linder gbagun,........its relationship.

tee said...

It doesnt make sense at all.....she is going to get to the menopause stage soon enough and what will she do then.?will she Stil tink "Dwayne's getting out of the shower never grows old"?

Something older than her should please marry and love her...... naija men, please help her.......na una work be that.... @tee

olori said...

Will keep them in mind

tee said...

It doesnt make sense at all.....she is going to get to the menopause stage soon enough and what will she do then.?will she Stil tink "Dwayne's getting out of the shower never grows old"?

Someone older than her should please marry and love her...... naija men, please help her.......na una work be that.... @tee

NA WA OH; WHEN PEOPLE LIKE GABRIELLE UNION AND TOKE MAKINWA GIVE RELATIONSHIP ADVICE! LAFF WAN BURST MY BELLE OH!!!

Hmmnnnnnnnn.... Don't even knw what to say!

love love love..lol

Nairaland said...

this one also realised after almost late? No more serious relationship these days. Don't get me wrong, I mean a few relationship on a serious base these days

Oh please spare me the rhetoric. Whatever floats their boat.

A fool at 40,is a fool forever,this advice should be conin from a 29yr old not a granny

Being mary jane rocks

She is sooooo desperate bt again who wants to be single? Not me, so I feel her much.

martha said...

i wish ladies would realize their worth and know we all deserve better........as hard as it is not to blame ourselves we really should stop blaming ourselves when they cheat on us because no matter what you do......if you like kiss his ass shower him with all the love,food and sex,attention in this world if he wants to cheat he will cheat i dont know if the guys that dont cheat exist but i know with faith that if you depend on God,do his will,be patient and know your worth God will personally create that perfect one for you that wold never hurt you.

GU I love u but pls blaming urself for d brk up is just stupid,makes me feel like ur self esteem is low,it takes two to tango so u can't blame urself,wat was his role b4 d brk up?? As 4 d advice I "kinda" agree wiv u,small
@UA

Ok noted

True story ooo. Loves her o gabby union diva of life,lady of life.

may b said...

Well I get her point... All dese groupies n their claws, he gets engaged, she grows fangs too! Anyway, the best news is anoda think like a man if I read correctly so yay! Gabby noz wat she wants n so does he bt he shld go n sin no more! #pressain'tplayin!

The Glamour staff must have had a hearty laugh after this interview. Gabby should stop embarrassing herself offering relationship advice when D-Wade's betrayal is so fresh.

wow! i have always loved this girl

Well said Gabby,i hope u both last for as long as u wish...love is all that matters. jarey...

Hissssssss!!!!!! Osi Oro!!!! Like my man said, people would always find a reason to excuse their bad decisions.

lolx.....she's at a delicate stage of her life,she wudnt wana be jumpin frm one man to anoda at her age na...she's now TEAMSTAYINGPUT##

Linda Kindly preview your updates before posting them...."Relastionship"

Ann Marie said...

she's throwing caution to the wind. the baby mama said they've been dating for a long time

OMG!WOMAN said...

But she dong use style insult this guy o! Featus and the rest lmao

Aby said...

beautiful piece of advice

Its only a stupid person dat wil put deir career abv som1 dey truly love..btw som men are so rigid dey cnt even express deir feelins...love wher she said " he looks so delicious" Cc

diamondblinqZ said...

Hmm... Too late. Cryin ova spilt milk.

chy nkem said...

Ehya, deliver us frm Eva

God Help You Guys!

Hmmmmm, nice I wish I had ur kinda heart.

Please shut up and throw back his ring

Chika said...

Hi Linda. I totally agree with the idea of dotting on one's man and showing him you love him daily. I believe if a man treats like bad because you show you love him makes him immature and isn't worthy to be a boyfriend. I wish them all the best.

I don't need your advice Ms Union

Desy said...

I really thought that relationship would last

Kriz said...

COMMUNICATION IS REALLY AN IMPORTANT ASPECT OF YOUR RELATION, COMMITMENT TO YOUR RELATIONSHIP IS ALSO VERY VITAL... LESSON LEARNED!

Well said lady nd fink like a Man nd act like a lady

Ladies be careful

Sincerely,its so true..her advice made lots of sense..

Women! We let men get away with so much!

LMAO @ date foetus. I can only hear the voice of a desperate woman. He is gonna cheat on u again when u re off to work. Anyway u guys always ve an option. Divorce! U re stuffing urself wt shit. Uk.kofo

Fina said...

Stupid girl. Let her be deceiving herself. Wait! More babies and their mamas are coming your way.

#Pathetic. Well, if they are actually MFEO, the pregnant side chic can't prevent 'em from moving on. But Dwane! Dude is like "No dulling" #toomuchtestosterone

That's a beautiful one though....need that ryt now

IamLeaky said...

Ohk!!! Nexttt plzzzzzz

Eeyah! Crying over a spilt milk..
-Yemoh.

Nice 1 there miss Union.

Eh yah too bad #bright bravo#

!Story! Bottom line? Dude banged another chick and knocked her up!! Gabby....you better sit up. Remember ur 41 and ur tubes are counting down

I love her advice, but don't buy into her blaming herself for the break up, wreaks of desperation. Didn't Wade know she was an actress when they hooked up? Doesn't he travel too? Hilary Obiorah

I love women that blame themselves first.

king said...

gabrielle is real beautiful,,,,, period

TangoTangoAlpha said...

Considering the amount of drama and relationship mess in both their histories she's only qualified to give any advise on relationships after their diamond anniversary.

Don said...

Well said girl...lessons to learn from. Sure she has learnt from all the romance movies she has been acting too.

pwitie B said...

Eiya u will get ur man back no matter d misunderstanding u look good together jst mek sure u amend ur mistakes

Vikky said...

Money is not everything in life. It cannot be compared to happiness and dignity. A woman can achieve all in diz world; money, a name, a gud career just name it but if she has no man 2 submit to then itz all vanity. ℓ̊ feel 4 U̶̲̥̅̊ Gabriel coz ℓ̊ luv all ur movies but a home ia better than a reigning career. Just put urself 2gether and move ahead, itz a new year

BABYCAKES$$$ said...

I really love gabrielle union, wow neva knew she's 41....... She's very beautiful,love her movies,good actress. Anyways she knows best,she definately knows d best for her. Wish them all d best. *muah*

Hmmm! Hope this story of hers remains the same after few yrs of marriage,otherwise I wishh them all the best.

Mab said...

Wow she rilly loves her man

MISSPERFECT said...

41years too young for that age Lidiway

Ooooooooook snap!!!

Ohk o

Uptight Gabby! Park well joor! Dey do ur uptight Oxford/ Harvard gurl, dem tear eye tingz go show you inwa!! Hiss

Ooooooooook snap!!!

" Then, after I had a heart-crushing breakup with yet another immature jerk, I thought, it can't be any worse if I date a fetus....." Buahahahaha!!! This chick is a nutter!

Dis lady's reasoning is sooo on point. Many girls should learn from her.

Nawah for dis una love saga so wetin make we do for u now (gabrielle union)

Cheezy said...

Good advice. Ese gan!

hugobabe said...

Abeg jare,u two should get married and lets know u guys re for real

Kogi Media said...

K

Ok seen

Good point! Wish Miss know all here cn ans dis

GOOD FOR HER! WOMEN NEED TO LEARN HO TO BE SIDE CHICKS....MEN MUST CHEAT..JUST DEAL WITH IT...YOU ARE ALL SIDE PIECES

Love this comment!! Lol

That was one hell ova relastionship advice sha

Oh my gabrielle I hope he's 4 real oo!cos anytime der is a quarrel or break he wil go and impregnate sme gurl!hmm bros u for try use condom na!he's so nt responsible.mstewww

#pathetic If they are actually MFEO, the side pregnant gurl won't prevent 'em from moving on. But this Dwane guy! Dude is like "No dulling" #toomuchtestosterone

its funny how no one here is saying it serves Gabriel right. afterall she destroyed dwaynes marriage and helped to kick his wife when she was already on the ground during the divorce and child custody battle. of which his wifes family took him in when he was only 15 years old when he had no one and they raised him as their own. yet he treated their daughter like shit. anyways I hope he continues to father children with other women. gabby got what she asked for. u cant expect to graduate frm being a side chick to being a main chick and expect some other whore to not that your old position.

Ha see this one. Where in your dictionary did you see Linder? Abeg its Linda.

Be gentle with Gabby. She has history of rape which may be the source of this tolerance of dirty behavior. It's possible to heal after trauma but one may have issues with perception. She's come a long way but I totally get it. After experiencing something so awful this foolishness seems minor in her eyes. If they make it to the alter may God protect their marriage.

Entina said...

True words Gabby, wish all women can be honest n not always put all the blame on guys when a relationship starts getting ugly. I wish them all d best!

Why do I have this feeling dat u'll be one igbo man ga na atu order na relationship. Nwa nne welu a nwayo oh

She sounds like a loser, what's her deal.

nigeria news said...

They were such a cute couple

Igwilo obinna said...

Dwayne wade of miami heat. I like him. Do as u like my man, I am solidly behind u

Rough Diamond said...

Anon u dey mind d otele!
Anuofia jeneviv, u sef get mouth to correct person wey u be stark illiterate! Olosho wanna feel funky! Npama!

PAPIGREY said...

JUST PASSING

Have always loved this couple 2bits. Try and save your relationship. #stillloveyouboth

ZeeZee said...

Baby MaMa drama on its way- the reason why some men treat women with second hand value is because alot of women are acting quite second hand-y, doesnt matter if you are 41 like Gab or 59 everyone deserves good treatment, love and respect - read what the bilble says about love

Petro... T said...

Get the honey first then the bees will come uninvited.....

HE IS 31 SHE IS IN HER 40'S

Nkiru said...

I just lyk d fact dat she looks this gud @ 41 dat's all.

Amarachukwu said...

The lady that wants the ring,that was the role she played in think like a man.

Vee said...

Rough diamond yaff kee me with lafta! Lmao @olosho wanna feel funky. Hahahahahaha

She's talking from a point of wisdom and understanding, she has forgiven her man...its not like he woke and said "Damn, I feel like getting someone pregnant today". As much as y'all av something silly to say, she has a point, several ones in fact. Take the one U can and leave the rest. Besides, its not addressed to anyone's name here. @Gabriel, U aiit. @ haters, pls we have several lagoons, wells, and transformers. Yes! Mo take e personal!

Grandma gabby, hp all works out for dem.

Lisa said...

They were never on a break as the time she claimed they were on a break, she had posts and pix of both her and Dwayne on her Instagram. This was shown by TMZ on their TV show. This is where over- sharing comes back to bite!! Gabby should take several seats.

Pls, what type of Igbo are u speaking? Olodo dat can't write his/her language properly. don't even write at all... Lmao @ 'welu a nwayo oh'

Me too!! Love this comment

Yep i said it, bite me said...

Gabby Get outta here!