"Day I slept under the bridge" Ramsey Noah shares rags2riches story | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 5 January 2014

"Day I slept under the bridge" Ramsey Noah shares rags2riches story

Celebrities have started sharing their rags to riches story to inspire people who look up to them. In a new interview with Sunday Sun, actor Ramsey Noah recalled the years before the fame and money.
"Those were the times when things got really bad for my mother and I and we had nothing. It was so bad that we didn’t have a home or shelter to live in. We had to stay in a store, a small store that could take only one mat. My mother and I squeezed ourselves in that mat. We didn’t even have a cup to drink water not to talk of a stove to cook. And my mother had to borrow, beg and stuff like that. These were moments when I was young I didn’t realize the gravity of poverty we were in, I couldn’t tell. But it was a good orientation for me. It was moments that I thank God for making me past through, because that has sustained and helped me even as an actor. The ability to deliver all the roles they give me because I have tasted both sides of the coin." Ramsey said. Continue..

Tell us about your growing up?
My growing up was like tasting the two sides of a coin. When I said tasting the two sides of a coin; I mean tasting being a rich man and a poor man. I grew up with my mother, and with a silver spoon, I had it all. When I began to realize that I had good things to show off, everything disappeared. We started from grace to grass; that has helped me a lot because it totally balanced the equation of life. It gives me confidence in all spheres. For instance, I can hang out with the enlightened or the rich. I can mingle with them very easily without any complication or complex whatsoever. Also, if it is the low class or poor people, I can mingle very easily with them. I can eat a fantastic dinner in a huge, expensive restaurant and I can go eat amala at a buka and I would not feel anything. I don’t care being a popular actor or a role model. I am a role model to everybody.

Are you saying that fame has not denied you anything in life?
It has denied me a few, but it has not denied me being as natural as I want to be. I won’t let that happen. It has happened to some of my colleagues. Fame has taken them away from what they wanted to do or be. There was a time I went to a bank to pay my NEPA bill and I was wearing a short and T-shirt, because it was on Monday morning somebody came down and said ‘Ramsey Noah, you are a role model, you shouldn’t have been wearing this’. I didn’t take it likely with him.

With all these experiences, what has life taught you?
Life has taught me never to look down on anybody because the person you disregard might just be your saviour tomorrow. I realized that all my mother’s property was washed away by rain. We couldn’t sleep all through the night because of the flood. It was really terrible. Like I said, it is a life lesson.

Is there anything that can make you cry or shed tears after all you passed through?
Yeah, those moments; those terrible moments when we had nothing and we were living off people. People were just helping us out. There were times we didn’t have food to eat three or four days. You haven’t eaten and your stomach is rumbling but you don’t have any place to go. There was a time I lived on the street, in shops. There was a time I slept under the bridge. It was unfortunate that there were no records so that we can have memories we could play back now. To me, I am so extremely grateful that I went through it. At that time I hated everybody around me. In fact, I used to question why God was doing this to me. But I think God knew that I needed this for my future.

126 comments:

Thank God everydy coz he made it possible

Chika Ike wld soon tell us how she grew up in the white house with American president, dumb bitch.

Well obviously evry1 has a story.cnt wait 2tel ma own wen I get 2d top.Its gona b one hell of a diary #sadFace

Amarachi said...

Thank GOD for your life

So tounchin,,once teres life,tere must b ope..just 2 av faith. N trust d lord.

Olusina said...

We thank God for your life my brother. May you not know practical poverty again in Jesus name. Please, ensure you get to the Lord.

Crystal said...

Eeyah, behind every glory, there's a story to tell. God lifts a poor man and makes him to dine with kings. I'm happy you didn't give up on life, and I pray people get inspired by this story and trust God more.

Ramsey Ɣ☺ΰ pple shud not com n be acting fiction for us here abeg. I'm sure wat really happened is Ɣ☺ΰ were drunk n slept off under dat bridge.

Som1 who knows Ɣ☺ΰ. Ijesha connection

lexxy said...

touching

Kobii said...

No one knows 2moro.......

God has bless u now,b wise.

capt nonis said...

Wao so inspiring I will never loose hope

This is really something to embrace. lets all learn from this story.

Everyone sure has a story..problem is...some ppl just want d glory without a story... 4gettin dat success is a journey..
*the cook*

God's grace saw him thru'. Ne'er stop believing.

marvel said...

what an encouragement..our beginning may be little but our end, prosperous.

Ramsey is one of our best actors! I adore him cos he conducts himself well! No wonder though,his early poverty must have helped! Kudos!

MAMA TEA said...

BERU BA MO NU RO NI ADUPE,
IN AIYEFELE VOICE, CONGRATULATIONS MY BROTHER!

Kessysoft said...

life's lesson indeed.... am believing God for my breakthrough this year...
happy Sunday aunty Linda.

KESSYSOFT VIA ANDROID...

BRIGHTINO said...

Everyone now claiming they had nothing before the fame. Even those born with silver spoon.

Mercy Johnson okojie has set the ball rolling!Its gud hearing how balanced ur life has been.errrm pls note,Amala @ a Buka is not a poor man's food.lol

Janelicious said...

everybody has his or her own story in this life.

Lepa shandy said...

Hmmm such is life
We all have stories

Bein real is d p....cool ramsey

ST. KIZITO BOUTIQUE IG: @stkizitoboutique said...

Touchin'.......buh now you made it........we thank God

d future z always bright.... am inspired!!

Ladyp said...

Hmmm. Me 2

Mrs E said...

Is he rich now? Didn't know he was rich

I am inspired. This builds my faith. Yes i can make it.

mary moore said...

Oh my God! We all have storys to tell. I feel u Ramsey.

bizzy bright said...

Hmmm so touching.....

Indeed...

Thank God for your life. We all stories to tell.
Akunwa

Aw, such a touching story. He came out of the darkness into the light. His plight made him the great actor that he is today.

God bless you Ramsey, Linda your own story sef na inspiration, I remember when I used to comment for free ticket to shows n I got it on here, we were very few who used to read ur blog then but today, u r a great story. 2014 is ma turn *shinesTeeth* BGM

Iphie dearie said...

Fine man,talented actor!! God has a way of turning our mourning into laughter..tnx for sharing...Humility pays

Ekele diri Chineke* Rolling my eyeballs**

pwitie B said...

Have always known him as someone that is humble God bless u d more

Ramasey Noah... I love you!!!!

Mab said...

Most of us all have our stories to tell

Fammie said...

We all have stories to tell, if I begin tell my own we no go comot here, Linda dey tell her own everytime....Do not despise the days of humble beginning.. God remember your son this year ooo

Lies!!!

Abeg make e be I no get time 4 dis story errrybody get his or her story me sef don sleep for filling station near the fuel dispenser at night bros nobi only u park well joor

Hmmmmmm gud 4 him

Ow much does he has?if u re talking about rich man,pls don't mention his name.brokerrrrrrrrrs

bherttie said...

we all have our stories to tell'''''''''''''

Stories like this should inspire youths to success. They should realize that money doesn't come once, but a gradual process.

Change is constant!

Yes God knew that you needed it for your future....Glory to God, who has changed your story.

LAST TO COMMENT said...

Next please

everyone has a story to tell

Oh so touching, everything in life has a reason, God knows best. Thk God 4 whr he is 2day.. So my dear ones God is taking us somewhere! Kunmsykay

everyone has a story to tell
I Thank God for your life

slimzyose said...

Ok so life rili taught u nt 2 luk down on any one bt u did jst dat @ d club in surulere wen u snubbed a gurl who was jst excited 2 see u,felt so bad 4 d gurl wen she left wiv shame

I understand what he is saying,the painful part is when you tell your friends and they don't take it serious.I have learnt to keep things to myself.

slimzyose said...

Ok so life rili taught u nt 2 luk down on any one bt u did jst dat @ d club in surulere wen u snubbed a gurl who was jst excited 2 see u,felt so bad 4 d gurl wen she left wiv shame

Emmatex plc said...

In every condition we jst av to tank God' ur blessings is coming soon"

olami said...

If you have a chance to meet mr ramsey noah, you will know he is indeed a gentle man, not like some who feels they are king in one country. #True hero #respect

Emmatex plc said...

In everything let's always give tanks to God,

Dude, u must be one of those sick Nigerians who only respect people with money and fame. He just opened up to the world and yr dumb response was how much does he have? A Rich man is one who has but is humble. I'm guessing u also a broke as bitch.

Ramsey Ramsey Ramsey!!! Plz stop pretending u mingle properly with people who r not ur class becos u don't! I hv firsthand experience from you! U r a very big snub!

U just murdered the English language " how much does he has"? I wonder when U became Ramsey's bank account officer....shuooo!

Shut up foo!

onyinye said...

u r wrong dear, Noah is a nice guy, nd will never look down on anyone. i'm a waitress nd he's my customer we play alot nd one will tink i'm screwin him but he's just down to earth.

Ralphy belly said...

Wow such a touching story. God change ma story 2

.HE CAN MINGLE WITH THE RICH OR LOW CLASS...SO WHAT IS NEW?? THESE PPL TAKE THEMSELVES WAY TOO SERIOUSLY...RAMSEY U ARE JUST A REGULAR JOE..IS IT BCOS U ARE AN ACTOR??/ BIG DEAL!!!

lois sam said...

Haba! Is it a competition? Dint Mj just share hers?....*laughing so hard in cantonese*...oga ramsey wen were u ever broke? I still remember u from mega fortunes in d early nineties...

Why do I not believe d rag part of his story? Its too abstract! Like he wants to just tell a story that his Nollywood script mind tells him is realistic! Ramsey Noah, pls move away with your fake story! Mat my arse!

mimi said...

O puleese. Really dnt have 2 commen if udnt hve anything SENSIBLE 2 say. What can i say u even luk SENSELESS!!

mimi said...

I see how rich u re from ur english and grammar. Way 2 go RICH champ!

i believe say the girl na u.

Dis story, linda"s and mercy johnson. On the day I read Linda's, I gav d phone to my hubby to also read cos we were both dpressed. Afta reading, we looked at each oda and said, d rit message at d rit time. We held hands, prayed and our hope and faith was lifted. U use your blog to entertain those dat wants to be entertained and inspire dos that needs inspiration. I get all from your blog. God bless u with generational blessing in Jesus name

GBUWAAAAAYYYYY!!!

Ann Marie said...

Everyone with their own story

There's always a story in every success. Who's next?

Nyiny said...

Omo Baba, ur grammar shaa. And u have d effrontery to insult him? Pls ask him to lend u money so u take ur silly self to school,for proper education. Den u can wag ur mouth. Mtchewww

lois sam said...

Rotflol@ anonymous ijesha connection....u speak d truth jare, he's a 'lere boy na, half caste tins...which half caste dey sleep under bridge?...these celebs sha...

Mullie said...

Ppl jst like 2 over exaggerate 2 luk humble. If u wanna inspire ppl be honest with ur stories and not fake fairy tale stories of horrible start n a happy ending. Annoyingly fake

He might not be the richest, but at least he doesn't beg for food

Visages Parfait said...

Really?? Really?? So the money has 2 be dripping outta your ass and nostrils before you know you have stuff??
If you've been through anything @ all in your life,you'll always look back and thank God for bringing you through each stage successfully. But then your still struggling with written english,so I guess God'll have 2 bring your through this stage 1st,then you can look back and say,"I used to write horrible english,but thank God today I am a mentor"......

Gullible Libers! All lies!

Baba calm down, did he say he's'the only one?, why don't you tell linda to post your story so we'll sympathize wit u also

Some others went through a situation worse than this and they died in it but Ramsey came through it, started from d bottom, now he is here. I love you so much but I'm not a Gay. More power to your elbow, GGMUB. #kiss (Holy Kiss)

To God be all the glory my dear brother, may God's exceeding grace that has been keeping you continue to keep you going in all aspect of life, amen and Amen, cheers.

Ruth aniedi said...

God is great, God dat has lift u up will also lift us up in jesus name

To God be all the glory my dear brother, may God's exceeding grace that has been keeping you continue to keep you going in all aspect of life, amen and Amen, cheers.

that is painful memory my bros and no condition is permanent.with God all things are possible.those days of misery and anxieties is over.

Wow, never knew ramsey noah has an humble beginning. I was had a crush on hime. I tink I was 13 or dere about, I watched dat movie "silent Night" ℓ☺ℓ. Thank God for ur life ramsey. More grace upon ur life. Amen

God is wonderful and thank God for where u are today. U are an amazing actor!

Mr Porsche said...

I'll always bless God for your life bro and will forever see you as a worthy leader and mentor....I know u personally and i can tell that you're a great man and loving husband, watching u spoil ur family with love in ur Surulere residence alone tells you were raised by an angel.....I can't forget the day i was looking at you from the next house to urs abt 4months ago and u were making grilled fish or something for your family on a sunday and it wasn't a party but just a show of love.....You're one of the few RESPONSIBLE Male Celebrities that we've got...God bless u now and always.......

Awwwww! Sooooooo touching! God bless you for sharing!

Obo said...

She must've really hurt u *tongue-out

So ramsey's now feeling like will smith in d pursuit of happiness?Issokay

Obo said...

Exactly what I was just thinking

Obo said...

Asin d dude's forming billionaire...he started from d bottom now he's here __ lmao!

Obo Yunmi said...

Thankfully u didn't say 'lightness' like femi otedola-d prince of darkness

Bravehart said...

Still we. Rise,

****Brave****

akuko Mike Ejeagha! Leave all ths actors,playing wt yr brain is what they do best n majority re falling for it!hw has he bn able to help ppl around him,immediately they make small money,they start acting up,wen that popularity is dwindling,they creep back to d public n manipulate d heart of d gullible wt their once upon a time poor story.una never see anything Oge okoye wey say shews born in England n only child wl soon tell us anoda version! Divalicious...

Thank God for ramsey noah, he made it tru in life...He is so humble, n a gentle man. May God never stop blessing him.

#GIFTEDhands

Phaeton Phoenix said...

Which celebrity on this earth does not have a dramatic rags to riches story?! How come none of them grew up with a silver spoon?! Bull shit!

Tnks dear for inspiring some of us.

Awww!Dnt worry dear,u don't have to get to d top to tell ur story,I'm all ears.looolz.and its already better.

TREND FOR NOW...FROM MJ TO RN...NOW MY TURN,I SUFFERED WHEN I WAS STRUGGLING,WE HAD TO USE THE MUCCUS FROM MY 2YEARS OLD KID BROTHER TO EAT BREAD,BUT NOW I AM A STAR.HISSSSS

Abeg make we hear word. sick of these from poverty to mega rich stories.

But ramson noah told me his mum was germany while his dad was nigerian?

David E said...

Some fools tho. Some choosed to share his life story and u're there with ur broke ass saying he is ieing. Mayb when mikel comes out tomorrow to tell u that his mum sold akara at my street and his dad a vulcanizer, u will say he lied too right? The rich and famous, passed through hell except a few.

Very Interesting

U are a prize fool.

Idiot. Na hunger go kill u

Gkay said...

me too i have a story; i slept on a foam bed all through the night for years, it was really hard (i mean the bed)... It is well

Dont worry my beautiful Bonita, u are very close 2 the top

Amarachukwu said...

Ok! That's what is on board now abi? Ini Edo,chika ike n the rest will soon tell us their own frm nothing to somthing story,abeg e don do.

PAVOUR said...

Hmmmmmmm ohhhhh. U try sha

Kogi Media said...

The goodnews is, nothing last forever, the badnews is, nothing last forever! Sela!

Mzjerkinz said...

We don hear ooo...who is next poko or halimar,...!WAITING oo

Sometimes I really wonder what Libers love to read though...y'all can be quite annoying sometimes...why in the world would someone even lie about a thing like this? Will it even make any sense? Smfh! I just love this dude

PRETTY GIRL

Tosfilms said...

Like a gift, beautifully wrapped at the foot of your bed each morning, today asks that you open it and enjoy everything inside. Exhaust yourself with all it has to offer nice one ramsey

Hahaaaaaa...lol

He forgot to tell us wen he was a barber in surulere.....true talk......the bro wasn't lieing at allll

Such a story happens to many.It's part of life,many would survive αηδ MOST would definitely not! Nice "super story" though.

Ur comment is irrelevant!!! Wat concern's chika again wit ramsey noah???? U̶̲̥̅̊'r jst dere hating fO̶̷̩̥̊͡Я no reason, grow up...

I hv much 2 sy but i wonder y a big man like u;u just mention yr mum in yr bio wat abt yr dad;wat would u feel:if yr son left out of his story?be wise yr mum did nt have u without meeting smbody tell the worl about yr iresponsible father.anywy wat u hv passed thru was just a way to where u ar now

wetin i be wan talk sef;ehm.,,,,,.d poor guy is somwhr chilling out,una dey here dey drink medicine for his headache........if dey tell u to highlight a certain in a few sentence,u go present carrryova for ur father abi?