The story of North Korean leader feeding his uncle to 120 dogs was the imagination of an impostor blogger | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 6 January 2014

The story of North Korean leader feeding his uncle to 120 dogs was the imagination of an impostor blogger

Oh dear. An impostor blogger with a wild sense of imagination has deceived the world, if the article from BBC today is to be believed. The story culled from Chinese newspaper Wen Wei Po and carried by a lot of the major online news sites, including Daily Mail, NYTimes, and LIB (hehe), claimed that North Korean dictator Kim Jong-Un stripped his 'traitor' uncle naked and fed him and six others to a pack of 120 dogs that had been starved for three days. (If you missed the story, read it HERE)

Apparently nothing like that happened. The originator of the story is a blogger who calls himself Choi Seongho, and claims to be a North Korean newspaper editor now studying in China. Thing is, there's another Choi Seongho, who is way more popular and recognized as a reporter. The real Choi told the BBC that the other Choi is an impostor. Read BBC's report on the fake story after the cut...

A cautionary tale of dogs, imposters and North Korea -
Written by John Sudoworth for the BBC

An anonymous blogger is a tenuous enough source for a news story. But an imposter posing as that anonymous blogger?!
Perhaps not since "curveball" - the now discredited Iraqi defector whose evidence was used to make the case for war - has an unreliable single source had such a field day.
The extraordinary claim that the North Korean leader Kim Jong-un had his uncle fed alive to a pack of hungry dogs comes from this posting on a Chinese microblog.
It's been pointed out by those who've unearthed the trail that all it took was a bit of Chinese and some basic curiosity. But as the sensational story was splashed around the world the original, extremely shaky sourcing on which it was based was lost.
The post containing the gory details of the alleged execution is from a blogger calling himself Choi Seongho and claiming to be a North Korean newspaper editor now studying in China. His blog on Tencent, the country's second most popular microblogging platform, carries satirical comments about life in North Korea. He has 30 thousand followers and he doesn't reply to direct messages.
He also has a namesake. There is a Choi Seongho very much alive and blogging on Sina, China's leading platform. The content is very similar, a mix of seemingly tongue-in-cheek North Korean patriotism and mild satire. But he has more than 2 million followers, was the first of the two to open an account, and although he keeps his identity anonymous, does reply to direct messages.
When asked by the BBC whether he was the source for the dog story, he denied it, saying; "The person on Tencent is someone trying to be me, who is not me."
Admittedly, many of the news organisations carrying the North Korean execution story have wondered out loud at its authenticity. Now we know the original sourcing, a single anonymous Chinese blog masquerading as another, more popular, Chinese blog, the story looks too weak to be worth the ink.
In the end, what all this tells us, as others have pointed out, is that when it comes to North Korea we're too ready to entertain our darkest imaginings, even if we don't quite believe them ourselves.
It is certainly a dark and secretive place, but that makes it all the more important that we report the truth, not a sensational parody of it.

77 comments:

AMY said...

Is ga ooo. Oga gann

Smhw I blv dis kin Jon-un is capable of doin evn worse..I blv there's no darker place dan his tots,d moonless midnyt of his mind.

If I hear! Ndi ojoo.

small Anukwu said...

Dis story no concern mi, I jst dey pass o

please what's the truth, bcos we know he killed his uncle

Very very ga, infact more gan. Some News shall

Peter said...

whatever! when it comes to North Korea, anything is possible, believe me. they can be brutal and heartless.

So is never get to be real source News shall

Fed to d dgs or not,d fact still remains that he executed his Uncle. A resounding WOE unto him.

Seun Ajet said...

The point is Is the uncle alive or dead? I'm not interested in this impostor issue

Wow! Me sef talk am say d story get as e bi... Anyways didn't believe d 1st story sha

beautiful said...

Na wa o so wat reali happend den!

Don't care

I was sure d 1st story was not true

Looks like that blogger will be executed.

The Uncle was executed for treason.

Whether he fed his uncle & co 'traitors' to starving dogs or lions, d end point is he executed him -QED. Dat country's is dark & living in medieval tyms. Obama & d West, can't u guys plot his systematic elimination? Linda, if u lyk, puplish ma comment- u don't do it, rather u lyk publishing stupid & abusive comments. Happy New Year.

Now all ye dat av threw stones @ D North Korean Leader should apologise, cos ultimately D story isn't real

Bunch of confused fellows.choii senogho Ko chaii emeka ni.

And then I'm famished. Next...

DON SERIUS

My thoughts exactly..kim is capable of anything cruel and callous

the blogger and his family should better run cos they fit execute them too, d guy is a devil in human skin.killed his lover and his uncle, then what would he do to a blogger! SMH.

All I see her is Linda think of ways to avoid ur impostors oo.

nella said...

Later

Nawa ooo... story story. .... story

It is the true just trying cover up as nobody wants deal with the country soon see this in nigeria

MADEMOISELLE said...

Akuko,, the main question here is whether or not he did it . It doesn't matter whether it was the real or fake Choi Seongho posted on their blog and what not.

Phaeton Phoenix said...

Do you see why we can't trust your breed, you bloggers eh?!

You this she goat mgbeke feeling funky n hunky. Must u comment ol d time? U tink u wil win 100grand. Trying to be noticed. Jobless fool. Cute g my ass

Ann Marie said...

hian. so what's the true story?

Aunty Linda follow carry d fake news

U are very very stupid for your statement fool

Mad anonymous

U are very very stupid for your statement fool

Aunty Linda follow carry d fake news

All na wash.....he killed his uncle brutally and that's the point if dem lyk , make dem continue to dey publish denial statements.

Now, is the uncle still alive or he has been executed? That is the summary we need to know. If the uncle was not fed to the dogs, what was he fed to?

Amarachukwu said...

#just passing#

the miz said...

different countries with different laws. if u find urself in Nigeria , behave like a Nigerian, if u find urself in north korea pls respect urself and behave like a north Korean. leave the kid to rule his country.

weather it was Jona dat swallow d Fish,or it was d Fish dat swallow Jona,d point is dat there was a "Swallowing"...d method of Execution is not relevant,d point is dat he execute d Uncle......d Man is Death..,dats d point...Linda "swallow" my comment-o

It was blivd cos es capable of doin worse..

nnenna said...

He is a very big Choi. Chooooiiiii to him.

Stephen Ikiyei said...

Story story.... Story, even in Naija some reports are figment of some lousy pressmen imaginations...

Janelicious said...

fake story everywhere

The media and China is the problem of the world.

How many times would you comment? Haba!

Anon:6:09. Why the abuse. The last time checked, G cute has a right to her own opinion. What is the mgbeke jobless fool abuse for?

diamondblinqZ said...

I dey follow u 4back jare

Hannah, you are so jobless. Why yab him because of 100K? Forget it. You won't get it.

Find a life and stop commenting around. No 100K this year.

hilary obiorah said...

So no be only 9ja bloggers dey jonze people. Hoax of life.

True story....he was fed to hungry lions in an arena for the North Koreans entertainment....is that far fetched enough.

nawa ooh,jrt pasing while read my bible.

Fuck your opinion said...

Gbam

As for me a story could only be fake when their is original or true story....Until the yarn us the real story I still believe he fed them to dogs! QED

How many times u wan comment bitch? El stupido

wumy said...

Dier problem

Abeg u guyz should just leave d guy alone and face our own problems

Rough Diamond said...

Anonymous u r so stupid n fucked!
Pluck out ur eyes so u won't see Cute G's comment again.
Pained goat!

How we address each other people matters a lot, too many insults just to put up a comment.
AU

@ anon 6:09pm,how dare U attack my Cute G.She's one of d best commenters on lib nd she's a learned alec.show ur miserable face let's see how U look!

if d blogger z an impostor, North Korea shud tel d world wot hapend 2 choi's uncle.

@anon 6:09,Cute G has been on Lib b4 ur existence.She cud even be one of the 100k winners.You are here ranting.Nerd!!

Goodnite pal..

halliday said...

@anon 6:09pm u re really on cheap drugs...na ur type de pour pipo acid,skinPain!!!

Hannah, u are a stupid child for ur own comment! Pls secondary schools have resumed. Go and face ur studies and think of how u want to pass. Bloody donkey!

Hannah is looking for 100k that will continue to be out of her reach!

God purnish ur entire family do I look like some1 who need money u must be insane I don't blame you unidentified bastard like you I guess u nid d money to help ur miserable generation bloody rat

nra said...

The uncle was killed by an anti aircraft gun,50calibre machine gun that is for fighter jets n it's armour pearcing as well.

Jeez...that's a painful death o

Free dis babe,all u anonymous pple.
This is a blog and everyone has a right to his/her opinion.

yemmy said...

Let the North Korean leader show the public the corpse of his uncle before burial Shikena

Gbam

Gbam ~maureen~