Another plane crash averted in Abuja | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 29 October 2013

Another plane crash averted in Abuja

Another day, another plane mishap news. Another air disaster was averted at the Nnamdi Azikwe Airport, Abuja yesterday Monday October 28th as a Med-View Airlines aircraft carrying 150 passengers from Lagos suddenly took to the air again at the point of landing in Abuja, Punch reports.
The pilot told the passengers that he took to the air again to avoid a collision with another aircraft on the tarmac. The airline Flight VL2104 took off from the Murtala Muhammed Airport, Lagos at noon and was scheduled to land in Abuja at about 1.05pm.
The pilot had already announced final descent into Abuja and asked all passengers and cabin crew to fasten their seat belts but the pilot suddenly took off to the air again with barely 30 seconds to touch ground.
After about three minutes of gaining altitude, the pilot announced that he decided to take off again to avoid colliding with an aircraft that was on ground.
He said that after he had been granted clearance to land, it was later discovered that the other aircraft was not fast enough, hence his decision to take off.
The aircraft hovered for another 20mins in the air before finally landing at about 1.30pm.

97 comments:

IBK said...

God Have Mercy!!!!

Τ̣̣ђё President's prayers in Israel is really working. God help us.

Yeah we don read about this else where since miss linda aint updating regularly but welcome back sha and see also this
ladies can you year this kind of panties? You should see pic.

Smh!

God save us, am so scared to travel n I don't lik long distance trips by road.

LMB said...

Haaaaaaaaaaaa!!! All glory to God. . .it could have been worst.

HATERS-SLAYER said...

hmmmmm!!!

praise God.

eugenia which foolish presidents prayers? story abeg say something else.

Princess Dee said...

Naija we hail thee!!Thk God!

Hey Linda, it should read: PLANE MISHAP AVERTED, not PLANE CRASH, cos it gives a different idea when you say crash...just saying

Tiana said...

God is wit Nigerians

dear Lord,i'm so grateful!

Nazzy said...

What nonsense.....hmmm nawaoooo..hv said it b4...dey no dey manage life

Thank God for safety. However, this is a normal global aviation practice called go around and the pilots are regularly trained for this. It's all over YouTube and readers can watch. Just search for 'airplane go around'

Mumu girl. Senseless comment from a mumu mind. Rather than do the right thing, govt officials are stealing all the money and putting our lives at risk, then fools like you are talking prayers. Imbecile.

Oduah and her cohorts at work. Vampire sucking stellicatus.

The person in the control tower has 2 be delt with, cos he or she blind......... When another plane was abt 2 take off........ GOD help us. But we also have 2 help oursrlves..........thubs up 2 d pilot......

Chidimma said...

Nigeria ooo, God please hear our prayers .

Aviation again! Tank God 4d miracle

Thank God! Am tired of all this aircraft mishap! Taking off is not safe,landing worse pass! Hmmmmmmmm Oluwa Na u we sabi! (Cherry blossom)

Magazine said...

@ Eugenia, abi ooo, me i been follow see am oo. Our president took Nigeria's problem to Isreal and laid it at Jesus's tomb

A big fool and one of the main problems in this country is people like you.

Nigeria is a joke. Nigerians are jokers. What a country. Spits

Don Peror Francis said...

What's happening to us,abi na 4 naija wey world witch conference is holding?

The Aviation industry needs an overhaul fast!!

Thank God,and am very sure its captain bandele,a very good pilot to av seen the danger immediately and averted it by taking off

author of lyf,we hail u 4 not puttin dis GREAT NATION NIGERIA n2 shame again,DADDY u r GREAT

Thank u JESUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thank God 4 his mercies.

Hnmmm...

Dee Tee said...

Lord God have mercy with all these happenings. Our Roads are death traps, air space suicide mission. Guess they will call for another probe
...NEWSBLIST

Kudos to d pilot.

Nicki Posh said...

Seriously!!! GEJ z ruining this country..!!God have mercy

Damochedxb said...

"The aircraft on the Tarmac was moving too slow".. What do they mean by that? Was it another bad Aircraft on the Tarmac? Anyway, thank goodness for the quick thinking of the Pilot, and that his plane wasnt suffering any form of Malfunction already. The Pilot is a hero in my eyes. Good job!!

Is this also madam minister's fault?? Purely some pple working at the airport are not doing their job well

gold said...

Abeg oooo!!

gold said...

Abeg oooo!!

Abeg ooo God dey!!!

Thanks to God..no more plane crash IJN.Amen..

Stella your house is on fire, you comot go Israel to do yawo.

lalasblog said...

too many mistakes. We are tired

Thank you jesus for ur great work !!!

Use pole vault

Linda I know you are hoping to see people blast Stella Oduah, but that shows how naive and shallow your reporting can be...you always mess up whenever you dabble into politics and things that are not fashion and trend...These air mishaps go beyond what one minister can handle..it has to do with the entire corrupt system..these airports operate on outdated equipments and airlines are busy flying very old planes..why wont these kind of things happen?..Not like I am trying to hold a brief for Stella Oduah but the truth is the problem in the aviation sector is just a reflection of how corrupt our society is...where the hell is Nigeria Airways? if Ethopia and Kenya can still boast of their National Carriers then why can't We?...Please you people should stop pointing fingers at Stella Oduah and address the real issue...Has Fani Kayode been able to clear himself from The Allegations that were leveled against him by EFCC?.. Yet that is the same man that is running his mouth and criticizing others, Sahara Reporters and other Media forums should stop witch Hunting people that are not Yoruba's and call a spade a spade!!!!

koye said...

Ekeji u sound so dumb..... Prayer is good but its about doing things right. Thank God for the right thinkn pilot.... By d way who told u dey all went 2 isreal 2 pray...prayer dat comes from corrupt mind,na prayer be dat?

God Help These adamant Nation

yes this is a go around. not a big deal..it happens in aviation. not a cause for concern

30 seconds still good for missed approach. Thank GOD we don't usually have low visibility in Nigeria. The story could have been something else.

OMG, Flying is officially not safe in Nigeria. How many now? God have mercy on us cos our leaders are obviously not doing their duties...

Michael said...

Yes, I agree. Just like your grammatical error

WHAT THE BLOODY HELL! They couldn't see that a freaking PLANE was on the tarmac and inform the pilot? Is anyone in the watchtower at all? What kind of thing is this biko? We can't just say 'thank God...God is with us' and keep quiet. If anything had happened it won't have been because something was wrong with the plane or an act of God but because commumication broke down. I think local air travel needs to be banned in Nigeria until we can figure ourselves out

Dnt u smell the sarcasm....u dnt nid to b dis rude

My husband was on that flight o. The plane was delayed for hours @ mm2 befor finally. Leaving for abuja @ around 12pm instead of 8.50am. Funny thing is, I asked him how he's flight went and he said it was fine jst a little turbulence befor the plan landed. I guess he dint want me to be scared. Am jst getting the real gist on lindas blog now. Am on ma knees lord, thank you. Been married. For jst a year.

wemimo said...

Lolz..moron

While I support ur stance... Chill on the vicissitude directed at Eugenia... She is just ignorant... Nigerians please try
To get an education from the well informed

Naija my country

Exactly. U took the words out of my mouth. Nigerians can be overly shallow and melodramatic sometimes. This was nothing about crash or whatever. Its simple logistics. Just as u would avoiding hitting a car or driving on the same shallow lane that's all. I see pple cursing Stella and GEJ already..haba!!!! Yea I know we are abit aviation sensitive right now, but let's be constructive while at it. Don't be quick to render an alarming cliche. Ordinarily this incident shouldn't av made news. No big deal. Pilot did the needful abeg. Huh!!!

Tower controller dealt with? How? When it was clearly stated that the other pilot was a bit too slow, hence...? This was not a malpractice of any kind. Have u ever flown in a plane before??Gosh

Kai! That was harsh shaa..

What an experience pilot.

Im a pilot and that incident is considered a go around or aborted landing......its actually very common in busy airports around the world.....its just not generally published. Im not based in Nigeria if you're wondering.

Hmmmmmmmm! Wetin person go do for this country? Long trips by road are too risky,bad roads,Accidents,armed robbers and then the really stressful part..by air sef,person no fit too sure..God please protect your children esp as the year is coming to an End,Amen!

PRETTY GIRL

Thank God the accident was averted, because if anything had happened, they would have blamed it on pilot "pilot error" Nigerian aviation industry needs re-branding! How can an aircraft be cleared for landing when another is still taxiing on the run away??? God have mercy!

Blackberry said...

1000000000000 likes.

Linda pls stop scaring people wit these news. U are making people to be scared of using air trasportation. Dats nt rite. How many road accident have u reported,its nt fair dat u have to make everything news. Angry citizen

sucre said...

Thank God no bad news again........

Hmm.. Oduah, “God hand” don dey too much for naija oh

Gej boot licker!SMH...wat abt d pple on board?God no hear their own ba?Shio!

Only in Nigeria, May God help the country.... Find more on Fenzzy

Who cares what u think of me. If e dey pain u, g☺ join them steal the money. Remain anonymous 4 life.

True Talk Eugenia,
Thumbs UP.

I had a similar unforgetale experience with Med-View airline on the 12th day December 2012 on a Port Harcourt - Lagos flight. I was in the aircraft with my wife and two children ! Two minutes to landing, the aircraft zoomed back to the air. It was indeed a very close shave. That was my one and only trip with Med-View. I think that the airline's pilot should be audited before they throw the nation into another round of mourning !!!!!!!

If ur father were to be the president of this country, u wouldn't regard him as a foolish man neither would u be happy if others called him a foolish president. He might not be the best, but he's trying. Come 2015, he'll still be in power except if ur father is a better candidate.

OMG!WOMAN said...

Hmmmn! We no go fly again? But all this things didn't start today, my plane almost crashed in 2011, after the pilot tried for minuets and couldn't land he had to go and land on calabar airport, we later left for Uyo and it took about 7mins to get there, some ppl cudnt take it any more, they got down in calabar tho!

OMG!WOMAN said...

Hmmmn! We no go fly again? But all this things didn't start today, my plane almost crashed in 2011, after the pilot tried for minuets and couldn't land he had to go and land in calabar airport, we later left for Uyo and it took about 7mins to get there, I saw some men in suit coming down they just cudnt take it any more, they got down in calabar

this shouldn't be news, it happens at other airports and it shouldn't read "plane crash averted".

Dis plane is making me scared of travelling by air and all dose buses dt re going to long distance re always on high speed. May God have mercy on us in dis country

anon linda said...

D pata will look good on ur mum

Only God can. Save us frm all dis

And ibo ppl want their own president, naija go just sink, bunch of blood thirsty bastards

Same thing on the 8:45am Aero I took to Lagos yesterday 29th Oct. We were almost landing so close to the ground and our plane took off again to my horror. The pilot said his navigation tool failed on him, we hovered again for 10mins plus before we finally landed. Imagine the next few minutes till that plane landed how we all felt. God safe us in Nigeria's air space. I am going back to Abuja today. In Gods protective hands I commit our journey.

Might not really be ATC error, there are many things that could have caused that. Decending pilot error taking off pilot error, or ATC error. 30 seconds is still good enough to avoid collision in that situation with a good visibility.

Olamicom said...

Wise decision by d captain, God be praised because nigeria isn't thrown into mourning.

tan said...

Nigerians y do we like carrying bad news and just making pple scared uneccessarily,mis approach happens a lot of times but now we just escalate all this tins andmake pple to be scared.na wa o

Shade's Files said...

Wow! Lord hv mercy! To think my sis was on dt flight! TUJ #Unimaginable! Ds country sha!

Shade's Files said...

Wow! Lord hv mercy! To think my sis was on dt flight! TUJ #Unimaginable! Ds country sha!

Shade's Files said...

Lord hv mercy! To think ma sis wz on dt flight! #Unimaginable... TUJ. Ds country sha!!!

thank God for people's lives and make firstbank loan no enter voice mail o medview .

*avoid* I meant

**avoid** I meant.

Na God I Just Dey Wida.

FOOL. VERY OBVIOUS UR A BIAFRA HUMAN BEING. OPE.

N255m will possibly buy 4 or 5 new Instrument Landing System for 4 or 5 airports in Naija. Stupid Biafra person

All we can.say at this point is thank God and May GOD continue to help Nigerians as they all need it.