Hon Abike Dabiri-Erewa shares her thoughts on the child bride issue | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 21 July 2013

Hon Abike Dabiri-Erewa shares her thoughts on the child bride issue

Mrs Abike Dabiri is a former broadcaster and now a member of the Nigeria Federal House of Reps representing Ikorodu Constituency in Lagos State.

68 comments:

OK!!!!

Mzz Becky Wright said...

Correct Lady

anne said...

true tok ma, i support u

nkechi said...

The senate must amend this act.
Grab the latest gist here

Way to go dear.
we must stop this evil.

~HAPPY BDAY SIS~via NOKIA3310

Let's stop all the talking and make sure this evil of child marriage is expunged fast! Starting from legislators like you ma'am!

A right thinking person.God will continue to bless you and guide you with the right decitions make.

McQ said...

Good One, Please do. Save our nation from men with not vision.

For once i'm feeling Abike. "Port Harcourt Girl."

God bless u Abike,I somehow hv little respect for present house of rep than d senate,pls u and other reps help save our girl child in our generation,may d useless and shameless senate fail in dis course

Dabiri always'play to the gallery'Abike,how have you use your constituency allowy to improve the lives in your area?How much is your jumbo allowy?

God bless u ma,pls save d girl child frm cruel men.

How on earth will pple in their real senses vote in dis evil and truama, anyway is d northerners dt supported dis evil cos dey are barbaric and wicked but I also know our God Jehovah d almighty wl not give them d chance. He wl deal wt them like he did d Egyptians ijn

She has said it all.

I totally support your position Ma, and condemn this evil to be done to our children.I join the league of Protestants,if we have to go naked on the streets to protest this evil,we'll do so.

Abike, trust God will make you the Esther of this generation, to save your nation and send to the gallows the Haman's of a time like this.

I just love dis abike so much, I wish I can meet her some day, Bernice

oak said...

Thank you aunty abike. Omo ikorodu eluku mede

God bless U̶̲̥̅̊ ma pls let's all fight against dis madness.

When She knows such bill is in House, She could have forced a public debate among Nigerians that would cause some rpressible members to make better judgement. What a shame to them all. So, Jonathan has the last word before it goes into law.

Stupid and senseless are you just as your surname sounds.

Dear Hon Abike. We elected you by choice and so in your care Nigerian Women and Mothers have entrusted their voices. The Lord has put all the women in power today for times like this like He did with Esther and Deborah. The proposal, at all, of this kind of bill is barbaric and an assault to conscience. Imagine a 60 year old atop a 9 year old!!!! Lord have mercy! Whatever happened to decorum.The proposed bill on gay marriage (thank God it never went pass the gate of the upper house then)is not as bad as this one.Atleast those can be held responsible by God for their actions.Not these innocent girls. We have agents of the devil every where especially in the "high places". The Lord will make you all the Esthers and Deborahs of our time to send the Hamans and Siseras of this generation to their doom IJN.

Abeg mek una do sum tin . Ds anit rit at all

9ger said...

message of hope, if you will not later compromise.

B€£ said...

I support I sister mi.mo Eluku Meden Meden, Omo Asale Jeje Bi Eniti Ori Obirin Ri, bi ogun bi ogbon aya wan beni’le, Omo Osinwin Rewa Loke Ota-Ona, Omo Aleremo Seji , Omo Ake Nigbo, Keru Ba Ara Ona.

Omo Magbo Igbore, Omo Imale Afeleja, Omo Likopa Nmeru Ogudu, Omo Liwe Likoro, Omo Ikorodu Oriwu, Omo Awaiye Ma Ba Tise Wa, Omo Ikorodu Oga, Omo magbo 'gbore, Omo likopa ni' tesin, Omo meru ogudu, Omo ad'obalohun, Omo kunkunke, Omo Onidi Agban’gbe, Ikorodu, ilu tio lalaru

Olorun bawa da ilu Ikorodu si, Amin

thank u ma, correct woman

Wow!!! Lovely.. Pls let people like dis live longer abeg... All dos malo men will jst be saying bullshit and am sure dey don't der own gals out @ teen age

Modupe Taiwo said...

@ Sunday Otuns Playing to the gallery? That is not the Abike Dabiri i know. May be you need to visit Ikorodu, her constituency to see what she has done for her people. She has over 40 children she is paying their school fees. I graduated from Lagos State Polytechnic Ikorodu so i know. Until you do visit Ikorodu, please shut up!

Pls mam tell them, tell those fools who cannot control dia high libido. Their stupid claim was that there are many prostitutes outside, forgetn that a gul cannot b a prostitute without a man o and those stupid rags are examples of such men who turn our underage guls into prostitute. Tell them to cut dia stupid tin off if they cnt control it.

Bera goan vote and stop speaking English, d earlier d better!

good one ma'am...

Any action that leads to happiness is a good,nd any action that leads to unhappiness is an evil action!!!
I can assure u that,its unsafe to live in a society where D cat kills D dog! #philla

@sunday, u hav a valid point, hav u been to her constituent of late... All wat this politicians are all "bark n no bite". She doesn't hav to tell us she'll "do" wat she "promised"*rollin eye* at this age n time wat we need is action not flimsy promises. The senate acted on d law by passing it now "that's ACTION" so my dear Hon.A.D.A act don't feed us this words. The truth is dis so calld Honorables or permit me to say Dishonorables do not care abt d plight of those that voted them in power. So plz pple wake up. Its Action time.

Bukola said...

We want actions and not mere speech. For those dat supported dis evil law, oh thou rod of God, strike them to death...Linda post my comment oo if u no want c dat rod #straight face#

I support marrying out a girl "AS SOON AS SHE
ATTAINS ADULTHOOD". Now am writing from common
sense, because common sense is uncommon! Nigerian
Youths today are the MOST STUPID & IGNORANT set of
individuals on earth. A bunch of STAGNANT IDIOTS with
no will of moving forward (I do not mean to be
provocative). We waste our time on social networks
creating confusion out of nothing. Months ago it was
the OGA @ THE TOP saga! Now its SAY NO TO EARLY
GIRL MARRIAGE!So what if a man decides to marry out
his daughter early??? Nobody is forcing anybody to
marry out his' early too. You can decide to keep your
Daughter Until 40 or even for a life time, nobody cares!
After all you bedded your wife to have her. Today ASUU
is on strike NO youth is broadcasting about it. ASUP
just called off months old strike, no tongue sang about
it during that period. When the Government is looting
the country we are here pondering on who to marry out
his daughter and who not to. Singing the Gospel " Give
the girl a book not a husband" "give the girl a pen not a
penis". What if you send her to school and she chooses
a boyfriend over her books? Or chooses a penis over her
pen?What if???How many of you girls can confidently
say "I'm still a virgin from secondary through tertiary
institution?How many of you guys can say my girlfriend
told me its pen over penis? So please my fellow
Nigerians, we should concentrate our forces to say: NO
TO BAD GOVERNANCE,NO TO RECYCLED
LEADERSHIP,NO TO ASUU/ASUP STRIKE,NO TO FUEL
HIKE,NO TO BOKO HARAM vs FG,NO TO CHILD AND
MATERNAL MORTALITY..... So many positive NO! to be
said by us. This a wake up call to NIGERIAN YOUTHS

Where are the so called educated mothers, fathers and youth from the north, why are they not speaking out against this barbaric and shameful act, am not in anyway tribalistic but has anyone ever heard of a strike in rev north, this goes to show how stupid and sick they are... I will forever HATE these mallams.... SHAME ON YOU ALL from that part of Nigeria!

Hon abide you know that provision is not before the house but if it was you would be more useful if you voted against it on the floor of the house rather than on the Internet so pleeeeeeeeeeeese stop playing to the gallery and do the right thing where it matters most

You just mentioned maternal mortality dis is d 1st step in eradicating it.when you train your child in the way he should grow and when he grows up, he shall never depart from it. And yes I am 23 years old400level medical student and am a virgin that is becos I know the value.besyds a parent shud be happy giving out his dota into marriage bcos she can set up ha home not becos when they leav ha at home further she wud get pregnant. Learn! Stop covering your stupidity with religion. Linda please post my comment dis guy just pissed me off

KIKIS said...

Let's just hope the rest of the house members think like her.

Thank you so much @ anonymous for now you are the only ONE that think out of the box I realy appreciate your comment

ℓ̊ нσρє ŦĤƐ almost honourables σƒ d lower house ₩ĩŁŁ ßƐ A̲̅ßℓë Ŧ♡ view dis critically αn∂ mA̲̅kë necessary amendments. A bill like dis ι§ a disgrace Ŧ♡ wat democracy stand ƒø® d female folks. By d way, wat ŴƐЯƐ oda senators D♡ĪИƓ wen dis bill ‎שαs þ33‎ה passed in Ŧ♡ law?

You well so?? @B££

@anon 8.58pm, u r the most disgusting and despicaple animal eva created, u'v been postin dz ur rubbish on blogs nd oda social network. u r a paedophile lik ur ogas yerims nd co, may d wrath of God fall on u all.hw can u open ur gutter u cal mouth nd say u support children to b married 2 disgusting disease infected grandpas, innocent female children. may u b judged by those very words u uttered. mr sadddist as u kill odas joy may urs neva cme. u will remain as miserable nd furstrated as evry little girl married out, u nd ur cohorts wii neva escape purnishment, neva!

@anon, God will purnish u 4 promoting nd sponsoring paedophilia, may dat ur allah paralyse those hands nd mouth u use in typing nd speaking false allegation of the girl gender... u think u can analyse rubbish 2 soothe ur evil claim/bill

Anon 9:17 pls mind ur language and dnt generalise issues in such manner,am I muslim from d north and I hv made my comment in support of Abike and hv shouted shame to all d idiots in d senate,let speak in one voice to stop dis absurdity against d girl child

Sani Bello said...

Its true Islam encourages early marriage wit a condition dat d marriage wil b consummated whn d gal become matured n her consent sorts,whc is obtained in our local setting,its also truer dat teenage pregnancy is a common place tin in south south n oda places whr early marriage is said to b a taboo! So who is fooling who! Abike, if u've little Islamic knowledge, seek to understand it first, so dat u can make an informed contributions.

@ anonymous8:58 inasmuch as dez sence in wat ur sain u dnt talk trash cos u hv access 2d internet who's talkin abt bin a virgin or abt a girl havin a boyfrnd,ad plsss incase an old man ov 60 cums 2 marry ur child ov age 9 giv ha out witout hesitating.tek several back seats rubbish

Finally!!!! Been waiting for your comments.

Plssss hlp mi tel dat stupid anon8:58 d guy jst spoilt ma evenin its obvious ur a retarded....in ur own closet wat hv u done big mouth.

U irritate mi anon disgustin being am sure ur a pervert ad God wil purnish u.ndi boko haram

ALL MY HATERS. My life my business, U gossip--ur headache, U beef--Ur problem, I Achieve- God's doing, U try 2 stop me U die, Ur burial I attend. Life goes on.

God have mercy! How will a 9yrs old girl who doesn't even know her left from right be forced into marriage? Do they know the risk they'r placing that child into? Which means the case of VVF will be @ an increase. Am not in support of this act and will never be.God help us all!

This Anonymous 8:58 is a senseless somebody. What do you mean nobody is forcing anybody? You've just come here to illustrate your idiocy. So you're telling me that a girl gets up and says she wants to be married as a child? You think they are not being forced by their families or a practice they cannot say 'no' to? If your own child at 13 said she wanted to marry a 40 year old would you say 'o it's your choice. Oya go and marry'? Ode oshi.

BEE abi na TSE-TSE FLY must you display your stupidity???

God bless you

Decisions......not decitions.

Thank me later.

Na so. They wont call pedophilia by its name when we see it. Na im make I like oyibo man. Anybody that even suggests sleeping with a person under 18 should be charged with pedophilia (I see >60% of Naija leaders in jail....oops). So this is the issue. The same law makers suffer the guilt of having slept with their underaged house helps at some time, or of going to universities to poke other people's children under cash inducement. It is therefore hard for them to see anything wrong with underage marriage for surely, it is way better than the deal the house girls and college students end up with, Yah??

Way to go ma'am

@B££, u r a vry sick person. Get a grip pls

not just opposing ma....get yerima behind bars...

B€£ said...

Am Alright maybe I shd ask u that question."You well so??@anonymous 9:41pm

Since this issue started, i've been waiting to hear Abike Dabiri Erewa's stance on the issue. Thank you Ma. I know you will use your voice to fight this until its reversed. Thank you ma. I LOVE LOVE ABIKE DABIRI EREWA. You are such an inspiration.

YKiluminating on Yahoo plu$ plu$ said...

ASUU on strike is not important, making laws to shag little girls is.

Welcome to Dumbfuckistan. Hope we drive you mad.

Only pedofiles will support a law recommending marriage of underage girls. The assembly is full of them!

B€£ said...

"Grip"olodo illiterate.dump ass.u can't read what I wrote earlier init?so it pains u.bbm smiley *tongue out*

First of all,the senate has not passed any bill seekin to legalise underage marriage. What they did was part of the constitutional amendment process currently goin on. The section in issue is section29(4)(b) which provides that for the purposes of renouncing her nigerian citizenship,a female who is married can renounce her citizenship even though she is not yet 18 yrs(the age at which males and females can loegally renounce their citizenship). The constitution itself is silent on the age at which a woman can legally get married in nigeria. But the Child's Rights Act(which nigeria has ratified) stipulates the marriage age to be 18 yrs and totally bans underage bethrothal and marriage,punishable by imprisonment. However,we should realise that the legislature has no right to legislate on islamic and customary law marriages. And under islamic law,underage marriage is allowed. We should be tackling the problem from that aspect,but nigeria is a multi-religion state and the northerner wield so much power,so it is a very dicey situation as they would hardly want to pass any law that will deny then their rights under islamic law. Naomi

B€£ said...

When any of ur family gets to d top don't praise them.bunch of fools.