First lady Patience Jonathan’s mother dies in car crash in | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 23 July 2013

First lady Patience Jonathan’s mother dies in car crash in

According to a report by Punch, the mother of Nigeria's first lady, Patience Jonathan, Mrs Iwari-Oba has died in a fatal auto accident along Elele Road in Rivers State. 

The first lady's mother was on her way to Bayelsa State when the accident occurred yesterday Monday July 22nd around 4pm. Sad! May her soul rest in peace...amen.

173 comments:

May her soul rest in peace Amen,eya!!

Really .first to comment.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

May her soul rest in peace. First to comment...

Oma se o

Political war hmmmmm.......politic.

Mr G. said...

Damn. first the president's brother and npw the 1st lady's mother in such a short time? No, we don't see any correlation. its just coincidence init?

I guess if dat road was Very Good, she wont have died. Well, now that our leaders are becoming victims of what we suffer, nevertheless, may her soul rest in peace.

Morning Linda, is the accident confirmed? May her soul rest in peace!

Uche Chiedozi said...

May her soul RIP!!!

Amaogechukwu said...

Sad, may her soul rest in peace.

Nigeria is so bad now that even the presidents family die in a car crash.what hope for the common man?

Pathetic..May her soul rest in peace..

Maybe if they had fixed the road on the route she took, this would have been avoided #justsaying

May ha soul rest i̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ peace

It's only the beginning. Bad governance will eventually catch up with our so called leaders. You idiots( referring to the mumu leaders of the Nation) should better go fix those roads.

Very very sad...

countrygal said...

May her emminent soul rest in perfect peace. soory madam, take heart. at least she left a mark!

Eyaahh. Rip. Mayb government wud now focus on fixing express roads that keep claiming lives.

Naija will hail thee

The result of unnecessary speeding by all these government personnel. RIP

I rest my brain

Atleast its affecting dem 1 by 1,construct gud road 4 ur pple.

ennyblaze said...

R.I.P Mrs Iwari-Oba :(

Diva Originale said...

Let her soul rest in peace..

Make dem no fix our road, o ko kan ni omo owo n yo!

God will console her.

How sad....another reason to waste the nation's resources on another peasant.

Leendah said...

RIP-amen.

May her soul rest in peace...really sad

R.i.p naija first grandma!!!

Diz jst d beginin itz jst deir kids I pity.dey all behave as if dey r immune to death instead of usin d countryz money 2 help d pple dey spend it on deir family hmmmmmmmn I so pity dem nd nt sympathize wiv dem

Ehya.. RIP madam! Guess d rem naija money wud go in 4d funeral..

One of the consequences of a bad road network. Now, finds that would have been used to fix the roads of 6 states will now be used for a befitting state burial. Naija.

R.I.P to her

oak said...

Eeya. The loss of a loved one can't be compared to anything. Rest in peace ma.

she baby said...

Her husband Ȋ̝̊̅§ d president she should advise him 2 award d road contract 2 julius B if we had G̶̲̥̅Ơ̴̴̴̴͡.̮Ơ̴̴̴͡D̶̲̥̅ Roads in nigeria d rate Ø̶̷̩̥̊͡Ƒ̶̷̩̥̊͡ accident W̶̲̥̅̊ȋ̊ƪƪ b reduced May her gentle soul Rest in peace Mama P tak hearth

Wat a loss,Rip.

kingsworldwide said...

May her soul R.I.P.

Paschal O said...

May her soul rest in peace. Amen. That means the unrest in Rivers state is not ending any time soon. In God we trust.

How sad! Accidents can happen anytime and in any condition, but I presume this one could be as a result of bad roads, which the government would angrily fix because of this huge loss. May her soul rest in peace, Amen! The nation indeed will mourn!

Hmmmm this is sad, well God give n God take, ma accept my condolenc.

May her soul rest in peace- Amen!

gbam...well said

Saddening and its even a shame that some of our big wigs die in car crashes due to d conditions of our roads.....
May her soul RIP.
*those of u mocking ds situation, u shud atleast act like humans for once, ds is not an avenue to mock d first lady but to sympathise wt her*#nobodyisperfect#

Most probably the accident was caused by overspeeding. Bcos the road is very slick. A good job was done in that elele road. Eternal rest be granted unto her oh Lord....

May her soul RIP see y government shld fix our roads meanwhile Get a job today! and earn 50 -100$ daily salary from us. very easy job no study requirement only 1 hour a day work join: http://easyjobpay.com/?ref=jimsking

May her soul rest in peace.

'lara said...

@ Annonymous comment " How sad....another reason to waste the nation's resources on another peasant." Flesh and blood did not reveal that to you. Am sure she would want the same befitting burial they gave the President parent that died a while back. I pray for the repose of the mum may she RIP
Bad roads... The evil that men do "lives with them" not after them again.

RIP Amen!

jessyparkar said...

May her soul rest in peace..#BAD RIVERSTATE ROAD#BAD NIGERIAN Road.BAD GOVERNMENT.now its happening to their own so they can see what the common man faces.Fix our Roads and stop speeding with sirens.only siren u hear in uk ia ambulance and police chasing or a 911 call.

morsi said...

Oh my Jesus. Christ on earth!!! May her soul rest in peace sign Evan Bipi

So sad,RIP ma

Visages Parfait said...

My dear,funny enough most car crashes happen on very good n smooth roads cos then the drivers just speed like they r tryin 2 test the car's' speed limit. Even where there are potholes,u see sm drivers maneuvering like fools :( ,I think we need educated drivers and by educated,I dnt mean university,I mean ppl with proper driving certification. Its getting crazier by the day.

Please, may her soul rest in peace, Gent stop linking this to Rivers crisis as this woman had never spurred anyone to cause any problem, again people should stop making careless statements about Amaechi and Jonathan, we should respect their offices as they are both Honorable and excellencies.

Phoenix said...

Seriously?which nation will mourn?wen all they do is spend our money....this is another avenue fr them to spend OT carelessly.It will start wif state governors fighting over themselves fr space in d dailes to sympathize then state funeral...awon oloshi jatijati

@ richie fiasyo, no one has mocked her thus far, they are jst saying only "if" the roads were fixed, jst maybe her death would have been averted.atleast no be today common man ∂E̶̲̥̅̊Y̶̲̥̅̊ die for accident and they all carry on as if its not their business!

bee said...

Peasant??wow!I cnt bliv u jst said dt,and its more disappointing dt linda posted it!!SMH

Dende said...

Tell your husband to fix basic amenities cos no matter how rich you are you'll still have to use our roads and hospitals sometimes.

Dende said...

@anon 6:02am a good road isn't just about the 'slickness' of the road,it's also about d safety measures that have been put in place to avoid such accidents like speed breakers,visible speed limits,road safety enforcement officers to catch and punish offenders,rescue and emergency services etc

RIP.....................THE DON

R.I.p

No one has stopped to wonder why she didn't fly but instead was driven on these bad roads. I mean her daughter can afford to fly jet on a private jet, abi?? May she RIP

Your head is very correct

Blood sacrifice things

God is watching o

If Nigeria had cast access to good emergency service, if the roads were much better with good safety measures mayb these sorts of tragic RTAs will be prevents.

May her soul rest i̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ perfect peace, mama p take hrt, n pls tell U̶̲̥̅̊я husband to T̶̲̥̅̊ђξ somefin based on that road that claimed T̶̲̥̅̊ђξ mother in laws life.

U must be an idiot wit dis ur childish first to comment bullshit. Some1 is death here n all a moron lik u is first to comment? Fool. Pls some parent shd wear condoms in oda not to give birth to a an imbecil lik u. Nonsence

The two of you are stupid, hope you have Mothers,idiots,they are talking of death and you two are here writing rubbish, insensitive goats

Do you have a mother? Then I pity your mother cos what u wish others may come to u

RIP.mama

RIP but I think something must be going on..I think someone bribed d driver to kill dis woman..IMO...............THE DON

The road was given to Julius Berger, but militants no gree them rest with kidnapping. Contractors u people should continue using half the money given to u to complete jobs and therefore do haphazard jobs, n.a. God go judge una, may her beautiful soul RIP.

It is safe to say that she died on a road that belongs to her In-Laws jurisdiction.What an Irony.RIP Ma.

You people should shut up joor, that road is as smooth as anything on earth ...it even leads to the port Harcourt airport,so stop condeming the road cos I do 140km/hour on it...I guess the driver was so hard on the pedal....Ameachi constructed the Road on which it happened ..MHS RIP amen...take heart Mother of Nigeria

Lol sounds like ibari ogwa rip shaaa

chiommy said...

May her soul rest in peace Amen

R.I.P

May her soul rest in peace...eeeeeeyah naija grndma don go

Oh no....now madam first lady would be coming down to rivers state again...another fracas for my people

*funds*

Am surprised this story is not in news ds morning. I doubt its validity.........and if its fake, linda u'd better have genuine explanation for this cos it shud have been erywhere
*maybe u'll weep and cry for forgiveness just like senator Ayo Akinyelure*

What mark? What did she do for her country?

very soon, patience too go die 4 plane crash, den her children too go die.. and jonatan go get stroke

nnomsky said...

Mama Dame died in a road accident and evry1 is commenting no one has bothered 2 ask of d driver and other people dat may have been in d accident with her! Biko back to chewing my bitter kola. RIP oooo.

bizzy said...

Ritual purposes

May her soul RIP...let d blames start rollin in
#jstsayin

davina said...

U re stupid 4 saying dat ve u passed elele recently good rd.most pple dnt ve sense in dis blog.

My Expensive Girlfriend said...

Too bad, may her soul RIP.

Nigerians hv no regards again 4 d death... Som ppl are even lol #smh# RIP mam

Won o ti I rin kankan o,won se se bere, after all that is part of Dividend of Democracy lol.

†̥ђe burial will cost nigerians money eeeya RIP

davina said...

U re a fool 4 saying dat, God help u.who is begging u 2 sympatize n wat makes u feel dat they re nt helping pple. It will b d begining 4 u and ur family. Idiot. U talk anihow.

so sad sha.but this will give them little lesson on doin their job well.cause they don't learn @ once

davina said...

Do dey know that all dey know is mock pple.accident can happen at anitym is nt bcoos of d road elele rd is good. Rest in peace ma

E ya @ she was a strong pillar behind her dota o,rest in peace Anoo Aree wa odigba o.

Mr fisayo abeg shut ur mouth.sympathise wit who?dis is law of karma.jonathan is next nonsense.linda post my comment joor

RIP,,God reli saved ma ass cus I passed tru dat road yestday wen I was cumn bk from BY

What goes around comes around...
It should have been the foolish lady herself. Good riddance.

Thank God.

Iykeman said...

ooo........ May her soul rest in peace.

What goes around comes around...
It should have been the foolish lady herself. Good riddance.

Oh dear! May she rest in peace.

Oh dear! May she rest in peace

Can you advice your husband to build our Nigeria. Thank you.

ijeh paul a said...

may her gentle soul rest in perfect peace.

Ggirl said...

R.I.P

May her soul RIP.... M indiferent about the accident, maybe d president will look into d matter of our roads, thank God its not another nameless victim... And d remaining money we have will b spent for an elaborate burial.....

Dharmmy

They might change the name of another school to her name now....Ooooooooooo,

ohhh said...

So the route her mother uses to visit Bayelsa is excellent but other roads are not.

More ill news to come. Madam go and bury your mother. Anyway, go and waste our money doing so.

Any curses/bad mouth back to sender a million folds.

Hrm paul ojeih said...

No comment but let us be warned if we fight the righteous their God will intercede oooo

@ Richie Fisayo, speak for urself and stop being judgemental. Everyone that made a comment here must ve had a reason for doing so. Mtchewwwww!!!!!!! Mama P take hear and may d soul of ur mum rest in peace.

Rough Diamond said...

The nation ke?!

Rough Diamond said...

What's funny?

B€£ said...

RIP mama

Substitution of souls.God forgive me.

Madam Dame sure has a sorry face for the loss

I don't know the details of the accident but I know that Elele road is very bad, so many portholes here and there, and I guess she was in a convoy moving with their usual speed. I don't know what Setraco construction Company is doing. Every time they 'patch' the road, two months later there's no sign of 'patching'. This is what we suffer on that road, at nights and early hours of the day, that road is a den for armed robbers.

I feel sad that the First lady's
Mother is dead. May her soul rest in peace.

pinky kid said...

I thought jet will pick her up since the roads are not in good condition. Also the drivers are reckless because they feel they are carrying first lady's mum. RIP mama.

Dats y u r so unsuccessful . Don't just talk think first

Pls ma, what mark?

koye said...

Dat road is horrible,may be dis will make d so called leaders do the needful.....

Dee said...

WHY UR HEADLINE NO COMPLETE LINDA? IN WHERE??????

DADDYSWIFE said...

May her soul rest in peace,God hav mercy on us all in Jesus name,Amen!

i'm in a state of inexplicable melancony,rip sha

Chinasa said...

Madam , sorry o.

May she RIP. May God gv the 1st family d fortitude to bear d loss. Each man's death diminishes me.
But I must hasten to add dat if she was in her 80s and above, she cudnt hv chosen a better time to die. Bc her burial ga adi kpo-kpo. Nigerial will stand still on dat day

@ countrygal, i think your are crazy. please which mark did the old woman leave. her daughter is leaving an evil mark already.
@ Richie fisayo, if it were one of your family memebers that died, you wont make such a stupid comment.
Its bad to wish evil on someone else but all these leaders will drink from their pool of blood for their wicked ways. They will not go freely. God is not asleep and vengeance is His. This is just appertiser. main course is coming. isch...... Linda post my comments abeg.

Anon 11:45, pls shut ur trap! My condolences 2 d first family, really sad.

May she roast in hell.....i pray both her daughter and son inlaw join her asap!!!!!

Many people here are fools who don't know anything but sit at home and say nonsense... Have you ever seen a federal government award state roads???? Its the rivers state government that should be held responsible... Besides i think amaechi has a hand in this.. This takes me to the adelabu killing back then when awolowo peeps did the same thing but then awo son died on the same spot in the same manner ..... so if amaechi did this he should know that his reward is not so far... RIP and may God comfort those you left behind

Olu said...

Sorry o!. What a way to go. This mama no deserve this kind departure o. Please government repair this Roads na.

Sympathise? If she had been sympathizing with families who had lost people in road accidents, they would av fixed all the bad roads in Nigeria. Karma is a bitch they say.

May her soul rest in peace. but maybe now they will focus efforts on building good roads and Emergency care hospitals.

May her soul rest in perfect peace. God be with you dear first Lady. So sad to hear

toyin said...

May her soul rest in perfect peace. Dear First lady my prayer is that God will be with you at this time. I'm so sorry to hear this. my tears flow.

Now is there turn to share from the bad road accident

Coincidence? Maybe. But look up nemesis and retributive justice... just saying. May she r.i.p.

U must b a big fool 4 sayin such.u ar nothin BT a devil.Amaechi ko Amarachi ni.so its Amaechi dat killed her?u berra face reality&stop typin nonsense.oniso kuso oshi.u berra ask Jona d truth

Why was she not in Aso villa with her daughter as her mother in law is

everyone keeps commenting on the old woman. what about the driver of the vehicle? is he not human?oma ga oooo

Babe I want to meet you I am in London

Prince charmin Would mourn goat!

oooh said...

She is the biological mother of our president's wife.

Na she born president wife... Abi e easy. if e easy why ya mama no born president wife. Hahahaha.

booboolicious boo said...

Safe journey.....

Just another road stat. So many people die on bad roads in Nigeria daily.

See as you sef lago!!! "Someone is death here" "all a moron like you is first to comment". una no they fear God!!!! Lmaoo!!

tessy gift said...

Yes oh! This shows u that ASO ROCK no dey immuned to road accident. Tell Jonathan and patient to go repair road, instead of eating national cake, before all their family members die finish for road accident!!!!!!.

U don't always have to take things too personal. I'm not her relation, I only felt for her as a normal human.
Don't always direct things to one's family, learn to console ppl in pains by being ur brother's keeper.

May her soul rest in peace.. This is a wake up call for the 1st Lady and her dear husband Mr. President... God is not happy with the happenings in Nigeria. The leaders should act right because there's a God that fights for the masses... Do u know how many people who die daily in Nigeria because of bad road? This goes to show that no matter how rich u r, u r not safe neither are u untouchable... It's sad it had to be the poor old lady.... Rest in The Lord Ma.... Can the 1st Lady address the underage marriage issue on ground abi u want wait to see another sign from God...

RIP, may her soul rest in peace...I hope they get the message now that the roads are not for the poor and all the money they have swallowed has killed the poor woman.
I hope the roads get better now, they don't know who is next...themselves , their children, their relatives

I will keep mute,cuz if i talk..The woman will wake up and vex..

May her soul RIP, d road is a govt road oooo pple. Amaechi has no hand in this, infact the President and Orubebe should be held responsible.......

Sorry o.

Abeg I hope this recent calamity will not lead to inflation because i know say na Nigerian money dem go use bury am

Elele road is very good o. I don't know where u saw ur horrible road

She's her foster mother and not her biological mother. Read and listen to the news

@Anonymous 7.14am. Do u know how many people have died on that road because Jonathan is not concerned with fixing it? Now it's d president's mother-in-law so we should all get sensitive and start weeping and wailing, dress in sack cloth and rub ashes on our head abi? Mshwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww

She's her foster mother and not her biological mother. Read and listen to the news

Elele road is very good o. I don't know where u saw ur horrible road

i dont care what you guys say but ntoi to her I hope patience and her husband follows her soon

fej said...

Don't mind him,he's so desperate 2 reprimand som1 dat he didn't bother to check his english

Rest In Peace.
No one can hide from death, nor the Judgement of our Lord, Both are inevitable.

Which useless wake up call is dis. I won't u all to sy d truth. U would av wished patience nd ebelle sjld be in dat car so dat d trio can die nd let nigeria rest. Patience mama due, so wat? If na one mama die for ur village, govt care? Abeg joor, make she even deaden no be only die.

eyaa.... they should reconstruct the road and name it after her. that will be a great tribute rather than use the money to organise a "befitting" state burial. #dasall

Death is inevitable. Its a price someone must pay. Accident o, sickness o, sleeping n not waking up o! One of this form will surely lead to death..... So It was jst a coincidence.

i hope and pray that the first lady joins her mother the same way soon. the blood of plane crash victims are on her hands. stupid extravagant bitch.

Rough Diamond said...

Chai! U mean

MAY HER SOUL REST IN PEACE!!!

YOU SEE... THEY SHOULD FIX THE ROAD! ITS NOT ONLY US THE COMMONERS THAT SUFFER THE BAD ROADS.....LESSON TO BE LEARNT!

E dude said...

Gbaguan!!! Don't blame him/her. He/She must be related to our madam 1st lady. Any form of gbaguan is legal. Lol.

love me said...

Get it right d road isn't bad at all, its a newly constructed road; I live in Elele. D driver ws on a high speed, he drove into d bush on his own.

*stilldatsharpishanbabe*