Youtube strips 2billion fake video views from Rihanna, Justin Bieber and others | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 29 December 2012

Youtube strips 2billion fake video views from Rihanna, Justin Bieber and others

Some of these pop stars are artificial inflating their video views on Youtube to make themselves appear more popular online. Youtube chiefs recently stripped 2 billion views from pop videos on its site amid fears the figures were faked.

Rihanna, Justin Bieber and other music stars under Universal Music label lost 1 billion views.
Rita Ora, Alicia Keys, Labrinth and other music stars under Sony Music label lost 850 million views.
Michael Jackson's feed lost 287 million views, while Beyonce lost 151 million views

Youtube stripped the views without suggesting the music stars or their labels were directly involved in artificially inflating them. Some fans who are hackers could have inflated them, or maybe the labels paid the 'hackers' to take up the numbers. Depends on what you chose to believe :-)

38 comments:

I have said it and i will keep saying all these celebrity are fake and they don't have much money as they make us believe.they are as poor as A street urchin.naija celebs are the worst

kels said...

Shit happens! Corruption na corruption whether e happen for oyibo man land. Smh

Ok noted! Next to comment

@ lin u don tabon.....those wey dem write waec and jamb for will notlet u b...correct it ooo.....its artificially......not artificial.....

justlikeme@live.com said...

I SAID IT! Bieber has 800million views and my mom and dad doesnt know him. Gangnam Style wey never tey, my parle don sabi am!
Person wey be say na book book book ehn know don sabi Gangnam style. But sha its marketing strategy...if i sabi fake views, omo na to hook up with one small musician and fake views and BLOWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW

hehehehehhe

naija una too much, i sip my coffee jeje

This marks a huge commercial blow to all the artists involved as YouTube is now the web's most important outlet for music videos. The number of views attracted on YouTube are these days regarded as an unofficial worldwide popular music chart, so once it became clear that hits had been inflated, fingers immediately pointed at the record industry.

Lol.... Interesting

Linda, I actually noticed this kind of thing in the number of people following Justin bieber on twitter. Its so inflated. If you want to find out, just check the number of his followers, write it down; follow him if you aint following already; then check the number. Write down; unfollow him again, and follow once more. Each time you follow and unfollow him, just keep track of the number of his followers. You ll see that its so hyped, and will be flunctuating!! I dont know how they manage to do it. #CORRECTMEIFAMWRONG

That Girl said...

So Linda, u google Rihanna everyday?

I hope my favourite GANGNAM STYLE was not affected. Whoop! Whoop!

shrek said...

I hope my favourite GANGNAM STYLE was not affected. Whoop! Whoop!

Sounds like a list of predominantly black musicians to me! The shit may change but the flies remain the same.

African Sweetheart said...

kinda silly..

http://africansweetheart.blogspot.co.uk/

SAD...

Dey need 2 review 'gangnum style' cos 1billion is just reaching!
D video isn't all dat!
Billie jean

Martins (GlossyMart Tech Gadgets 07037317400 or 08116202737) said...

Hahahhehehehehohohoho!!! What do u expect to see before???? "StiLL laughing in spanish"

Nekky said...

Na wa!! that's all i can say. SMH

what abt tonto dike's fake 500,000 downloads.youtube shld also try 2 strip some of these fake naija downloads.....linda post my comment o!!! My name is LAPXZ 4rm aba.thnx jor.

It is also happening in Naija,I know the guys that are doing it here...a lot of our artist are into it!

Ace DJ Bentley said...

The history of scam started in spain, burgeoned by the latinos (mexico n brazil), commercialized by the chinese and justified by Americans and Nigerians are just scratching the surface.....
This ppl are way criminal than we think!

Yomslaw said...

Warefa

I think it's dose illuminati stars that do such things...those guys are crooks

Irritants come on this blog and BEG for their comment to be published you lot annoys me a lot, when you write trash and the blg owner refuses to publish it you beg, not forgetting those MORONS who wants to shove their trashy blogs down our throats by pasteing the link on here. Y'all should sod off! Moron!

You're so right

Loolz Inem dear make I use Ūя̲̅ mouth chop dis onion.
Av always suspected dis celebrities.

~BONARIO~says S̶̲̥̅Ơ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡ via NOKIA3310

I hope mine is not affected o. Cos my 10 views are genuine from my family members. They shd check well first o!

justlikeme@live.com said...

@Dandy Samuella: Nice one! I am sure you are an hacker or some programmer to detect that. It is actually true...i tried it. Same thing for Rihanna and Lady Gaga

Adorable Dammie...HI in advance

Naija una too much jor....i sip my coffee jeje

Damochedxb said...

Na wa oo,so these peeps be rigging youtube views again? I guess its safe to say that our 9ja artistes that crossed the 1 million views mark actually really tried, cos i used to place them on the pedestal of these international artistes who always seemed like having 50mil views was a piece of cake, not know that there was some abracadabra things going on underground. SMH!!

@Billie Jean: it's "Gangnam style"... And yes, the video deserves over a thousand views. The dude is Korean... So imagine the no of Asians watching minus the rest of the world...

kendra said...

U are not wrong dear! I even know how to do that twitter inflation courtsey of my cousin.. He's friends with a small celeb in miami,so the guy taught him...

You have time sha.....smh.

stay classy said...

In other news,take a good look at the photo above.Doesn't justin look more girly than Rihanna,forget about the lipstick,i can't tell who's the boy.

na 2 dai!warefa jor!

Take a chill pill... U don't have to be rude to be heard. Besides u not making any valid point. No one is shoving their blogs down ur throat. You should learn to control ur mouse not to click on d links. U can also show us how a good blog should look like before condemning pples work (I doubt dat tho... Judging by the construction of ur comment). I guess that's y u soon angry...

Please, Abeg, what's the secret for that followers inflation thing??

Hahahahaaaaaaaaaaa!omo naija,sip ur coffee joo

Abeg, wetin justin bieber dey sing o, make una tell me. Even rihanna sef!

S̶̲̥̅̊W̶̲̥̅̊E̶̲̥̅̊E̶̲̥̅̊T̶̲̥̅̊S̶̲̥̅̊ H̶̲̥̅̊O̶̲̥̅̊N̶̲̥̅̊E̶̲̥̅̊Y̶̲̥̅̊ sugar said...

@Bona which time ds one start nw? Abi na anoda level βε̲̣̣̣̥ ds fφя̩̥̊ 2013 wey U̶̲̥̅̊ wan start †̥ T̶̲̥̅ђe̶̲̥̅̊ reply pple's comments D̶̲̥̅̊α† were nt directed †̥ U̶̲̥̅̊?

This na d 2nd time nw wey i D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣ see U̶̲̥̅̊ nw D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣ do ds! ⌣̊┈̥-̶̶̯̥͡·̵̭̌✽̤̥̈̊KK̤̥̈̊·̵̶̭̥̌-̶̯͡┈̥‎⌣ nw leggo dia!