Pres. Jonathan steps into Sambo’s N16billion residence contract row | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 23 December 2012

Pres. Jonathan steps into Sambo’s N16billion residence contract row

President Goodluck Jonathan has stepped into the row sparked by the N9billion variation on the contract sum for the new official residence of Vice President Namadi Sambo.

The project was originally planned to cost N7billion. 

A request for the approval of the National Assembly for an additional N9billion for the purpose of providing furniture, fence, two protocol guest houses, a banquet hall and security gadgets has provoked outrage across the country.

President Jonathan is said to be dismayed by the controversy trailing the request and asked to be briefed by Vice President Sambo on the issue.

The Senate Committee on Federal Capital Territory has already written to Julius Berger Nigeria Limited, which is constructing the mansion, to justify the increase in contract sum.
During an inspection visit to the site by the Senate Committee, the Executive Secretary of the Federal Capital Development Authority (FCDA), Adamu Ismail had said the project was awarded in 2009 at the cost of N7billion.

He said the additional N9 billion was required to provide furniture, fencing, two additional protocol guest houses, a banquet hall and other security gadgets.
Ismail said the new proposal was not included in the original scope of work being handled by Julius Berger.

The Senate Committee is insisting on investigating the reasons advanced for the variation of the contract sum.

A reliable source familiar with the matter said the Executive arm was studying the observations of the Senate Committee.

He said the President had received brief from the Vice-President and relevant officials in the Ministry of Federal Capital Territory and the FCDA on the contract.

It was gathered that the Vice-President felt personally touched that his hard-earned image was dragged into the project which is to house him and his successors.

Another source added: “The VP was uncomfortable with the position of the Senate Committee on the residential building and the backlash. He has made his opinion known to the President.
“The President is however getting brief from all sides connected with the project on the increase in the contract sum.

“As a matter of fact, a top government official met informally with the Chairman of the Senate Committee on FCT, Senator Smart Adeyemi, to verify facts and figures on the project. The meeting with Adeyemi took about one and a half hours.

“The Executive has not taken any decision on whether to review the contract upward or retain the original cost. The ongoing briefing by all parties involved in the contract would determine the position of the Executive.”

But the Senate Committee is going ahead with the verification of the contract sum.
Another source said: “The Senate Committee has written the construction giant to submit its Bill of Quantity, design and any other document that could support its demand for the variation of the contract sum.

“Once we have got a response from the construction company, we will ask other experts to analyze its submission.

“We want to be as transparent as possible to ensure that we are acting only in the public interest.”
Meanwhile, the Chairman of the Senate Committee, Senator Smart Adeyemi, who spoke with our correspondent last night, said: “The issues we raised about the contract do not amount to undermining the government in any form. We are also not out to embarrass public officers or any party whatsoever.
“As part of the transformation agenda of the government, we did our bit as Senators to expose why a project conceived at N7billion would attract additional N9billion. We acted in good faith and in the interest of the public.

“It is left to the Executive to look at the issues in question and take necessary steps on the future of the contract. This committee is not a trial court but we owe this nation a duty to ensure that it has value for money on any project.”

Concerning allegations that the committee has compromised due to pressure, Adeyemi added: “We have not compromised, we have not chickened out. We have made our position known and we are going further to collate facts and figures for the public to judge.

“After we have completed our assignment, it is left to Nigerians to judge.”
The Executive Secretary of the Federal Capital Development Authority (FCDA), Adamu Ismail had Ismail told the lawmakers that the proposed additional N9 billion has been slashed to about N6 billion by the Bureau for Public Procurement (BPP).

He said: “We have worked out the details and passed to BPP for consideration.
“They (BPP) have sent it back to us with their observation.
“We requested for N9 billion but now it came to about N6 billion.”
Adeyemi said either N13billion or N14 billion or N16billion for the project is indefensible in view of present realities.

Source: The Nation

50 comments:

BLOGLORD said...

Why did i bother to read all of the epistle? bottom line - this is 'thievery'
Rubbish! If they like let them allocate all of Nigeria's financial resources to the building of the vice president's house. inside the so called mansion, he will still sleep in a 12-inch space of any kingsized bed whatsoever.
Rubbish!

Who cares!!!

Jesus Christ of Nigeria!!!!! This house for 16 billion Naira? I've officially lost hope of a better Nigeria. this country of mine though. My new year resolution is to see that crude oil dry up in a twinkle of an eyes within a year. May these politicians never live to enjoy their stolen wealth.

Crazy pipu,7b to build a ouse,9b for furniture,God punish una...

Fuck their ass n' asses!!!!!!

java hosting said...

@ Anonymous
You have to care bro - they robbing the country blind.

Jonathan is settling Sambo as he plans to run again. You be thief.

naijaboy said...

Jonathan tinks we re all kids shey... In his own small eyes, he tinks he is bein solomonmatic n diplomatic sayn 4 d public's general interest dt dey shud luk in2 y 7billion initially n now 9billion... Wat is d difference n wat has dt hv 2 do wt us... In his eyes, he tinks he has taken a wise decision 2 b considerate... 4me o, he is talkin rubbish n wt no wisdom atall. Cant dey get him a low cost buildn wt state of d art interiors n where is he sleepn now... Under d bridge! Dz jonathan is really sickenin me...SMH 4 him.

Lynnajade said...

Honestly, u took the word right out of my mouth

My only happiness is,frm dust we came from and to dust we shall return.Nobody is departing with a dame.May God have mercy on us Jonathan govt is d most corrupt,the rich are getting richer and the poor are getting poorer

So why the Hell should tax payers money be used to build a home for the VP........*confused face*

I keep hearing Billions, Billions and I get surprised, if they can't just answer one question I will maybe understand, the question is- "Would they as individuals use their personal money to the tune of 16 billion Naira to build a residence including the other blablabla they are talking about"? Smh...

Oh nigga pls shut it. So your government spending frivolously dosnt affect you? Besides I was surprised to see normal roofing sheets on that building. For a house that is gulping millions I expected some kind of bronze roof or even fiber glass. Ndi ara

We shud all care and say no to their outrageous excesses... 16billion for 1 persons houz??? How much then wud GEJ's. Houz cost??? Will they vacate after their tenor? Or wil d nxt president n VP build theirs too? Let's shout out pple... Otherwise in time we'll lose our future to this farts.

Vanity upon Vanity.one day u will die and liv Al dis behind.did yakowa not die,did yaradua not die,all der moni luxuries,did they tk it along. Vanity

Joy Kaduru said...

Too long jare

Throwing bombs, flood victims, prostitude, disables, prisoners A̶̲̥̅̊я̲̣̥ε̲̣̣̣̥ D̶̲̥̅̊ major prblms I̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ nigeria• Of wich †ђȋ̝̊̅§ money wil be enough 2 solve amicably yet D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ A̶̲̥̅̊я̲̣̥ε̲̣̣̣̥ using it 2 build 1 prsn`s house•. God Ȋ̝̊̅§ Ω̶̣̣̥̇̊​στ̣̣̥​ sleeping @̤̥̣̈̊̇ a̶̲̥̅̊ℓℓ!

Ob_mmx said...

Heartless humans. I wish they make it 20billion if it will make them happy cos I have already gotten used to billions been spent on little projects. It's no new.

I knw after all d gospels, D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ will still gv dem some billions. Buh in dt mansion, he will b slpn on in ine room with 12 inch bed.when others created with him are still suffern to feed @least 2square mile per day.. Only GOD will judge us all..NDI ORI..

kasillars said...

they are all mad men. Nigerians are suffering and all they are fighting about is N16 Billion to build a house for the VP where million dont even have shelter.

I want to know if the VP's house is heaven on earth or better still if death won't be able to kill those residing in it? Cause I don't know the kind of house that will cost 16 Billion... I weep for Nigeria

nicole said...

Maltina cares.............mtcheew

Heyes said...

Idiots!

Our leaders α̲̅я̩̥̊ε̲̣̣̣̥ irresponsible Ãήϑ criminals nd nigerians shuld rise up ƒό̲̣̣̣̥r̲̅ revolution nd say no ƨ̣̇ dis corruption in ð highest order.

Can't read shit abeg.

One day bush meat go catch d hunter. Issok.

I will like 2b dere wen God is punishing dis pple. Kei!

This is all rubbish. People are star giving and you think coming up with this kind of house does one any good.. Wait is he the first VP in Nigerian? Where was .GEJ staying when he was VP. Soon they will want to build a new place for the president. Who cares. God will judge u all. I am disappointed in the VP.

this country keeps sinking and the masses just seem helpless...sad!

herbee3 said...

We need God's inteference in Nigeria,we av wicked leaders,they dnt even consider all dis thngs as vanity.

This is the worst form of architecture for a building that should gulp 16billion. I cry for Nigerian Architects. I hope this does not become a listed building.

have died while waiting for their mesily pension to be paid but this govt is more concerned with 'spending' billions on building & furnishing a house? Pls one question where was Atiku living when he was VP? where was GEJ living while he was VP,what is wrong with where the VP is currently living? smdh
Upon all when they die they cant take the stolen loot to hell with them! & their children usually end up USELESS!!

This nonsense just disgusts me,Linda U should posts things which give people joy and not High blood pressure.

I have no objection with them building an official house for the vice president but I do question how a house can gulp so much money. If they had budgeted say N200m for it, I would understand but N7b??? How did they manage to come up with such a huge sum of money??? I just finished building a 4 bedroom villa and trust me, I did not spend more than N20m, including external and internal finishing as well as the garden, etc. Politicians are the most selfish bunch of human beings on the planet, the same everywhere but at least in the UK, there is a system in place that functions, unlike Nigeria!

@Anonymous-December 23, 2012 11:50 AM- the house Atiku was living in was sold to him as all government officials and civil servants were asked to purchase the houses they were living in. So the question I would ask is what did the government do with the money raised from the sale of these houses??? Mind you, we are not talking small money here....

Ole

Pity.which kain house be dis.maximum security prison? I hope d houe will b mobile too.y r they afraid of d insecurity monster they created.1bn should be more than enuff for the house.nigerians shd ensure they kick out PDP.

3dworld said...

I am an Architect myself, and i can clearly say, that house is a disgrace! for 19 million. that house should look better. Just take a look at the LOCAL roof they used. 19 Billion indeed. GEJ cant contest 2015, cus he has done NOTHING for the country. the rich gets richer in 9ja, poor gets poorer. We need a revolution like JJ RAWLINGS.to come sweep this nation CLEAN.

Shey dem mix diamond wit d block... Dz Nigeria tho

the house is this picture have normal roof and normal block, let insist they use concrete, what cost 7b in this house i'm seeing now? i'm a contractor this structure with with the nice fixtures, marble floor in every room and koln bathroom 250million naira base on this picture i'm seeing, i expect to see something like the taj mahal

And people say buhari suldnt rule dis country? They don't want him to rule bc they no he won't tolorate their corruption. Its since goodluck became president that every allocation moved from million to billion

We should use every available medium to always resist this type of excess. Its unfair when we said that we do not care and yet many of us- graduates and under employed are living in the streets. Our future and that of our children should be safe guarded by us bcos that house is too expensive for only one person . We need a change!

deY shud all go 2 hell..f**k dm wit their projt...

Is this the house that is making all the fuse???unbelieveable even my family house is much better than this and it doesn't cost 7B naira how much more the extra 9B they are asking for. I really weep imagine can build? how many class rooms this money can build? how many roads this money can build. wickedness of the highest order

oooooooooooooooollllllllllllllllleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

and if he drops today what happens to the house???i guess hs is not think fo that mchew

How can you Budget 7billion for a house, and then demand 9billion as extra cost? That doesn't make sense. Even in an eatery, Extra no fit cost pass the main dish. Obviously, the contractor is just a hose/ a conduit for siphoning money. One day, shit is gonna hit d fan in dis country! And I don't wanna be anywhere near it when it happens.

I hate to say this but i am ashamed of my country, President and everyone of them in Governance..SHAME SHAME SHAME