'We watched our kids roast to death like goats' - couple who lost five children in fire | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 29 December 2012

'We watched our kids roast to death like goats' - couple who lost five children in fire

Despite the fact that some weeks have passed since the fire disaster that wiped out five children of Mr. & Mrs. Augustine Ikwuagwu on Comfort Oboh Street, Kirikiri Town, Lagos, its bitter memory still lingers. Indeed, the tragedy has been a nightmare to the couple. When Saturday Sun met with the couple recently, pain and agony have overwhelmed them, as they recounted their loss.

Speaking amid tears, Mrs Margaret Ikwuagwu, said her fine kids, Chukwuemeka (13), Ifeanyichukwu (10), Bright (8), Joy (6) and Victoria (4) were sleeping in the house when the incident started at 10pm. She said that all efforts to rescue the children failed. “I asked my children to go and sleep in the room while I was preparing to close shop for the day.

Then, shortly, someone ran to tell me that our house was on fire. I abandoned everything I was doing and ran down to the house. When I got there, the fire had already covered the whole place and I could not enter my room to rescue my children,” she said. Mrs Ikwuagwu explained that she cried for help, but no one came to her aid. “When I got there, I met a mammoth. My co-tenants were busy removing their children and property.

They started the rescue as soon as the fire broke out, but never bothered to inform me that our house was on fire. I tried to rescue our children, but I could not because the fire had covered our room. I heard the voices of my children shouting. But could not save the situation. I cried for help, but no one assisted me. “I forced myself inside the room when I heard my children crying for help, with the hope that I would bring out at least one or two, but I ended up being burnt by fire; so I ran out.” The woman revealed that as she was shouting, her husband arrived at the scene.

“When my husband arrived, we joined hands to rescue our children. He pushed the door, but the fire was too much; he tried to force himself through the window; yet he did not succeed. We called our children, but they did not answer us. When we tried and saw that there was no hope again, we fainted, having watched our five children, cash and other property ruined by fire. We were rushed to the hospital immediately and did not know what happened later,” she stated.

Mrs. Ikwuagwu stated that it was after some hours that she and her husband recovered from the shock. “When we recovered, we were asked to come to Kirikiri Police Station to make statement. Thereafter, we were asked to come and take our children for burial. So, we went to bury them at Trinity Cemetery, Olodi Apapa.” She revealed that before the fire disaster, her family had planned to travel home on December 22 for Christmas. “I do not know why this thing happened to us.

Why should our five children go like that? We were preparing to travel home on December 22 for Christmas. Now here we are. Where do we start and how far do I go from here? I know that it was not an ordinary fire. But, however, God will take control of the whole thing,” she lamented. Narrating what happened, Mr. Augustine Ikwuagwu, popularly known as Osuofia, said that when he arrived he tried his best to rescue the children, regretting that the fire had already taken over the entire compound.

He said: “On December 12, I went to my wife’s shop and saw my children sleeping and I asked my wife to take them home, which she did. We did not lock the children inside the house, as people are saying, rather. Our 12-year-old son, Chukwuemeka, took them home, and when the fire started, no one cared to call us and as a result, our children got burnt to death. We have three male and two female children and they died same day.

As it is, I have no house, no property and no child. People are saying that we locked the children inside the room and lighted a candle, but I am telling you that we did not lock them inside and we did not use candle at all; what we use was rechargeable lamp.” He also stated that the cause of the fire is yet to be known. “We are still surprised about how the fire started and up till this moment, we have not been able to know the cause of the fire. But God has the answer,” he stated. Mr. Ikwuagwu said the fact that they watched their five children suffer and died in the fire was the worst thing that has happened to him and his wife.

“I wanted to kill myself because I do not know where I am going from here. I do not think, I can cope because my entire life struggles are gone. After five children, we have decided not to bear children again. But now, we are starting again,” he lamented. He stated that since the incident, life has not been easy for his family, revealing that he and his wife are still receiving treatment in the hospital. “It has not been easy for us since then.

We have no child, shelter, clothes, money and property. Also, we have not recovered from the shock. So, anyone who knows what it takes to lose five children and everything should please assist us to come back to life. My wife’s spirit has gone down; she has been thinking of how to get another child,” Ikwuagwu lamented.

Source:  Sunnewsonline

92 comments:

justlikeme@live.com said...

OH EM GEE!!!! This is just awful! RIP to the kids. Whats with Nigeria and Fire this days...abi Boko people don enter las gidi ni??

Naija una too much, coffee wey i dey drink comot my nose as i see dis

TAKE HEART THE LORD IS YOUR STRENGTH HE WILL NEVER GIVE A BURDEN THAT WILL OVERWHELM YOU. HE IS EVER PRESENT, HE WILL REPLACE ALL THAT YOU HAVE LOST AND MORE.

Hrm paul Ojeih said...

AT LEAST WE NO THE TRUTH THE COUPLE DID NOT USE CANDLE I HAVE ALWAYS WONDERED HOW ON EARTH CAN DEY USE CANDLE WEN THERE ARE A LOT OF CHEAPER CHINESE RECHARGE LAMP WELL IT IS SO SAD MY HEART GOES TO THIS COUPLE THIS Is THE WORST KIND OF MISFORTUNE TO BEFALL A FAMILY THAT IS STRUGGLING TO MAKE ENDS MEET WATCHING YOUR 5 KIDS GET BURNT TO DEATH OH GOD PLEASE DONT LET THIS FATE BEFALL US.
may the good lord grant this family the fortitude to bare this loss

So sad! How do u console this couple! May God grant you the fortitude to bear the loss. God the unseen observer will deliver and take control of you and your wife...TC

So sad may their gentle souls rest in peace.

LALICIOUS said...

God plz give dem d strenght,,,,,I decree dat very disappointment is a blessing to dem,,,,God plz give dem PEACE nd may dier children RIP....smh

princessa said...

This is soo sad, am moved to tears,5kids on the same day,ths experience can run anyone mad. May God comfort these grieving parents. Wish them God's strenght n favor

Oh my God what a pity God will restore all what u have lost pele

Waoh! What a tragedy. Only God knows how to console these couple . The lord is indeed their strength.

African culture.Blame it on others/replace the lost children/ what will people say/Hope in God/Never learn a lesson.
12 yr old trapped in a burning room meant the doors/windows were bolted shut.

Sometimes we just wish we can change back the hands of time with situations like this. May their souls rest in peace, Amen!!

Its a pity! Parents our kids are our responsibility,they are dependant on till we are no more, Do not always make our situation to be in a pity one thing could have save those kids that Night may their souls rest In peace!

Very very painful to lose all ur children, just in one day.

Their father who ordered them home frm their mums store without an elderly person to watch them is responsible for their death!
I am sure d kids went into one room and locked themselves up for fear of intruders and now this sensless tragedy! He would be charged for manslaughter here in d US and put away 4 a long time!!

Queen Bee said...

Dey really must have mean neighbours!......
Its only God that can be their solace,the holy Spirit of God is the perfect comforter.!and they should remember to keep hope alive.
May the gentle souls the kids rest in perfect peace!

the fashion engineer said...

For these people to still be alive!! Its Gods grace mehn!!!someone out there is always goin thru a worse situation....
The Fashion Engineer

kim b said...

Oh God!!!.... Tears in ma eyes.

Lord u alone can comfort this couple,please give them strength and comfort and may the souls of their kids rest in peace Amen:(

ouch...diz iz very painful n no1 wud knw d kind of pain dis parents are going tru.al i can say is dat God is d restorer of al tins n he wud restore unto them al they lost n more dan they lost.Amen,stil Cindy

BLOGLORD said...

Wow this is such a devastating incident. i feel so sorry for u both.
BUT if the door wasnt locked, how come ur kids could'nt get out? i mean one was a teen right?he should have been able to run out together with his siblings. hmnn...may their souls rest in peace

This is sad...*weeps*

Err... what's with the contradictory accounts??? Sorry for your losses, may God grant you the fortitude to bear this pain, and give you the strength to move on, AMEN!!

Its rily touching#sad#.. God in his infinite mercy will interceed 4 u,God will definitely fight 4 u cos of does innocent souls...

stay classy said...

they actually watched them die :'(...this is too sad to think of.God be with them.amen

May God give you strength. No one ever expects such tragedy

Austin Uche said...

such a pathetic story... Chei !
Pls, in ur quiet time, pls say a prayer for d downtrodden in our society.. They rilly need it..... May God help this family in Jesus Name.... Amen.

Martins (GlossyMart Tech Gadgets 07037317400 or 08116202737) said...

Sowi for ur loss ma!!! The lord is ur refuge and will surely give u the strenght to bear the loss..."My sympathy"

i couldn't just hold back the tears...i can't even imagine what they are going thru...divine consolation oh lord!my prayers are with them...
@MzEllatyra

i couldn't just hold back the tears...i can't even imagine what they are going thru...divine consolation oh lord!my prayers are with them...
@MzEllatyra

Ahhhh, Linda! Linda! Linda! How many times haf I called you? Its not fair and right na. I sent you a private mail on this matter to see if anything can be done for this family and you never replied.
If I wasn't convinced that you are a charitable person going by all the previous efforts to help those needing it I would have had a wrong impression of your person.
Anyway, na you sabi wetin dey blow your spirit sha.

Nekky said...

eehyaaa. don't even know what to say. i was among those that blamed them for locking their kids in a room but if what he said is true about not locking them up,then it is really pathetic. pray God give them the strength to pull thru this and bless them with more kids. i can only imagine what they are going thru. God will see them thru this.

Take heart,words cant express the kind of sorrow you are feeling right now but one thing I know for sure is that God is not sleeping,He sees and knows all. He knows why he let such happen. God will see you through this difficult and trying period. Cossy P

What a tragedy

Really Sad. Its a pity they had to go thru such pain. 5 children! Make God save us for this country. Wat happened to fire service eh?

Sorry to hear this....Really sad ..May GOD BE WITH YOU

*down cast* I feel so sorry for the man and his wife. Don't even want to put myself in their shoes. But God knws beta. He will give u the strength to carry on. Poor kidz. May their souls rest in peace.

Anabel said...

The God'f Job will visit u people IJN. Ur sorrows will be sooo forgotten when his blessings starts pouring. Take heart sir and ma. God knows best.

This is quite sad.je cn they b hlped?

MJ said...

God take control and watch over the mother. Such a tragedy!!!

Which one is despite the fact that week have passed??? Huh!!!
Is dere ever a time that they will forget deir loSses???

jbaby said...

Madam and mr, God will give u the strenght to pass through this trying period. It is well

ernie said...

This ÈŠ̝̊̅§ jst sad....I knw its wrng to say dis nw bt wen tyns like dis happen,sm1 shld b held responsible....either d ineffective fire service or sm sh*tty contractor who made faulty electrical wirings.....sm1 shld b made to accnt fr tyns like dis...otherwise dis wil jst b 1 out of a few more we'll hear of

RIP little 1nces. I hope this will be A great lesson 2 parent out there

May God comfort them

It's a pity that they had to face that disaster at such a time in their lives. It is well, they should just believe God for something big this preiod. Linda, you can help them by posting their legit bank acct info so good hearted Nigerians can help out...

Dear Lord Jesus, please come Α̲̅πϑ comfort them Α̲̅πϑ give them hope again. Amen! Ezinne

Ayo said...

May GOD console and comfort u AMEN.

so so sad.Chineke gbaa ha ume.

Dis is so sad. May such be far away from our families IJN Amen. God's grace is all I pray for ur family. It is well. I'm speechless....*reallysad*

So sad. God will give them the grace to bear their loss.

This is really sad. May God console the family in Jesus name

Woooooah....*almost in tears*..wat a tragedy,so sad.....5children and all the properties in a day....gosh...ds year is jus not funny...God plz help ds family,dey re goin thru alot,,even if we dnt c wat 2 tnk God 4 ds year,lets tnk him 4 da gift of life...

S̶̲̥̅̊W̶̲̥̅̊E̶̲̥̅̊E̶̲̥̅̊T̶̲̥̅̊S̶̲̥̅̊ H̶̲̥̅̊O̶̲̥̅̊N̶̲̥̅̊E̶̲̥̅̊Y̶̲̥̅̊ sugar said...

Hmmmm.....such Ά̲̣̥ sad story; so pathetic! Gôd̶̲̥̅̊ knws best, i pray Gôd̶̲̥̅̊ grants U̶̲̥̅̊ Ãήϑ ЧЯ wife all T̶̲̥̅Ñ’e̶̲̥̅̊ encouragmnts Ãήϑ supports D̶̲̥̅̊α† U̶̲̥̅̊ both need †̥ survive ds trying time!

Can't J̲̥̅̊u̶̲̥̅̊s̶̲̥̅̊t̲̥̅̊ imagine; ooo ma se oooo!!!!

SO SO SO SAD :(
May their souls RIP

it's such a pity.

chzyme said...

Wen I red d incident wks back I shed tears, esp wen neibos said d were busy saving their own tinz and went ahead to say d cldnt help bc d family lock the house and left wt key which d parents faulted, we don't hv luv of neibo again, Aluu blood is fast entering an average nigeria, Father plz come and deliver us and console this parents, only u can do it, no human can and may d souls of d 5 Angels RIP amen. So painful, I wish is just a nightmare

Woooooah....*almost in tears*..wat a tragedy,so sad.....5children and all the properties in a day....gosh...ds year is jus not funny...God plz help ds family,dey re goin thru alot,,even if we dnt c wat 2 tnk God 4 ds year,lets tnk him 4 da gift of life...

Unbelieveable

ifyody said...

I dont know what I will say that will comfort them. But may God strengthen them. He will provide succor for them.

Hmmm...Its a pity wallahi.May the Almighty comfort you and bless you again with cute children like before. I think they need serious help cause these can affect them mentaly because I have seen people who have lost sanity after losing a child talkless of five.Continue to pray hard and get yourselff busy so as not to think a lot about your loses.RIP litle ones

I really don't know what to say but cried while reading this. This is the worst that can happen to any parent on earth. I suggest to look for support groups or grief counseling group, If non in nigeria then travel out of the country to seek help and change environment for a while. Any embassy that will hear your story will be sympathetic and will want to help. The Lord is your strenght.

Ofilispeaks.com said...

How can we help the family?

Am sorry abt ur loss, but how can ur wife be thinkin of how to get another child now wen u guys hav no roof ova ur heads??? Doesn't sound right! Misplaced prioritites I guess. U pple shld heal frm d loss first, settle down n reorganize ur lives b4 thinking of how to bear children again. Toh.

blog pikin said...

Dis is heart broken..linda pls provide an account were we can pay in some money to this couple..

Didn't u jst read dat d children were sleeping?I guess d fire wuld av gone wild b4 d heat n pple's shouts wld av woken dem up.so so sad,its jst so much 2 take in at once

willow said...

I thought I was the only one that noticed. Losing a child is bad enough not to talk of five children in one day. Rest in peace to the poor children and May God grant their parents the strength to cope during this tragic period.

IMF S. said...

AMEN!!! So hearbreaking.

Obyn said...

U just open your mouth and talk rubbish! God will judge you! Idiot

so sad may God give u the sthrenght to bear the loss

Linda pls can I get a contact number to reach them? Everyone pls pray for them. Am passing thru a very tough time but soon as I read this story I knew my case is groundnuts compared to this. Proper hell on earth.may the souls of the kids rest in peace Jesus send your holy spirit to comfort them as for the neighbours God is watching u and such pain will visit u amen.

You are a heartless beast!! You don't even feel sorry for them, if you were the one you would probably have been contemplating suicide by now..have u ever carried a baby for nine months before? Not to talk about 5 of them..ur here talking about 'african culture' aren't you african? Mchewww amusu!! Beast!! They told you what happened if you don't wanna believ that's your problem just shut up and stop 'blaming' the parents..like u said itz 'african culture' right lookinh for someone to blame....just ask the lord to change your heart of stone and repent..God forgive you

They had a 12 year old with them!! When I was twelve I was the one babysitting and cooking for my little bro and my neighbours 3 kids and we were at home alone!! What do u mean?..stop blaming the parents, do you think they are enjoying at the fact that they've lost 5 kids whom they probably love with all their heart?..no!! I'm just asking you to think from the human point of view and not just as a U.S brainwashed legal robot :) thanks and God bless

How could u say that. If d foolish pple called government makes necessity available 4 human consumption as in d case of light, dis wudnt hav happened or d damaged wudnt av bn dis pathetic. D man only thought of it dat it wud b dangerous 4 d woman to b goin home late at nite wif 5kids. Empathy is wat dey nid nw nt Blame

Its obvious that the kids were locked inside dats y they were burnt to death.people never learn from other peoples experience cos this isn't d ist time dis kinda tin happend.let's throw sentiments away cos the kids in questn weren't toddlers n could find their way out of d fire if the door wasn't locked.I actually feel sorry for dis couple but don't believe their story.I won't be surprised if dis incident repeats itself again.we r daft in dis country RIP little ones

Is so painful pls lagos state government shld com 2 dia aid,may almighty creator of d universe grant both couples d heart of joy again.

Gbabe said...

Dude, pls stop this ur lame joke about coffee. It's inappropriate and extremely lame. R.I.P BEAUTIFUL KIDS!!!

Pls don't say that, A 12 yrs old Boy or girl can take care of his sibling pls. Mrs Tessy

am so sori oooooh....Take hrt

cicy said...

They were sleeping, my dear.
They probably couldn't do much when the fire gutted their rOom. Pls say a prayer for them and stop blaming the kids. No one wishes for such a disaster. But God knows best.

Chrisbrizzy said...

I just got this now and couldn't stop my lachrymal glands from filming my eyes with salty fluid...you never would know how bitter a grape is until you taste one. May the Lord strengthen them like He did for Job.
Please Linda find out how we could be of help and make it known to us...I trust your effort.

R.I.P to d children. D parent God will comfort u nd give u a permanent children bc nothing is too late for God,i am praying nd sure he will intervene bc. with God nothing is impossible.Get close to God he is there for u at any time nd he is expecting u as well to surprise u.

Its a pity! For the judges , it cld happen to any bodi. Hw many times dis ur dads watch over u as u sleep. Don't see any thing wrong in asking kids to go & sleep, even locking the house is wat pple do all the time. For does sayin their dad shd be charged for manslaughter. Its easier to lay blames on others. Hisses!

Tears is rolling down my eyes as am readind this.Am short of words,ha! I pray that God should give the couple fortitude to bear the lost and provide them wt new kids that will stay wt them till the end.

kendra said...

So what if they were locked? If they parents didn't lock the house and armed robbers came in to steal something and shoot them,the world will still say why did they lock them inside?

If u didn't read well,the eldest took the younger ones to the house where they all fell asleep in the room... So the fire started and before they could wake up,it had spread and the wicked neighbours couldn't send one person to rush and call there parents...

maya said...

aeew father Lord have mercy what kind of tragedy is this nah *crying...... RIP children and for their parents hummmm God will heal both of you ijn amen!

Mrs Margaret Ikwuagwu the mother of the children passed on while receiving treatment the woman could not bear the shock. I pray that God will grant Mr Ikwuagwu (farther) the grace and strength to move on with his life

BB said...

Rest in peace kids...God b wit u d parents....Our God doesnt slip...He's @ ur aid.

Asquare said...

So SAD""..."..............

The God of Job will visit you...Rip darlings.

May the God of intervention, intervene and console you people -He seethe in secrete and open, whether is man made or not God knows it best.Do not lose hope or give up but trust in God and start again, He is going to make all things beautiful again. For the children may God grant them eternal rest in His bosom. Amen

GOD WILL SURELY MAKE A WAY FOR U.ITS HARD TO BEAR BUT THE HOLY SPIRIT WILL SURELY COMFORT U BOTH,TAKE HEART

LIBers pls let's all contribute a small donation for these ppl to start all over again.due to the trauma they're experiencing I dnt think they can get bk 2 work 4 a while.