Indian tea workers burn their boss and his wife to death | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 27 December 2012

Indian tea workers burn their boss and his wife to death

Tea plantation workers torched the home of their boss, killing both him and his wife, following a labour dispute in the northeastern Indian state of Assam, officials said on Thursday.

Around 1,000 workers at the privately-owned M.K.B. Tea Estate attacked the plantation owner's bungalow on Wednesday and set it on fire in violence blamed on festering labour unrest in the tea-growing region, police said.

Mridul Bhattacharya and his wife Rita were burned to death as workers armed with home-made weapons prevented police from rescuing them, they said.

"The body of the planter was charred beyond recognition and reduced to ashes while the body of the wife was found lying in the kitchen," local police officer A. Das told AFP by telephone.

The grisly attack occurred in Assam's tea-growing Tinsukia district, some 500 kilometres (310 miles) east of the state's main city of Guwahati.

The Indian Express newspaper said the violence was sparked by orders served by Bhattacharya on 10 estate workers to vacate their quarters and the detention of three employees by police over unspecified disputes.

Plantation workers were seen on local television channels admitting to having carried out an attack.
"We all came and attacked the bungalow and set it on fire. They deserved to be killed as the planter has exploited us for a long time and tortured us for petty things," a tea estate female worker said on News Live local TV channel.

The station did not identify the woman.

Assam produces around 55 percent of India's annual tea production, which stood at 988.32 million kilograms (2,174.3 million pounds) last year, and the state is home to more than 800 tea estates.

Source

56 comments:

Imoblog said...

this is another alu, tagged Alu 2 in India

BLOGLORD said...

People can be really mean damnn! too bad. i really wish one could hear only postive news in 2013.

Shocking!! That was too extreme by the workers. Smh...

Not surprised. Indians are known to be slave drivers anywhere they area. Expecting this kind of revolution from airtel soon. Where people are working ungodly number of hours for peanuts and the nonsence govt turning a blind eye. Won't talk much. Go to opic plaza in abeokuta and weep for ur country men.

aderemi said...

Na nigerian police dey duty that day, I agree with you, this is alu sunita.

all de bad news re rushin befor de yr runs out. Tank God dey wount kum next yr again

BIG FISH * said...

Hey.... Dis is a good news... Cos when plpp re pushed to d wall dey will react... Dis kind of things ought to start happening in Nigeria...D tea plantation owner and his wife re very wicked plpp... Dey receive dere jugdement and died a shameful death.... Hey foolish and coward Nigeria dis is not Aluu copy... Dis is a good justice to wickedness...

When ll pple stop talkin justice in2 deir own hands.itz a pity.

U people should v resigned instead of doing dat, see me see trouble o, na by force to work with am

Jungle justice...smh

Etochi

Rilly shocking! Trying 2 imagine d way dey struggled btw lyf n death till dey gave up. God 4bid bad tin. As 4 d workers,Dere's no reason dat can justify dis act. Its just too extreme. Anoda version of aluu4 dis tym its termed Guwahati2

One word "Bizzare" D devil is jealous of d evil men perpetuate dis days.

Dats jast terrrible, d way ppl take laws in2 their own hands is jast scary,no man has any ryt to take anoda mans life.... #guRlS♥rOcK

......Coming to Naija very soon, polithiefcians grab ur copy. Billie Goat

freeangel said...

This is absolute wickedness

MJ said...

Now that they've killed their boss, no be lose them don lose their jobs so? Wicked heartless people! You don't kill to make your point. There are other ways to get your point across!

Herby said...

Na wa oh! Ontop person business again? Is it by force? If u nt comfortable wt workin wt d man den u quit d damn job! Must dey kill to prove their point! May God help us all...

funny,,, hw ppl can b somtymz....

EB said...

This shows d level or degree in which oppression can transform a human being into a beastly n inhuman being. It is really shocking nd barbaric

Na wa o things are happening under dis sky God show mercy

if u av worked for indians u wud understabd d plight of d workers,indians are worst employer one can have,dey r hrtless,mean n wud frustrate u,dey pay u little n u wrk yr ass off....i once.wrked in their company n i resigned out of frustration.

THIS IS WHAT HAPPENS WHEN OGA NO PAY 13TH MONTH O.....LINDA WHATS THE STORY DON'T GIVE US HALF BAKED GIST NAH?

Wait prince charming or
W̶̲̥̅̊н̣̣̣̝̇̇̇@̤̥̣̈̊̇†̥̣̣̣̇̇̇ do U̶̲̥̅̊ call urself A̶̲̥̅®Îµ̲̣̣̣̥ U̶̲̥̅̊ educated atall

TWITS said...

this is barbaric; and to have the audacity to boldly lay claims to such act..I wonder. things are really getting offhand on earth nowadays. Signs of the end times??

So sad may their souls rest in peace

So sad.

Oh it's Indians; no surprises there

indian peeps are mean hearted soul.

willow said...

Too many animals on the loose disguised as humans.If you are not happy with the work package, leave.Why take such extreme measures by burning them alive?

Datz too bad!!Wats happening??

palo said...

No matter how cruel †̥ђε̲̣̣̣̥ man had been I am sure he didn't deserve death at least not such a violent and gruesome one.

That was a vry sad one.

Leadership sometime mean that the leader should make compromises and not be rigid. The oppressed will one day lash out rip

Aluu style

Sam Oracle said...

Lord have mercy

Hmmmmmmmm so so sad!but then,Nigerian corrupt leaders deserve this....!!!

hmmm, nawaooo, but those guys were too harsh on him, abaaahh,,.,,,,,, even d innocent wife was also killed,,, rip.

Nw u all see itz nt just Nigeria dah we hear of bad deeds. U can imagine they prevented d police frm saving d man n his wife

HisFlyness said...

In as much as wht dey did was 2 extreme...if u'v worked with indians u'll knw how dis workers feel...

Now that they've destroyed the source Of their daily livlihood,I wonder how dey'll. Sustain theirselves from now on.We really need to think twicE b4. Doin things always

But Indians can be barbaric

Dare Thomas said...

I wish our leaders here in Nigeria could receive such brutal punishment...worker are the economics backbone wether we like it or not they form the masses why cheating them...

wagzi said...

The end of the world shall be like Sodom and Gomorah may God give us the grace to always do good

OMG!!! No matter how wicked those people were,they were still humans who deserved a second chance,chai! The world is really coming to an end...

Chidinma said...

This is what people can do when u push them so hard,Every human being has a limit he can tolerate.some employers in nigeria should also take note

BIBI said...

pple dont have value 4 human life anymore!oh God dat's mean

Dis one serious and dis one pass me o

Linda, we. go eva hear gudnews? Abeg o!

indians are very wicked. bad death but good for them

indians? SMH. most wicked of God's creations.

Absolute rubbish. What sort of dance style is that and to see kids dancing the shit? God forbid.

IGBENOBA OMOTOLA. CALEB UNIVERSITY LAGOS.
this is very wicked.. at the end of the day, they will say it was a mistake and they are sorry. this i must say is unbelievably mean.

Revolt...dats d endgame wen oppression bcoms too hefty to bear... Wat wud a cornered Tiger do... Dnt knw d full gist but I guess its karma, wat goes round... Some employers r heartless... Aliko dangote 5000workers in 1 day, banks etc...sad... We need thingz lik dis in naija... Keep them on their toes. *Hardened Nigerian*

RIP 2 d man nd his wife

Play Angry-Bird Game said...

nice article

Nice blog post. Thanks for sharing your information. Its very effective and informative.

Indian tea