Governor Fashola vows to deal with owner of stored fire crackers | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 27 December 2012

Governor Fashola vows to deal with owner of stored fire crackers

Lagos state Governor, Babatunde Fashola, yesterday visited the site of the boxing day firecracker explosion that razed about 15 buildings and killed an 11 year old boy.  Fashola said he plans to punish the owner of the store on Oko Awo street where the fire crackers were stored.
“In order to make quick business, we have lost a life, we lost property and all of us are in danger. All of these items are under one form of prohibition or the other and we have men and women at our various entry and exit points. How did they get in? How did they enter? Who imported them and who cleared them? Who approved them to come in. Those are very serious issues we must also ask ourselves" Fashola said
Lagos state is one of the states that has banned the use of fire crackers

66 comments:

Talk fusion said...

Hmmm, ghen ghen!!!! action movie part one. I think Fashola should bring jack bauber into this matter...hehehe

African Sweetheart said...

Really sad.

http://africansweetheart.blogspot.co.uk/

As an international photographer, the picture on your blog about this post is a million dollar picture. who ever took it deserves an award.

miss Ravishing said...

Which 1 is fire crackers again?

Ride on governor mii! BRF toh quality!

@ravishing u can call it banga as it popularly known or knockout

Afi Jack Bauber no...LMAO

Medicine after death....one disgusting thing about our leaders is dt when things like this happen, d federal govt (PDP) will point accusing finger at state (ACN or other parties) and vice versa. U can imagine Fashola, at dis stage trying to blame Customs and Ports Authorities for allowing d importation. Pls ask Fashola if he doesn't know dt Jankara fireworks market exist. Yesterday, the Irresponsible NEMA information officer was also blaming Fashola govt for not enforcing Town planning laws on the setback spaces btw houses and the mixing up of residential and commercial uses of land....surely, d NEMA guy is dumb bcos is there no mixed-uses of land? Surely, he was sent to say that. Let our Leaders learn how to take responsibility as they take the national cakes. God bless Naija.... Bjay for Naija

Miss fire crackersr nah banger.

*na fire cracker I wan write.

Boy he sounds really angry, e reach to vex. Money comes before safety and lives.

Charles ojo said...

People are wicked despite the ban on the use of this thing they still went ahead to import, they should all be brought to book

Dense fellow! If dem call am "BANGER" u go know na! Na folks like u dey call all washing detergent "OMO"!!!......Triple A to da M!

U dont knw 'Knock out'ni

Fashola is asking all the right questions here, that's the path to follow Governor.

I hate fire crackers 2

I heard abt this incident yesterday, surprisingly I heard d cause of the explosion was not determined. Lets be sure that we r not being fed with the wrong info. I see this as a clear attempt to douse tension from what might be a bigger problem

Dis same governor used fire crackers dat was very loud during the nigeria independence celebration, where dem buy am from. Was it not meant to be banned

chywe said...

@miss ravishing, fire crackers are also known as 'bangers, knockout tinz".
Mwhle the noise of thse knockouts de fear me die!!

tara said...

Banger!

firecrackers are knackout!!!

Ask Google @ miss Ravishing

The owner of the Fire cracker can't be punish because Is doinG his bussiness.

Stop embarrasing urself, simply use google!

Miss ravishing, fire crackers are populaly known as banger. Olodo

Ace DJ Bentley said...

It's an accident oga fashola, must you deal with every1?

This knockouts were not smuggled into the country, they were brought in through our ports so if you wanna deal with any1 start from those who allowed them in.

We need action and not drama.

tinacious said...

Lol@ Miss Ravishing!! Na banger be fire cracker o.... 'Covered Face'

NecFix said...

Oko Awo street…In V.I?

Fire cracker ruined my xmas dress while I was a little girl..some naughty boys threw them @ me ever since I hated that stuff.Fashola should deal with them!

Abeg we are not children to be told what to do, banger n other fire crackers(fire works) is tradition before I was born, fashola shudnt impose his own dislike on us, I'm sure he had a misrable childhood, who hate bangers reaLly?

Miss Ravishing fire crackers is Banger ooh.... I knw sey na dt one U̶̲̥̅̊ go undastd

Olodo! People like are always quick to comment yet u don't knw what a fire cracker means? Ok, its what u knw as 'banger'.... Next time, ask pple around u or google... It remains ur friend!

rubbish!!1 fire brigade approach. instead of us to manage risk, we r managing crisis.

Let me bring it down to ur level. "Knockout" or "banger".

As in, you took it right outta my mouth, was looking @ it oo..

Odiegwu! Is he now a Court house oor d law. Nigerian mentaality! U plan 2 deal wit dem! Mschew!!!

Martins (GlossyMart Tech Gadgets 07037317400 or 08116202737) said...

Only God knows how much I hate fire crackers;not to talk of the smell it exhibits when blown...Gov fashola pls take the appropriate measure jooor

funbi said...

The ppl on this blog r just hilarious,one said jack bauber should come,another said the picture is a million dollar picture lmao........you guys just made my day !!!!!
Hehehe

Success Key said...

Imagine, must they sell this thing during december festive period.

I support Fashola they deserve serious purnishment I heard bomb was among the goods also those people used to sneak bombs from China for selling.

@talkfusion jack bauber!?!???!???!!!!!

Jungle Justice said...

"Knock out" LOL!

Compliments of the season.

This is a sad thing to happen to the victims. I'm in love with fire crackers during the xmas period but what I don't understand is why someone will store 3 trailers of the crackers in a residential area. It sholuld ave bin stored in a non residential warehouse. The owner shld be found and made to face justice.

Well I see beyond Fashola punishing the owner of the store but first dealing with the customs people who allowed the "bangers" to come in, then he should go and sponsor our fire fighters on how to fight fire......as in you point the water to the base of the fire not the top......laughing in idoma. Elaw

â„“☺â„“ na banger o! Chei! Pele we have explained it in ur level o!

Dear miss ravishing,it seems you have been utterly ravished by the comments here so next time,use google! Sad thing to happen tho,the owner should be dealt with

Governor facial I beg u in d name of God it was a mistake pla forgive and forget,and pls don't band firecrackers ,fireworks or banger.

Retard...its been banned,so its illegal.

I always knew this was dangerous. This stuff nearly killed my friend.

Likeeee. Same thing I was thinking.

BLOGLORD said...

May the 11 year old boy who lost his life RIP.
sad how he died right before 2013

winnie said...

Dis same silly gov asking silly ques spent ova 1,000,000 on fire crackers during eko games ohhh...hey man who imported dem..u had better serch ur sef b4 u jam talk mr gov

winnie said...

Mumu bomb kor

Please don't adverise your stupidity on this blog.. There was no bomb amongst the goods or did u see any. U can so thrive on them say them say. Ignoramous..
#Zubby#

Stop being a dumb Fuck. Who told u pipo don't despise knockout?? Cos u played with it as a kid doesn't make it right.It gives some pipo hypertension if u don't know, aside that, with the security situation in the country, its not advisable to go around blowing knockouts.
#Zubby#

Nawa for u pipo o. She just innocently asked a question nd u pipo are throwing insults at her. Atleast she didn't assume she knew what it was like some pipo would do. Its u guys that make pipo scared of doing the right thing.
#Zubby#

http://bit.ly/TBNPt0

Those items are explosives that are harmful, there are good fireworks out there that can be shot in the sky to display pleasing and amusing reflects instead of the so called "Banger"

Band kor, drum ni

MJ said...

ROTFL!!!! Na real Jack Bauer!

Seriously?! Lagos has banned fireworks? Since when?

Wait till banger blow up your hand, then we'll know whether you'll pass down the "tradition"!!! @miserableguy

He reach to ask cos every dec\jan its firework season

Mr governor go sit down...all d fire works dey used during d national sports festival hosted by Lagos whr did dey come 4rm? Yeye dey smell...mschew...beta bring urself 2 justice 1st

kawasaki said...

Ms ravishing at least u dared to ask to honestly show ur unawareness.Unlike some I too knows... No be human brain like your own create google... See their paralysis mouth, ask google, na banger , na dis, na dat... Shame on the all of you that insulted her... English is not our first language,therefore learn to accomodate for excesses.
For the issue at hand ... Little by little, Nigeria will get there,whereby corruption that causes loss of lives and properties,will be checked immediately. May the boys soul RIP. If banger is prohhibited,There should be provision for exceptions and I'm sure there are authorizations on its use in certain circumstances.In that case anyone found going against these shd be liable.