List of Nigerian commercial planes and their ages | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 6 June 2012

List of Nigerian commercial planes and their ages

I got this list from Planespotters.net, a civil aviation database with 200000+ photos and information on 30000+ aircrafts. And what you will find after the cut is a comprehensive list of all aircrafts used in Nigeria and their ages. There's actually a 40+ year old plane flying in Nigeria. Wow! See it after the cut...

Aero Contractors Current Fleet
5N-BIZ 24558 1845 Boeing 737-4B7 01-02-2007 N436US 22.2 Years
5N-BJA 24873 1931 Boeing 737-4B7 05-2007 N446US lsf Jet Partners LLC 21.7 Years
5N-BJO 534 De Havilland Canada DHC-8-311Q Dash 8 Y50 23-02-2007 C-FLGJ lsd 12.9 Years
5N-BKQ 26695 2423 Boeing 737-522 28-08-2008 VP-BSW lsf GECAS 19.4 Years
5N-BKR 26699 2485 Boeing 737-522 14-08-2008 VP-BSX lsf GECAS 19 Years
5N-BLC 26692 2421 Boeing 737-522 26-09-2008 VP-BSV 19.4 Years
5N-BLD 26675 2345 Boeing 737-522 10-08-2008 VP-BSU lsf GECAS 19.9 Years
5N-BLE 26672 2343 Boeing 737-522 02-04-2009 VP-BSQ 19.9 Years
5N-BLG 25387 2179 Boeing 737-522 28-08-2011 VP-BTI 20.5 Years
5N-BLH 25383 2146 Boeing 737-522 Due VP-BTG lsf WFBN 20.7 Years
5N-BOB 24232 2060 Boeing 737-42C 26-03-2012 EI-CWE lsf AWAS 21 Years
5N-BOC 24814 2270 Boeing 737-42C 17-10-2011 EI-CWF lsf AWAS 20.2 Years

Air Nigeria Current Fleet
5N-VNC 29338 3114 Boeing 737-33V C16Y100 02-06-2010 G-EZYN lsf GECAS 13 Years
5N-VND 29337 3113 Boeing 737-33V C16Y100 02-06-2010 G-EZYM lsf GECAS 13 Years
5N-VNE 29340 3121 Boeing 737-33V C16Y100 02-06-2010 G-EZYP lsf GECAS 12.8 Years
5N-VNF 29341 3125 Boeing 737-33V C16Y100 08-07-2010 OE-IAF lsf CAT 12.7 Years
5N-VNG 29342 3127 Boeing 737-33V C16Y100 02-06-2010 OE-IAI lsf GECAS 12.6 Years
5N-VNH 19000210 Embraer ERJ-190AR (ERJ-190-100 IGW) C12Y84 02-06-2010 PT-SGT
5N-VNI 19000226 Embraer ERJ-190AR (ERJ-190-100 IGW) C12Y84 02-06-2010 PT-SHM
5N-VNJ 28558 2876 Boeing 737-36N C16Y100 16-08-2010 N542MS lsf GECAS 15.2 Years
5N-VNK 27469 2864 Boeing 737-33A C16Y100 15-11-2010 N901AS lsf AerSale Inc 15.3 Years
5N-VNL 27910 2873 Boeing 737-33A C16Y100 15-11-2010 N902AS lsf AerSale Inc 15.2 Years
5N-VNM 25375 2598 Boeing 737-4Q8 03-08-2011 TC-TJD lsf ILFC 18.2 Years
SU-GCI 696 Airbus A330-243 C24Y244 13-05-2012 F-WWYR lsf EgyptAir Papa Do 6.7 Years

Arik Air Current Fleet
5N-BKU 4207 De Havilland Canada DHC-8-402Q Dash 8 C10Y62 14-10-2009 C-FPPU Christopher
5N-BKV 4219 De Havilland Canada DHC-8-402Q Dash 8 C10Y62 06-11-2009 C-FSRN Cyprian
5N-JEA 15058 Canadair CL-600-2D24 Regional Jet CRJ-900ER C10Y65 02-10-2006 C-FHRH
5N-JEB 15059 Canadair CL-600-2D24 Regional Jet CRJ-900ER C10Y65 02-10-2006 C-FHRK
5N-JEC 15054 Canadair CL-600-2D24 Regional Jet CRJ-900ER C10Y65 02-10-2006 C-FGNB
5N-JED 15114 Canadair CL-600-2D24 Regional Jet CRJ-900ER C10Y65 31-03-2007 C-FMEP 5.4 Years
5N-MJC 33932 2234 Boeing 737-7BD(WL) C12Y119 14-06-2007 N1795B Martin 5.2 Years
5N-MJD 36073 2248 Boeing 737-7BD(WL) C12Y119 14-06-2007 N1787B Michael 5.2 Years
5N-MJE 34761 2401 Boeing 737-7GL(WL) Y149 25-11-2007 N737AV McTighe 4.7 Years
5N-MJF 34762 2427 Boeing 737-7GL(WL) Y149 04-12-2007 N737BV Queen of Angels 4.6 Years
5N-MJG 33944 2576 Boeing 737-7BD(WL) C12Y119 27-05-2008 N346AT Claudiana 4.2 Years
5N-MJH 36719 2589 Boeing 737-7BD(WL) C12Y119 27-05-2008 N347AT Margaret 4.2 Years
5N-MJI 28640 799 Boeing 737-76N(WL) C12Y112 04-02-2009 N740AL lsf GECAS City of Freetown 11.3 Years
5N-MJJ 28641 809 Boeing 737-76N(WL) C12Y112 04-02-2009 N741AL lsf GECAS 11.2 Years
5N-MJK 30830 855 Boeing 737-76N(WL) C12Y112 09-04-2009 N742AL lsf GECAS Ville De Niamey 11.1 Years
5N-MJN 35638 2789 Boeing 737-86N(WL) C16Y132 10-03-2009 N1796B lsf GECAS Eddington 3.4 Years
5N-MJO 35640 2819 Boeing 737-86N(WL) C16Y132 29-06-2009 N358MT lsf GECAS Augustine 3.3 Years
5N-MJP 38970 3030 Boeing 737-8JE(WL) C20Y126 28-10-2009 N1787B Sultan of Sokoto 2.8 Years
5N-MJQ 38971 3065 Boeing 737-8JE(WL) C20Y126 17-02-2010 City of Calabar 2.7 Years
CS-TFW 910 Airbus A340-542 C36Y201 11-12-2008 F-WJKH lsf Hi Fly Our Lady of Perpetual Help 4 Years
CS-TFX 912 Airbus A340-542 C36Y201 29-04-2009 F-WJKI lsf Hi Fly Captain Bob Hayes 3.9 Years

Chanchangi Airlines Current Fleet
5N-BEV 22658 861 Boeing 737-217(A) 10-12-2004 C-GCPZ 30.2 Years
5N-BIF 23043 972 Boeing 737-282(A) C12Y88 21-11-2005 N233TM 29 Years
5N-BIG 23044 973 Boeing 737-282(A) 28-12-2005 N344TM 29 Years
5N-BIH 23046 981 Boeing 737-282(A) 28-12-2005 N789TM 22.9 Years
5N-BMB 25079 2016 Boeing 737-3J6 03-2009 B-2536 21.3 Years
5N-BMC 25089 2027 Boeing 737-3Z0 03-2009 B-2537 21.2 Years

Dana Air Current Fleet
5N-DEV 49947 1900 McDonnell Douglas MD-83 C12Y128 11-05-2012 N934JM 20.9 Years
5N-JAI 53016 1850 McDonnell Douglas MD-83 C12Y128 21-08-2009 N968AS 21.2 Years
5N-SAI 53018 1779 McDonnell Douglas MD-83 C12Y128 30-08-2008 N943AS 21.7 Years
5N-SRI 53020 1789 McDonnell Douglas MD-83 C12Y128 04-08-2008 N947AS 21.6 Years

First Nation Airways Current Fleet (Formerly Belview Airline)
N-FNA 409 Airbus A320-212 07-04-2011 N409AG lsf ACG 19.3 Years
5N-FNB 466 Airbus A320-212 08-04-2011 N466AG lsf ACG 18.2 Years
5N-FNC 497 Airbus A320-212 10-04-2011 N997AG lsf ACG 17.7 Years

IRS Airlines Current Fleet
5N-CEO 11295 Fokker F100 20-08-2004 N860US Hajiya Babba 22.3 Years
5N-HIR 11498 Fokker F100 22-01-2009 G-CFBU 18.4 Years
5N-SAT11293 Fokker F100 22-12-2010 PH-MJO 22.3 Years
5N-SIK 11286 Fokker F100 16-07-2010 SE-DUU 22.5 Years
5N-SMR 11291 Fokker F100 02-03-2010 SE-DUV 22.4 Years

Kabo Air Current Fleet
5N-DKB 23548 644 Boeing 747-251B 22-10-2008 N637US 26.1 Years
5N-JJJ 19766 111 Boeing 747-136 01-2001 G-AWNF 41.3 Years
5N-JRM 23549 651 Boeing 747-251B 25-11-2008 N638US 25.9 Years
5N-PDP 20842 238 Boeing 747-238B 17-07-2001 G-VJFK 38.1 Years
5N-RRR 19765 109 Boeing 747-136 01-2001 G-AWNE 41.3 Years
Max Air Current Fleet
5N-BMG 23638 658 Boeing 747-346 27-07-2009 JA8177 25.7 Years
5N-DBM 23968 693 Boeing 747-346 12-11-2008 JA8184 24.5 Years
5N-DDK 23967 692 Boeing 747-346 20-08-2009 JA8183 24.5 Years
5N-HMB 25067 857 Boeing 747-438 10-2011 VH-OJK 21.1 Years
5N-MBB 24018 694 Boeing 747-346 22-04-2009 JA8186 24.4 Years
M-ANGA 14501086 Embraer EMB-135BJ Legacy VIP 06-01-2012 VQ-BLU

Overland Airways Current Fleet
5N-BCR 031 ATR 42-320 04-03-2005 F-WQNR cvtd -300 25.6 Years
N-BND 363 ATR 42-320 27-10-2010 5H-PAP 18.7 Years

Wow! To see where I got the ages of the plane, click on View airline details and fleet information

175 comments:

Ah linda u do well for our body..make person sabi plane b4 person entrr

Jesus!

Janded said...

Hmmm. Fear catch me

From wat i c....Arik is youngest in air craft.....i guess is more preferable and safe to fly arik

Merciful Lord !!!

Oghene we kobiro!!!, na plane wey we dey fly be dix.... may God continually save HIS children from Nigeria problems....IJN....Amen

38 years old plane on this list .......... Lord have mercy oooo. i would worry about a car or bicycle that old not to talk of a plane that flies .

Only Arik is manageable the rest planes are direct to Heaven. God please have mercy on Nigeria.

JESUS!!! Kabo air has 40+ old planes!!!!!!!

It is not about age of the planes but the maintenance

Dnt think anybody wud be flyin kabo airlines anytime soon

AccurateResearchNeeded said...

As a reference, the US have planes around the same age, even older. The question isn't how old a plane is it is a)How is it being maintained, b) Where are we buying the plane from, and in what condition
Please,stop causing mass hysteria for nothing...this isn't what we need.

Abasi mi mbok!!! nsido eyem???? Well, it is only God that protects....

Sugubush said...

Finally na Arik pure pass

Ofilispeaks.com said...

The ago of a plane is irrelevant after a certain period. What is important is the company's maintenance philosophy.

iamfascinating said...

dumping ground for derelict planes. Greed in its highest form.

Do you have an uneven skintone, acne-prone skin or you just wish to defy the aging process? answers and products are now available at http://www.thestunninglady.blogspot.com

Omo, Some planes na grandmothers. Kai Nigeria.. Kabo Air!!!

Nnanna said...

Not until I view their ages, I know that what we got here are flying coffins, those who are suppose to be hustling for passengers with Peace mass transit buses are allowed to own 6th hand aircraft and fly in the name of an airline, the only airline in Nigeria is Arik Air, I boarded one of their brand new aircraft as one of the very first passengers from Kano to Enugu.
As forDana and Aero, they are not prepared for the business, their licenses should be withdrawn as soon as possible. No wonder they are the ones flying for as low as 7000 Naira, tell me where are they going to get the money to pay Pratt and Whitney or Rolls Royce for a new engine? They can only depend on trial and error of their Indonesian and Indian tourists that they call engineers.
I weep for my country.

Na God go punish devil

God will bless you Linda. Na wa ooooh!!! May God help us.

Thanks for d info but its actually not about d age of d aircraft but about d maintenance level because other good international airlines have old planes but are very well maintained and still fly anywhere.

Blunt Queen said...

all of them are flying coffins except arik. kai aero no wonder there fares are so cheap.

Lilspicer said...

That one concern una as for me and my fellas na private jet tins(omo-iwo)says so....

diva said...

i wonder why we reason the way we do. what has age of the flight got to do with its ability to develop faults. let us recall from the history of the ill fated dana flight that it began to develop faults even before it was 10 years old. even new car dey go mechanic sumtimes. its all God and constant maintenance. i believe the reason for the dana air incidence was basically neglect. they saw that the flight had issues right from the beginning and didn't take caution.
after all, wen u enter flight, u enter flight abi? u can't always tell from the interior which is 15 and 20 years. it would be worthless to dodge airlines for this reason.

But Kabo doesnt fly na!

Blunt Queen said...

pple saying the age of the plane is irrelevant, i salute u all. can u ever compare a brand new car and a tokubo car? una they warapa

Thank you for this Linda. Now the airlines will know the public can easily look up their flight data and be mindful when importing old cargoes to Nigeria. Thanks again mama and may God protect you from wicked people cos dem fit vex as you have shared this kind good info.

I guess Arik is about to see a spike in purchase!

I will stick to my arikair o.

Duke Emeka said...

=))º°˚˚˚°ºнaĦaнaº°˚˚˚°º‎​=)). Some planes have pass menopause ooooo. Choi.

Some of the planes na grandmama with grandkids. Well the age a plane also plays a great role, before the maintenance. Have you seen a well maintained grandmother. You will know is old en will surely f**k up sometimes.

Some of your readers have nailed it on the head! Its not so much as how old a plane is rather the maintenance culture of the carrier, the status f the plane at the time of acquisition, the operational policies of the company/carrier.

An analyst on Channels Tv said that's d date the plane's model was manufactured & not d engine. E.g. Toyota started manufacturing Camry since '82 but keeps modifying it yr after yr. Same applies to airplanes. A brand new camry of '82 will last as long as that of 2010. D diff will only b d beauty, sound & other preferences

The koko is how well they're maintain....OLD and NEW its how its maintained...

June 6, 2012 10:04 PM.

Let me make it clear that whoever made this comment it just a big fool. Just a hypocrite can make such comment on this topic. Should you maintain what is already dead? Should you maintain what should be scrapped? Should you maintain what is not supposed to fly at all? Should you maintain what kills? No aviation expert will support your suggestion at all. No body performs operation on a dead corpse. nobody performs CPR on a dead corpse. Wake up from your slumber. Or maybe you can say rubbish because none of your family members was wiped out in Dana plane crash. oloshi.

Web_evangelist said...

still not explicit. How do i know dana 9j-992 here or aero contractor Aj127. E be like say na arik i go dey fly now oooo

Ashraff said...

No matter how old or young an aircraft is, without maintenance, its a coffin. We shud b concerned about its maintenance. Kabo aircrafts are really old but they have never crashed

Na baba God D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ protect us o! ğσσԃ mkt 4 Ekene, D young, peace mass, Chisco n d rest!

Mary....
How can you say its not about the age of the aircraft ....ARE YOU DUMB OR WHAT
for those who have car less than 3 years , you can see that it takes way less maintance and have issues that a car that is 38 years old.

#No matter how good the car has been maintained. Most of the parts of a 30year plane are now obsolete and even hard to find....

My dear u re so full of crap!always so full of crap!its not funny anymore biko

21BoardMedia.blogspot.com

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Linds..why u come put my logo for frontpage..u did well sha!!..I had the links but you put the stats against the planes..
Abi o!!..the older the Tokunbo the more servicing it needs..coupled with our bad maintenance culture..You comparing the kobo kobo Engineers from Indo/China who maintain our planes with first class screened Engineers in US/Europe..I have been lucky like many others..taking such a risk..

POSHILLA said...

but linda ,d airlines dont put the number of aircraft until dey give u ur boarding pass.any way as i don sabi say na ARIK beta pass all,i go stick to it with prayers still. MRS ODUA DO SOMETIN ABEG ,CLOSE ALL DEY FLY AIR COFFINS.#SLEEPINGG

KOFOSHY said...

Jesu kristi...!!!! Olohun ooo!......kabo snoop airlines...loooool

Dude, b dere!! Enter en see yourself.

Linda, u too much. I don print am out sharp sharp. Anytime i enter naija... na too look my list to know the age of the plane wey i dey enter. I get pikin and my grandmama still dey alive.

I like dis article / people's view. Every1 dey contribute. People who never see airport, people who done enter plane, people who thing say plane na D'young. Etc. Its all good, Na Nijia 4 u. Well as for Kabo air, its a cargo plane routing the north. Na only sheep, goat and Cow dey enter am. If you like go enter.

What do u mean d age counts..especially when landing n take off.. do u see European/US use planes like Naija airline do combined with maintenace

Thank you Linda!

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Thanks Anon..some of this planes have been made obsolete by those who produced them..it's akin to trying to get hardware for a computer developed in the 90s..in 2012..where would u find it??..makes you wonder where they get the parts from..or probs just been patching old boy up!!

BLOGLORD said...

It is God that protects but err heaven help those who help themselves. Am off to buy a canoe. Make l jus de paddle je je de cum bk.

No matter the plane one boards,all the person needs is prayer to land safely.

Duke Emeka na u craze pass!
=))º°˚˚˚°ºнaĦaнaº°˚˚˚°º‎​=))
menopause!!!!!! u go kill me o

@Anon 10:36pm I agree wit u! Dis individual is filled wit crap!

Gloria said...

Please be real! What are you talking about. In Russia, the oldest plane allowed to operate in that cointry is 10years old. We have a plane of 41.3years in Nigeria and you are talikg about hysterical. Can you compare a used car of 5 years to that of 20years no matter how well it was maintained?

TR said...

True to the letter, maintenance is key to every plane's safety in the air,but the question is are they properly managed around here? The answer is as clear as day light....No! Around here its all about the money. Little wonder,the interior of many is not really different from our ricketty local mass transit (mooluee).

40 yrs+! Maintenance or no maintenance, the risk of an old beatle breaking down on 3rd mainland bridge is much higher than a 2 yr old Toyota. How can I fly on an aircraft older than I am?! Mbanu.

Travelers, please stick with arik first then air Nigeria oooo!

Watever happens to d words "wear and tear" pls d age of these aircrafts r also very important. They shld be scrapped abeg.

Leave story o, na ur choice go dey enter granpa plane if u like. Experience makes d difference

Eunice said...

Did I just see a 41.3yrs old plane???

donatus said...

may God help us

What maintance crap are some people talking about .... i work in the US for an aircraft manufacturer. You cant find the parts to buy of a plane over 30years so what are they repairing... patch work that can disintegrate mid air

Woman of Virtue said...

No controversy! Arik nooni!

Plane of 40yrs..am sure i can run faster than the plane...lol

@Kabo doesn't fly na!"..we know they don't fly...they crawl..#arant nonsense.

If all we use in Naija are old plans, who are the ones passing their left overs to us? By the was flying in Naija costs more than Europe/ america

MAXIMUS said...

Chanchangi and Kabo Air!!! Una wan kill somebody? Blood of Jesus! Planes as old as 30-40yrs?
Holy Mary!!!

Accurate research, r u 4 real? U r actually comparing U.S aircrafts 2 ours, even if our own is 1yrs n U.S aircraft is 50yrs, dere emergency service n dere rapid response is 100times beta dan ours so u dnt av any reason 2 compare US n Naija.

maintenance or no maintenance. we are talking about 2o-40 year old aircrafts...these are flying coffins mehn, ekenedilichukwu here i come

Kanyinulia said...

Does Kabo Airline Exist????? guess that there 41 year old plane will soon collapse on duty. Thanks Linda jare..Fools experimenting with peoples lives.

Na wah oooo. the European Low Fares Airline Association (ELFAA) has revealed that the average fleet age of its 11 member airlines is now just 3.9 years....**meanwhile Nigerian has a 40+ plane and someone can open their mouth that it is about maintenance .... **stupid comment***

Those old planes are an accident waiting to happen biko . My old car na ever day i dey go mechanics, with all those half baked mechanics when we get. with my 2year old moto it drives so smoothly . so same thing.

Aero , Kabo, Dana no be me and una ooo. You cant catch me on these airline again

Who tell u say private jet sef no dey crash....like say u don enter one before!!!mtcheeeeew

No wonder the oyibo's allowed arik to fly enter their country. Arik is what I will be using locally from now on. Just see yeye airlines with planes that are 20 to 30 plus years

Lol I like dis person!

Linda, from a professional point of view. the age of the aircraft doesn't matter. Check out British Airways, the average age of their fleet is btw 18-20yrs. It is the maintenance culture that matters and obeying the rules of the air. The other day in Orlando Intl Airport, Southwest Airlines cancelled a flight because just ONE of the passenger seat belt wasn't functioning properly. I'm sure if it were in naija, it wouldn't matter. Air crafts are built to ave a life-span of up to 50yrs. I have worked as an aircraft maintenance engineer and currently a pilot so I know what I am talking about.

wooooow only in nigeria no standards, no eletricity after 52 years what do you expect.

@anonymous 10:02 pm...if na straight to heaven why are u afraid of entering?after all isn't heaven a better place than here?lol

Those of you saying its not the age that matters, its the maintenance. Let me see you book Arik Air for your next flight!! Can you compare a 1990 Toyota with a 2009 Toyota Corolla, no matter how much maintenance it has??? Abeg, park well jor!!

Una funny ooo. We too get short memory I swear!
Some yrs ago the fed gov put an age limit to importation of Tokunbo cars regardless of 'maintenance' becos wether u like it or not age is a huge factor here. Meanwhile some of this planes old pass most of these bloggers here. Linda a sure say your parents never meet sef when these planes were made.
Who dy maintain or even monitor d maintenance sef. The thing wey oyinbo wey make d plane don condemn na im Naija wan 'maintain'!!! I hail una. Doh ooo!

you guys have to get money for those company to get a new aircraft,maybe you think its cheap. Nigeria need a long way 2 go..take ABC Transport first class. Please stop posting crap.

Tim said...

But are you telling me you'd compare the state/conditon of the two (I mean that of '82 and 2010)?

Tim said...

Wait until you read this:
Just follow the link....
http://mobile.saharareporters.com/news-page/air-nigeria-flying-coffin-former-executive-director-says

@Kofoshy hahahahahhahaha,Kabo snoop airlines.

Linda, you want people to have fear of flights abi?

fieRceMama! said...

My people.

This is just not about old or new aircrafts. It is possible that an airline operator might figuratively run an aircraft into the ground whilst another will perform regular maintenance in a conscientious manner. Also, accidents rarely occur due to one factor alone: just as with the ill-fated Dana plane crash, there is usually a chain of events that lead to a catastrophe. And no one paid attention. In some accidents, aging aircraft systems play a contributory role. However, system abnormalities also affect newer technology airplanes. One case in point is the Swissair MD-11 accident where faulty wiring in the cabin entertainment system was allegedly cited by some investigators as a possible source of the fire that ultimately disabled the crew.

When an airline's management team decides to increase its competitiveness by curbing maintenance costs, reducing training or stretching existing staff expertise to its limits, it becomes a big problem.

Internationally, a prime example of this is the spate of incidents incurred by Qantas,just like Dana it was once the erstwhile premier airline for safety. Qantas experienced an embarrassing array of incidents, including a BAE-146 packed with politicians that suffered an engine failure during takeoff, a B-747-400 that overshot the runway at Bangkok, a B-747-200 that lost a piece of an engine during flight and a B-747-300 that had its undercarriage collapse while preparing to take off from Rome. Qantas' unions allege that cost-cutting has led to lapses in maintenance standards. Locally, a few months ago I read about the engineers of Air Nigeria going on strike because maintenance standards were being compromised. This should have resulted in a probe,but rather the engineers who were earlier sacked were recalled quickly, and it seemed like business continued as usual. The earlier cases with Dana of emergency landings, faulty aircraft and flight delays which I experienced even less than two weeks ago, was a cry out to the regulatory authorities to investigate. If the regulators were awake and not turning a blind eye, the recent crash would have been averted. I personally think Aerocontractors and its many 'operational delays' should be investigated. Infact, I think the airspace should be closed to all commercial airlines until they undergo international checks and are certified okay for safety. It is certainly not just about the age of the aircraft.

Afterall, some plane crashes have occurred due to basic design flaws that were grandfathered into new models. Do your research.

The NCAA must efficiently oversee airlines to ensure that maintenance procedures are not circumvented in the drive for profits, and our dear govt must start to advertise, interview and recruit those with the experience skills and technical know-how in the aviation sector for roles like the Minister of Aviation, NCAA and FAAN Chiefs. Recruiting people who understand technicalities, the inherent risks involved will certainly have zero tolerance for those airlines cutting corners and will ensure proper maintenance and safety standards.Our government must stop the appointment/ award/politicizing of such roles.

Whether you are traveling on old planes or state-of-the-art, new-technology wonders, remember that it is the human element in the operation of the airplane that is the most crucial factor.

OmalichaSom said...

Na wa oh! See hw dese pple dey play with our lives

I trust ds is an ibo goat making ds comment as usual.

Some New planes have factory fault.

The Reformed Nigerian said...

Educated People know that the age of a plane counts for nothing, the most important factor is maintenance.

Oh my God, some of this air crafts are older than the company that owns than.

Idiats,> goats> fools! To all u, who said ages of plane doesn't count. Infact make the 0ld plane way una go enter, Shake small for up.

Lmao oooooo

Arik is d way 2 go

OBASANJO WILL BAN TOKUNBO CARS OF MORE THAN 8 YEARS FROM BEING IMPORTED BUT WILL ALLOW PLANES OF OVER 20-30 YEARS TO FLY OUR AIRSPACE. GOD IS WATCHING THEM - KC

Vaakmeisster said...

Shocking revelations in the blog & funny comments... For those yapping about maintainance, a new plane is always better than an old one, maintenance or not. Maintenance only prevents crashes like the one that happened. Old planes are only used when the airline is small or just starting up. Virgin started with old planes, but seriously, 40 years is just too old. An operational plane shouldn't be older than 15 years. Kabo ground those air coffins!

Gaia said...

This confirms what a friend told me, the only 'safe' airline is Arik... God help us, to think I only flew Dana or IRS before!!!

It unfortunate , Arik has the news Planes and have Technical service Agreement with Lufthansa. But the chose staffs that Have a PHD in customer disloyalty.

But really publish the ages of BA fleet and lets compare.

It unfortunate , Arik has the news Planes and have Technical service Agreement with Lufthansa. But the chose staffs that Have a PHD in customer disloyalty.

But really publish the ages of BA fleet and lets compare.

it is only God that protects....THAT SAID I ALWAYS ASSUMED DANA WAS THE SAFEST OOOO.....GOD SAVED ME BECAUSE THAT NA MY AIRLINE AND ABUJA TO LAGOS WAS MY REGULAR ROUTE....

I cant stop laffing @ dis comment

Errrrr
Kano air doesn't fly anymore
Mostly chartered pilgrimage flights
Please get correct info out there

ppl talkin about maintenance dis n maintaince dat our country doesn't hav maintenance culture period. d older d more risk plus i even fear those of 10yrs old. but believ me ppl will still enter d 40 n abov.

Lord have mercy

Bamz said...

Blood of Jesus! most of the air crafts are older than me o... thanks Linda for the vital information.

The age of the plane has nothing to do with anything, it's about the maintenance, if anything I’d feel safer in an older well maintained plane, all these modern built iish these days are done in a hurry

Linda,this is your most value adding posts walahi. Thank God say na arik I always dey fly.

Linda abeg do your research before u post stuffs like this pls. Hardly any COMMERCIAL airline in the world uses brand new planes bcos of how expensive they are, even the so-called British Airways. Make i hear abeg, Arik has the newest planes and yet they almost crash land all the time! Even Aero that has very old planes i've had better experience with them than Arik. I think it is more of the experience of who is piloting the plane for me as well as maintainance, as opposed to how relatively new the plane is. Give an inexperienced driver a brand new car and an experienced driver a tokunbo car and see who crashes first. All this na just hype to sell Arik more jor!

Jude said...

My people, lets shift the focus from age, there are 40 yrs old jets better than 10 year old. Te issue is about maintenance, planes are no pampers you frequently.
The issue with Nigeria planes is lack of maintenance.Space shuttles like Discovery (1984-retired this yr),Endeavour(1992),Columbia(1981),Atlantis(1985).Most of these shuttles are older than over 80% of our local planes, yet they are good enough for flight to outer space.
Let us focus our attention where we need them;build a maintenance standard and adhere to them judiciously. How many times have you heard of this crashes with choppers used by oil coys? there is absolutely nothing with these planes if they are well maintained!

Linda, I bet you very soon you will be out of this business if you do not stop publishing things you are ignorant about. I have a total of 8 flying hours every month on air and am not a pilot. Just last month a had an inter state flight in the US where the aircraft used looks older than the ones used in Nigeria, last year I boarded a flight from Amsterdam to London, the aircraft used was not equally better looking than the ones in Nigeria, . If you need to go you school to learn that aircraft runs on turbine engines, and those engines can run for over 60 years if properly maintained, I will be glad to sponsor you. It is not how new an aircraft is, its about maintenance, most Air mishaps are as a result of human error not the machine itself. Look beyond ages of aircrafts, and pay attention to experience of pilots in an operators fleight. Am sure with this you won't fly again right? I flew the next day, and am still flying tomorrow. be sure you try to gain overview knowledge in technical matters before you broadcast it, bc all that does is to misinform more people. An adage in my place says "a poor man says the reason he can't use zinc roof is that it always makes the house hotter inside than raffia roof" thats my submission for those posting negative comments above

F said...

Bia How can I get ur novel in Enugu ..d lazy bk

Lmao

Eeya..dis guy don te. Oti kan abuku.hahahahaha

Jibz said...

No matter how much maintenance you do , 40 years is a bit over the top. Would you drive a 40year old car?

Interesting,for those of you going on about maintenance I can tell you first hand information that most nigerian airlines have very poor maintenance .

Illetrates in Nigeria, Even British airways have 40+ year old planes. Its the maintenance that matters. Corruption causes these air crashes not the age of the air craft

manesa said...

ah sorry oh! Mr STEWpidly educated man. Some of us choose to remain Illiterate, blind, deaf, & dumb to science. Life has no duplicate. As for me and my family, na Arik ONLY!!!

It has nothing to do with age oh! It's all negligence. Accidents happen,it's just unfortunate when they do happen. People die everyday on neglected Nigerian roads and the Federal government doesn't do shit to the roads. Suddendly people that have been patronizing aero are yabbing them for cheap fares. I'm so sure most people here won't have ever dreamt of entering aeroplane if not for aero. Una dey fly these planes since but una no know the age abi? Nigerians sha....ignorant fucks!

41 yrs ke, cabo snoop airline u no well ooooooooo

Oh shut that gutter mouth of urs!!! Scum of the earth. You are there flying between America and Europe and talking trash. Why not come and fly locally here in nigeria then let's see if you'll keep talking trash. I bet everyone on this blog would rather fly a local american plane of 60yrs than a local nigerian plane of 20yrs. Americans done play with safety and human life!

franceslovesfashion@gmail.com said...

@ Arik air flights have the lesser age rate flights,hmm..i weep for my country.

www.francesfashiondiaries.blogspot.com

eTEEM said...

Why all these analysis, really this is rubbish

sade said...

Thank you Oh Linda. We should have full disclosure before we enter their planse.. Is it possible for them to make a law.. Every airline in nigeria should make avaliable details of the plane the passager wants to enter. If the passanger wants the details
How old maintenace reports etc.

I know I am reaching but

You all that is saying age doesnt matter,go and fly Kabo 40yr plane then.shooii!
In Nigeria,considering the fact that we do not have any maintenance culture,the newer the plane the better.
We have engineers who don't even know what they are doing and most of the foreign engineers are mostly cheap skates.
All the what and crave for is profit and more profit.
For me and my family I would rather fly newer planes in Nigeria,when i travel out my mind is more at rest because i know,they would most of the time they would follow due procedure.

Hey I think every1 is entitled to their comment. Stop attacking ppl & stop slaging lynda. She does a very good job!! If u want 2 die fast keep flying with the ynreliable old planes!! KMT!

Hmm........plenty grammer sha! Una doh oh! Kohyo , pele, ndo ,sanu.. Etc. comparing 9ja wit USA n BA? Haba na? Maintenance ? Where ? Here? u guys are u for real dnt think so! Any ways hope u have plans to insure "maintenance" takes place! Like if u were offered an old car in exchange for a new u'll collect it happily not to talk of an old plane !!!!. If ur loved ones were involved in dat crash am sure ur choice of words would be different, typical 9ja fellas always opening their mouths to say balderdash! Any ways , let's be real here ARIK HERE WE GO!

AJAYI ABIOLA said...

Why was this not published long before the crash i beg giii

Linda post my coment na!! :(

@KirAfrique said...

The majority of these aircraft can be considered airworthy dependant on their aeronautical state, there are older ones flying (with the exception of the 40yr old aircraft) in EU & USA.

What needs to be seriously looked at is the maintenance of these aircraft & the personnel working in the industry. In Nigeria there needs to be more financial governance for safety oversight. Simple acts such as paying staff on time can enhance the industry & motivation of all.

Nigeria & other nations need to train up their own workforce to be a leader in the industry for the next generation & stop these awful accidents across the continent. Dr Demuren has done a lot for the industry & shouldn't be discredited for his hard work; remember 2005? ...

LINDA DO UR HOMEWORK BEFORE POSTING. IT IS NOT ABOUT THE AGE OF THE PLANE...ACTUALLY, THE OLDER A PLANE IS, THE MORE EFFICIENT IT IS, ESPECIALLY WITH BIG PLANES, 747s ETC!

DO UR RESEARCH, DO UR HOMEWORK SWEETIE.

It's not about the age, but the maintenance. For those who fly internationally, especially British Airways, pretty much all of their Boeing 747s are over 20years old. Our maintenance culture is what is lacking. The lifespan of an aircraft engine by manufacturer design is in excess of 30years.

why wait untill alot of people are death b4 posting this. why are anybody congratulating anybody...do reseach abt maintanance not the age of the flights.

EVEN GOD DEY LAFF said...

JESUS is a christian.na waiting we dey fly b dis.GOD HAVE MERCY

For those saying it is not how old a plane is, but rather how it is maintained, you are right UP TO A POINT. Younger plane means newer engine and therefore less wear and tear. The best combination is a young plane that is being maintained. The problem we have is that the planes that most of these airlines are using are old and not being maintained. This makes them flying coffins.

Lulu said...

this list is decptive. Chanchango dosent fly anymore, Kabo has stored the planes on its list. The impression it gives is thatyounger planes are relatively safer, true , but look at Aero, they have been flying for 50 years in this country, no accident. The Russian plane that crashed in Indonesia was practically brand new.

Mikey Toons said...

After all seen and read, i can only but laugh in fear. The age of most of the aircrafts sends chills up my spine. But lets be frank, the age does not matter to a large extent but the maintenance. Mainte nance should involve avoiding 'cutting corners' completely, fixing problems noticed immediately and to perfect status, and avoiding compromise in situations where an aircraft is so old and cannot sustain further repairs, its technology used for operation has become out of date and is no longer used, or its parts are no longer manufactured. Even a new aircraft can develop a problem, same goes to vehicles and all automobiles. Why? Because they are all machines.

na me said...

how old the plane is doesn't matter - what matters is MAINTENANCE people - haba!
DELTA AIRLINES HAS A 38YR old plane - so all you fancies from US to9ja thinking ur plane is young - na 38yrs old - but how many has crashed?
the average age for a plane is 16years by the way
see here for stats on US airplanes
http://www.airsafe.com/events/airlines/fleetage.htm

and here for world airplanes
http://www.airsafe.com/events/airlines/fleetage.htm

this is truly hysterical. but we need aviation experts to still inundate on the philosophy of age as a non amber in the flight strength of these planes. everything in this country is suspect, we are just never too sure. Lets not keep our fingers crossed, every minute, some several persons are just up in the air.
Electric.

Akoh Peter said...

To be warned is to be forearmed. we have only one life to live. a word they say is enough for the wise.

Benuegirl said...

@ fieRceMama: very insightful comment. Regarding your advice to Libers to do research I'm sorry but it is the last thing they'll do. They are unapologetically insane :)

@ Linda ah luv you more than ah luv fb and twitter, a couple of days ago I had the option of posting replies to other comments directly but I don't any longer. What happened there huns?

Please stop harrasing Linda for this good job she has done. Weldone Linda.

You can not ignore the age of any equipment. Advancement in technology brought more efficiency and safety to the table. Using automobiles as an example. How many vehicles that are 30 yrs old were manufactured with airbags, SRS, ABS and other safety equipments? the same things with aircraft, no matter the level of maintenance you can not tell me that a 40 yrs Kobo aircraft iis better than ARIK 5yr od aircraft.

NIGERIANS Please wake up and let call spade a spade.

y una dey shout...Air force one is 22 years old..but dey change d engines regularly shaaa

Doctore said...

This is wrong Linda, this will only lead to mass hysteria. Since the lot of us didn't even bother to check out the fleet info of foreign airlines, here, i'll help. See Lufthansa - www.planespotters.net/Airline/Lufthansa is it any better than our own Aero?
www.planespotters.net/Airline/KLM-Royal-Dutch-Airlines
There are still some 20+ planes there. Please people, try to find things out for yourselves.

CBN releases list of victims in the dana air crash on http://www.dotnaija.blogspot.com

Shei na plane wey my grandma & grandpa bin fly go UK in 1977 na him this stupid pple want make i still dey fly ba?
Truth be told the age will really not be an issue if and only if naija have a gud maintenance culture but, we do not have it at all.

KUTEYI OLAWALE WASEEW said...

Hmm! if what Linda posted here was right and verified, then Nigerians are in terrible, this will reall text the strenght of our so-called lawbreakers sorry lawmakers, there should be an act of parliament that ant plane that has flown for more than 10 years should not be used for business in this country even, though its not only age that counts but it will help a lot and strict maintenance must be adhere to strictly.

justsaying said...

story cut short...the fact that the planes are old and poorly maintained makes them flying coffins GBAM!!!

oya go enter 40 yr old plane. mtchewww

Emi Wilson said...

Bros wen next u fly kabo n chanchagi a good ok.

sorry oh, 737s that are this old are a BIGGGGG PROBLEMMMM! remember the aloha air accident that the roof of the plane fell off in flight. airplanes have joints and welded parts that age with time. does maintainance include removing the planes duralumin body if not wahala dey ohhhhhh!!!!! a concerned hot mommma.

anonymous june 7 12.00am thank you

tunero said...

Abeg dem force any of una to enter plane? If the plane is too old 4 u, y dnt u hustle hard and buy urself a new jet or go to Benin let dem old mama teach u how to fly!

Nagodi Saad said...

THEY SAY THAT IT IS NOT ABOUT THE AGE OF THE AIRCRAFT, IT IS THE MAINTENANCE. OH YES IF YOU TRUST A STRUGGLING NIGERIAN AIRLINE WILL SPEND THE MONEY NEEDED FOR CORRECT MAINTENANCE! ITS YOUR LIFE AND ITS IN YOUR HANDS.

Market Research Reports said...

The Nigerian aviation market is not new to debate but what could be new is that many Nigerians including those in Govt groups possibly, with the exception of those in the sector do not really know how bad things are in the sector that is supposed to be one of the most open and transparent considering its importance in the life of a country.

Thanks very interesting blog!

Here is my weblog ... low cost health insurance

If some one wishes to be updated with hottest technologies afterward he must
be pay a quick visit this web page and be up to date every day.

My web blog; elliskin review

It is appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it
is time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I
want to suggest you few interesting things or advice.
Maybe you can write next articles referring to this article.
I desire to read more things about it!

Feel free to visit my web site ... no2 maximus trial

I've been browsing online more than 2 hours today, yet I never found any
interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth
enough for me. Personally, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you did,
the internet will be a lot more useful than ever before.

Feel free to surf to my web-site ... garfield survival of the fattest cheats

Good post. I learn something new and challenging on blogs I
stumbleupon everyday. It will always be interesting to read through content from
other authors and practice something from other web sites.

my page: rental mobil

Having read this I believed it was rather informative.
I appreciate you spending some time and energy to put this short
article together. I once again find myself personally spending a lot of time
both reading and leaving comments. But so what, it was
still worthwhile!

Feel free to surf to my weblog; real nitro reviews

Heracles then dipped his arrows in the Hydra's blood, thus making
them deadly poisonous. While this is definitely a nerf to Rengar's overall sustain, we wanted to maintain his ability to survive in a fight, so the
scaling heal will remain a good choice when Rengar's low on health.
That is a question that a lot of gamers have been debating since market analysis firm DFC Intelligence released what turned out to be a faulty report back in April which
claimed Dota 2 actually had more players than League of Legends did.

My web-site ... Summoners War Hack

Wow, incredible blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?
you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is wonderful, let alone the
content!

my blog post: collagen serum skincare

It's nearly impossible to find educated people on this topic,
but you seem like you know what you're talking about! Thanks

My web site - cheap hermes

What's up colleagues, its wonderful piece of writing on the topic of tutoringand entirely
explained, keep it up all the time.

Check out my blog post ... cheap hermes

So spoke to the guys at the Social Organization who assured me that there was absolutely nothing to fret about.

Also visit my page; how to get followers on instagram hack free

s en bijna alle soorten bestanden zijn al te downloaden van het Internet.
Dit erkend wordt als een PC of TV-kaart, kortom PCTV kaart.
De live internet TV-software kunt u downloaden op uw laptop
en tv Kijken op internet
kijken overal met u mee over de hele wereld.

Eveгyone loves what you gуs tend tо be up too. This
type off clever work and coverage! Keep uup the wonderful works guyus
I've included youu guƴs to our ƅlogroll.

Also visit my site: vitiligo miracle review webpage

We have worked with some of North America's biggest brands for custom computer software development annd implementation.

My blog post ... Incredible Dream Machinesreview

Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate
you penning this article and also the rest of the site is
very good.

my blog post - Infogama

We used some lube and it reached places I never experienced before.
This could have been something from a BDSM sex film.
Are bullets a reliable alternate to small vibrators.

Feel free to surf to my web-site :: เซ็กทอย

Yes! Finally someone writes about down muscle.

Here is my web page - nox factor supplement

There are many categories by which a dating review may be based upon. 
50% of young women worry that their partner will break up with them if they metodo do respeito funciona mesmo not agree to engage in sex.
If you can pull this off, your next goal should be to make
him feel attracted again.

I could not refrain from commenting. Perfectly written!

my webpage - Very Cute Puppies Pictures Pics Of Cute Puppies And Dogs

Wow, that's what I was seeking for, what a stuff!
existing here at this webpage, thanks admin of this
web site.

my page :: work from home

I believe this is among the such a lot vital
information for me. And i am glad reading your article.
But wanna observation on some general issues, The site taste is perfect,
the articles is actually excellent : D. Good process, cheers

my web site male enhancement surgery

A regular programme of equine wormers will prevent your horse from
becoming re-infested with worms again. From your horse's point of view,
it's really just good natured fun and can even become quite entertaining --
for your horse. Not just in one part of the world but in different geographic
locations as well.

my blog; Howrse Hack